$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
544 reviews
Amazing vacation

The staff is very nice and friendly & the location is perfect. Close to the airport right on the... See full review

  • Pricilla
  • Jul 2, 2014
what a place to stay

The hotel was Unbeliveable!! We had so much fun and cant wait to go back. See full review

  • jenstone
  • Jun 12, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (544)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
544 out of 544
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
2 thumbs down
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Feb 21, 2014

Disappointing

We went with 2 other couples during a holiday week. Needless to say We paid alot for a little. We ended up eating out4 out of the 5 nights the food was subpar at best other than the chicken hut during lunch and an omelette in the morning. The beds were hard and they don't restock your fridge. We bought liquor outside. The staff was always looking for tips which was really aggravating since this is supposed to be "all inclusive" the weather was beautiful and thank goodness we went with friends who werent opposed to spending more money and leaving the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Mar 17, 2011

Money stolen out of safe in room.

Everything was very nice, except that my money was stolen out of the safe in my room, and the hotel staff would do nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 25, 2009

Below average

Just got back yesterday after a week. Not a lot of good things I can say other than decent weather. Key - Bad attitude by most staff, bad greesy and over salted foods, not a lot to do other than tan and swim. Lots of negative things I can say. We tried tipping at first but it made absolutely NO difference. Same TERRIBLE attitude by staff who just don't care. Food sucked, no variety, greesy, salty, recycled from prior nights, etc. Also, it's suppose to be all you can eat and drink, but then staff tells us we're not allowed to book restaurants more than once while we're there. What happened to all you can eat? Besides, place wasn't that crowded to begin with. Tip - buffet was better anyways (which isn't saying much tho). Italian isn't "Italian", Asian isn't "Asian" if you know what i mean. Just doesn't taste right at all. Also, as far as Jamaica is concerned. There isn't that much to do. They try to build themselves as a tourist spot, but it really isn't that interesting. Preferred Cancun for that type of environment, more variety of things to do. Also, people need to realize tourist aren't ATM's. We should only have to tip for good service and not just because you stood there. Just a disappointing Jamaican / RIU experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Mar 17, 2011

Money stolen out of safe in room.

Everything was very nice, except that my money was stolen out of the safe in my room, and the hotel staff would do nothing about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaii I miss you
Charlotte Nc
Apr 8, 2010

Horrible night of sleep

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The food was loisy as well as cold. My entire experience was much to be desired. I was there to celebrate my 1st anniversity on Easter Monday, by then I wished I was at home instead. My trip last year to Hawaii was much more appreciated. I believe the next time I visit an island I will go back to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Hawaii instead. All that Jamaica has to offer you is drinking and eating.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Nov 1, 2008

A place you don't want to go!

To be much more brief here, service bad, alchol choices bad, noisy, right under the take off path of the international airport. Every jet liner plane roars over head at about 1500 feet. They make no attempt to control the locals trying to sell you anything and EVERYTHING. Staff unresponsive to requests. Dining options are poor. Most of the food is of low quality and poorly made. Some of the cooks and servers at the buffet were more interested in talking to their buddies or on thier cell phones to pay attention to the guest. And the resort itself is poorly laid out and designed. Oh, except for the pool area. The beach has NO shade or umbrellas to get away from the sun. And of about 2 dozen islands that we have visted, this water is, hands down, the dirtiest and murkiest. And after you get about knee deep into the water, the bottom turns to slime which stirs up even more silt. And you sometimes sink ankle deep in this slime. Forget snorkling or the blue water every other resort offers. And there is no service on the beach or pool. The whole hotel is very noisy with no place on the grounds that offers any form of seclusion or privacy, even on your own patio. Poor house keeping. Our room wasn't made up one day until 9:30 PM. Poor bar restocking. Ours was only restocked twice. I could go on, but they limit the space on here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thrilled to be home
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

If you like all things tacky and buffets

This was a terrible choice of a hotel. The moment we arrived to check in, we were informed that the three "restaurants" serving dinner (the ONLY choices on the premises that were one step up from a dining hall) were completely booked for the first three nights of our four night stay. So imagine...you walk in and are told that your all-inclusive meal plan is dining hall for every meal, around the clock, for 90% of your stay? And each meal was basically the same..just recycled food from the previous meal, served in a different form. THEN, because the hotel was booked to capacity, we were unable to upgrade to anything more than a teeny, tiny, not very clean room facing another building, featuring an even tinier bathroom that NEVER had warmer than tepid water, and had not so much as a bottle of conditioner as an "amenity". Gross. NO ROOM SERVICE AT ALL. The only 24-hr food or drink available was a fridge in the "Sports Bar" featuring microwavable hamburgers in packaging...and a soda fountain. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL JOKE. If your choices are go here or stay home....STAY HOME. (We flew home early--"sacrificing" our final day of this lame trip.) Thank God the weather and the company were wonderful. Otherwise we'd have left even sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad face
new jersey
Sep 3, 2012

not for a family.

The food was not good the only thing was for breakfast they have juicing not in the many resorts you get that, the pool they have a lot employees they should be looking for the adults to be clean so many couples having s..x in a family pool and no body was saying anything, they should have more activities for kids during the day is a family resort and doesn't feel that way. We change of resort because that was so disgusting to be in the pool. Was never clean and is a lot of tiles missing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street nice shopping and very cheap ask for discount.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FaithfulRIUstayerNOmore
Chicago IL
Mar 28, 2013

Hotel Staff not professional or understanding

My cousin and I stayed at the RIU from March 6th thru March 12th. The first part of the vacation was fine however on the 11th the front desk team contacted us in a very rude manner and said that we had been check out 1 day early. This was due to a booking issue however when we tried to expalin the situation the staff seemed disinterested and rude. THey spoke over me and required we pay additional money or leave, they even went as far as turning off the water and lights in the room while we were sorting things out through the booking agent. THis was our 2nd year stating with RIU in Montego Bay and we Will NEVER stay in a RIU chain hotel again. Not in Mexico, Domincan or anywhere. We did not deserve the treatment we received when it was clear based on our itenerary that we printed out for them that there was a small mistake made on the agents end. Not to mention trying to get dinner reservations at any of the 3 restaurants was close to impossible!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thrilled to be home
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

If you like all things tacky and buffets

This was a terrible choice of a hotel. The moment we arrived to check in, we were informed that the three "restaurants" serving dinner (the ONLY choices on the premises that were one step up from a dining hall) were completely booked for the first three nights of our four night stay. So imagine...you walk in and are told that your all-inclusive meal plan is dining hall for every meal, around the clock, for 90% of your stay? And each meal was basically the same..just recycled food from the previous meal, served in a different form. THEN, because the hotel was booked to capacity, we were unable to upgrade to anything more than a teeny, tiny, not very clean room facing another building, featuring an even tinier bathroom that NEVER had warmer than tepid water, and had not so much as a bottle of conditioner as an "amenity". Gross. NO ROOM SERVICE AT ALL. The only 24-hr food or drink available was a fridge in the "Sports Bar" featuring microwavable hamburgers in packaging...and a soda fountain. THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL JOKE. If your choices are go here or stay home....STAY HOME. (We flew home early--"sacrificing" our final day of this lame trip.) Thank God the weather and the company were wonderful. Otherwise we'd have left even sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top