$358 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
388 reviews
Awesome place

Everything was great from the min we entered to the min we left See full review

  • LosPaisitas
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Below average

Just got back yesterday after a week. Not a lot of good things I can say other than decent weather. Key - Bad attitude by most staff, bad greesy and over salted foods, not a lot to do other than tan and swim. Lots of negative things I can say. We tried tipping at first but it made absolutely NO difference. Same TERRIBLE attitude by staff who just don't care. Food sucked, no variety, greesy, salty, recycled from prior nights, etc. Also, it's suppose to be all you can eat and drink, but then staff tells us we're not allowed to book restaurants more than once while we're there. What happened to all you can eat? Besides, place wasn't that crowded to begin with. Tip - buffet was better anyways (which isn't saying much tho). Italian isn't "Italian", Asian isn't "Asian" if you know what i mean. Just doesn't taste right at all. Also, as far as Jamaica is concerned. There isn't that much to do. They try to build themselves as a tourist spot, but it really isn't that interesting. Preferred Cancun for that type of environment, more variety of things to do. Also, people need to realize tourist aren't ATM's. We should only have to tip for good service and not just because you stood there. Just a disappointing Jamaican / RIU experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lizzy the New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

HORRIBLE!!!!

The biggest problem I had was the hotel shut down after 12am. The lobby lights were even turned off. We couldnt get anything to eat or drink after 12am outside of our room. My room was full of bugs, so I received bites all over my body making the duration of my trip very uncomfortable. The food wasn't at its best either. We only enjoyed the night out at the Asian restaurant, but the buffet and other restaurants lacked flavor in the majority of the options provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jetsetter321
Business
Miami
Nov 3, 2014

Not so great weekend getaway

I have been to many all inclusives inclusing other Rius. I was highly disappointed at the Riu Montego Bay. I stayed at the sister resort next door two months prior and in comparison it was night and day in terms of quality and service. The Riu Montego Bay was poorly maintained. The rooms are outdated and lots of broken fixtures. The pool was missing tiles throughout and very moldy and dirty. Our room had "unexpected visitors." The food was just okay and the staff did not keep the buffets replenished as it should be. The staff were not rude but they were not attentive or as friendly as the Riu Palace next door. The alcohol drinks are horrible. Very watered down and limited options. There isn't 24 hour access to food unless you consider empty nacho tray and stale popcorn food. The entertainment was good probably one of the best amenities there. If you can spend the little extra for the palace or go somewhere else. At least until they refurbish and hotel and features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops for souvenirs right across the main road but you have to bargain to 50% or less than the price shown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta ga
Oct 2, 2010

guest

enjoy the bar services, and the nightly entertainment was great. food service need inprovement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Neise
Business
Maryland, USA
Sep 23, 2011

Horrible Food

The food was horrible very bland....no flavor whatsoever. The staff was okay not overly friendly. If you walked by the housekeeping staff 3 or 4 of them together they would say nothing. The bar staff was nice and more friendly Milton was great and gregory a chef at the steak house was nice too. Overall the resort itself was nice but I would never go back because the food was so bad and that is an important part of an all inclusive. I have never had bad food before at an all inclusive and I have been to several.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amandac
Business
NYC
Dec 27, 2011

Theft Problem

All of the cash was stolen from my wallet in my locked room! This hotel has a theft problem. If you decide to stay there make sure EVERYTHING is in the room safe. Our Nintendo DS and a pair of headphones were also stolen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
theboz
Business
bluewater bay, fl.
Dec 26, 2011

christmas vacation

check in was very,very slow. received key and given directions. had to walk at least quarter mile(no shuttles).opened door to find someone already in room. walked al way bact to lobby, another 20min to get key and no one seemed to care. too many kids around swim-up bar, everyone was upset about that. just not happy with this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Noller
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Decent Place, Bad Food

The hotel itself was nice. The food at the buffets though was pretty bad. Don't consider myself a picky eater at all so thinking the food is bad says a lot. Also the beach area was nice but the ocean portion to swim in is pretty much a back bay without a lot of waves or good swimming area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed In Paradise
Business
Florida
Feb 7, 2012

Unwanted Guests

After several hotel rooms, they still didnt get it right: roaches, ants, toilet that didnt work, bad smells, and more. I paid for a family room and did not get what i paid for instead got a bad deal. Spent one of our 4 nights sitting up in the lobby with a rude staff member who refused to contact management. I want my money back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Party People
Business
Nevada
Mar 9, 2012

Food was awful, location was awful

We just got back from the same area 8 months ago and didn't think trying a new resort could be that much different. This resort (Riu) had a bad beach area (hard sand, very dirty water, no snorkeling possible, and narrow beach area). The food at the resort was AWFUL (not available 24/7, no room-service, everything was out of stock and they never filled it, only buffets except steakhouse and the steakhouse was disgusting all fatty steak and like one cm thick steak). The resort is so spread out and they put us like a mile away from the food and front desk. The only good thing about the resort was that there was alcohol available 24/7 and they were good about making it always available...however, doesn't alcohol make you hungry? They don't have any food late night! Most of the staff were friendly which made it better, but by day 3 we were ready to move and it was not a safe area outside the resort so we couldn't walk out to get other food or explore. Pool was nice, even though someone pooped in it and they just added chemicals for a few hours? Gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top