$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
831 reviews
Great!

Staff was friendly and nice. I wanted a certain dish and the chef prepared it for me the next day... See full review

  • Jazzie Jazz
  • Aug 2, 2014
Excellent Vacationing Place

The hotel was excellent. It exceeded my expectations. Th staff was very cordial and professional at... See full review

  • Adj Traveling Sister
  • Jun 24, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (831)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
831 out of 831
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Busy Body Mama
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Jun 2, 2012

If only the service could have mirrored the location

Its unfortunate that such a beautiful place could be lowered in value in regards to customer service and satisfaction. After two hours of being third in line for check in, I was highly discouraged by the disregard for personal attention and overall immediacy of my room upon my arrival. Nothing could have been worse than traveling all night only to arrive to a beautiful location where my needs and expectations were not met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is nothing in walking distance in the surrounding areas.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindisapointed
PA
May 31, 2012

vacation

had trouble getting coffee for my room everyday maids didn't want to give it to me said too expensive, food was horrible same thing everyday, hard to get into restaurants unless you got there at 7 am everyday, and you weren't aware of dress codes until last min. and the bed was hard as a rock!!!!!!!!!!!!! i don't think as highly of holiday inn as i used to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

don't go to margaritaville on free night shuttle it's a little scary there and no food after 10 pm

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bob marler
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2009

It's terrible

If you would like to see the beach but not to swim in it, it would be great. 1 foot water high. Bad service, drunk people everywhere. The entertainment? What is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

No tourists allowed in the city alone!! ??????

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budnterry4
Proctorville, Ohio
Jun 23, 2013

Do not waste your money here

Rude staff at the check in desk started our bad experience. 2 rooms booked that were supposed to be connnecting because we travel with teens. They were not even in the same hallway and we were told to check back each day at 3 to see if any connecting rooms available but there never were. We did not feel safe at this resort and there was no entertainment for teenagers. It is not an all inclusive resort. 2 different restaurants out of the 5 available charged $20 per person-the hibachi grill had no dishes that were included and the Seabreeze seafood restaurant charges $20 per person if you want shrimp dishes! You are also limited on the number of steaks you can order from another restaurant. The pool and ocean closes at 5 pm. The adult pool is still open but they are very strict on no one under 18 allowed so the teens are unable to get in the water after 5. Entertainment at night was mediocre and drinks are very poor quality. Overall we lost weight this trip and were ready to return home after 3 days here. Some other guests we talked with complained about service to the manager and they were told that they would refund their money and they could go elsewhere-almost impossible with the reservations-management does not care if you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2010

FOR MY FIRST RESORT THEY WERE NOT GOOD

I arrived there on a Thursday and had to wait two and a half hours for a room because house keeping was not finish. They do not inform you of what time is check out time, you have to ask. They do not always clean the floors and the sheets never get changed if you do not use the sign to let them know to change the sheets. A lot of the staff is very rude. The lighter your complextion the better they treat you. I went their to be with friends for their wedding and found out that the staff are not helpful in resolving issues there. The couple had paid for their rooms for one more night and had the itenary to show this and the had them to leave a day early saying the mix up is with the couples travel agent. Their remark was they don't go by whats on the couples paper. When the couple ask to speak to the manager they never got the manager. One staff member put her hand up and walked off instead of trying to help nor did she listen and make sure she understood what was happening. All they want is to keep the place filled and you are not important to them. I got into a verbal altercation with one of the staff serving the cake and drinks. I ask for something to drink since I did not want alcohol and my water had to be removed because trash was floating in the glass. Needless to say, I never got anything to drink until we were inside for dinner.[...], was very kind and helpful. He always smiled and ask were things ok. He is a part of the front desk staff. There are others at the front desk staff who are nice also. [...] was rude and not a nice nor helpful in anyway.The wedding corrdinator did not have anything planed from the way things went. I feel that she needs to learn how to make things flow smoothly for the customers. Remember we are paying money to go there. This money also helps to pay staff and keep the place open. If not treated nice people should let it be known and hopefully they will learn to do better.It was good being their with friends but the worst tip I have ever had when staying some place for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jo Ann angry customer
Business
New York
Jul 12, 2012

Lacking Customer Service

We were given a room with a broken air conditioner and after trying to fix it several times it finally worked, for one night. The next night I called maintenance at one something in the morning and the issue wasn't resolved until 6:30am. We ended up having to change rooms at 4:30am. I informed them I had a tour to go on at 8am and it would have to be canceled. I received a call at 7:30am (after sleeping only 1 hour in 27 hour period) and I was told that because I booked through an outside agency I could not cancel my tour and I would need to go on it, but that I could nap on the leisurely ride. I asked if it was a joke and told them the reason I am not able to go to the tour is because of them taking all night to fix the air conditioner. The next day I went to meet with Mrs. Hooper the Guest Services Manager regarding not being able to go on the tour. I explained the events of the night and she stated that she had inconsistencies between my story and the maintenance managers. I explained the events again and she let it be known that she did not believe what I was telling her. I told her I like the room a little cool and it wasn't working on 63 (what the hotel set it as) so I put it on 60 (which made the room about 70). She became agitated with me saying this isn't New York, this is Jamaica and I need to listen to maintenance if they set it at 63 not to touch it. I have never been treated so poorly in all my years of traveling. What happened to caring about peoples comfort? If I need the room set at 68 to sleep, then thats what it should be set at. The air was definitley controlled to be set at 70-72. In the end I missed a tour that I had waited 5 years to go on and didn't even receive an apology from the Manager. I will never reccommend this hotel, nor stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at 8am for the next night to eat in the restaurants on the premises. It took us 5 days to finally get a reservation.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 19, 2010

Riu next time!!!

There seemed to be plenty to do once we discovered them. However it took us about two to four days to realize everything the hotel had to offer and then we had to squeeze as much in as possible before check our check out date. There are restorante by reservation that were above the standards of the other food served in the buffet style, but no one said anything that was also discovered on our own. There are seven buildings within the resort and my family and I were all the way in the back; building seven. It was a hike back and to the main lobby of the hotel. Everytime we went out on the balconey to enjoy the ocean front view the bonus was the smell of "drugs". I'm not judging, howerver I requested non-smoking because both of my kids have asthma. The hotel phone was not working, the electric had gone out for a period of time, and the t.v. cable had service interuption a few times. The wedding we attended at the hotel was more disasterous than my stay. The bride and grooms resorvations did not match their itenorary. The hotel requested they check out a day early regardless. Moments after they had checked out while they waited for there shuttle they were asked to put a drink down they had gotten from the bar because they were no longer guests of the "Holiday Inn Sun Spree! This hotel is substandard to almost every hotel I have had experienced, even some motels have friendier more accomidating staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Apr 12, 2008

Most horrible experience EVER

The Holiday Inn sunspree Resort Jamaica Bay was the most horrible experience of my life, minus the person I was with. The front desk was rude and took forever. Worst yet, the maid stole our camera and the list goes on. I will NEVER EVER stay there again. In addition, it is NOT a good place for adults because it is WAY TOO kid friendly. Other than that, I loved Jamaica, just not the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Casino across from Margaritaville was nice. The Dunn's river falls was also nice when you climb the waterfall all the way up.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very active mom
Michigan
Dec 26, 2012

Feels like I was trapped in cage - activities for small children only

Room and food was OK; entertainment was good; GYM was small and crowded, but you can find everything you need. Volleyball was terrible – basically there is no volleyball, court is concrete with something like gravel on top, very dangerous! And I usually not afraid to fall, I play volleyball at least several times a week and usually looking forward for any vacations to play beach volleyball, not at Holliday Inn. Swimming was by far the worst I ever experienced!!! You can’t pass the rope, which is not even up to my chest! There is absolutely no swimming in the ocean! You cannot walk along the beach like everywhere else. There are guards on both ends and you can’t pass them! You really are incarcerated! And hotel does not have enough territory for all the people trapped in there; it’s overcrowded all the time. Water activities is the same way – you are trapped inside tied area which is just a few steps, if you like kayaks and paddle boats, you will not enjoy it there; maybe OK if you have never done it before. Also hotel is too close to city, you can't walk. Maybe good only if you have very small children, my daughter is 14 and was bored to death, and small children were everywhere! Way too much for me. I will absolutely never ever go back there!!!!!! Or any other Holliday Inn hotels outside USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wish i went 2 Dom Rep
kersey, pa
Feb 28, 2010

nice place, bad food

Well, we went on our honeymoon here and were really excited. That lasted until the second day. We paid for an extra package and were told that our chocolate covered strawberries would be delivered to the room at 5...so i drug myself out of the beautiful sun and waited for hour and a half and no strawberries. Many phone calls later, we finally decided to get the next day. And speaking of food...I didnt go to Jamaica to eat beef roast and potatos, mac and cheese, and plenty of other boring foods. The main restaurant had little of a regional choice. the other "nicer" restaurants, we could only get into 1 and it was in a pavillion with plastic chairs and the food was not good at all. Never even were able to make reservations to the Italian restaurant because it was full!!! so we ate almost every meal in the buffet and the food there stunk. And that statement also reminds me of the smell that we had to endure in the evening and in the a.m. It smelled of sewage so bad we couldnt even sit on the beach one night! And the beahes werent very nice, lots of seaweed and quite small. I will say the hotel itself was nice, good place for kids, but i wouldnt go back on a bet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

try, and goodluck, to make reservations as soon as you get there for the restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search