$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
356 reviews
Awesome Trip with Boyfriend

The stay was amazing the workers were very helpful . The bar pool and beach were great. It meant a... See full review

  • charrisse g.
  • Jul 13, 2015
Awesome Trip with Boyfriend

The stay was amazing the workers were very helpful . The bar pool and beach were great. It meant a... See full review

  • charrisse g.
  • Jul 13, 2015
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Property features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Policies
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 thumbs down
Business
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Feb 21, 2014

Disappointing

We went with 2 other couples during a holiday week. Needless to say We paid alot for a little. We ended up eating out4 out of the 5 nights the food was subpar at best other than the chicken hut during lunch and an omelette in the morning. The beds were hard and they don't restock your fridge. We bought liquor outside. The staff was always looking for tips which was really aggravating since this is supposed to be "all inclusive" the weather was beautiful and thank goodness we went with friends who werent opposed to spending more money and leaving the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Naleen
Business
west palm beach, florida
Aug 15, 2012

Devastating family vacation

My most recent family vacation at RUI Montego Bay was devastating. I had a 8 days, 7 nights trip booked for my tree children and mom. By the third day,I was robbed in my hotel room. They thief got away with all my money and a digital camera. It was reported to the hotel and shame on them. They had a careless "nonchalant attitude". I was told by the hotel manager that everything is handled in spain and they were unable to assist me locally. My children ran out of diapers and basic supplies and the hotel did not reach out to me at all. It's been more than a week since I returned home and still no one has contacted me. I pray that no one will experience something more severe because the hotel has no management system or plan for immediate resolution

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jhon smith
Business
home
Aug 26, 2013

one star

Don't waste your money. They need to teach their staff the meaning of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Mar 17, 2011

Money stolen out of safe in room.

Everything was very nice, except that my money was stolen out of the safe in my room, and the hotel staff would do nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 1, 2008

A place you don't want to go!

To be much more brief here, service bad, alchol choices bad, noisy, right under the take off path of the international airport. Every jet liner plane roars over head at about 1500 feet. They make no attempt to control the locals trying to sell you anything and EVERYTHING. Staff unresponsive to requests. Dining options are poor. Most of the food is of low quality and poorly made. Some of the cooks and servers at the buffet were more interested in talking to their buddies or on thier cell phones to pay attention to the guest. And the resort itself is poorly laid out and designed. Oh, except for the pool area. The beach has NO shade or umbrellas to get away from the sun. And of about 2 dozen islands that we have visted, this water is, hands down, the dirtiest and murkiest. And after you get about knee deep into the water, the bottom turns to slime which stirs up even more silt. And you sometimes sink ankle deep in this slime. Forget snorkling or the blue water every other resort offers. And there is no service on the beach or pool. The whole hotel is very noisy with no place on the grounds that offers any form of seclusion or privacy, even on your own patio. Poor house keeping. Our room wasn't made up one day until 9:30 PM. Poor bar restocking. Ours was only restocked twice. I could go on, but they limit the space on here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thrilled to be home
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

If you like all things tacky and buffets

This was a terrible choice of a hotel. The moment we arrived to check in, we were informed that the three "restaurants" serving dinner (the ONLY choices on the premises that were one step up from a dining hall) were completely booked for the first three nights of our four night stay. So imagine...you walk in and are told that your all-inclusive meal plan is dining hall for every meal, around the clock, for 90% of your stay? And each meal was basically the same..just recycled food from the previous meal, served in a different form. THEN, because the hotel was booked to capacity, we were unable to upgrade to anything more than a teeny, tiny, not very clean room facing another building, featuring an even tinier bathroom that NEVER had warmer than tepid water, and had not so much as a bottle of conditioner as an "amenity". Gross. NO ROOM SERVICE AT ALL. The only 24-hr food or drink available was a fridge in the "Sports Bar" featuring microwavable hamburgers in packaging...and a soda fountain. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL JOKE. If your choices are go here or stay home....STAY HOME. (We flew home early--"sacrificing" our final day of this lame trip.) Thank God the weather and the company were wonderful. Otherwise we'd have left even sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denns
Business
Boston Ma
Dec 19, 2010

I hated this hotel!!!!!

I have come to expect a certain level from an all inclusive hotel. Here you get cheap bottom shelf booze. You get the same food everywhere you eat. and your choices are terribly limited. Although the food did taste well I started growing feathers from all the chicken. My bar tender told me I should be tipping him in an all inclusive resort. I begged to differ and was told i was full of Well [*]. Well not that word the other one but i wont post it here. We paid extra for a garden view room we got a barbwire fence and a road. there isnt a garden on the property.So dont fall for that one. All in all the worst resort I have ever stayed in. The beach is dirty and full of muck and seaweed. The resort turns a blind eye to the locals on the beach pushing there wears. And good luck finding a manager when you ask for one they are not in. Ohh yea if you want fruit you wont find it here. My advise stay away from Rui Montigue Bay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Shows at night were great. i have to say one good thing so thats it

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Below average

Just got back yesterday after a week. Not a lot of good things I can say other than decent weather. Key - Bad attitude by most staff, bad greesy and over salted foods, not a lot to do other than tan and swim. Lots of negative things I can say. We tried tipping at first but it made absolutely NO difference. Same TERRIBLE attitude by staff who just don't care. Food sucked, no variety, greesy, salty, recycled from prior nights, etc. Also, it's suppose to be all you can eat and drink, but then staff tells us we're not allowed to book restaurants more than once while we're there. What happened to all you can eat? Besides, place wasn't that crowded to begin with. Tip - buffet was better anyways (which isn't saying much tho). Italian isn't "Italian", Asian isn't "Asian" if you know what i mean. Just doesn't taste right at all. Also, as far as Jamaica is concerned. There isn't that much to do. They try to build themselves as a tourist spot, but it really isn't that interesting. Preferred Cancun for that type of environment, more variety of things to do. Also, people need to realize tourist aren't ATM's. We should only have to tip for good service and not just because you stood there. Just a disappointing Jamaican / RIU experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lizzy the New Yorker
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

HORRIBLE!!!!

The biggest problem I had was the hotel shut down after 12am. The lobby lights were even turned off. We couldnt get anything to eat or drink after 12am outside of our room. My room was full of bugs, so I received bites all over my body making the duration of my trip very uncomfortable. The food wasn't at its best either. We only enjoyed the night out at the Asian restaurant, but the buffet and other restaurants lacked flavor in the majority of the options provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jetsetter321
Business
Miami
Nov 3, 2014

Not so great weekend getaway

I have been to many all inclusives inclusing other Rius. I was highly disappointed at the Riu Montego Bay. I stayed at the sister resort next door two months prior and in comparison it was night and day in terms of quality and service. The Riu Montego Bay was poorly maintained. The rooms are outdated and lots of broken fixtures. The pool was missing tiles throughout and very moldy and dirty. Our room had "unexpected visitors." The food was just okay and the staff did not keep the buffets replenished as it should be. The staff were not rude but they were not attentive or as friendly as the Riu Palace next door. The alcohol drinks are horrible. Very watered down and limited options. There isn't 24 hour access to food unless you consider empty nacho tray and stale popcorn food. The entertainment was good probably one of the best amenities there. If you can spend the little extra for the palace or go somewhere else. At least until they refurbish and hotel and features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops for souvenirs right across the main road but you have to bargain to 50% or less than the price shown.

Back to menu Return to top