$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Irving, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Bday party in Jamaica

- We did a lot of sunbathing and drinking! We also went to Dunn's River Falls in Ochos Rios and Negril. - Food is really my only complaint. This was my first at an all inclusive and the food was just blah. Bland and didn't taste good. I was pretty sad about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Pork Pit for some good Jamaican food! It was delicious! Not only will you have some local food, but you'll get a break from the disappointing food at the hotel.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Irving, TX
Jul 27, 2011

Bday Party in Jamaica

- We mainly sunbathed and enjoyed the free drinks! We also went to the Dunn's River Falls in Ochos Rios and to Negril. - I wish they had had better food. I was disappointed with it. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Climb the Dunn's River Falls. It was really nice out there but make time for this trip because it is over an hour and a half away from the hotel. Located in Ochos Rios.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jennifers New Attitude
Friends
vineland, nj
Jun 10, 2014

busy-moms escape

Staff was overall friendly but frequently seemed as if they didn't want to be bothered (getting an extra towel or an iron). I know all busineeses cut corners to save money but at times felt uncomfortably obvious (difficulty getting condiments with meals, all inclusive buffet was great but once servers involved, things were doled out, took forever to receive & not with a Smile... I would say 50% of staff was very attentative, friendly & the resort itself was one of the funnest I've stayed at (shows, games, entertainment, sports) the staff were multi-talented and knew how to work a crowd!! Despite the little unfriendly, unwelcoming and slack amenitiy service; the beautiful grounds and 'fun' that's in the aura is Right On.. yah mon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Toad
Family
Connecticut
Jul 20, 2014

Nice but not spectacular

It was a fun week, but the beach was so-so, the food was so-so and we ended up going on 4 excursions because there wasn't enough activities to keep me entertained. If you like to just lay around the pool and drink free drinks it would be excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vtrunlm
Family
New England
Jul 20, 2014

Decent but was hoping for more of an experience

The Riu is the second Riu we've stayed at. The restaurants were a disappointment. They didn't have much availability but we got to eat at all three anyways. Two of the three are self serve which seemed to defeat the point. I wanted to be waited on. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the dining hall was very good. When we asked staff questions they seemed unaccommodating. We were there to celebrate a wedding and wouldn't even go above and beyond for the bride and groom. The place didn't seem overcrowded and it was always easy to find seat at the beach or pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go the boating trip to margaritaville!

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wvtomf
Couples
Wallingford pa
Sep 5, 2014

Nice hotel, reasonable pricing

When we arrived our check in was probably the fastest and easiest I have ever experienced. The 90 minutes of free lobby WiFi per device is nice also. (Although it should be standard in guestrooms) The beach is nice but the ocean is a bit slimy after walking out 4-5 feet. The view is gorgeous and the fresh grilled chicken on the beach is excellent. I would recommend staying here for families or friends, and couples young and old. One last note, the entertainment team put on an impressive grease musical on our last night, and the beach party they put on was a lot of fun. (Dancing, drinking, music, of course)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach bum 2275
Friends
Connecticut
Sep 10, 2014

Ladies trip

I would say this hotel is average, Rooms are clean, buffets are good and beach is okay. The entertainment was excellent and the crew really try to make it fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is perfect for a budget conscious person who wants to getaway and have fun!

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eeyoregirl
Couples
California
Sep 28, 2014

Only OK experience

Ok so my stay wasn't bad but it was not great either. To start with the food was the same thing all 5 days we were there, absolutely NO variety. The only time we had something different were the days we made a reservation to the restaurant they have on site,which still wasn't amazing. Our room did not get cleaned for 2 days, even though I placed the clean my room sign on the door they just threw it back under my door but never cleaned it. The hotel is dated but still is kept up. The beach was very small and not as clean as expected. As far as the staff goes not so friendly for the most part with a few exceptions at the pool bar. You definitely need to see David, "James Bond 007", Ricardo, and Winston. These guys really were awesome the energy, the enthusiasm was amazing made our time at the pool very enjoyable. Make sure you have David make you a "bone crusher". Everyone else was just not friendly they don't really even smile,makes it uncomfortable. If they were to train the staff to be more hospitable i may return, otherwise I would chose a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you want to buy souvenirs buy some while on tours, the shops across the street are way over priced. If buying alcohol fontina local market, not the hit shops

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marissa K
Family
pittsburgh
Feb 4, 2015

Nice resort, okay food

The place was nice. No complaints except for the food was average at best. The gym is only open until 7 or 8 pm, fyi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CeeJay
Friends
N/A
Aug 21, 2015

Wedding party

I traveled here for my aunts wedding and brought along my college roommate for extra fun. The staff was young (like myself) and were super friendly. They told us we're to party and made us special drinks on request. I was NOT a fan of the staff behind the front desk, extremely rude and unconcerned with the wellbeing of their guest (especially manager that would not stop counting money to speak us). The facility overall was ok, although it was clean it was slightly outdated. Over all my experience was ok but I will probably try a different hotel when I go back to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top