$593 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

View map of Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay, 00000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C. Jordan
Business
Canton, MA
Jun 24, 2009

Honeymoon Getaway

The hotel location was great. We were able to enjoy the resort but also step off the resort to see great attractions in Montego Bay. Sandals resorts are great and we would already like to plan our next vacation. The food on the resort was excellent and the staff was extremely nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You can spend American Money on the Resort so you don't have to worry about currency exchange.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barely Mrs. B.
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Jun 18, 2009

Nice Honeymoon

All in all this was a great vacation/honeymoon. The room was nice and just steps from the ocean. PROS: beautiful oceanfront location, plenty to eat and drink, lots of included activities such as snorkeling, kayaks, aquatrikes, hobie cats, beach party and couples games. CONS: exotic foods do not please everyones taste-buds, staff was less friendly than expected, yet not rude. Shower temperature and pressure was bad all eight days, other couples on the resort agreed, drug dealers on their surf boards were annoying every single day on the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book all of your dinner reservations on the day you arrive. They seemed need 2-days advance request on the restaurants. Allow at least 2 hours for each reservation restaurant meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jun 3, 2009

Disappointed

Overall, disappointed in our stay. Service was very poor, waited a long time to get drinks and dinner served. Every day, by late afternoon, our room was not cleaned and we had to call housekeeping. The first couple of evenings, we received fresh towels from the staff, but this stopped after the first couple of nights. Food was average and there was no variety. The same menus were served all week. We weren't able to get a reservation at the Thai/private island restaurant despite the fact that we were there over a week. The large beach was very noisy and crowded. The smaller, quieter beach away from the main part of the resort was the only place to relax in peace and quiet, however, there were a lot of "merchants" on surfboards and small boats that yelled loudly, trying to drum up business for whatever they were selling. The location is VERY close to the airport (about 5-10 min bus ride). However, this meant multiple planes flying overhead (you can probably tune the noise out after a couple of days- unless they are flying during your wedding ceremony). As a result of this experience, we would not stay at another Sandals property. The only very positive thing about the resort is the wedding planning experience. The minister was wonderful and the wedding staff was incredibly organized. Our ceremony was beautiful. The grounds are very well-maintained and we ended up with beautiful photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT PAY EXTRA FOR AIRPORT TRANSFERS- THEY ARE INCLUDED WITH YOUR STAY AT THE RESORT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Great Honeymoon

Although the hotel was not as luxurious as the pictures depicted we enjoyed our stay nonetheless. Staff was really friendly. I love Elvis night. Food was average. Being all-inclusive was great, otherwise we would have a big bill cause we ate, drank, and played a lot. It was sweet seeing a lot of couples like us who just got married or are getting married. There's definitely love in the air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The guide took us to shopping when we went on the Negril tour. Blue Mountain coffee was $10 less outside of the resort gift shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I said yes
Business
columbus, ohio
May 16, 2009

I said yes

This was my best vacation ever. better than a cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jakub and Blondie
Business
WIndsor Ontario Canada
May 9, 2009

Best Trip EVER !!!!!!!!

This was the best vacation we have EVER taken. The staff at this resort will make you feel like first class. You never wait for anything!!!! I will be going back to this same resort year after year. We really made friends with the wonderful staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nature woman
Business
Pittsburgh Pa.
May 6, 2009

Great couples get away

We have been to many all inclusives and were just looking for a quick get away. Fun, but not too wild.It turned out to all that and more for us. The workers were great and the place was never too busy. We got everything we wanted and never had to wait very long. It was a short ride to the airport which was great for us since we were only staying 4 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Top shelf liquior and good cold Red stripe beer. I have been to other places were the beer is usually warm. Yuck!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John & Stephanie R
Business
Greenville SC
May 4, 2009

The most relaxing vacation ever!

From the time we stepped off the plane, we had a blast! The ride from the airport was quick and the ground crew at the airport were VERY HELPFUL! The hotel is beautiful,clean and relaxing. The staff at the hotel went above and beyond. Anything we needed or wanted was taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The piano bar in the evening was wonderful! And everywhere we went on the resort... served their famous RUM PUNCH!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angee G
Business
Gibsonia, PA
May 4, 2009

The best vacation we have ever been on

The first day that we got there we were sent to Sandals Montego because our room was double booked at the SRC. My husband and I were less than pleased but we made due. But the following day the clouds opened up and the sun shined very brightly on us. SRC did everything imaginable to make our trip the absolute best it could be from giving us a full upgrade to the most beautiful room I have ever seen with a swim up pool to special reservations on our anniversary with a complementary bottle of wine. We could not have been more pleased. Now a quick breakdown on the resort:Food is excellent. The people are absolutely the friendliest people I have ever met. The grounds are stunning. The drinks were always being poured and they are not shy when it comes to getting you...should we say "Happy". The beach is a little small but still beautiful. My husband and I both got PADI Scuba Certified while we were there. What an accomplishment. Our instructor [...] was very patient and was an excellent instructor. We recommend him highly. The worst part of the trip was leaving. We will return. Thank you SRC for making our 10 year anniversary the best it could be!!P.S. If you are looking for a resort to relax, have a few drinks with the one you love and fall in love all over again than this is the resort for you. But if you want to party till all hrs of the night and get wild and crazy...go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort & Private Island - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I am in love with the Caribbean
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 23, 2009

Great Experience. Recommend a Sandals :)

Sandals Royal Caribbean was AWESOME! Beautiful beach, private island, tons of activities and the all inclusive is pretty much anything you can think of (food, premium drinks, scuba, snorkel, etc.) Due to this I also think it was a great value. Jamaican people are also very pleasant who work there, they made the trip for us. It is a nice girlfriend/boyfriend location as well as honeymooners and couples who have been married for ages. Only bad note were the planes taking off. But this resort is farther from airport than others so they were high enough up where the noise was only faint. DO NOT go to the Sandals Montego Bay. VERY LOUD planes and more of a louder place in general. Is nice they allow you access to all three Sandals in the area but if you are doing Montego Bay, do Royal Caribbean. Will travel to another Sandals soon - GREAT JOB!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Anything you want is available but sending out a few bucks here and there to the locals who work there is a nice gesture and they will go above and beyond the call of duty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top