$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
415 out of 415
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Party People
Business
Nevada
Mar 9, 2012

Food was awful, location was awful

We just got back from the same area 8 months ago and didn't think trying a new resort could be that much different. This resort (Riu) had a bad beach area (hard sand, very dirty water, no snorkeling possible, and narrow beach area). The food at the resort was AWFUL (not available 24/7, no room-service, everything was out of stock and they never filled it, only buffets except steakhouse and the steakhouse was disgusting all fatty steak and like one cm thick steak). The resort is so spread out and they put us like a mile away from the food and front desk. The only good thing about the resort was that there was alcohol available 24/7 and they were good about making it always available...however, doesn't alcohol make you hungry? They don't have any food late night! Most of the staff were friendly which made it better, but by day 3 we were ready to move and it was not a safe area outside the resort so we couldn't walk out to get other food or explore. Pool was nice, even though someone pooped in it and they just added chemicals for a few hours? Gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Befuddled
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2012

Wouldn't Stay there again!

Their idea of oceanview room was at a corner of one of the buildings where you could see a little water through the trees. Directly across from the dinning halls which were extremely noisy from about 9am - 11 pm. Could not sit on the balcony because of the l;ound noises of dinnerware clanking, 100's of people talking and kids crying. What a waste of a vacation and $$$'s. Ended up eating out 3 of 4 nights. Quantity yes, quality no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dizzy G
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 8, 2012

Really

I stayed at the Riu by accident, our flight got cancelled and they could not find another flight out we were stuck there for four days.. Thank Spirit.. The pools were great, the entertainment great, the Drinks awesome. The Tv Great (when it rained) But saw a roach in my room, at first I chalked it up to an isolated incident. when I went to my friends room she had one dead in the closet and one crawling all over the glasses at the little bar area. Then another young lady stuck with us said she woke to one crawling on her. The food was awful..expected more I guess.. It seemed they were serving the lunch from the day before for dinner the next night .. the grounds were big like needed a golf cart big. and the worse part was there was nothing around it I would not stay here again. Oh yeah I didn't go in the ocean but my friend who loves to go in te ocean said after going in about 6 to 8 feet the water had a lot of sea weed and was slimmy, in the common area I did get attacked by sand fleas, mosquitoes and who know what else?It is the only place in the resort to get wifi which was needed to let folks know why I hadn't come home four days prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The drinks and entertainment were the good thing about the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spicybrown
Business
Kenilworth, NJ
May 21, 2012

Good value, but lackluster in some areas

Can't beat the value with Riu Jamaica. The hotel rooms were great; the pool and bars were clean and stocked; close to the airport and downtown. However, compared to the Riu in Guancaste Costa Rica (first and only Riu experience for most of our group), this hotel lacked a lot in a few specific areas. The food quality was not the greatest; the staff was ordinary and lacked the "extra-mile" that we saw in Costa Rica; and the tour company selected by the hotel was completely awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Avoid the JTL company in the lobby. We booked all of our excursions through them on the first day and were extremely disappointed with all of them. One example was the trip to Negril. They took us to Margaritaville in Negril (not as good as the one in Montego Bay) for 3 hours. Then went to a non-authenticate mall to shop for an hour. Finally they took us to Rick's Cafe (which is supposed to be the main attraction). We spent only an hour there. We had to rush to eat our meal and did not have any time at all to try the cliff jumps. Very poor time allocation by the tour company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charimurray
Business
Queens, New York
Aug 7, 2012

Jamaica 50th Vacation

Great deal, no complaints. Good food, and lot's of activities for all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LuvLee
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2012

Never Again

My girlfriends and I chose the Riu because we heard so many wonderful things about the one in Cancun and Ocho Rios, JA. The room smelled like mildew, it took forever just to get wash cloths and we had to call several times.We were told they would have them later on in the day but I like to shower in the morning as most people do.i enjoyed the food, daily aerobics on the beach and the pools although. We had to beg for music to be played at the pool. The bartenders and front desk staff were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed the music and dancing at Pier 1 and Margaritaville

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super person
Business
Florida
Aug 12, 2009

The hotel was not very good

This trip was one of the worst trip I have taken,the check in was after 4pm,after we complain to management and got a room with a very bad smell and our flight was very late from fll to mbj.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh pa
Sep 24, 2010

price doesnt mean great

well im not going to be rude just honest. the positives should come before the negatives. the ride from the airport took 5 minutes. checkin was quick. there are 2 pools side by side. the pool without the bar was nice and clean, ill tell you about the other pool in the negatives. our room was clean and the air worked great. the jerk chicken hut on the beach was the best food we had the whole time. and checkout was quick and easy. now the bad and when i say bad it was horrible. the pool with the bar had so much booze and juices in it you couldn't see anything but clouds. the beach was just like a fish tank without a filter. the slime on the bottom was gross and the water was green merkey just like a dirty fish tank. the peddlers on the beach don't understand "NO". so we stayed away from the beach the whole trip. the food at all the restaurants was exactly the same. it says reservations for the theme restaurants which are impossible to get anyway, but we didnt care cause its all the same at all 4 restaurants just different names. i really think when you book a room that is ocean view you should see alot of the ocean well not true here. i could see if i stood on my tip toes on the chair on the balcony a little piece of the ocean way out in the distance, really not worth the $ for the upgrade. I could go on and on about this place but plane and simple it sucked for the most part but we made the most of it cause we wanted to be close to the airport. definately would not recommed for luxury but for quick and close the not so bad. i think that if you want beach no, if you want different foods no, and if you want room with a view definately no. all in all i say no but price does matter and it was cheap but exactly that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there are 4 restaurants all have the same food just different names for the dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stlcouple
Business
saint louis mo
Jan 5, 2010

cost to much

we did all the excursions we could do.we saw a couple of shows but the entertainment staff sucked. the pool bar closed way to early.you cxan hear the airplanes all day long and let me tell u that that will ruin your trip rite there.yhe food was ok iv'e had better.the beach was clean but the water sucked because of all the seaweed when you walk into the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snorks
Business
maryland
Dec 20, 2010

You can do a lot better.

Just got back from 10 days at he Riu. The beach is lame. the entire swimming area is covered with a seaweed and the water is a constant fog so that you can't see the bottom at even 18 inches. By far the worst beach I've seen in Montego Bay or Negril. The food was not impressive at all. Every single night was the same dinner buffet with a featured item 3 days a week. You have to make reservations to go to dinner at one of the three restaurants which is fine but there was almost never anyone at the dinner reservation desk and when they saw you they told you One Minute...try 20! And make your reservations early because they fill up in the morning for the 7 oclock dinner. Very slow service from the staff (Entertainment staff was Good) You are going to need to leave the resort to have fun if you are going for more than 2 days. The cabs from the resort are literally 3 to 4 times what they are suppose to be. Go out the front door of the resort and get a local taxi that will cost you $5 instead of $20 to go ten minutes down the road to the hipstrip. He will give you his number and be at your service at the drop of a hat for a few american dollars. Be ready to say No a lot. Everyone down there wants to sell you any drug you want and they are extremely persistant as are the store owners and street venders. It was amazing how nice the airport personnel and bellhops and general welcome staff were to us when we got there but how rude they were and discurtious when we were leaving. The room was ok, and we got the garden view. Not much of a garden, the bed was a hard spring mattress. Tube tv. Bathroom was nice, big tub and nice hot water with double sinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont pay 50 bucks each to go snorkling for 40 minutes! Go to Doctors Cave Beach (10 mins away)and pay 5 bucks to have a nice coral sand beach and all the snorkling you want with beautiful fish right off the beach. Great swimming, food if you want it, bar if you want it. We brought our own snorkling gear but you can rent it for 5 more dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top