$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 25, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
399 reviews
great time

We had a great time, we did every activity they had to offer, and by doing that we didn't gain a... See full review

  • amanda k.
  • Feb 22, 2015
great value

Did not have one complaint about this place! great food, location, staff! See full review

  • TiffanieTraveler
  • Feb 21, 2015
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Befuddled
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 29, 2012

Wouldn't Stay there again!

Their idea of oceanview room was at a corner of one of the buildings where you could see a little water through the trees. Directly across from the dinning halls which were extremely noisy from about 9am - 11 pm. Could not sit on the balcony because of the l;ound noises of dinnerware clanking, 100's of people talking and kids crying. What a waste of a vacation and $$$'s. Ended up eating out 3 of 4 nights. Quantity yes, quality no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dizzy G
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 8, 2012

Really

I stayed at the Riu by accident, our flight got cancelled and they could not find another flight out we were stuck there for four days.. Thank Spirit.. The pools were great, the entertainment great, the Drinks awesome. The Tv Great (when it rained) But saw a roach in my room, at first I chalked it up to an isolated incident. when I went to my friends room she had one dead in the closet and one crawling all over the glasses at the little bar area. Then another young lady stuck with us said she woke to one crawling on her. The food was awful..expected more I guess.. It seemed they were serving the lunch from the day before for dinner the next night .. the grounds were big like needed a golf cart big. and the worse part was there was nothing around it I would not stay here again. Oh yeah I didn't go in the ocean but my friend who loves to go in te ocean said after going in about 6 to 8 feet the water had a lot of sea weed and was slimmy, in the common area I did get attacked by sand fleas, mosquitoes and who know what else?It is the only place in the resort to get wifi which was needed to let folks know why I hadn't come home four days prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The drinks and entertainment were the good thing about the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spicybrown
Business
Kenilworth, NJ
May 21, 2012

Good value, but lackluster in some areas

Can't beat the value with Riu Jamaica. The hotel rooms were great; the pool and bars were clean and stocked; close to the airport and downtown. However, compared to the Riu in Guancaste Costa Rica (first and only Riu experience for most of our group), this hotel lacked a lot in a few specific areas. The food quality was not the greatest; the staff was ordinary and lacked the "extra-mile" that we saw in Costa Rica; and the tour company selected by the hotel was completely awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Avoid the JTL company in the lobby. We booked all of our excursions through them on the first day and were extremely disappointed with all of them. One example was the trip to Negril. They took us to Margaritaville in Negril (not as good as the one in Montego Bay) for 3 hours. Then went to a non-authenticate mall to shop for an hour. Finally they took us to Rick's Cafe (which is supposed to be the main attraction). We spent only an hour there. We had to rush to eat our meal and did not have any time at all to try the cliff jumps. Very poor time allocation by the tour company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charimurray
Business
Queens, New York
Aug 7, 2012

Jamaica 50th Vacation

Great deal, no complaints. Good food, and lot's of activities for all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LuvLee
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 18, 2012

Never Again

My girlfriends and I chose the Riu because we heard so many wonderful things about the one in Cancun and Ocho Rios, JA. The room smelled like mildew, it took forever just to get wash cloths and we had to call several times.We were told they would have them later on in the day but I like to shower in the morning as most people do.i enjoyed the food, daily aerobics on the beach and the pools although. We had to beg for music to be played at the pool. The bartenders and front desk staff were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed the music and dancing at Pier 1 and Margaritaville

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sanjman
Business
Carmel, Indiana
Dec 29, 2013

lost reservation, poor service

Just returned after a 4 day trip with a group of 6 families at Riu Montego Bay. They supposedly lost the reservation of 1 family and made us wait for over 3 hours prior to assigning the rooms after hours of arguing and escalation. Customer service at front desk is horrible compared to any avg 3 -4 star hotel in US. Couldn't get any reservation for any of the restaurants since you can only make a reservation after room number us assigned which meant eating buffet for all meals but 1. Alcohol selection ok however no premium scotch so we bought our own. Room was decent. The beach area is not clean resulting in mosquito bites for all of us. Buffet selection good although not comparable to a cruise ship. Entertainment options are poor. Will not return to this resort chain again. It's better to pay extra and pick a better resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a blue bldg shopping center across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super person
Business
Florida
Aug 12, 2009

The hotel was not very good

This trip was one of the worst trip I have taken,the check in was after 4pm,after we complain to management and got a room with a very bad smell and our flight was very late from fll to mbj.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stlcouple
Business
saint louis mo
Jan 5, 2010

cost to much

we did all the excursions we could do.we saw a couple of shows but the entertainment staff sucked. the pool bar closed way to early.you cxan hear the airplanes all day long and let me tell u that that will ruin your trip rite there.yhe food was ok iv'e had better.the beach was clean but the water sucked because of all the seaweed when you walk into the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh pa
Sep 24, 2010

price doesnt mean great

well im not going to be rude just honest. the positives should come before the negatives. the ride from the airport took 5 minutes. checkin was quick. there are 2 pools side by side. the pool without the bar was nice and clean, ill tell you about the other pool in the negatives. our room was clean and the air worked great. the jerk chicken hut on the beach was the best food we had the whole time. and checkout was quick and easy. now the bad and when i say bad it was horrible. the pool with the bar had so much booze and juices in it you couldn't see anything but clouds. the beach was just like a fish tank without a filter. the slime on the bottom was gross and the water was green merkey just like a dirty fish tank. the peddlers on the beach don't understand "NO". so we stayed away from the beach the whole trip. the food at all the restaurants was exactly the same. it says reservations for the theme restaurants which are impossible to get anyway, but we didnt care cause its all the same at all 4 restaurants just different names. i really think when you book a room that is ocean view you should see alot of the ocean well not true here. i could see if i stood on my tip toes on the chair on the balcony a little piece of the ocean way out in the distance, really not worth the $ for the upgrade. I could go on and on about this place but plane and simple it sucked for the most part but we made the most of it cause we wanted to be close to the airport. definately would not recommed for luxury but for quick and close the not so bad. i think that if you want beach no, if you want different foods no, and if you want room with a view definately no. all in all i say no but price does matter and it was cheap but exactly that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there are 4 restaurants all have the same food just different names for the dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I need GREAT SERVICE!!!
Business
Washington DC
Aug 8, 2011

Customer Service needs Major Improvement

The physical resort was nice, enteratinment was good. We upgraded ourselves to a suite which was very nice. The beach water was not clear as Negril and or other beaches I have been to. But I understand the resort is less than three yers old so beach is still new. My major issue was the Customer SERVICE. And the lack of willingness to get you what you needed. I waited a full 24 hours for them to bring me an iron (so the saying is true they do not rush for anything in Jamaica) Accept when it is check out time (they rushed us out of the room) I went to the bar two days straight and they had no lime. The pool closes down at 7:00 which is to early for peek season. There is no room service. And to top everything else off they had no waiting staff to serve you around the pool or while you were watching the entertainment. Everytime you wanted a drink you had to go get it. Food was average we stayed seven days and could only attend the resturants one time during our entire visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top