$358 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
390 reviews
Awesome place

Everything was great from the min we entered to the min we left See full review

  • LosPaisitas
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 390
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaii I miss you
Business
Charlotte Nc
Apr 8, 2010

Horrible night of sleep

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The food was loisy as well as cold. My entire experience was much to be desired. I was there to celebrate my 1st anniversity on Easter Monday, by then I wished I was at home instead. My trip last year to Hawaii was much more appreciated. I believe the next time I visit an island I will go back to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Hawaii instead. All that Jamaica has to offer you is drinking and eating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 1, 2008

A place you don't want to go!

To be much more brief here, service bad, alchol choices bad, noisy, right under the take off path of the international airport. Every jet liner plane roars over head at about 1500 feet. They make no attempt to control the locals trying to sell you anything and EVERYTHING. Staff unresponsive to requests. Dining options are poor. Most of the food is of low quality and poorly made. Some of the cooks and servers at the buffet were more interested in talking to their buddies or on thier cell phones to pay attention to the guest. And the resort itself is poorly laid out and designed. Oh, except for the pool area. The beach has NO shade or umbrellas to get away from the sun. And of about 2 dozen islands that we have visted, this water is, hands down, the dirtiest and murkiest. And after you get about knee deep into the water, the bottom turns to slime which stirs up even more silt. And you sometimes sink ankle deep in this slime. Forget snorkling or the blue water every other resort offers. And there is no service on the beach or pool. The whole hotel is very noisy with no place on the grounds that offers any form of seclusion or privacy, even on your own patio. Poor house keeping. Our room wasn't made up one day until 9:30 PM. Poor bar restocking. Ours was only restocked twice. I could go on, but they limit the space on here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thrilled to be home
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

If you like all things tacky and buffets

This was a terrible choice of a hotel. The moment we arrived to check in, we were informed that the three "restaurants" serving dinner (the ONLY choices on the premises that were one step up from a dining hall) were completely booked for the first three nights of our four night stay. So imagine...you walk in and are told that your all-inclusive meal plan is dining hall for every meal, around the clock, for 90% of your stay? And each meal was basically the same..just recycled food from the previous meal, served in a different form. THEN, because the hotel was booked to capacity, we were unable to upgrade to anything more than a teeny, tiny, not very clean room facing another building, featuring an even tinier bathroom that NEVER had warmer than tepid water, and had not so much as a bottle of conditioner as an "amenity". Gross. NO ROOM SERVICE AT ALL. The only 24-hr food or drink available was a fridge in the "Sports Bar" featuring microwavable hamburgers in packaging...and a soda fountain. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL JOKE. If your choices are go here or stay home....STAY HOME. (We flew home early--"sacrificing" our final day of this lame trip.) Thank God the weather and the company were wonderful. Otherwise we'd have left even sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denns
Business
Boston Ma
Dec 19, 2010

I hated this hotel!!!!!

I have come to expect a certain level from an all inclusive hotel. Here you get cheap bottom shelf booze. You get the same food everywhere you eat. and your choices are terribly limited. Although the food did taste well I started growing feathers from all the chicken. My bar tender told me I should be tipping him in an all inclusive resort. I begged to differ and was told i was full of Well [*]. Well not that word the other one but i wont post it here. We paid extra for a garden view room we got a barbwire fence and a road. there isnt a garden on the property.So dont fall for that one. All in all the worst resort I have ever stayed in. The beach is dirty and full of muck and seaweed. The resort turns a blind eye to the locals on the beach pushing there wears. And good luck finding a manager when you ask for one they are not in. Ohh yea if you want fruit you wont find it here. My advise stay away from Rui Montigue Bay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Shows at night were great. i have to say one good thing so thats it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Below average

Just got back yesterday after a week. Not a lot of good things I can say other than decent weather. Key - Bad attitude by most staff, bad greesy and over salted foods, not a lot to do other than tan and swim. Lots of negative things I can say. We tried tipping at first but it made absolutely NO difference. Same TERRIBLE attitude by staff who just don't care. Food sucked, no variety, greesy, salty, recycled from prior nights, etc. Also, it's suppose to be all you can eat and drink, but then staff tells us we're not allowed to book restaurants more than once while we're there. What happened to all you can eat? Besides, place wasn't that crowded to begin with. Tip - buffet was better anyways (which isn't saying much tho). Italian isn't "Italian", Asian isn't "Asian" if you know what i mean. Just doesn't taste right at all. Also, as far as Jamaica is concerned. There isn't that much to do. They try to build themselves as a tourist spot, but it really isn't that interesting. Preferred Cancun for that type of environment, more variety of things to do. Also, people need to realize tourist aren't ATM's. We should only have to tip for good service and not just because you stood there. Just a disappointing Jamaican / RIU experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta ga
Oct 2, 2010

guest

enjoy the bar services, and the nightly entertainment was great. food service need inprovement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amandac
Business
NYC
Dec 27, 2011

Theft Problem

All of the cash was stolen from my wallet in my locked room! This hotel has a theft problem. If you decide to stay there make sure EVERYTHING is in the room safe. Our Nintendo DS and a pair of headphones were also stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
theboz
Business
bluewater bay, fl.
Dec 26, 2011

christmas vacation

check in was very,very slow. received key and given directions. had to walk at least quarter mile(no shuttles).opened door to find someone already in room. walked al way bact to lobby, another 20min to get key and no one seemed to care. too many kids around swim-up bar, everyone was upset about that. just not happy with this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Noller
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Decent Place, Bad Food

The hotel itself was nice. The food at the buffets though was pretty bad. Don't consider myself a picky eater at all so thinking the food is bad says a lot. Also the beach area was nice but the ocean portion to swim in is pretty much a back bay without a lot of waves or good swimming area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Party People
Business
Nevada
Mar 9, 2012

Food was awful, location was awful

We just got back from the same area 8 months ago and didn't think trying a new resort could be that much different. This resort (Riu) had a bad beach area (hard sand, very dirty water, no snorkeling possible, and narrow beach area). The food at the resort was AWFUL (not available 24/7, no room-service, everything was out of stock and they never filled it, only buffets except steakhouse and the steakhouse was disgusting all fatty steak and like one cm thick steak). The resort is so spread out and they put us like a mile away from the food and front desk. The only good thing about the resort was that there was alcohol available 24/7 and they were good about making it always available...however, doesn't alcohol make you hungry? They don't have any food late night! Most of the staff were friendly which made it better, but by day 3 we were ready to move and it was not a safe area outside the resort so we couldn't walk out to get other food or explore. Pool was nice, even though someone pooped in it and they just added chemicals for a few hours? Gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top