$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
382 reviews
Perfect vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. We will be going back there. Checking in and out was quick and... See full review

  • gw1023
  • Jul 26, 2014
Amazing Vacay

From the moment we walked in the staff was super friendly and helpful. Lots to do,food and drinks... See full review

  • Island Dreamers
  • Jul 22, 2014
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5173 -77.8834
Area served
Montego Bay
Nearby airports
Montego Bay International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
A beach front property located in the tourist area of Montego Bay,on the northwest coast of Jamaica, 2.7 mi/4.3 Km from downtown Montego Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (382)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
382 out of 382
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lizzy the New Yorker
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2010

HORRIBLE!!!!

The biggest problem I had was the hotel shut down after 12am. The lobby lights were even turned off. We couldnt get anything to eat or drink after 12am outside of our room. My room was full of bugs, so I received bites all over my body making the duration of my trip very uncomfortable. The food wasn't at its best either. We only enjoyed the night out at the Asian restaurant, but the buffet and other restaurants lacked flavor in the majority of the options provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Toni
Atlanta, Georgia
Jun 4, 2010

A new way to vacation.

Room was not ready when we arrived. The resort was dated. There was a dank and musty smell in our room. House keeping serviced our room around 5 or 6 pm.Some of the staff acted like they were bothered by the guest. The food at the dining facilities was adequate, but the fruit was never good. If you got to the dining facilities 30 minutes or less before closing, you got what was left, no replenishment of freshly cooked food. The dining areas where you had to make reservations were not impressive. They had the nerve to have you reserve a buffet meal that was no better than the regular dining area. The pool was filthy, slimy, and disappointing. I did not get in the pool at all. I was too afraid of getting an infection or virus. The beachfront was no better; it had debri, pollution, and drug dealers trying to sell reefer at the water's edge. I did like the entertainment, the night club, and the fact that I could get endless cocktails. I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic. I like going on cruises, but vacationing at an all inclusive resort is so much better, but I would do all inclusive at another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I love the zipline tour. The guides were friendly, helpful, funny, and made the tour fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gab
ct
Jun 3, 2010

look for a better caribean location

If it is your 1st trip to the caribean go to punta cana or cancun,playa del carmen. Montego Bay is not a nice beach.not even if you are single. the hotel was very nice but the food was bad , always the same. to close to airport you can hear planes all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

look for a better beach and cheapper at the end what it counts is the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
glenn and miranda
southern west virginia
Jun 1, 2010

we will be back again and again

this is our third time to this resort in the past 6 months. that should say enough. each time was a little different but overall the resort meets all our needs. it is very clean, safe, and well maintained. the resort is less than two years old so you can expect a nice place. the beach is nice but not the best. the pool with the swim up bar was my favorite place, and you gotta eat the jerk chicken at the shack on the beach. the cab rides are a little expensive and what i call typical. we got an upgrade to an ocean front suite; the last two trips were standard rooms. wow what a difference. the ac works a lot better and the view is well worth it. there is an odor that is common in the rooms. it is due to the humidity and it will linger in your stuff. the food is the only real let down. its ok but nothing to right home about. you wont go hungry but there will be no awards given any time soon. if you are expecting a great meal....have your mom cook you a meal before you leave. we ahve spoke with several folks flying back and there had some of the same type of concerns with food, etc. we have looked at some of the other resorts and they didn't look like much. if you don't pick this resort be mindful not to pick one in the downtown area of mobay. it wont be pretty. [...] the bar tender and [...] at the front desk are the greatest. drink up and have one for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

spend the one hundred eighty bucks for a cab all day and go do what you want instead of getting wrapped you in the guided stuff. you will save money. ask for harold shields for your driver. he is smart and safe. you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
May 27, 2010

Fantastic Coupkes Getaway

It was awesome....can't wait to return! I will reccommend this vacation location to anyone seeking vacation spots!!!!! I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
May 25, 2010

Excellent Location

Riu Montego Bay was a very fun location. The food selection was good and the staff was very friendly. Pool was fun. Hotel tried to keep you entertained. Taxie service was OK. Min. Fare was about $20. Staff attempted to give ideas on where to go and what to do. Nightlife at the hotel was so so but the Hip Strip bars were great. Hotel set us up with tour and trip to Ochos Rios and Dunns River Falls. FUN!!! Great location for Couples and Families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Margarita Ville... Lots of fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mya & Daniel
Inkster, Michigan
May 23, 2010

Romantic Getaway

This was my husband and I first time going on an all inclusive vacation and we don't feel things could have been any better. From the time we arrived at RIU Montego Bay the staff was amazing,they provided things that we wanted and didn't know how to ask so that was a big plus for us. This place is a great place to travel for a romantic getaway the pools was gorgeous and the beach was unbelievable. We sat out on the beach 6 to 7 hours per day for the entire 6 days we spent there. Will visit RIU Montego Bay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The RIU Montego Bay offered three different specialty resturants, which you had to make reservations for although we read what others had to say about making reservations we found it very easy to do we made our reservations our first day for all three restuarants and they were all good. If ever in RIU Montego Bay please visit all the resturants including the daily buffet, and the jerk chicken on the beach. We promise they were all worth tasting at least once.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
May 22, 2010

Experience it for yourself...Great Hotel

We went expecting the worse of this hotel due to the negative reviews but it was totally the opposite. We had a great family vacations in this hotel during our stay in May. The staff were very friendly expecially with the childrens. The pool was huge and it was not crowded at all. The rooms were big and clean. The only thing negative about this hotel is the beach so we spent more time in the pool.(See other reviews about the hotel beach)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
premium62
Maryland
May 21, 2010

Great Place!!

When 1st arriving was pleased with look. Then was sent to room where key didnt work. Went back to desk to be sent to another room that was partially clean. Went back to desk was assigned another room that was good. Overall the hotel was good. Very clean (when room cleaned) alot of rooms but very little noise. Would say this hotel is alot better than where I stayed before in Ocho Rios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are buying alcohol to bring back to the US. You are better off waiting until you get to the airport or even on the plane. They all tell you that they will make you a deal but it was actually cheaper on the plane or duty free store in airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
kansas
May 15, 2010

Great week away

Had a great relaxing time at the Riu. It was comparable to the other Rius we have vacationed. Great staff, nice rooms, beautiful location but the speciality restaurants were not very good in Montego Bay. The food was buffett not menu ordered. At other all inclusives the reservation only restaurants had excellent food. Would still highly recommend the Riu, just don't waste time making reservations for the restaurants. Same food on the main buffett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search