$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
385 reviews
Awesome place

Everything was great from the min we entered to the min we left See full review

  • LosPaisitas
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014

In harmony with island architecture, the new, all-inclusive Riu Montego Bay sits on a beautiful stretch of beach, surrounded by nearly 10 acres of lush gardens. Less than three miles from downtown Montego Bay, 1.7 miles from the international airport and conveniently located near a shopping center, this island oasis offers a wide variety of activities and deluxe accommodations in a serene setting.

Enjoy sports such as windsurfing, sailing, and kayaking in the turquoise waters of Montego Bay, or relax on the beach in a sun lounger.

There are many dining options available, in addition to a 24-hour snack and beverage service. Wireless Internet in the Lobby area for free.

With an on-site spa and golfing nearby, Riu Montego Bay is the ideal vacation destination for families, couples or singles.

Amenities include restaurants, fitness center, sauna, meeting facilities, theatre, tennis courts, 2 outdoor swimming pools with integrated Jacuzzi, one outdoor children's swimming pool, miniclub and activities program for children from 4 - 12, daily activities for adults( 7 days a week), nightly entertainment including live music and Riu Theme Shows( 7 days a week) and a discotheque (entrance and drinks included) open 7 days a week. All meals, drinks, tips and taxes are included. Chargeable amenities are spa services: massages and beauty treatments, beauty salon, conference room rental, internet access, laundary service, babysitting service available upon request, medical staff on call 24 hours, gift shop, sports and activities, scuba diving school, nearby horseback riding.

Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room.

The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost.

***NO STUDENT GROUPS UNDER 21 YEARS OR 'SPRING BREAKERS' ARE ACCPETED ALL YEARR ROUND***

Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 people per room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All people in the room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding.

Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking.

Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival.

Special requests: Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door, remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

Guests have 90 min/day free Wi-Fi-connection in the lobby, we also have Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel, at a charge.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (385)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeEm
Business
NYC
Dec 16, 2013

wifi in more places for free

You can only use 90 min of wifi for free a day and only in the lobby. The restaurant situation was annoying as all the reservations were taken by 9am! Then we were stuck with the buffet unless we wanted to beg the restaurants to make an exception. Also outsiders begging for money near gates at building 3 was creepy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

watch the shows everynight at 9pm they are awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 11, 2009

The good and the bad in my opinion.

I traveled with my husband and 4 children ages 10 through 18 years old. Hotel was very clean and beautiful, staff polite and accommodating. Salon was excellent and reasonably priced. Nightly entertainment was good. My teens loved the sports area with video games, pool tables and internet access. Hotel beds very hard and uncomfortable. Disappointed in lack of linens, we only had face cloths when requested and never had them at any other time otherwise and had to use hand towels in replacement. Food quality was fair at best. Pool was wonderful! Very disappointed with the beach, it looked very beautiful but the water was murky and slimy on the bottom. This beach was very unlike other Jamaican beaches I have been to in the past. The first day we arrived at the hotel and walked to the beach,(locals) approached my husband and I and also one of my teenage sons and asked us if we were interested in buying marajuana or crack. On another occasion my 10 yr old daughter and I were approached by a (local)on the beach that asked us to steal him some food. If you go onto the beach, be prepared to be harrassed! Snorkeling/parasailing excursions were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Snorkeling/Parasailing Excursions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super traveler.
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 8, 2009

Jamaica, Rude Boy

The hotel is about a 15 minute ride from the airport; however, the cab ride is $20.00. Overall, the hotel was great for the price. The food was horrible, but I guess that helped my bikini. I just don't like the fact that EVERYWHERE in Jamaica everyone is trying to make money off of you. I would never return to Jamaica nothing against the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't forget any of your toiletries. You'll have to purchase everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 16, 2011

Relaxing

Spa was great as well as the personal they are the best especially [...] ,[...] and the ladies at the front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wyclef
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Friends Escape from Reality

I stayed at the RIU Montego bay. I booked an ocean view room and was not satisfied with the first room I was given. The hotel moved me to an incredible room with a great view. The amenities at the RIU are great. The pool, the bars, the disco everything was great. I only have two complaints about the RIU. The first is the food. None of the food is great; not even the three that require you to make a reservation. If you're looking for great food, you won't find it at the RIU. The second complaint is that the staff doesn't make you feel as if you're special. I can't say that they were rude, but they were not overly accommodating. The staff at other resorts in Jamaica have always made me feel like they were there to make sure I had everything I needed. I just didn't feel that at the RIU: and I've been to two so far but I won't be staying at a third. Other than those two complaints, I had a great time. My wife and I were accompanied by 12 of our friends and we had a ball. Jamaica is always a good time and with good friends you can't miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ria the College Graduate!
Business
Tallahassee, FL
May 7, 2011

My Wonderful Vacation!

We had a wonderful vacation for my first time in Jamaica! You must try the ATV tour and the Cool Runnings tours. They were both a lot of fun and adventurous! I wish that I would have stayed a few more days. Four days is NOT enough time! The food wasn't that great but overall the resort was nice. The staff were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can pick your tours when you get to the resort. Don't think that you must purchase them in advanced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va
Jun 15, 2010

it was good

every thing was good only the room wasn't good but staff was very nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amy Vaughn
Business
New York, NY
Jul 28, 2010

Beautiful Place, Bad Service

I went to Riu for 4 days and the overall location is great however the front desk staff was the most unhelpful group I have ever encountered. It was such a frustrating experience dealing with the front desk staff to change my room because my initial request of double beds was not honored. The front desk supervisor [...] had such a bad attitude , she was difficult, and made my initial arrival so unpleasant. I have been to several other hotels, including Sandals in that area and the service there was great. I must say that the entertainment group did a great job of making the time fun. Kudos to them, however I would not recommend this place if you want a great vacation. There are better places out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jpilot81
Business
Killeen, Texas (Fort Hood)
Jun 16, 2010

You get what you pay for!!!

6days 5 nights: very close to aiport (10mins), layout of the facilities are well organized, plentiful of seating for dining. The selection of foods was huge for the buffets, but the quality was very poor. 90% of the dining areas are open air and was uncomfortable with the humidity and flying insects (flys, mosquitos) Rooms are modern, but the beds are the firmest in the world! If you do not stay in a suite they just push two twin beds together to make a king. The towels smelled of mildew and never seemed clean. The majority of the staff only was willing to be helpful for a tip. The bartenders are very friendly and willing to accomodate. The beach area seemed to be a man made renovated area with imported sand (river rocks along the shoreline) to basically get chest deep in a salt water lagoon. Also you will be offered drugs while on the beach and this will continue everytime while at the beach. The beach also allows women to be top-less!! =) The non-motorized equipment is free, but they tried to charge me until I spoke up, then it was "no problem mon". Riu Montego Bay needs a management make-over and an in-house investigation to improve this location or it will close down!! I hope someone from RIU headquarters reads this review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Zip-line tour was very fun and exciting, but be prepared for a CRAZY drive to the location. It took about 35mins total driving time. But 20mins of the drive was on a very rugged, pot-holed road! Good luck if you get car sick easily...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 26, 2011

Great resort but food is below average

We have stayed at a Riu before in Cabo and this resort was just as nice but the food was way below average and worse than what we had at our last Riu stay. The hotel also lost the reservations for another couple that was with us so they had to move us to Negril for two nights since the resort was booked. The Negril resort had a better beach but was older and the food was actually worse. As for MoBay the pool was awesome but the beach left a little to be desired. The water was filled with seaweed but looked beautiful, about 8 feet in the bottom has a thick seaweed coating that is unpleasent to walk on. The food is the biggest negative of this resort though, the breakfast is pretty good but things go downhill from there. The lunch was pretty disgusting and I only found a few things that I could eat and I am not really a picky eater - as others have said though the jerk chicken on the beach is a good lunch option. The dinner buffet had a lot of options but again many of them were either very bland or actually disgusting. We ate at the restaurants two nights and they were a little better but were basically also buffets, nothing special. At other resorts they are actually full service but not here. Overall I would recommend this resort if you can get a good deal and aren't too picky of an eater, there may be better options out there though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Take a sunset cruise - it was a great experience where you go out and snorkle for a bit and then party on the boat while watching the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top