$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 25, 2015 Check-out: Mar 28, 2015

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mahoe Bay, Ironshore P.O., Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
399 reviews
great time

We had a great time, we did every activity they had to offer, and by doing that we didn't gain a... See full review

  • amanda k.
  • Feb 22, 2015
great value

Did not have one complaint about this place! great food, location, staff! See full review

  • TiffanieTraveler
  • Feb 21, 2015
Exclusive Montego Bay area all-inclusive resort gem on pristine bay
The Riu Montego Bay is an attractive, all-inclusive resort in exclusive Mahoe Bay, which hugs a scenic coastline less than three miles from Montego Bay. This family-friendly resort has plenty for everyone, including a kids club. Couples and singles are drawn to the resort's nightclub, spa and nearby Montego Bay nightlife. The beach offers a variety of water sports and a lagoon-style pool beckons. Guests will listen to live music or settle in to RIU Theme Shows, with performances seven days a week after dining at one of the resort's four restaurants.

 

Highlights
  • Live music and RIU Theme Shows nightly
  • Picturesque beach on protected bay with calm water
  • Buffets, two a la carte restaurants and 24-hour snack and beverage service
  • Activity program for children 4 to 12
  •  
Rooms

The cozy 681 guest rooms at Riu Montego Bay are decorated colonial style, blending naturally with the lush gardens and turquoise waters surrounding the resort. Guests enjoy views from their balconies or terraces. All rooms are equipped with satellite TVs, radio alarm clocks and mini-bars. Suites include hydro-massage bathtubs and lounge areas.

 

Features

Guests of the Riu Montego Bay have plenty of options at meal time, with a variety of buffets and two a la carte restaurants, including the elegant Mahoe Bay Grill and Steak House. The breakfast buffet offers spot cooking stations and a 24-hour snack and beverage spot cures late-night hunger.

 

The Renova Spa offers a variety of therapies, body and facial treatments, including couples and Swedish massages and the signature Renova Combination, a full 80 minutes of pure bliss.

 

The all-inclusive package includes a scuba lesson. Also, at the beach and pool, guests indulge in water sports such as sailing, kayaking and windsurfing or enjoy the tropical trade wind on beach loungers. Sunbathers quench their thirst at the "Tai Tai" poolside bar.

 

Nighttime is festive with live music and the RIU Theme shows. Singles and couples can dance into the night at the Pacha night club

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (6 minutes)
  • Attractions
  • Downtown Montego Bay(2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Rose Hall Mansion (6.2 mi./10 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (36.1 mi./58.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless LAN zone

 

Policies and fees
  • All-inclusive encompasses all meals, snacks, beverages, accommodations, gratuities, most water sports, taxes and tips
  • Use of computer with Internet
  • Spa treatments additional charge
  • Effective April 15, guests are provided with 90 minutes per day of  free Wi-Fi access at the lobby. Wi-Fi access throughout the entire hotel vicinity will have additional fees.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive Rooms

Double Room Ocean Front
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Garden View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink,hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser,laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Suite Ocean View
Offers air conditioned, 1 king size bed, ceilling fan, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Double Room
Double room offers air conditioned, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, ceilling fan,satellite TV, direct dial telephone, radio alarm clock, minibar, liquor dispenser, laptop size electronic in - room safe. Bathrooms with bathtub, double sink, hair dryer and amenities kit.
Family Room
Offers air conditioning, ceiling fan, 3 double beds, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 4 mi

Dining

Asian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Grill Streakhouse
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
A la carta for dinner(reservations required).
Italian Restaurant
Buffet style for lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AngelaxBx
Business
Connecticut
Jun 26, 2012

Absolutely awesome!

Staff was wonderful! Everyone was extremely nice and accommodating, always had a smile to give! Entertainment was great, plenty of activities and the drinks were always flowing! Food was better than I expected (mostly due to other reviews I had read online) and there was always plenty of it. Beach and pool were clean and grounds very well kept. Beds were slightly uncomfortable, but overall the room was clean with plenty of space. Close to different activities/excursions, shuttles were convenient and easy. The weather ended up being perfect as well - only rained one day and for about a half hour and then complete sunshine. Definitely recommend this resort; I plan on hopefully going back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Staff is super friendly and willing to help - don't hesitate to ask to see what they can do for you! And don't be afraid to say "no thank you."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy and Krystle
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 23, 2012

Great resort

Everything was great! The only problem we had was the beach. Bring water shoes because it is full of seaweed and mud. Also, there is no bar on the beach so if you want a drink you have to walk pretty far to get one. We loved the restaraunts and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make all your dinner reservations right when you get there, otherwise you will get the late ones, or they will be full. Out of all 3 we only ate at the steak house and it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bingy Tom
Business
Montego Bay
Jun 5, 2012

33rd Wedding Anniversary

We had a wonderful time, there was no reason to leave the compound and go anywhere everything is right there, there is always some form of activities and entertainment. At night the entertainment is fantastic, food extremely good, we ate too much, the staff they are so friendly and courteous. Our room was filled with booze, unfortunately for us we are not heavy drinkers so we had mixed fruity drinks from the bars, we even had coconut water freshly picked, we are making plans to go back at the end of the year and we have told all our friends about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is great, mixed drinks and lot of entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shewter
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
May 30, 2012

A ridiculously great value

Only complaints: The beds are a little uncomfortable, but after a night of drinking you don't care. Also, I left a digital camera and some other things in the room. My fault, I know, but nothing was returned to lost and found. All in all, I'd recommend this all inclusive to anyone and everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the restaurants as soon as you get there. They book up fast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spicybrown
Business
Kenilworth, NJ
May 21, 2012

Good value, but lackluster in some areas

Can't beat the value with Riu Jamaica. The hotel rooms were great; the pool and bars were clean and stocked; close to the airport and downtown. However, compared to the Riu in Guancaste Costa Rica (first and only Riu experience for most of our group), this hotel lacked a lot in a few specific areas. The food quality was not the greatest; the staff was ordinary and lacked the "extra-mile" that we saw in Costa Rica; and the tour company selected by the hotel was completely awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Avoid the JTL company in the lobby. We booked all of our excursions through them on the first day and were extremely disappointed with all of them. One example was the trip to Negril. They took us to Margaritaville in Negril (not as good as the one in Montego Bay) for 3 hours. Then went to a non-authenticate mall to shop for an hour. Finally they took us to Rick's Cafe (which is supposed to be the main attraction). We spent only an hour there. We had to rush to eat our meal and did not have any time at all to try the cliff jumps. Very poor time allocation by the tour company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lab Guru
Business
Zanesville, OHio
May 15, 2012

Nice Resort

Food was good, drinks were great and plentiful. Very fun resort. The only thing I didn't like was that our room had a musty smell to it, but we just ignored it. Could smell it on our clothes when we returned home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dizzy G
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 8, 2012

Really

I stayed at the Riu by accident, our flight got cancelled and they could not find another flight out we were stuck there for four days.. Thank Spirit.. The pools were great, the entertainment great, the Drinks awesome. The Tv Great (when it rained) But saw a roach in my room, at first I chalked it up to an isolated incident. when I went to my friends room she had one dead in the closet and one crawling all over the glasses at the little bar area. Then another young lady stuck with us said she woke to one crawling on her. The food was awful..expected more I guess.. It seemed they were serving the lunch from the day before for dinner the next night .. the grounds were big like needed a golf cart big. and the worse part was there was nothing around it I would not stay here again. Oh yeah I didn't go in the ocean but my friend who loves to go in te ocean said after going in about 6 to 8 feet the water had a lot of sea weed and was slimmy, in the common area I did get attacked by sand fleas, mosquitoes and who know what else?It is the only place in the resort to get wifi which was needed to let folks know why I hadn't come home four days prior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The drinks and entertainment were the good thing about the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
albc
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

50th birthday celebration

the hotel was beauitful the only problem were the ants in the bathroom. i would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steph87
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Vacation

Nice hotel, very clean, wonderful staff, was disappointed with Asian restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Montego Bay - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will Citadel 81
Business
Charleston, SC, USA
Apr 18, 2012

RIU Montego Bay - Can't wait to return

Had a great visit. First time in Jamaica and we will return again soon. Clean room, great food, large pool, etc... would have liked to see more live music, but other than that - we can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hire a cab all day for $160 and let him take you to all of the sights. We did this and split cost among 4 people. He took us to all of the sights, shopping, dining, and gave us a personal tour of his homeland with all of the history. Saved big $$$$ doing this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top