$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
359 out of 359
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mjminnick
Family
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 12, 2014

Relaxing stay

The entire staff is very friendly and want your stay to be enjoyable. The bed was a little firm for me but all in all I slept good. We did book tours through the hotel and they were very fun while learning a few facts about Jamaica. I would highly recommend staying there and will most likely go back for more relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The usual touristy stuff.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick Vacationer
Single
Hartford, CT
Jan 11, 2014

RIU Highly Recommend

I have stayed at this location twice and well go back again. Beautiful grounds, food was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from downtown this resort provides quick and easy access if one wishes to venture out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T Phil
Couples
NY
Jan 10, 2014

Jan Vacatio

Loved it .room was clean,staff friendly,food was delicious...if I didn't like an item went back to buffet for something different.gym was ok. 2 treadmills and an eliptical needed servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicky B
Single
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Jan 4, 2014

Great Vacation

Wonderful. Had a great vacation and a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Warnerson
Couples
Kingston, Jamaica
Jan 4, 2014

Client Experience had a few mishaps

Our cell phone was stolen between check-in counter and room. The Riu team members were not always engaging. We have stayed at other Riu resorts and the staff were more engaging. Suggest Riu rotate the staff from their other destinations to increase the level of exposure for their team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ser and shar
Couples
Glendale, ca
Dec 31, 2013

Wonderful honeymoon

Every one was so friendly at the hotel. They were kind and so helpful. They were full of smiles and eagerness to have fun. They made the guests feel welcome ans have fun. It was an amazing experience at the hotel. The hotel I would recommend. I did get a few mosquitos bites or I dont know what it may have been. I took OFF but it didnt help me, so ai just suggest taking OFF or something else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sanjman
Friends
Carmel, Indiana
Dec 29, 2013

lost reservation, poor service

Just returned after a 4 day trip with a group of 6 families at Riu Montego Bay. They supposedly lost the reservation of 1 family and made us wait for over 3 hours prior to assigning the rooms after hours of arguing and escalation. Customer service at front desk is horrible compared to any avg 3 -4 star hotel in US. Couldn't get any reservation for any of the restaurants since you can only make a reservation after room number us assigned which meant eating buffet for all meals but 1. Alcohol selection ok however no premium scotch so we bought our own. Room was decent. The beach area is not clean resulting in mosquito bites for all of us. Buffet selection good although not comparable to a cruise ship. Entertainment options are poor. Will not return to this resort chain again. It's better to pay extra and pick a better resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a blue bldg shopping center across the street

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MikeEm
Couples
NYC
Dec 16, 2013

wifi in more places for free

You can only use 90 min of wifi for free a day and only in the lobby. The restaurant situation was annoying as all the reservations were taken by 9am! Then we were stuck with the buffet unless we wanted to beg the restaurants to make an exception. Also outsiders begging for money near gates at building 3 was creepy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

watch the shows everynight at 9pm they are awesome

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coleone
Couples
Salishan, Oregon
Dec 11, 2013

'Not the Best RIU"

We are RIU fans and have stayed at many of them. While relatively new, this one somehow seems a bit worn and dated. The food was abundant, and between the buffets and the ala cartes, you can find some very good meals. The staff was uniformly friendly, polite, and accomodating. You can't help but develop a real fondness for the Jamaican people. Our biggest complaint was the bar service. Started right out with a major disappointment: can't make mojitos. Tried numerous drinks that were awful: Long Island ice tea, salty dog, margeritas... I could go on and on. It wasn't the lack of "name booze" - don't really care about that. The bartenders simply didn't know how to make decent drinks. Even the daquiries were often served with rum floating on the top of the slush. We have never had a problem with RIU drinks - some of the best where we've stayed before - but this one let us down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping mall across the street has a lot of bargains, and you should "bargain" for prices. They will come way down if you simply ask.

Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STOKSIE
Couples
DUNNVILLE, ONTARIO
Dec 10, 2013

INCREDIBLE UPGRADE!!!!!!!

HAD A SMALL ISSUE WITH THE BOOKING AS FAR AS AVAILABILITY BUT THEY WERE MORE THAN ACCOMODATING AND UPGRADED US TO OCEANVIEW SUITES AND COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR US AS WE HAD TO SPEND OUR FIRST NIGHT AT ANOTHER HOTEL BUT IT WAS WELL WORTH AND WOULD GO BACK AGAIN TOMORROW, STAFF WAS INCREDIBLE AND COULDNT DO MORE FOR US!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

BUFFETS WERE AWESOME, VARIETY INCREDIBLE AND QUALITY, #1

Back to menu Return to top