$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,288 reviews
Excellent Vacationing Place

The hotel was excellent. It exceeded my expectations. Th staff was very cordial and professional at... See full review

  • Adj Traveling Sister
  • Jun 24, 2014
Beautiful

Had a great week kids had a blast lots of things to to excellent value this place far out did my... See full review

  • wesNpikwik
  • Jun 14, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1288)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1288 out of 1288
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ATL
Sep 3, 2009

Horrible Experience - Holiday Inn SunSpr

I would never stay at this Holiday SunSpree again. The bathrooms need to be remodeled and the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling off in some spots. A nice coat of paint would be for starters. While the bathrooms were not updated the worse experience was when my friend and I discovered at 3:00 AM in the morning that the top white sheets on the bed we were sharing had blood spots all over. In addition, my friend also discovered blood spots on one of the pillows she slept on the next day. Thank goodness we were only there for one night. We brought it to the attention of the associate that checked us out and asked to speak to the manager. We were told to come back later as the manager was not in. We went to Rose Hall Great House, did a tour, and upon our return still had to wait approximately another 20 mins before the manager surfaced. The manager started to explain that the sheets had been washed based on identified creases in the pillow case which suggested to him that it had been pressed as opposed to immediately apologizing. He took the name our names and numbers supposedly to investigate the matter and follow up with us and as of now we have not heard from him. Riu was our next stop in Negril and that made up for this horrible experience. I would recommend a Riu property anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier One and Margaretville.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
for every travelers
NJ, USA
Nov 29, 2010

the bigest garbadge hotel ever

nothing to do.. water is not deep enough for swimming not in the pool or in the ocean only 2.5 feet... No one was friendly there.. people are using bad language.. smoking everywhere... Boring and Stupid shows.. No enterteinment there at all... NO ONE SHOULD EVER EVER GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yozzo
London, UK
Jan 28, 2012

Discriminating Staff

The hotel itself has a few flaws such as the swimming zone is restricted to about 0.7m, you cant go any deeper so you cant really swim. As for watersports such as kayaks you cant take them out of the swimming zone so whats the point!! On my last day I wasnt allowed into the restaurant in the sleeveless shirt while all females were allowed to do so and so was I during every single day in the previous 2 weeks When I said this is discrimination they almost laughed, I explained that it was pouring with rain and I cant go back to get another shirt and they had no understanding for this at all. I went to reception to complain and they advised me to put my complaint in writing which I did on the spot and the reply from Manager has been NOTHING, they did not even bother to reply, so I am staying NEVER AGAIN at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your time and money and find another hotel to stay in.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockford, IL USA
Nov 21, 2010

Worst vacation ever!

November 20th, 2010. This was the worst vacation we've ever taken. I've never wanted to get home so fast in my life. From the hour wait at the airport for our transfer to the last hour we prepared to leave, at every turn...my wife was almost in tears. Our plane arrived at around 12:00 noon and we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 2:45 and that was with the transport supplied by the hotel. By the time we got into our room, it was after 4:00. At which time, we immediately asked to be moved. The rooms are outdated and dirty (the room hadn't been dusted in weeks and my wife came home with a rash from something there). Even AFTER being moved, the second room was only barely tolerable. The female staff seemed as if they would rather get us out of their country than help us in any way. The males were slightly better, but only if you asked for help. We lost power 4 of the 8 days we were there which also takes down the internet, A/C etc. One day we had no water and after that...the water pressure was the equivalent of being spit on. I can say with 100% honesty..this place was terrible. We travel often and based on the pictures and other reviews..we thought the price was fair. It should be half of what they ask. As for service..it would need to be rated "not applicable". There IS no service. If you go up to one of the bars or sit at a restaurant...yes, you are waited on (barely). Other than that...ZERO!! And I mean ZERO service. Not a person in sight. I read the reviews and don't understand why ANYONE would go back to this place. It's outdated, dirty, the A/C worked partially in the room, the staff was awful, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. If you consider yourself a redneck (and I don't mean that to sound like a snob...we are laid back people that enjoy our vacations and our drinks) that doesn't care about anything but sitting around the bar with a stained tank top...than this is your place. If you value your money and hard work to go on vacation...look elsewhere. If you don't...you'll regret every minute there. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE. No problem 'mon? Yeah...there's a problem there 'mon. You'd be better served at a Howard Johnson's. We were told they had updated it...yeah right. Unless some new sand washed up on the beach...I saw nothing that resembled updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Poughkeepsie NY
Jan 1, 2010

SunSpree was ok but would not go back...

I expected food to be better. We went to main restaurant three times and each time the same items on menu they were out of. We had very poor service from wait staff in main restaurant. Room was near road and we heard cars racing by all night. Toilet was leaking and repaired quickly. We did not receive new towels for the entire stay of 7 days. Other we traveled with were hiding towels in rood to in order to get clean towels.S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Apr 12, 2008

Most horrible experience EVER

The Holiday Inn sunspree Resort Jamaica Bay was the most horrible experience of my life, minus the person I was with. The front desk was rude and took forever. Worst yet, the maid stole our camera and the list goes on. I will NEVER EVER stay there again. In addition, it is NOT a good place for adults because it is WAY TOO kid friendly. Other than that, I loved Jamaica, just not the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Casino across from Margaritaville was nice. The Dunn's river falls was also nice when you climb the waterfall all the way up.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
chesterfield twp., mi., u.s.a.
Nov 11, 2010

so so vacation

the hotel itself had issues - we had a sewage stoppage issue for 2 days before it was resolved - late night tv viewing was problematic (kept losing cable reception) - one day we lost all electrical for nearly half of the day - we had dinner reservations (grand daughters birthday) and were denied entry due to unacceptable foot wear by grand daughter (even though diner ahead of us had same foot wear as grand daughter). only after changing foot wear were we allowed entry.....the staff was friendly and the food was good (not great).....the beach was littered with sea weed and the water was thick with the stuff, making swimming virtually impossible....purchasing items at the various stores was a challenge - one clerk actually told me that she did not want to accept jamaican currency - u.s. currency only!! yet, when making change, gave me jamaican in return even though i argued that that was wrong (she made another profit on the exchange rate which in my opinion was highly unethical).....lots and lots of negatives about this trip but, will not overlook the friendly (honest and ethical) people we encountered and the warm weather....one last thing - i was informed by several store owners that taxes were not to be applied to tourist purchases yet, most stores routinely charge you the local tax and if you catch them AFTER you've made your purchase, they WILL NOT refund you the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

avoid cash transactions if possible!!! use your credit card in order to get correct valuation on your currency (your bank/card company provides this service)....before signing for purchase make certain you're not paying tax that tourist aren't responsible for.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
igi
Boston
May 29, 2010

May 2010 stay

The hotel needs serious updatea to the rooms. The sliding doors leaked really bad. Beds were not comfortble, need to pgrade the mattresses. The food choices at the buffets were very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norristown, PA
Nov 18, 2010

Horrible first time experience

This trip was horrible!Before I booked this hotel I purposefully called to ask if we were able to have visitors. Guest services told me that having a guest was "not a problem". When we arrived, we were given a brochure that said there was an $85 charge for a day visitor and a $95 charge for an overnight visitor. The brochure also said that for sit down dinner you needed to make reservations at guest services. We immediately went to guest services to make reservations. To our surprise, all reservations were booked and we were told you have to make reservations 24 hours in advance. When I asked if we could have called prior to arriving in Jamaica I was told that you had to be checked in before you could make reservations. So already right off the bat you are missing a sit down meal on your arrival day and your departure day. One of the restaurants was closed for reservations as well.They were also booked on Saturday and was told that they might be able to squeeze us in on Sunday. After speaking with a manager for about 20 minutes he finally allowed reservations to be made for Saturday. When we arrived for the dinner, the restaurant was not filled the entire time we were there. This leads me to believe that they were trying to just cut costs and tell guests that the restaurants were filled and feed the guests hamburgers and hotdogs. The hotel also tried to charge us for phone calls that we did not make. After being given the run around by multiple staff for three days we were refunded. THis was my first time going to Jamaica and if it were not from my friend being from Jamaica and telling me that this is not the norm I probably would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pharmer V
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2010

STAY AWAY, Staff Members Tried to ROB US

So basically, we went out to the beach late night to come back at 3 am to FIND night STAFF MEMBERS IN OUR ROOM TRYING TO ROB US. Thats right, ROB US!!!!! Luckily for us, we caught them in the act so they got nothing. So they made friends with us earlier in the week, just to later on betray our trust and try to exploit and rob us. After filing the report and dealing with the [*] for the past few weeks, it turns out that the resort is siding with their staff saying that they are denying any criminal activity and that they were in our room to check that no one else had invaded our room. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!! What complete and utter [*] So basically the hotel is denying us any real compensation and hotel staff is maintaining their innocence. I wont bother you with the details, just understand that in general people are always trying to make a buck off you, whether it be honest or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top