$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lou
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Jul 14, 2010

Not impressed!

I enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and the beach, it was very good. The food was disappointing, not much changes from meal to meal. Its always eating the same stuff and the quality wasn't that good. It would have been nice if there were theme nights for food. As well, the a la carte restaurants weren't really a la carte, they were mini buffets. Very disappointing. Worst of all the fruit was not tasty or good, didn't take like good fruit at all. Not much for salad or vegetarians. It is food served for the masses, probably people who go for spring break and party, but not for people who come to actually vacation and enjoy their stay. The alcoholic beverages weren't that good also as the hotel streamlined the process of making cocktails. The pina colada is from a slushy machine with added rum, this goes for the strawberry daiquiri and others. The pineapple daiquri is made with pineapple juice just like any other place would. Meanwhile fruits could be used in a blender. The bartenders aren't that good either at making drinks, I believe I had the worst gin and tonic, and, cuba libre I ever had there. Which doesn't matter much as the club isn't good there but the live shows are nice to watch for the evening. Overall, the stay wasn't bad as the hotel is nice, although I thought the room smelled musty, but it was a nice room. I liked the entertainment available for day and night. The amenities were good and the beach was nice. Since this was moderately priced, I'd say that it is alright to go to if you don't want to spend alot of money. However, if you want this to be a great vacation then go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There are not much bargains in the city, everyone over charges for their products so you can negotiate with them. The hotel gift shop is not that expensive compared to local markets. The Mobay shopping tour provided by Jamaica Tours was a complete waste of time. They take you to places where they get a cut of your shopping experience. Better off renting a car and doing your own shopping and sightseeing.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJ Kreuzin
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Great Room...Bad Food

The hotel itself was very nice. Our room was fantastic right on the ocean with the best view in the house! The pool was very nice as well. We were pretty active while we were there and left the resort a few times to see the "real Jamaica" and it was great. The downside was the food and the entertainment. The food was just bad. There is no other way to say it. Except for the Jerk Chicken on the beach...mmmm...very good...and the Steak house. The restaurants were very difficult to get into. We tried to make reservations the day that we arrived, but they were all booked up for days. We only were able to get to the Steak house and the Asian restaurant the last two nights that we were there. The wine was also very bad. We stuck around in the evenings and went to the different entertainment venues and they were all very amateur. I expected a lot more from such a nice resort. Next time we will stick with Sandals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring water socks and tennis shoes if you are planning to do any activities!!

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul MN
Jun 26, 2011

Mixed review

We had a large group for a wedding celebration. The front desk staff were not very helpful in organizing large group meals - but the staff at the restaurants went out of their way to be helpful. Food was okay, but you needed to look to find freshly prepared items - mostly standard buffet foods. The staff were not responsive to lost luggage, non-working keys and plugged toilets (which were common complaints). Beach and pool were nice - except for our last day when a loud, obnoxious party arrived. I was glad to be leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arrive early for the beachfront jerk chicken lunch. They often run out of the side dishes. The chicken is very good.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 6, 2011

Just OK

The hotel was about 5 mintues from the airport so quick to get to but you also hear planes flying overhead all day. It was clean, well kept. We were disappointed with the beaches, there wasn't enough sand and the water was protected by a reef so no waves but it was cloudy water and seaweed everywhere. The pool is big enough. The hotel needs more than a little hut to entertain the little ones. Food was not great but what all-inclusive is? The a-la-carte restaurants were only "semi" and you had to make reservations days in advance and they were not as good (may even be the same food from the buffet) as the buffet. Not enough fruits selections or desserts. Overall, we would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Reserve your a-la-carte reservations as soon as you arrive. Take your luggage with you to your room when you arrive instead of waiting for bell hop.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jul 10, 2011

riu montego bay 2011

The resort itself was very nice. Lots of bars, beautiful beach, lots of food. However, the staff was very uninviting and seemed like they did not want to be there. We didn't see anyone even smile for the first three days. The food was not very good either, very average at best. Be sure to bring your own cups for the hotel bars or else you will be served in dixie cups. The shows at night were quite entertaining. Buy your rum and coffee at the airport duty free, much cheaper and much fresher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Dec 13, 2009

Riu!

Nice place for all. Lots of activities or for just relaxing. Not great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sneb
Business
new york, ny
Oct 6, 2010

bday getaway

This hotel and its amenities were enjoyable. Food was mediocre. Rooms were clean and spacious but had a slight odor. Biggest downfall, there was no designated smoking area and smokers and non -smokers were all under one roof, for entertainment and dwelling. I strongly suggest RIU puts in place a smoking policy and separate smoking and non-smoking rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 26, 2010

Couples Vacay

The resort was beautiful, very clean, with nice staff. The food could have been a little better but perhaps I just have to high of expectations. I recommend the snorkeling trip that also takes you Margaritaville where there's a huge slide and trampolines to play on! Pool was awesome, especially the swim-up bar. The beach was nice but there are lots of mosquitoes at night so pack bug spray for your romantic stroll.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to get to the buffets early so the good stuff isn't picked over. Also, make your dinner reservation first thing in the morning so all the spots are not taken. They have better quality food than the buffets.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like the Beach and Sun
Business
Midwest
Feb 22, 2010

SoSo in Montego Bay

Be sure you have a confrimation for your room. Two days before we were to leave we were told by [...] the resort overbooked and we did not have a room. We heard this from many other travelers as well on our same flight. Many were rerouted to other properties in Jamaica. We ended up with a room because we were one of a group of eight rooms and I spent hours on hold and on email to get them to honor our reservation. We have stayed at RIUs in Mexico before. The staff is less friendly in Montgo Bay. You feel at times you are putting them out or interrupting thier interaction with their coworkers. Although, the entertainmnet staff was very friendly. Four Stars for them! Food was ok, we stayed seven nights and could not get into all three sit down restaruants even though we tried to make reservations on our first day there. The resort is very close to the airport and all conversation stops when a plane flies overhead, it is very noisy. The beach is nice but small since you can only walk on the resort's property, no long walks or jogs on the beach here. When you sit at the beach instead of the pool you constantly hear the locals trying to get your attention to buy their goods. Best idea is to buy something and wear it so they don't ask you every day. Rooms were clean, mini bar was stocked once with water, not every other day as promised. Overall the resort is newer and rooms were clean. Smokers will love it - you can smoke almost everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to visit the sit down restaurants - call the hotel before you arrive - maybe then they could fit you in.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2010

RIU Montego Bay

The staff were wonderful and accommodating.The rooms were beautiful and well-kept. The drinks were all tasty and you don't have to wait long to get them. The swim up pool bar is really nice and fun. It is really close to the airport, which is really nice. Also, if you want to go out and do activities outside of the hotel, they are good about scheduling them for you and arranging transportation. But, all of this costs extra, of course. The downsides to this hotel were that it was overpriced for what you actually get compared to other all-inclusive hotels. Many of the activities you have to pay for. The food was almost entirely buffets, and wasn't all that good. The ocean water was not clear and there was so much seaweed on the bottom that it felt really gross. If you are traveling with kids, this might be a good place for you. But, if you aren't, I would recommend going elsewhere. I personally wouldn't return to this hotel unless I was bringing children along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top