$358 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
390 reviews
Awesome place

Everything was great from the min we entered to the min we left See full review

  • LosPaisitas
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Virginia girly
Business
Virginia
Mar 13, 2014

Riu Montego Bay Jamaica

Staff were friendly, room was clean. Fridge didn't work and bedding wasn't the best. Lots of activities and awesome pool and beach front! Best for parties or spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Steak house has the best food at the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe from New Yak
Business
Chicago, IL
May 1, 2014

Accurately priced

Amenities: - Room was just fine. Only issues were with balcony door, which had confusing lock, and also the 2-day beverage restock... Generally speaking, all inclusives refill the fridge every day -Pool was great, though swim up bar appeared dirty -Beach was fantastic Location: -Mahoe bay not Montego... must see montego bay to get real feel of "dah bay mon!" Staff: -Great people. Slower pace than I am use to. Please note I am an anxious person from chicago who expects his deep dish pizza to be ready in 10 minutes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

ONLY EAT BREAKFAST (eggs, bacon, toast) AND LUNCH (beach hut - jerk chicken) AVOID DINNER AT ALL COSTS. GO TO GAS STATION AND GET CHIPS OR CROSS STREET AND EAT AT BURGER KING "HAVE IT YOUR WAY MON!"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Like the Beach and Sun
Business
Midwest
Feb 22, 2010

SoSo in Montego Bay

Be sure you have a confrimation for your room. Two days before we were to leave we were told by [...] the resort overbooked and we did not have a room. We heard this from many other travelers as well on our same flight. Many were rerouted to other properties in Jamaica. We ended up with a room because we were one of a group of eight rooms and I spent hours on hold and on email to get them to honor our reservation. We have stayed at RIUs in Mexico before. The staff is less friendly in Montgo Bay. You feel at times you are putting them out or interrupting thier interaction with their coworkers. Although, the entertainmnet staff was very friendly. Four Stars for them! Food was ok, we stayed seven nights and could not get into all three sit down restaruants even though we tried to make reservations on our first day there. The resort is very close to the airport and all conversation stops when a plane flies overhead, it is very noisy. The beach is nice but small since you can only walk on the resort's property, no long walks or jogs on the beach here. When you sit at the beach instead of the pool you constantly hear the locals trying to get your attention to buy their goods. Best idea is to buy something and wear it so they don't ask you every day. Rooms were clean, mini bar was stocked once with water, not every other day as promised. Overall the resort is newer and rooms were clean. Smokers will love it - you can smoke almost everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to visit the sit down restaurants - call the hotel before you arrive - maybe then they could fit you in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 22, 2010

RIU Montego Bay

The staff were wonderful and accommodating.The rooms were beautiful and well-kept. The drinks were all tasty and you don't have to wait long to get them. The swim up pool bar is really nice and fun. It is really close to the airport, which is really nice. Also, if you want to go out and do activities outside of the hotel, they are good about scheduling them for you and arranging transportation. But, all of this costs extra, of course. The downsides to this hotel were that it was overpriced for what you actually get compared to other all-inclusive hotels. Many of the activities you have to pay for. The food was almost entirely buffets, and wasn't all that good. The ocean water was not clear and there was so much seaweed on the bottom that it felt really gross. If you are traveling with kids, this might be a good place for you. But, if you aren't, I would recommend going elsewhere. I personally wouldn't return to this hotel unless I was bringing children along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Bday party in Jamaica

- We did a lot of sunbathing and drinking! We also went to Dunn's River Falls in Ochos Rios and Negril. - Food is really my only complaint. This was my first at an all inclusive and the food was just blah. Bland and didn't taste good. I was pretty sad about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Pork Pit for some good Jamaican food! It was delicious! Not only will you have some local food, but you'll get a break from the disappointing food at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irving, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Bday Party in Jamaica

- We mainly sunbathed and enjoyed the free drinks! We also went to the Dunn's River Falls in Ochos Rios and to Negril. - I wish they had had better food. I was disappointed with it. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Climb the Dunn's River Falls. It was really nice out there but make time for this trip because it is over an hour and a half away from the hotel. Located in Ochos Rios.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 11, 2009

The good and the bad in my opinion.

I traveled with my husband and 4 children ages 10 through 18 years old. Hotel was very clean and beautiful, staff polite and accommodating. Salon was excellent and reasonably priced. Nightly entertainment was good. My teens loved the sports area with video games, pool tables and internet access. Hotel beds very hard and uncomfortable. Disappointed in lack of linens, we only had face cloths when requested and never had them at any other time otherwise and had to use hand towels in replacement. Food quality was fair at best. Pool was wonderful! Very disappointed with the beach, it looked very beautiful but the water was murky and slimy on the bottom. This beach was very unlike other Jamaican beaches I have been to in the past. The first day we arrived at the hotel and walked to the beach,(locals) approached my husband and I and also one of my teenage sons and asked us if we were interested in buying marajuana or crack. On another occasion my 10 yr old daughter and I were approached by a (local)on the beach that asked us to steal him some food. If you go onto the beach, be prepared to be harrassed! Snorkeling/parasailing excursions were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling/Parasailing Excursions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super traveler.
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 8, 2009

Jamaica, Rude Boy

The hotel is about a 15 minute ride from the airport; however, the cab ride is $20.00. Overall, the hotel was great for the price. The food was horrible, but I guess that helped my bikini. I just don't like the fact that EVERYWHERE in Jamaica everyone is trying to make money off of you. I would never return to Jamaica nothing against the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget any of your toiletries. You'll have to purchase everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 16, 2011

Relaxing

Spa was great as well as the personal they are the best especially [...] ,[...] and the ladies at the front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wyclef
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Friends Escape from Reality

I stayed at the RIU Montego bay. I booked an ocean view room and was not satisfied with the first room I was given. The hotel moved me to an incredible room with a great view. The amenities at the RIU are great. The pool, the bars, the disco everything was great. I only have two complaints about the RIU. The first is the food. None of the food is great; not even the three that require you to make a reservation. If you're looking for great food, you won't find it at the RIU. The second complaint is that the staff doesn't make you feel as if you're special. I can't say that they were rude, but they were not overly accommodating. The staff at other resorts in Jamaica have always made me feel like they were there to make sure I had everything I needed. I just didn't feel that at the RIU: and I've been to two so far but I won't be staying at a third. Other than those two complaints, I had a great time. My wife and I were accompanied by 12 of our friends and we had a ball. Jamaica is always a good time and with good friends you can't miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top