Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
2 Gloucester Avenue, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
Will recommend to all my friends

It was a real surprise to find accommodation that had no faults and so central - good value for... See full review

  • No. 1 Rep.
  • Dec 6, 2014
Great Stay

We loved our stay here. The people were amazing and because of that we wont stay any other place.... See full review

  • Ashc
  • Dec 2, 2014
Best of both worlds at Montego Bay all inclusive on beach, Hip Strip

Enjoy the best of both worlds at the Royal Decameron Montego Bay all inclusive resort -- a breathtaking beachfront location only steps from the city's bustling tourism center. The beach and pool area attract water sports enthusiasts and those craving quiet time in a cozy lounge chair. Guests explore the shops, craft vendors and live reggae on the vibrant "Hip Strip." The resort has three bars and evening entertainment, including live shows and a disco. Nightly theme buffets and an a la carte restaurant create memorable dining experiences.

Highlights
  • Tropical location on white sand beach
  • "Hip Strip" location within walking distance to shops, restaurants, clubs
  • Water sports
  • Two restaurants with buffet, a la carte dining
  • Live entertainment

 

Rooms

The 142 guest rooms at the Royal Decameron Montego Bay All resort occupy a four story structure just steps from the beach. All of the rooms have ocean views and most have balconies or terraces. Rooms are bright and spacious with a tropical motif, containing a king or two double beds. All include bathrooms, air conditioning, ceiling fan and TV.

 

Features

The beach in front of the Royal Decameron Montego Bay All resort is a magnet for water sports enthusiasts and those wishing to relax in a lounge chair. Non-motorized water sports are available, including snorkeling, windsurfing, kayaking, pedal boats and Hobie Cats. The resort's main pool offers a dramatic view of the ocean as well as a lively swim-up bar serving fresh tropical concoctions.

 

The location near Montego Bay "Hip Strip" means endless opportunities for shopping and jammin' to live reggae. Shop for jewelry, crafts or that perfect Bob Marley t-shirt.  After dark, live reggae blares from the Brewery, which serves a signature "Firewater" cocktail.

 

The Royal Decameron Montego Bay resort's two restaurants serve a variety of tempting dishes in casual and romantic settings. Passa Passa offers international buffet dining, including nightly themed dinners, in a beautiful open-air setting. Souk Restaurant serves a la carte Jamaican specialties with a fusion twist. After dinner, enjoy nightly entertainment or go dancing at the resort disco.

 

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Attractions
  • AquaSol Theme Park (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Doctors Cave Beach (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Cinnamon Hill Golf Course (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Garden View Room
Garden View Room offers one king bed and a sofa bed, along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Safe in room *** fees apply and Telephone. Garden View rooms are ground floor or second floor walk up - no elevator. Garden View Rooms have no balcony or patio and no view of the water. They are approximately 200 square feet (18.5 square meters)in size.
Ocean View Room
Oceanview Room offers 2 double bed or one king bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Radio, Safe in room *** fees apply and Telephone.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D. Bowes
Business
kingston, jamaica
Apr 21, 2014

Nice getaway

Hotel is little small, but the staff was great. I would return for another vacation there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cirving
Business
Vermont, USA
Apr 17, 2014

Great stay!

This was my first all inclusive and was definitely worth the money . The hotel could use a few updates but overall is very nice. Staff and entertainment are great. Food and drink selections were also good. The view is amazing!! I would highly recommend this hotel and plan to attend again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
experianced honeymooners
Business
minnesota
Apr 13, 2014

golden oldie

This resort is in a great location, close to the airport. The beach areas are small but well maintained. There are areas to snorkel within the rope off swimming areas. There is always action at the swim up bar but there are many quite spots all through the grounds. The food and drinks are not five star but the friendly and helpful staff more than make up the difference. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
summerlovin'
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 7, 2014

Not luxury resort, but good value

This hotel is conveniently located to the airport- 5 minutes truly, so no vacation time lost traveling to and from. The beach is nice and the sunning options very good. There are plenty of chairs in the sand and then the tanning pads that are located on platforms right off the water-- you can be at the beach but out of the sand. There isn't a lot of beach front area where you can walk right into the water, but I understand that is fairly typical in this part of Jamaica. So no complaints there. Cons to the resort are that the resort is relatively small and slightly dated. Rooms seem clean but bathrooms need updating. Pools are small and can get crowded. Drinks are inconsistent. Biggest complaint is the food. I have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts, though not in Jamaica lately, so I am aware that the food anywhere tends to get old after a few days. However, I thought the food situation here was particularly bad. Mostly in terms of variety. It was limited and the same few items were offered over and over again. In addition, there is only one non-buffet restaurant to choose from and menu items there are pretty limited as well.The daytime entertainment, games, etc. was fun, but the nighttime shows were pretty lacking. In short, this is not a luxury resort, but it does offer all the basics needed to have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine2903
Business
Toronto, Canada
Mar 31, 2014

I loved this resort!

This resort was perfect for me. Every room has an ocean view. You can see boats passing by. Lots of places to relax. Drinks were awesome. Food was a bit bland the first night but got better over time. Lots of entertainment I'm the day and night. Great water sports if the sea is not rough. Worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobbyD604
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Mar 28, 2014

Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Stayed at RD for 5 nights was impressed with the value. Very quiet resort with great location on the Hip Strip. The Fun Crew and Entertainment Staff were excellent. Food was good for most meals...subpar for a few lunch and dinners. Went there to relax on the beach...and the resort did not disappoint. I usually stay at 4-star resorts...so my expectations for the RD were tempered...and overall was great value for the money...and will stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy your Blue Mountain coffee and other needs at the MegaMart...just a short route taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born again Honeymooners
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 26, 2014

Great place for the price

I love the fact that it is so close to the airport. The staff are friendly. The room is pretty clean. The view is amazing! The one thing I would love is for the buffet to be open all day. Also when I'm laying out on the beach for someone to bring me a drink instead of me having to go get one. I would go back to the same place again though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tito617
Business
Boston
Mar 23, 2014

Will definitely go back

I had a great time - the food were great it was not hotel food like some resort, it was truly Jamaican cuisine. Staff we're owsome especially if you tip them a $ dollar or two after they service, in which you should cause the staff really world hard to provide you with great service. The hotel has entertainment that start late in the evening for the most part was sucks, at least for the duration that I was there . The beach was different unlike anything I have seen before, it sort of divided into four part; plus when you do get one of those yellow towel I will advise you to hold on to them. Because that's the best way you can save a beach chair, wake up around 6-7 and put you towel there and go back to your room and wait till the sun comes up. Towel were on short supply and beach chair especially the nice/location wise. The hotel is place in the perfect location five minutes from the airport and five minute from the best night club in town . Decameron is located in great location, food is nice, staff are great beach is not bad and many activities to do for free, lastly the hotel close way too early 1am everything is close I guest this hotel is for family who go on vacation to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jacky birthday celebratio
Business
Fairfax, VA
Mar 16, 2014

Beautiful sunsets

Older hotel but clean. Open air lobby and dining allows all customers to enjoy the ocean view. The fun entertainment staff were friendly. The dining room staff was gruff and unfriendly, felt like I was an inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

bring lots of one dollars bills and negotiate the price of items

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CINDY B 5
Business
brooklyn,ny
Mar 15, 2014

so so getaway

The hotel was good up until my 2nd day of being there. There was no water on and off the entire day, and my sink was clogged for 2 days straight despite complaining to the front desk. All i got was a "yea mon".The food was good, but you better have strong teeth because the meat wasn't cooked soft enough for my liking. Also, the cleaning lady did not clean our room until 4.00pm, I guess because of the "water problem". I have plenty more to write about being in Montego Bay, but that's another story. Three days is a long enough stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top