$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zmomma
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 17, 2012

fun time

The hotel was clean and nice. However, the food left a lot to be desired. The best meal was breakfast and bbq chicken on the beach. The night time entertainment was very good. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you need to make resrevations between 8am and 4pm for the three restaurants, otherwise it's sub par buffet dining

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allen8201ha
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great Value

We had a great time; staff was friendly. This RIU does not have waiter staff roaming the pool and beach which we have always appreciated; really the only reason we would not come back to this location. Be prepared for the planes as its location to the airport but they did not bother us. Food and entertainment was pretty good; typical of any RIU. We loved the Jerk chicken hut on the beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hook up with a tour guide or other local to take you to the best restaurants! They know whats good and whats not!

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph87
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Vacation

Nice hotel, very clean, wonderful staff, was disappointed with Asian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jean Loves Travelling
Business
Cypress, TX
Jul 24, 2012

Not what I expected

Our room was occupied by another guest when we got there, it took an hour to get another room which they called an up-grade (ocean view). Our new room was not ready: towels missing, mini fridge not stocked, room not cleaned. Took until next day to get these fixed as the front desk numbers obviously doesn't work at certain times (LOL - not funny at all). Food in Blue Mahoe was fly invested all the time, staff working in this Resturant seem unaware of the flies, my daughter and I stayed away after the first bout of stomach virus. Overall entertainment and staff friendliness was a 5!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MarcoPoloMarcoPolo
Business
Atlanta
Jul 30, 2012

Not bad but you could do better.

The staff is a little rude or inattentive at times. It seemed like many were resentful towards foreigners. There were a few standouts who provided excellent service. There were some things that could be better. They say it's all inclusive but they enforce certain curfews or limitations in other ways. The sports bar is supposed to be open until 4a but they shut off the A/C at 2a. The "casino" (which consists only of a few slots) also closes at 2a and that is the only place to buy tokens for the games (of which, 1/2 were broken anyway).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The shows are typically terrible but I'd discourage anyone from leaving the hotel at night.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charimurray
Business
Queesn, New York
Aug 7, 2012

Great Deal

I had a great time, no complaints! Great food, and lots of activities for all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don RJR
Business
Kingston, Jamaica
Aug 22, 2012

Great Repeat Family Getaway

Had a really enjoyable time. This is my second time at this hotel and had just as much fun there as the first time. It is cozy and intimate with friendly staff. We got a complimentary room upgrade and got our room five hours before the check in time. The room was comfortable but the beds were very firm and noisy/creaky. The mini bar was well stocked. No real complaints about the airplane noise as my kids enjoyed trying to identify them. We had dinner at the 3 different speciality restaurants and really enjoyed the Asian restaurant the most. It unfortunately rained each day we were there but, besides that, we had a great time. Have been to the other Riu properties in Jamaica but this one is my favourite. Will definitely be going back there again next year. Hope the rain holds off for that trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make reservations for the speciality restaurants.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jampat
Business
Virginia
Dec 2, 2012

Decent getaway

Overall the hotel is good. The food very much has that buffet taste which you get tired of after three to four days. The hotel staff are very friendly. The hotel beds are hard for a luxury hotel chain. I would recommend it for three to four day stay, not a full week or more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yvetteeeee
Business
New York
Feb 19, 2013

You get what you pay for, great for families

We booked this at short notice and had to pay a lot for airfares so the hotel budget was tight. Travelling as 3 singles in our 30's we typically go 4 or 5 star. But we knew what to expect and our expectations were met. The RUI offers a huge pool, nice beach, entertainmment and all you can drink and eat in the cost. The food wasn't top notch but there was enough variety there to meet even the most fusiest of eaters needs. The alcohol was a bottomless pit, so its not surprising really that the place attracts value seekers who are there for a good time. And that means, beer for breakfast, and cocktail for lunch, dinner and in between. The gym was decent enough but on the busy side. The hotel is on the flight path but again we knew that. Probably the worst thing was the rowdy crowd and pace, it wasn't the most relaxing place to visit. The best would have to be the great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri Flud
Business
Sandiego
Apr 25, 2013

25 year old bday celebration

There is no airport shuttle to resort - so you have to take a bus or taxi- for three people taxi was $25 dollars to the riu. Upon arrival, lobby was very spacious and beautiful, they welcome with a rum punch. However the assistant manager at front desk was not being very helpful with questions about the dinner reservations.. The room was clean, decent space & big closet size with a safe, with three beds, mini fridge, an complimentary mini bar, with mixers in the fridge, and decent bathroom, with a mini outdoor patio. Food was one of our biggest disappointments- upon arrival on Friday, we were told the two main restaurants were already booked out thro Sunday- with no Availability except the buffet until Monday.. Even though the frot desk clerk stated you can only make reservations the morning of.... No sense.. Buffet food was good with large variety, however only open at certain times during day. None of the restaurants were open very late- their "24 hour" snack bar/sports bar was only cheese nachos, and old soggy fridge sandwiches.. Drink service was very well, good quality, save a lot of money with the all inclusive part with this especially.!! And when u tip- they service you automatically.. The bar tender would have our drinks ready- by the time we walked up to bar! They have a lunch BBQ on the beach- which was pretty cool, also a lunch patio buffet which was good- and only spot you can eat at in your swim suit The activity staff was very cool and friendly, they did different activities with guests such as volleyball, contests, dancing, games, etc.. Complimentary kayacking, and mini sailing included with your stay- which was really fun to use. The beach sand quality is good,looks beautiful. however beach stretch is not very wide, maybe lil over quarter mile.plus a lot of sea weed a long the shore line We had a very nice time lounging in the beach chairs, & hoping on the volleyball court. The pool was great! Big swim up bar area, a lot of in-pool tables and seats. Very spacious pool, with different areas and sections. There are built in lounge chairs in the shallow water, Also volleyball net in shallow pool area as well. They have night time activities, including shows, entertainment , live bands, dancing, and a night disco/club. The disco has a nice bar in it, with DJ and dance floor! Nightlife outside the resort is a little limited- There is a complimentary shuttle bus that takes you to margaritaville in town- however its $10 to get in, and about $10 in average per drink But was a very good time!!! Djs were great, an a lot Dancing!! They have tours and exclusions leaving straight from the hotel at additional costs. We did the horse back riding tour one day, which was fun, however there's no fast riding- you ride on the beach for a little bit, and little bit in the water- but mainly on a flat trail We also did the catarmeran boat with the hike to dunns river falls.. My favorite part of the trip by far was the water hike!!! Soo awesome and beautiful- although large groups of people- still an enjoyable time! We also did the tour to maragritville in negril- wih the shopping stop, and trip to rocks cafe. Maragritville was beautiful- the beach was awesome- the boys went seadoing while we layed on the beach and swam. Then we hit the shipping part in the tour- which was at a mini mall.. Prices seems very high- like average $20 for a shirt Then last stop on the tour was ricks cafe- which was really cool- and has cliff jumping. Pricing for food was really costly. $11 for a cheese burger with nothing else.. Like $17 for a pasta We paid about $235 for all three tours total per person So a little costly. But good time. All And all the trip wa awesome!! Very fun, relaxing & adventurous! We def. got our money's worth in alcohol for the all inclusive pricing. Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Might want to check other sites for excursions to compare pricing. Plus you might want to hire a van/bus on your own to get around if you have large group - would probably save a lot more money- and have more freedom to go places you want to see or stop at

Back to menu Return to top