$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Sep 24, 2010

Whose the guest here?!!

The room was small but adequate. The pool area was very nice and the beaches beautiful. (Plenty of lounge chairs) The food left you wondering (what is it?). The drinks were good. Our complaint was the staff at the guest services desk and the host/hostess at the Sorrento and Seabreeze restaurants. I was amazed at how unfriendly and unaccommodating they were to us. I had several other guests start conversations up with their unfriendly staff complaints! In my business, the client (or guest) comes first, is right, and we aim to please. Not the thinking at this resort!! The guest services made dinner reservations for my family indicating their were 2 members, instead of 3. When we arrived at the restaurant, the host was not going to let us enter, plus gave me a lecture about it being my responsibility to make sure the reservations were made right!!! The first night we arrived, we made reservations at Sorrento's. When we arrived there the hostess would not let us in because my son did not have on a collared shirt. I told her I was not aware of that policy and we would go shopping the next day for one. Plus she noted my sandals which she did not approve of and I let her know they were dr. prescribed orthopedic shoes, so she said they would be fine for the next evening. When we arrived for dinner the next evening (after purchasing a rather expensive shirt in their gift shop for my son), she would not let us enter because of my shoes!!! She brought over her manager and he also would not let us enter (she neglected to let him know that it was her that gave the permission for the shoes the previous evening). The manager was adamant that we not be allowed to dine there until I told him what I thought about all this and that I would be writing a letter to Holiday Inn letting the corporate office know of our disappointment! We were granted entrance, but not given very good service. When I asked for more bread, I was told "sure, eventually!!" Wow, that would not be an employee of mine!! I understand the cost of this resort was minimal, but the friendliness of staff should have nothing to do with the cost! We were planning a family reunion of approx. 14 people to be held there this spring of 2011, but now I am reconsidering greatly the choice of resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SEXYSUGA
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 23, 2010

It was ok. The Jerk Chicken was great.

It was ok. I would never stay again. The staff was nice however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IN83beachgirl
Business
southern Indiana
Aug 27, 2009

Not a great place for couples to relax

We were quite disappointed. I have stayed in many Holiday Inns, and this is not up to their standard. Not much of a beach, per say. Can't swim in the ocean past 100 feet out unless you are part of a charter. Couldn't get into our room until 3pm - we arrived at 12:30- but we saw many others walk right up & get their room. Was finally told it was because they clean the oceanfront rooms 1st as they bring more income. We did not pay the extra for oceanfront, but we did upgrade from the standard room! Desk clerks not very polite; had to ask to be helped several times. Bartenders were GREAT! We had small bugs in our room, bath was "old" and not the cleanest. Paid extra to get international phonecard online, but won't work at this hotel! Had to pay $3.09/min to call US. Hard to book dinners in the nice restaurants. Had to eat buffet 3 of 4 nights. Sorrento italian restaurant was outstanding! Server was wonderful too. 1/2 day tours book up early too, so we ended up staying at the resort. Food was good (good variety) & drinks very good too. Way too many kids if you want to really relax. Much of entertainment revolved around kids... fashion show, talent show, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book early! We only got to eat dinner at a nice restaurant 1 of 4 nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

it is ok for what it is

the hotel was for what you pay for didnt expect anything more .and the staff was ok they need more training on how to take care of the gust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cabbie
Business
canada
Feb 5, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Family resort, not great for couples. Kids screaming from morning to evening. The food is edible, however it is geared towards childrens taste. Al a Carte restaurants are nothing to get excited about. It is hard to get reservations because they are always booked, but when you are in the restaurant it is not full. Bottled water is not available nor is bottled red stripe beer, however you can buy it at the store--6 beer $30.00 US, water is $1.00 US per bottle. The beach is nice. Staff are not that friendly unless you tip them. The next day the same staff will act as though they have never seen you before. Overall the resort is clean. The food is edible. Not for couples looking for a quiet vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to a local grocery store for water and bottled beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Jun 24, 2011

Honey Moon Suite

I choose this hotel thinking that it would be great for a family vacation. I also got married here too! Let start by saying that the flies at breakfast, lunch and dinner was terrible. You eat outside and trying to reserve a meal at any of the restaurants was out of the question because all the restaurants served the same thing. You are Better eating at the buffet every night. We stayed for 7 days. I am American and my husband is Jamaican and even he said that the hotel needed better service. The staff was short and goig to the bar to get a drink was nasty. They serve you drinks out of these old plastic cups the size of an infants cup. They need new cups and more staff to serve and work at the bars. Flies were every where. Our hotel room was okay but smelled sour and ho tub was dirty.. We didn't use it at ALL. You can't take food to the room and eat so if you wanted to relax and just have a meal with out being attacked by the flies then you have to eat outside. But we took some any ways. There wasn't much for the kids to do except the game room and the little bit of activities during the day. It wasn't the hotel that I thought this was going to be. When it was time for my wedding the wedding coordinator [...] was nice but if you aren't getting everything that comes with the package and you decide to use your own people for certain things then watch out cause she isn't going to receive a big commision off if this. She wasn't very helpful meaning that a wedding coordinator is supposed to be there every step of the way and she wasn't just a quarter of the way. Basically we did everything on our own!:( would I recommend this hotel to anyone?? NO. The rooms was moist and sour smell the shower glass was gritty there were red bugs crawling out of the cracks that wasn't covered up correctly that my little found. I enjoyed Iberostar Rose Hall better then this hotel and I think that's where we will do all of events from now own! 5 star hotel!! So take it from me if you are staying here or plan on staying here! Good luck cause I'm not going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
InTheNow Mom
Business
FL
Apr 20, 2010

Not bad...staff inservice a MUST!

we checked out poolside entertainment and utilized the outside snack bar. The customer service received from staff other than few of the front desk attendants left a lot to be desired...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Native's Restaurant for breakfast is a MUST!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queenyinthehouse
Business
Riverside Ca.
Sep 1, 2009

Poor Employees.. Treated VERY badly..

I enjoyed my stay, however, the employees of the Holiday Inn are NOT treated very well, and they are over worked and under paid. They make approximately 60 dollars a week, and I think it's incredibly SAD how this hotel chain who makes MILLIONS of dollars a day have to take advantage of human beings living in a third world country. The employees DARE NOT complain otherwise they will be fired and replaced. I am SICKENED by what I heard and saw about the employees. They don't even have to say anything because everyone can tell they're not happy, and I wouldn't be either. If they were paid what they are worth, I'm sure I would have been able to see smiles on faces, unfortunately that is not the case. I feel very sorry that I paid SO much money to this chain who treats their employees so badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jul 4, 2011

Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay

The grounds are beautiful. THe beach and pool area are lovely. Watersports at the beach need improvement. The parasailing boat was broken and we could not parasail. We had to make an appointment for the banana boat that was not kept. The catamaran sailboat was included and was a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Most dining areas are not air conditioned. Oftentimes there were not enough plates, cups or silverware to accommodate diners. The ice machines were out of ice about half the time we were there. The hotel ran out of hot dogs for about 2 1/2 days of our stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 14, 2009

Adult Vacation

The first room we had was horrible and they told us that it was just refurbished. It was sparsely furnished, missing a toilet paper roll and had an empty hole in the vanity where the tissues should have been. The room smelled horrible. We went to the front desk to ask for a new room and they wouldn't give us one because they didn't have another superior rated room. We asked for a standard room and they said they couldn't dowgrade us even though we didn't ask for any money off. We were told they weren't allowed to give you an inferior room even if you requested it which is totally ridiculous. After arguing with them we got another room that was better, not great, but it didn't smell. There was a refrigerator in the room that was about to tip over and it was empty. At other all inclusive hotels, there is usually drinks in the refrigerator, at least water, but not here. Any time you asked the front desk or the reservation desk for help, they were ignorant, slow, and usually had the wrong answers. The food was average. Lunch was about the only meal that was decent. Drinks came in very small cups, so most people bought bigger cups at the store and used them. Usually we stay at nicer hotels because we neeed a bigger room to accomodate our three children, but since it was just my husband and myself, I bargained shopped and we got what we paid for. If I had to do it over again, I would have paid a few hundred dollars more and stayed at a nicer hotel, but they kept advertising this hotel as being newly renovated. If that was their idea of being newly renovated, I would have hated to see what it looked like before they re-did it. Also, this isn't a place to take children even though they advertised it as family friendly. The ocean was very shallow at the beach and you couldn't really swim in it because there was a lot of grass and stuff on the bottom. The one thing positive I can say about this hotel is that most of the staff outside of the lobby area were friendly and the rum punch was great, so if you decide to go to a budget hotel, bring a big cup from home and drink the rum punch all day long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were a bunch of stores right across the street from the hotel where you could purchase just about anything. Just be careful crossing the streets and watch out for the guys that run towards you trying to sell you "homemade" cigarettes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top