$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
840 reviews
Very comfortable

When we arrived our room wasn't ready,so we waited about an hr. when we got our room they upgraded... See full review

  • Sun spree smile
  • Oct 9, 2014
Awesome hotel! Would definately go back.

I loved everything about this hotel. This was my first time visiting Jamaica and the experience was... See full review

  • Nicki28
  • Sep 4, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (840)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
840 out of 840
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

I felt like like we got a decent as far as the cost, and i realize you get what you pay for. I think next time we would rather pay more and stay at a nicer resort. The staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, at times we waited so long for a drink that we gave up, which seemed was the intention of the bartenders. Mostly I was annoyed and getting upset because we were being completely ignored. I have 2 jobs and both are in customer service. I dont know exactly what is customary in Jamaica, but I would never ignore a guest or customer for 10-20 minutes without so much as an acknowledgement. That was very disapointing. The food and the drinks were cheap and not appealing. The entire place was dirty, I didn't even want to lean on the wall in the elevator, which didn't have an exhaust system at all. We jokingly called it our sauna because it was like an oven and you couldn't breathe. We were on the third floor so we had to use the elevator quite frequently. We tried the stairs but they smelled awful. I wish I had some positive feed back about the sunspree, I wasn't exspecting five star, but the place was not takin care of. The best part of our trip was spent outside the resort. I loved Jamaica, and I cant wait to go back, but the sunspree wont get our business again, I bet they dont have a lot of repeat customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there are souivenir shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Mar 23, 2010

The Good and The Bad

The biggest issue at the beginning was the noise level coming from the pool, particularly at night. We had a room in building 2, which was directly facing the pool. The nightly concert started at about 8pm and ended around 11, but then there was karaoke until 2am, and then screaming and laughing until 4ish. The music was so loud that it rattled the windows and we couldn't hear each other talk without screaming. We eventually moved our room to building 6, which was much quieter and very nice. The buffet at the hotel was basically the same thing every day, and was incredibly boring. We also ate at Sorrento, which had a very limited selection and really was not anything too great. The beach was nice, although you had to get there early to get a chair, and the swimming area needed to be raked out badly, as it was very over grown with seaweed. The room was alright, but it wasn't really very clean and the TV reception went in and out. The areas outside the room, however were very nice and well kept. The lobby was nice and provided many sitting areas. Also, the gift shop had a lot of items and was fairly reasonably priced, but the Shops at Rose Hall had a huge selection and were often a little bit cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Student with greater resort expectations
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2011

No idea what customer service is

While food and drinks were abundant, the quality was quite poor. The specialty restaurants were better quality, but at 2 out of three of them, the services was absolutely horrible. Courses were left out and the attitude of the heads of the restaurants were appalling. It was ashame because the restaurants were absolutely gorgeous, and if the food and service matched they could be five star restaurants. The front desk was not helpful at all. Their aim is not to please, but to just satisfactory service. Plan on not leaving the resort. It is not a town to walk around in. As for the positive, the grill by the pool was a lifesaver. Lounge chairs were abundant and the beach was absolutely gorgeous as was the pool. I did not travel with kids, but it is definitely a great place to take them. The rooms were spacious and the maid service was great. It was a great deal, but you certainly get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
n2009
Business
Virginia
Jun 28, 2009

Great beach, not so good hotel rooms

Great beach for snorkeling and diving. However the hotel rooms need a lot of improvement. There was hot water problem even after complaining to the hotel staff and the air-conditioning did not work well which was a problem especially at nights when you try to sleep and it is very hot. Hotel staff was not very friendly while checking-in. Some guests receive drinks upon arrival some don't.(I did not) Almost everyone staying in the hotel was smoking (they have non-smoking rooms but open areas such as beach and pool areas were filled with people that smoke) so it would be a problem if you don't smoke. The most disturbing experience was to see a cigarette floating in the pool. Food was average buffet quality food. Despite of all these negative experinces in the hotel, their beach is wonderful if you are into snorkeling and diving. Sandals Hotel's dive boats bring their guests right in front of Holiday Inn Beach as there are great reefs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly......

Customer service was great room need to be redone, bathroom and rooms needed a makeover. Food was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylva, NC
Mar 3, 2009

Winter Getaway

Check-in was painless, though it does take a little time when checking in with other tourists. After waiting a few minutes, we received rum punch. The room was what we expected, the only problems were with the shower. The control kept coming off which made it difficult to turn the water on or off. We tightened the screw which had been stripped for a few days and finally had to call maintenance to fix it more permanently. We used humor to get past the inconvenience. The water for the building was turned off one day because of a break in the waterline. Again, just a minor inconvenience as we didn't stay in the room that much, though we were getting a little nervous around 6pm. The sliding glass door was difficult to open and close and rattled with the wind. We found the food fine with enough choices. Our last trip was to a smaller resort, so it was different with so many people. I really hadn't paid much attention to the size, so that was my fault. I enjoyed the smaller resort, but even so, you could find spots on the beaches with a little privacy at Holiday Inn. We took the sunset catamaran tour "Dreamer". I would not recommend this if you truly want to sail. The sails are unfurled, but you stay under noisy power. Made me wonder if the guys could sail at all. The sunset tour on our last trip was awesome with very few people on the catamaran. This is a very family oriented resort, which is fine as long as you know beforehand. There were no children at the adult pool and the beach area in front of that, so that's where we mostly stayed. There are quite a few shops across the street from the resort. As anywhere touristy, I felt they were a rip-off, but we spent some money anyway. I made the HUGE mistake of getting my hair cut at the salon. The last resort gave me a fabulous cut, but this one made me look like a 5 year-old had cut my hair. A bad decision on my part. And it does rain in Jamaica, but only one day for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I checked I would not recommend to my friends because I know they would not enjoy this place. Other people, particularly with children, probably would. Just my preference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tommy100
Business
overland park kansas
Dec 26, 2010

not bad for first time

crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 6, 2011

Too busy to meet guests' needs

Not the best... Locked out of room for 2 hours. No hot water for half of the day. [one very good thing: Tech department was very nice. They helped me out with a laptop issue and gave me a discount on internet usage.] Asked for a king bed, got two singles. They were just too busy to help my wife and I on our honeymoon. We only stayed for one night and then went somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Jan 18, 2011

Bad experience, wouldn't recommend

I have been to a lot of all-inclusive resorts. By far this was the worse. Food was horrible, the buffet is bad; not a lot of variety. Everything tasted bland and stale. The only tolerable restaurant was Sorrento, Italian food. The only really good food was the Jerk chicken. We had this every day. When we first check in at 2pm there was no towel in the room. After 6 hours of calling five times we finally got towels. The room needed to be updated. The four keys to our room do not work, and the lock needed to be fixed. I also had another two friends that came and meet us at this resort. They too, also had problem with their room. The six of us left the hotel on Monday with A LOT OF BED BUG BITES! WE ARE VERY CONCERN NOW. Check-in was an unpleasant experience. I booked this package for three people staying at the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort. I needed to added a fourth person into the room, because this fourth person was coming from a different destination, I had called the hotel and it reservation line more than three times asking how much more would it cost to add a fourth person into the room. And each time the representative told me, it would only cost a total of $75 more to add the fourth person. Each time I called the hotel, I told all the representatives on the phone to please make a note of the additional price on my reservation. When we check in and was ready to pay for the fourth person, the check in clerk said, it cost $75 per night. I told them, that I had called many times prior to arriving at the hotel to confirm the price. But this representative doesn't care. After 15 minutes, he gave us a discount of $15 off per night. This gesture still makes it more than what we were promised. I was very disappointed with this hotel operation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamericanLady
Business
Minnesota
Jan 22, 2011

You get what you pay for.

We have stayed at this hotel the previous two years in a row, and were dissappointed this year. The hotel was completely booked the entire 10 days we stayed. There were lines for all of the ammenities and you couldn't go a day without being accused of stealing someone's beach chair. However, the staff was strained and still had a wonderful and welcoming attitude throughout the entire stay. So like I say, you get what you pay for, if your rate is under $180 per night for this hotel, you may want to consider another. When occupancy is at half or less, this hotel is a dream come true and a perfect vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a smoker, wait to purchase cigarettes until you get to Jamaica. If you walk across the street infront of the hotel and go to a store called "Bobbie's", you can get cigarettes for half price. Bobbie is also the sweetest woman you will ever meet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top