$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryMary
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 1, 2011

Loved MoBay, not this resort

This my first time in Jamaica and I loved it! Hotel was beautiful and pretty big. Just a few things that were disappointing: 1)Food was sub par. Many people will say this can be expected at an all-inclusive but I've had great food at other AI resorts. Even the pizza was bad. Only redeeming food there was the jerk chicken shack on the beach. Food was delicious. Italian restaurant was alright. We didn't try the Chinese restaurant (because of negative reviews on other sites) and didn't have time to try the steak place. 2. Rooms were nice but the tub is very odd. It's narrow and the sides are very rounded, so slipping is very possible. My roommate slipped at least twice and I saw a lot of people in wheel chairs with wrapped ankles. Don't know if it was from the tub, but wouldn't be surprised. 3. All of the staff are awesome! Very friendly and helpful. They made up for what was lacking in the rooms/food. 4. Entertainment was amazing. There is a cuban band once a week on TropicalLatino night, they sounded really good. There is also a steel band with a bunch of extremely talented dancers. Both worth checking out. The night club was a little blah. There was only one bartender, so service was extremely slow. The club overall was very tiny. All in all, good trip. Mostly because we spent some time at local reggae clubs, instead of the resort. If you like to relax and aren't a food snob, you'd enjoy this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Blue Beat and Margaritaville. They are a short drive from the hotel, which provides a free shuttle. Blue beat usually gets good around midnight. Margaritaville has a live reggae band on the roof. They were INCREDIBLE. Definitely pre-game before you go. The drinks are expensive, weak and small. There's also a jerk chicken stand by both of these clubs, absolutely delicious. Just what you need at 2 am. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calabasas, California
Apr 22, 2009

Good news and Bad news

Best Pool Area....Sports Equipment Easily Available Food was truly horrible! The worst food I have ever experienced. Restaurant reservations a hassle. Reserved a non smoking room and called as a follow up. Was put in a smoking room so horrible that my husband and I were coughing for two weeks after, had to wash the entire contents of our suitcases and had to air the luggage out to get rid of the smell. Based on these two factors I would not recommend this hotel. Such a shame because everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nbug
Business
Tuscaloosa Alabama
Feb 1, 2011

Family Trip

Rooms were big and nice,but had problems with ants and mosquitos in the room entire trip. Only was given one room key and told to check back next day for second key. Checked back every day and never received second key. Were with 4 couples and three of four only had one room key. So you had to stay with your roommate all time or spend had your time wandering around resort looking for your key to get in your room. Two couples had prescription meds and camera and other small items stolen from room. Only one bathroom for pool and beach area and it was a long way away. Food not good , same thing everyday with very little variety,one item was a package of weiners with stewed tomatos poured over them and called stewed sausage. Jerk chicken and pork very good, but after 3 or 4 days you get tired of that also. Had problem with toliet and had to repeatly call for maintance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
Mar 7, 2010

The end of the runway

Hotel is at the end of the airport runway. Could almost see the people in the planes that were taking off! Attended a wedding while there and had to stop a couple of times because it was too loud to hear! Beach a little disappointing--where is the turquoise water as described in the photos? Couldn't get reservations in the restaurants until after we departed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the evening shows! Enjoyed meeting new people!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tavm27
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Feb 26, 2011

Slow Start...Strong Finish

This was the introduction to my fiance to my country and it had a rocky start. Upon Arriving to the hotel we were greeted well with a little vitamin "R" (Rum Punch) and check in was a little hectic. The Room we were given was not ready yet and then when we were given the keys the room was not completely cleaned. Food from previous guests was still left in the refrigerator and empty bottles were left in the room. After our concerns were voiced, the Riu corrected the problem by upgrading our room to a Ocean View room. After that it was smooth sailing. The food was fantastic, with the exception of the reservations only restaurants. Didn't really feel like I missed anything because they were american themed restaurants. (Italian, Asian, Steakhouse). They were also buffet style so honestly didnt see why reservations were needed. The food in the Main dining hall was very diverse incorporated Jamaican dishes and was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Diamond Shopping Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Lou
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Jul 14, 2010

Not impressed!

I enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and the beach, it was very good. The food was disappointing, not much changes from meal to meal. Its always eating the same stuff and the quality wasn't that good. It would have been nice if there were theme nights for food. As well, the a la carte restaurants weren't really a la carte, they were mini buffets. Very disappointing. Worst of all the fruit was not tasty or good, didn't take like good fruit at all. Not much for salad or vegetarians. It is food served for the masses, probably people who go for spring break and party, but not for people who come to actually vacation and enjoy their stay. The alcoholic beverages weren't that good also as the hotel streamlined the process of making cocktails. The pina colada is from a slushy machine with added rum, this goes for the strawberry daiquiri and others. The pineapple daiquri is made with pineapple juice just like any other place would. Meanwhile fruits could be used in a blender. The bartenders aren't that good either at making drinks, I believe I had the worst gin and tonic, and, cuba libre I ever had there. Which doesn't matter much as the club isn't good there but the live shows are nice to watch for the evening. Overall, the stay wasn't bad as the hotel is nice, although I thought the room smelled musty, but it was a nice room. I liked the entertainment available for day and night. The amenities were good and the beach was nice. Since this was moderately priced, I'd say that it is alright to go to if you don't want to spend alot of money. However, if you want this to be a great vacation then go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There are not much bargains in the city, everyone over charges for their products so you can negotiate with them. The hotel gift shop is not that expensive compared to local markets. The Mobay shopping tour provided by Jamaica Tours was a complete waste of time. They take you to places where they get a cut of your shopping experience. Better off renting a car and doing your own shopping and sightseeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJ Kreuzin
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Great Room...Bad Food

The hotel itself was very nice. Our room was fantastic right on the ocean with the best view in the house! The pool was very nice as well. We were pretty active while we were there and left the resort a few times to see the "real Jamaica" and it was great. The downside was the food and the entertainment. The food was just bad. There is no other way to say it. Except for the Jerk Chicken on the beach...mmmm...very good...and the Steak house. The restaurants were very difficult to get into. We tried to make reservations the day that we arrived, but they were all booked up for days. We only were able to get to the Steak house and the Asian restaurant the last two nights that we were there. The wine was also very bad. We stuck around in the evenings and went to the different entertainment venues and they were all very amateur. I expected a lot more from such a nice resort. Next time we will stick with Sandals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring water socks and tennis shoes if you are planning to do any activities!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul MN
Jun 26, 2011

Mixed review

We had a large group for a wedding celebration. The front desk staff were not very helpful in organizing large group meals - but the staff at the restaurants went out of their way to be helpful. Food was okay, but you needed to look to find freshly prepared items - mostly standard buffet foods. The staff were not responsive to lost luggage, non-working keys and plugged toilets (which were common complaints). Beach and pool were nice - except for our last day when a loud, obnoxious party arrived. I was glad to be leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Arrive early for the beachfront jerk chicken lunch. They often run out of the side dishes. The chicken is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 6, 2011

Just OK

The hotel was about 5 mintues from the airport so quick to get to but you also hear planes flying overhead all day. It was clean, well kept. We were disappointed with the beaches, there wasn't enough sand and the water was protected by a reef so no waves but it was cloudy water and seaweed everywhere. The pool is big enough. The hotel needs more than a little hut to entertain the little ones. Food was not great but what all-inclusive is? The a-la-carte restaurants were only "semi" and you had to make reservations days in advance and they were not as good (may even be the same food from the buffet) as the buffet. Not enough fruits selections or desserts. Overall, we would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Reserve your a-la-carte reservations as soon as you arrive. Take your luggage with you to your room when you arrive instead of waiting for bell hop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore
Jul 10, 2011

riu montego bay 2011

The resort itself was very nice. Lots of bars, beautiful beach, lots of food. However, the staff was very uninviting and seemed like they did not want to be there. We didn't see anyone even smile for the first three days. The food was not very good either, very average at best. Be sure to bring your own cups for the hotel bars or else you will be served in dixie cups. The shows at night were quite entertaining. Buy your rum and coffee at the airport duty free, much cheaper and much fresher

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top