$226 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
385 reviews
Awesome place

Everything was great from the min we entered to the min we left See full review

  • LosPaisitas
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (385)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Toni
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 4, 2010

A new way to vacation.

Room was not ready when we arrived. The resort was dated. There was a dank and musty smell in our room. House keeping serviced our room around 5 or 6 pm.Some of the staff acted like they were bothered by the guest. The food at the dining facilities was adequate, but the fruit was never good. If you got to the dining facilities 30 minutes or less before closing, you got what was left, no replenishment of freshly cooked food. The dining areas where you had to make reservations were not impressive. They had the nerve to have you reserve a buffet meal that was no better than the regular dining area. The pool was filthy, slimy, and disappointing. I did not get in the pool at all. I was too afraid of getting an infection or virus. The beachfront was no better; it had debri, pollution, and drug dealers trying to sell reefer at the water's edge. I did like the entertainment, the night club, and the fact that I could get endless cocktails. I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic. I like going on cruises, but vacationing at an all inclusive resort is so much better, but I would do all inclusive at another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 22, 2009

Wedding Trip

For being new, the hotel already looked worn. The food was the same everyday. Very bland. One restuarant was not open during our entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I need GREAT SERVICE!!!
Business
Washington DC
Aug 8, 2011

Customer Service needs Major Improvement

The physical resort was nice, enteratinment was good. We upgraded ourselves to a suite which was very nice. The beach water was not clear as Negril and or other beaches I have been to. But I understand the resort is less than three yers old so beach is still new. My major issue was the Customer SERVICE. And the lack of willingness to get you what you needed. I waited a full 24 hours for them to bring me an iron (so the saying is true they do not rush for anything in Jamaica) Accept when it is check out time (they rushed us out of the room) I went to the bar two days straight and they had no lime. The pool closes down at 7:00 which is to early for peek season. There is no room service. And to top everything else off they had no waiting staff to serve you around the pool or while you were watching the entertainment. Everytime you wanted a drink you had to go get it. Food was average we stayed seven days and could only attend the resturants one time during our entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, NC
Oct 5, 2010

RIU MoBay Not Good

My wife and I were celebrating our 24th anniversary at the RUI Montego Bay. We had stayed at the RIU in Ochoa Rios several years ago and it was fantastic. Anyway, when we arrived, our room had two double bed pushed together (their version of a King size). The lights in the bathroom worked when they wanted to. Maintenance beat on the switch (their version on fixing the problem). The ceiling fan clicked like a goat with the hiccups (couldn't fix it). The bar didn't wasn't fully stock to fit the drinks that you wanted. They had their version of the drinks. Most of the bartenders didn't make you feel welcome. They were just there! The food was the biggest disappointment. We have been coming to Jamaica for 24 years and looked forward to the local food….Banana nut bread, jerk pork as well as chicken. The resort didn't serve pork…and never did they have banana nut bread at breakfast. What is breakfast in Jamaica without banana nut bread? The food selection was subpar compared to other Jamaican resorts. On top of everything, we had a tropical storm (Nicole) develop over Jamaica. The resort wasn't prepared in any way for that type of weather. The current would come and go. They had poor activities for the guest. They set up bars to get everyone drinking. I'm sorry; I didn't plan on joining AA while I was celebrating my 24th anniversary. Lastly, their internet service was laughable. We were using Skye to talk to our daughters so when you could connect, the service was very slow. When it started raining, their wireless went down and they didn't even try to restore the connection. All they had to do was reboot their router. Fail on deaf ears! Needless to say, I will never go back to this RIU resort. I would be cautious on any RIU resort at this point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 8, 2009

Riu Montego Bay - could be better

The hotel was nice. The staff was aloof. Most service was self service. Access to the beach without local drug dealers was limited. This made for limited beach access. Security turned a blind eye to the local dealers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Houstontravellerc
Business
Houston
Jul 22, 2014

Ok hotel

The food was the best part of the hotel stay. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, it was like lying on the a rock. The toilet needed to flushed 2 times and you have to wait for 5 minutes before it will flush. I went for wedding, the food at the steakhouse was served at the reception, it was aweful. It should have been from tge buffet. My friend broke in rashes when sat on the bedding.I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warnerson
Business
Kingston, Jamaica
Jan 4, 2014

Client Experience had a few mishaps

Our cell phone was stolen between check-in counter and room. The Riu team members were not always engaging. We have stayed at other Riu resorts and the staff were more engaging. Suggest Riu rotate the staff from their other destinations to increase the level of exposure for their team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rnics
Business
new york
Feb 19, 2014

First trip with boyfriend

The riu was a beautiful clean happy resort with much to keep you busy thruout the day. However, there was no music to be heard either st the beach or the pool and I had asked many people that I met there what they thought about this and they agreed that the Riu Montigo Bay needs to have music playing at the beach and at the pool. It would also be nice if there where girls/guys who can refresh you drink while sunbathing by the pool or beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Virginia girly
Business
Virginia
Mar 13, 2014

Riu Montego Bay Jamaica

Staff were friendly, room was clean. Fridge didn't work and bedding wasn't the best. Lots of activities and awesome pool and beach front! Best for parties or spring break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Steak house has the best food at the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe from New Yak
Business
Chicago, IL
May 1, 2014

Accurately priced

Amenities: - Room was just fine. Only issues were with balcony door, which had confusing lock, and also the 2-day beverage restock... Generally speaking, all inclusives refill the fridge every day -Pool was great, though swim up bar appeared dirty -Beach was fantastic Location: -Mahoe bay not Montego... must see montego bay to get real feel of "dah bay mon!" Staff: -Great people. Slower pace than I am use to. Please note I am an anxious person from chicago who expects his deep dish pizza to be ready in 10 minutes...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

ONLY EAT BREAKFAST (eggs, bacon, toast) AND LUNCH (beach hut - jerk chicken) AVOID DINNER AT ALL COSTS. GO TO GAS STATION AND GET CHIPS OR CROSS STREET AND EAT AT BURGER KING "HAVE IT YOUR WAY MON!"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top