$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 14, 2015 Check-out: Apr 17, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntley
Dec 28, 2008

My review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

The resort is very pretty , but it is not organized at all. The staff was not friendly except the bartenders and bell man .We stayed 7 days and never got to eat in the so called specialty restuarants as they said were booked, when we asked. But If you passed by the restuarants at dinner time there was always empty tables. Also there is no control over the children there, they were in the pool with drinks and glasses also in the bar areas . The live shows were great after they got all the kids off the stage so they could begin. It is a shame that such a nice resort is ran in this manner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nothing was nearby . The so called Diamond Mall across the street was 2 stores and a grocery store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Toni
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 4, 2010

A new way to vacation.

Room was not ready when we arrived. The resort was dated. There was a dank and musty smell in our room. House keeping serviced our room around 5 or 6 pm.Some of the staff acted like they were bothered by the guest. The food at the dining facilities was adequate, but the fruit was never good. If you got to the dining facilities 30 minutes or less before closing, you got what was left, no replenishment of freshly cooked food. The dining areas where you had to make reservations were not impressive. They had the nerve to have you reserve a buffet meal that was no better than the regular dining area. The pool was filthy, slimy, and disappointing. I did not get in the pool at all. I was too afraid of getting an infection or virus. The beachfront was no better; it had debri, pollution, and drug dealers trying to sell reefer at the water's edge. I did like the entertainment, the night club, and the fact that I could get endless cocktails. I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic. I like going on cruises, but vacationing at an all inclusive resort is so much better, but I would do all inclusive at another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 22, 2009

Wedding Trip

For being new, the hotel already looked worn. The food was the same everyday. Very bland. One restuarant was not open during our entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I need GREAT SERVICE!!!
Business
Washington DC
Aug 8, 2011

Customer Service needs Major Improvement

The physical resort was nice, enteratinment was good. We upgraded ourselves to a suite which was very nice. The beach water was not clear as Negril and or other beaches I have been to. But I understand the resort is less than three yers old so beach is still new. My major issue was the Customer SERVICE. And the lack of willingness to get you what you needed. I waited a full 24 hours for them to bring me an iron (so the saying is true they do not rush for anything in Jamaica) Accept when it is check out time (they rushed us out of the room) I went to the bar two days straight and they had no lime. The pool closes down at 7:00 which is to early for peek season. There is no room service. And to top everything else off they had no waiting staff to serve you around the pool or while you were watching the entertainment. Everytime you wanted a drink you had to go get it. Food was average we stayed seven days and could only attend the resturants one time during our entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, NC
Oct 5, 2010

RIU MoBay Not Good

My wife and I were celebrating our 24th anniversary at the RUI Montego Bay. We had stayed at the RIU in Ochoa Rios several years ago and it was fantastic. Anyway, when we arrived, our room had two double bed pushed together (their version of a King size). The lights in the bathroom worked when they wanted to. Maintenance beat on the switch (their version on fixing the problem). The ceiling fan clicked like a goat with the hiccups (couldn't fix it). The bar didn't wasn't fully stock to fit the drinks that you wanted. They had their version of the drinks. Most of the bartenders didn't make you feel welcome. They were just there! The food was the biggest disappointment. We have been coming to Jamaica for 24 years and looked forward to the local food….Banana nut bread, jerk pork as well as chicken. The resort didn't serve pork…and never did they have banana nut bread at breakfast. What is breakfast in Jamaica without banana nut bread? The food selection was subpar compared to other Jamaican resorts. On top of everything, we had a tropical storm (Nicole) develop over Jamaica. The resort wasn't prepared in any way for that type of weather. The current would come and go. They had poor activities for the guest. They set up bars to get everyone drinking. I'm sorry; I didn't plan on joining AA while I was celebrating my 24th anniversary. Lastly, their internet service was laughable. We were using Skye to talk to our daughters so when you could connect, the service was very slow. When it started raining, their wireless went down and they didn't even try to restore the connection. All they had to do was reboot their router. Fail on deaf ears! Needless to say, I will never go back to this RIU resort. I would be cautious on any RIU resort at this point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 8, 2009

Riu Montego Bay - could be better

The hotel was nice. The staff was aloof. Most service was self service. Access to the beach without local drug dealers was limited. This made for limited beach access. Security turned a blind eye to the local dealers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Houstontravellerc
Business
Houston
Jul 22, 2014

Ok hotel

The food was the best part of the hotel stay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, it was like lying on the a rock. The toilet needed to flushed 2 times and you have to wait for 5 minutes before it will flush. I went for wedding, the food at the steakhouse was served at the reception, it was aweful. It should have been from tge buffet. My friend broke in rashes when sat on the bedding.I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dennis t.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

only worth a discounted hotel

We have been in Jamacia 4 times, always at an all inclusive. The hotel is dated but nice. The pool needs a lot of work on the tiles. The beach was not cleaned every day so very messy Did not go in the ocean due to the algae build-up. Food was average resort buffet, Steak House (reservations) was good. Put in a different room due to misunderstanding with the extra money paid for an ocean front view. Sent us a bucket with champaign which neither of us drink but nice gesture. Three different days we had unexpected "visitors". They took our complaint & sprayed the room. Offered us a suite the night before we were leaving. Did not want to pack & move for 1 night. Staff from the housekeeping, bars, entertainers, front desk & everyone we met were wonderful & very friendly & helpful. Loved them all, too bad about the rest..Bed was hard but not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a taxi to Montego Bay for shopping, got bothered a lot but due to being in Jamacia a lot we were expecting that. You are able to negotiate prices at all the places we went.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warnerson
Business
Kingston, Jamaica
Jan 4, 2014

Client Experience had a few mishaps

Our cell phone was stolen between check-in counter and room. The Riu team members were not always engaging. We have stayed at other Riu resorts and the staff were more engaging. Suggest Riu rotate the staff from their other destinations to increase the level of exposure for their team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rnics
Business
new york
Feb 19, 2014

First trip with boyfriend

The riu was a beautiful clean happy resort with much to keep you busy thruout the day. However, there was no music to be heard either st the beach or the pool and I had asked many people that I met there what they thought about this and they agreed that the Riu Montigo Bay needs to have music playing at the beach and at the pool. It would also be nice if there where girls/guys who can refresh you drink while sunbathing by the pool or beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top