Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
2 Gloucester Avenue, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
122 reviews
Will recommend to all my friends

It was a real surprise to find accommodation that had no faults and so central - good value for... See full review

  • No. 1 Rep.
  • Dec 6, 2014
Great Stay

We loved our stay here. The people were amazing and because of that we wont stay any other place.... See full review

  • Ashc
  • Dec 2, 2014
Best of both worlds at Montego Bay all inclusive on beach, Hip Strip

Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Royal Decameron Montego Bay all inclusive resort -- a breathtaking beachfront location only steps from the city's bustling tourism center. The beach and pool area attract water sports enthusiasts and those craving quiet time in a cozy lounge chair. Guests explore the shops, craft vendors and live reggae on the vibrant "Hip Strip." The resort has three bars and evening entertainment, including live shows and a disco. Nightly theme buffets and an a la carte restaurant create memorable dining experiences.

Highlights
  • Tropical location on white sand beach
  • "Hip Strip" location within walking distance to shops, restaurants, clubs
  • Water sports
  • Two restaurants with buffet, a la carte dining
  • Live entertainment

 

Rooms

The 142 guest rooms at the Royal Decameron Montego Bay All resort occupy a four story structure just steps from the beach. All of the rooms have ocean views and most have balconies or terraces. Rooms are bright and spacious with a tropical motif, containing a king or two double beds. All include bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fan and TV.

 

Features

The beach in front of the Royal Decameron Montego Bay All resort is a magnet for water sports enthusiasts and those wishing to relax in a lounge chair. Non-motorized water sports are available, including snorkeling, windsurfing, kayaking, pedal boats and Hobie Cats. The resort's main pool offers a dramatic view of the ocean as well as a lively swim-up bar serving fresh tropical concoctions.

 

The location near Montego Bay "Hip Strip" means endless opportunities for shopping and jammin' to live reggae. Shop for jewelry, crafts or that perfect Bob Marley t-shirt.  After dark, live reggae blares from the Brewery, which serves a signature "Firewater" cocktail.

 

The Royal Decameron Montego Bay resort's two restaurants serve a variety of tempting dishes in casual and romantic settings. Passa Passa offers international buffet dining, including nightly themed dinners, in a beautiful open-air setting. Souk Restaurant serves a la carte Jamaican specialties with a fusion twist. After dinner, enjoy nightly entertainment or go dancing at the resort disco.

 

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Attractions
  • AquaSol Theme Park (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Doctors Cave Beach (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Cinnamon Hill Golf Course (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View Room
Garden View Room offers one king bed and a sofa bed, along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Safe in room *** fees apply and Telephone. Garden View rooms are ground floor or second floor walk up - no elevator. Garden View Rooms have no balcony or patio and no view of the water. They are approximately 200 square feet (18.5 square meters)in size.
Ocean View Room
Oceanview Room offers 2 double bed or one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Safe in room *** fees apply and Telephone.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No. 1 Rep.
Business
London, UK
Dec 6, 2014

Will recommend to all my friends

It was a real surprise to find accommodation that had no faults and so central - good value for money, wonderful and friendly staff, clean throughout and a fantastic ocean view from balcony. I will definitely be returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No transport needed to walk along the Mo Bay strip form the tourist/souvenir shops to the local supermarkets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ Nelly
Business
Iowa
Nov 29, 2014

family getaway from the cold!!

Ocean view is the best room to get. Rooms are average but walking right out of your room to the water made it amazing. This is not a high rise nor is it fancy which we found to be such a plus! Rooms had a musty smell & found after she came & sprayed the sheers that covered the french doors the smell was gone.It is not a reach to understand as you are just feet from the water. Drinks are amazing! We love our drinks on vaca and were hoping they weren't skimpy on the alcohol and they def were not!! It was hot & beautiful. Looks like a picture at all times. We went shopping on the strip & spent our money there not in the gift shop. Locals are poor & government is rich. I agree w/every review I read. The pros n cons all true. They are not in a hurry so the slow reviews are true but after a few days we found ourselves relaxing and saying yah mon. No night life at this resort. They try but nothing to brag about. The red & white glass bottom boat was awesome! The captain of Miss Poly was entertaining and very nice. Zip lining was awesome! Flew a straight flight from Chicago and ride from airport is 5 min to hotel. Those two reasons alone made this so worth it. No layover No hour bus ride to hotel. Snorkeling right there on the beach we also loved. Adult kids 19 & 22 wanted more night life - lol to them I didn't have to worry about them as not much was going on at night. We would go back and stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorrena loves disney
Business
Queens, NY
Nov 19, 2014

Jamaica Vacation

I enjoyed staying here. It was relaxing. The food was great!!! I loved how we had a beach view and how there were many activities on the premises. I went snokling and wind sailing. There were also nightly performances. The water is beautiful, so clear and fishes are visible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
memories94
Business
Kingston
Oct 22, 2014

Will not return

Sorry to say but I am a Jamaican resident and firstly the Front office staff was very inefficient. I waited almost an hour to check in. The rain was pouring and I had to walk to my room which was on the far end of the hotel without an umbrella. The staff attired needs much to be desired. Very ugly white shirts and burnt out red colour slacks. The food was the only saving grace as I must commend the chef and pastry chef, fresh and light pastries and a variety of foods that I don't see in other hotels.Sorry but I would not return here and would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie Debbie
Business
Toronto
Jul 13, 2014

We had a great time.

The rooms were clean and staff were friendly. There was a variety of fresh foods which contained lots of fruits and vegetables. Beaches and pools were kept clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
summerlovin'
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 7, 2014

Not luxury resort, but good value

This hotel is conveniently located to the airport- 5 minutes truly, so no vacation time lost traveling to and from. The beach is nice and the sunning options very good. There are plenty of chairs in the sand and then the tanning pads that are located on platforms right off the water-- you can be at the beach but out of the sand. There isn't a lot of beach front area where you can walk right into the water, but I understand that is fairly typical in this part of Jamaica. So no complaints there. Cons to the resort are that the resort is relatively small and slightly dated. Rooms seem clean but bathrooms need updating. Pools are small and can get crowded. Drinks are inconsistent. Biggest complaint is the food. I have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, though not in Jamaica lately, so I am aware that the food anywhere tends to get old after a few days. However, I thought the food situation here was particularly bad. Mostly in terms of variety. It was limited and the same few items were offered over and over again. In addition, there is only one non-buffet restaurant to choose from and menu items there are pretty limited as well.The daytime entertainment, games, etc. was fun, but the nighttime shows were pretty lacking. In short, this is not a luxury resort, but it does offer all the basics needed to have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacky birthday celebratio
Business
Fairfax, VA
Mar 16, 2014

Beautiful sunsets

Older hotel but clean. Open air lobby and dining allows all customers to enjoy the ocean view. The fun entertainment staff were friendly. The dining room staff was gruff and unfriendly, felt like I was an inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bring lots of one dollars bills and negotiate the price of items

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Simone
Business
Queens, NY
Mar 3, 2014

Great hotel at a great price!

Our room was 1 minute away from the beach, couldn't get any better! Couteous staff, really good food, fitness classes on the beach........ Ches, tic tac toe, table tennis and quality entertainment each night, IRS the place to stay in Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrNJiwa
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 2, 2014

A solid 3 star resort earns 5 stars on our stay!

This resort has a beachfront location, with 3 restaurants, many convenient bars, 2 pools, sauna with a jacuzzi and plenty of beach access. It may not be a Hilton, however, it is a well maintained property that delivers clean rooms and impeccable service. A very hard working and friendly staff helps create a an atmosphere for relaxation and fun. Yeah Mon! this place is a great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of small shops right outside the resort on Gloucester Avenue towards the "Hip Strip" walk during the day when there are plenty of others walking around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lugan
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 4, 2013

I'D STAY THERE AGAIN....

It's perfect for the price - very clean rooms, great beach with a nice pool, plenty of food (it wasn't the best but it wasn't the worst either...remember its an all inclusive place). I'm coming back to Jamaica pretty soon and plan on staying there again... Great location on the Hip Strip - the staff is decently friendly and helpful and I think I definitely got my money's worth. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool and onto the ocean and it was wonderful! Great sized room, great A/C, the bathroom was a bit outdated but that's just being real nitpick.... I'd definitely recommend this place to someone - i've spent much, much more at 'nicer' resorts and i couldn't tell any difference between them...this is a great spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of the taxi drivers - negotiate the rate before you jump in...they can be very aggressive and pushy and then gouge you on price...it felt like anywhere i went was $15 or even $20...i spent more on cabs then i did anything else!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top