$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
848 reviews
First family vacation

this is a family resort.....alot of kids running around just what we wanted for our 1 year... See full review

  • Eddy Abreu
  • Nov 29, 2014
Cheap and amazing for your holidays!

We have been to Jamaica three times for our winter holiday and every time we stayed at Holiday Inn.... See full review

  • Having a looksee here
  • Nov 25, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (848)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
848 out of 848
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IN83beachgirl
Business
southern Indiana
Aug 27, 2009

Not a great place for couples to relax

We were quite disappointed. I have stayed in many Holiday Inns, and this is not up to their standard. Not much of a beach, per say. Can't swim in the ocean past 100 feet out unless you are part of a charter. Couldn't get into our room until 3pm - we arrived at 12:30- but we saw many others walk right up & get their room. Was finally told it was because they clean the oceanfront rooms 1st as they bring more income. We did not pay the extra for oceanfront, but we did upgrade from the standard room! Desk clerks not very polite; had to ask to be helped several times. Bartenders were GREAT! We had small bugs in our room, bath was "old" and not the cleanest. Paid extra to get international phonecard online, but won't work at this hotel! Had to pay $3.09/min to call US. Hard to book dinners in the nice restaurants. Had to eat buffet 3 of 4 nights. Sorrento italian restaurant was outstanding! Server was wonderful too. 1/2 day tours book up early too, so we ended up staying at the resort. Food was good (good variety) & drinks very good too. Way too many kids if you want to really relax. Much of entertainment revolved around kids... fashion show, talent show, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book early! We only got to eat dinner at a nice restaurant 1 of 4 nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Controling Mom
Business
Galloway Twp, New Jersey
Mar 12, 2011

Last time

You get what you pay for.If you are looking for good food and nice rooms you are out of luck. The food in the buffet is below average. The restaurants were better, but make reservations first thing in the morning for the next night or you will not get in. The rooms are ok, we had no shower in our room for 2 days, after complaining alot they finally moved us at 9pm at night and traveling with 2 small kids moving at that time of night is hard. The pool doesn't have enought chairs by the pool for 1/2 of the guests, if you don't get out there by 6am you will not get a chair. The beach area is the bast part, the lagoon area is nice for the kids and they have a great opportunity to see many differnt kinds of sea life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kerry Traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 20, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The staff was absolutely fabulous. Everyone was very nice and always helpful. The staff at Sunset Beach Resort most definitely saved the hotel from being the worst I've been to. The hotel is lucky to have such wonderful people working for them. That said, they need to upgrade their facility. My room was not only small but there was not proper ventilation. The air conditioning unit gave off a foul odor and if it was turned off, the room became very damp (wet walls and wet floor). The fitness center if you can call it that, is a safety hazard. The equipment was old and not especially clean and it also need some ventilation. The food was good but a bit more variety would have been appreciated. My room was not cleaned very well, that was a big turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Margaritaville.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 25, 2007

Great service throughout the hotel

The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Lots of activities for kids & entire family. We were there 20 years ago & the hotel was superior, however, no room upgrades have been made. The beach is wonderful- we spent most of our time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Georgia
Jul 30, 2009

Does Not Recommend

This hotel caters to families with small children. Entertainment was not good. Music was not very good. Miniature golf is a joke. Have been to Jamaica six times and this was our worst experience. Customer service was very poor. It took two days to get towels. The buildings are old and very much need of repair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street for shopping. Good buys.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 31, 2008

Jamaica is beautiful but this hotel is NOT....

The Holiday Inn Sunspree was not a nice hotel. The tile in our room was chipped, the furnishings were beat up and gross. I didn't even want to put my things down. The shower was just a pipe hanging out of the wall. We had to call for a showerhead and my husband had to install it himself. The food was a rip off....same food everyday. It was very poor quality. You had to wait in line at exactly 2:30 every day (but 2-3 days ahead of time) to get a reservation in one of the restaurants. Lines were long at the bars for drinks. It was also a long wait to set up any kind of trip (like to Dolphin Cove, or into town). I felt like I was held hostage in a subpar resort. The best thing about this place was the pool and beach. We spent MANY hours outside enjoying the sun....and as little time as possible inside the resort. We also ate most of our meals somewhere else. I am advising anyone going to Jamaica, do not stay here. Jamaica is very beautiful and fun....just find a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
Jul 31, 2007

Not my fisr choice

Housekeeping was bad @ remembering towels. Not to mention the beds were the most unconfortable beds we have ever slept in. Activities were enjoyable on their schedule not ours. The Dish TV was great when the stations came in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Free attmittance to a few bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Jun 19, 2009

good for families

We arrived at 1100am & immediately checked in to an oceanview upgrade at no charge, greeted with rum punch, & warm smiles. The room was great, the view was great, we did have a problem getting wash rags for 2 days but other than that there was no problems there. Now let me say I'm not picky on the food but the food there was so so. If you like goat, kidneys, & oxtail you'll be fine. They did have a great pasta bar that was cooked to order (ate alot of this) & for breakfast a great egg station. There were lots of flies in dining area....they should do something about this!! They do have a area by the pool that cooks burgers, red hotdogs, grilled cheese, fish & fries. We ate here a lot too. The jerk chicken & pork was great Both of these close at 6pm so we had dinners very early. The amenities ALL close at 5pm Jamaican time (could be 330 could be 5) HATED this!!! This would include kayaks, paddle boats, putt putt golf, tennis the towel hut etc. The nightly band was good but would have liked to hear an island beat not the non vocal music we heard. We heard NO reggae the whole time we were there. The activities for the kids was good, the scavenger hunt for them was a blast to watch. Not so much activities for the adults, so we spent most of our time snorkeling around the island!! It was great... lots of fish to see there, we took dog bisquits to hold & feed the fish & spent hours doing this! Venture out past the buoys for some different coral, watch out for fire coral tho.....know what it looks like before you go so you can avoid it. Shopping across the street was the best we found..we went to the hip strip 1 day & prices were higher than across the street. NEVER pay sticker price for anything! Offer 1/2 & go from there. Paid 25.00 for marlboro cartons VS 80.00 resort price!! Went to a shop towards the back (just walk straight to back of shops from 1st entrance) Bobbie was store owner, she'll give you drinks while you shop & free bracelets after purchase. Tshirts were 7 for 20 with plenty to choose from. Make sure if you buy liquor you're able to pack it on checked luggage....nothing over 3 oz on plane! Johnnie Clarke took us on a ride to drs cave beach (876) 575-0809...he was the best....took us thru neighborhoods, shopping at a good store, very informative the whole ride, lots of local info, I highly recommend him. He can be found right at the front of hotel. Wi-fi was 16./day or if you buy 3+ days 10/day. So all in all...great for kids, great shopping, ok food, ok entertainment, great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ricky
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

it is ok for what it is

the hotel was for what you pay for didnt expect anything more .and the staff was ok they need more training on how to take care of the gust

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cabbie
Business
canada
Feb 5, 2011

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Family resort, not great for couples. Kids screaming from morning to evening. The food is edible, however it is geared towards childrens taste. Al a Carte restaurants are nothing to get excited about. It is hard to get reservations because they are always booked, but when you are in the restaurant it is not full. Bottled water is not available nor is bottled red stripe beer, however you can buy it at the store--6 beer $30.00 US, water is $1.00 US per bottle. The beach is nice. Staff are not that friendly unless you tip them. The next day the same staff will act as though they have never seen you before. Overall the resort is clean. The food is edible. Not for couples looking for a quiet vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to a local grocery store for water and bottled beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top