Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
832 reviews
Great!

Staff was friendly and nice. I wanted a certain dish and the chef prepared it for me the next day... See full review

  • Jazzie Jazz
  • Aug 2, 2014
Excellent Vacationing Place

The hotel was excellent. It exceeded my expectations. Th staff was very cordial and professional at... See full review

  • Adj Traveling Sister
  • Jun 24, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.
Barefoot Bar & Grill
Serves hamburgers, hot dogs, etc.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (832)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
832 out of 832
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 4, 2009

Hotel needs updating

This hotel is in serious need of some updating... The room floors weren't clean. The bathroom was small and wasn't clean. The food was OK but they were always out of juice for the kids and cups weren't very sanitary. Thank god I only stayed for 4 days... I guess you get what you pay for. But I will never stay there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fern & Betsy
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Vacation gone Bad, Worst and Worse

Re: Holiday Inn Sun Spree Resort, Room 5122 Montego Bay, Jamaica August 16 thru August 23, 2009 September 2, 2009 They broke in to our first floor ocean front room and hacked into our safe, robbed us for 2500 US dollars. Their food at night was horrible, and their after dinner food from 6pm-1am is flat,dark burger, fries, fried fish nuggets, grilled cheese or a terrible veggie-burger. This is how they stuff the guests. Through out the day they do hyave a lunch with a guy that makes pizza, a fried fish sticks and pasta station, but I mean really. WE're in Jamaica. If I wanted Italian Food I'd go to Italy or stay in New York. We're is all of the Jamaican cousine. The do have a Jamaican Rest. which was already booked for the whole week, the day after I got there. So, I can't rate something I haven't tasted or experienced. The break fast wsa great for me, because I like cereal and they had like 4 different kinds out every day. But, Fernando doesn't eat cereal, So he was stuck on a long line in order to get an omlette made for himself. As for dessert, These people truly, don't have a clue on the sugar factor. All the pastries were tasteless. Cordially, Fernando & Betsy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mytkhan
phoenix, az
Jan 10, 2010

Dont get your hopes up!

The hotel is located away from everything so that the cab service used by the hotel can charge you $20 a mile! To get to the Bob Marley museum which was 9miles away they wanted $180 round trip. Drinks and food were not good. I will never stay at a all inclusive ever again! This place was filled with kids pushing all the buttons in the elevator and running away! Kids were always on the pool table as well so we never got to play! Kids all over the place! At least most the staff was nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Dont stay there!

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norristown, PA
Nov 18, 2010

Horrible first time experience

This trip was horrible!Before I booked this hotel I purposefully called to ask if we were able to have visitors. Guest services told me that having a guest was "not a problem". When we arrived, we were given a brochure that said there was an $85 charge for a day visitor and a $95 charge for an overnight visitor. The brochure also said that for sit down dinner you needed to make reservations at guest services. We immediately went to guest services to make reservations. To our surprise, all reservations were booked and we were told you have to make reservations 24 hours in advance. When I asked if we could have called prior to arriving in Jamaica I was told that you had to be checked in before you could make reservations. So already right off the bat you are missing a sit down meal on your arrival day and your departure day. One of the restaurants was closed for reservations as well.They were also booked on Saturday and was told that they might be able to squeeze us in on Sunday. After speaking with a manager for about 20 minutes he finally allowed reservations to be made for Saturday. When we arrived for the dinner, the restaurant was not filled the entire time we were there. This leads me to believe that they were trying to just cut costs and tell guests that the restaurants were filled and feed the guests hamburgers and hotdogs. The hotel also tried to charge us for phone calls that we did not make. After being given the run around by multiple staff for three days we were refunded. THis was my first time going to Jamaica and if it were not from my friend being from Jamaica and telling me that this is not the norm I probably would never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
stacie
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

think again

.Don't stay there u can stay at a better place for the money we payed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yozzo
London, UK
Jan 28, 2012

Discriminating Staff

The hotel itself has a few flaws such as the swimming zone is restricted to about 0.7m, you cant go any deeper so you cant really swim. As for watersports such as kayaks you cant take them out of the swimming zone so whats the point!! On my last day I wasnt allowed into the restaurant in the sleeveless shirt while all females were allowed to do so and so was I during every single day in the previous 2 weeks When I said this is discrimination they almost laughed, I explained that it was pouring with rain and I cant go back to get another shirt and they had no understanding for this at all. I went to reception to complain and they advised me to put my complaint in writing which I did on the spot and the reply from Manager has been NOTHING, they did not even bother to reply, so I am staying NEVER AGAIN at this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your time and money and find another hotel to stay in.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Busy Body Mama
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Jun 2, 2012

If only the service could have mirrored the location

Its unfortunate that such a beautiful place could be lowered in value in regards to customer service and satisfaction. After two hours of being third in line for check in, I was highly discouraged by the disregard for personal attention and overall immediacy of my room upon my arrival. Nothing could have been worse than traveling all night only to arrive to a beautiful location where my needs and expectations were not met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is nothing in walking distance in the surrounding areas.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindisapointed
PA
May 31, 2012

vacation

had trouble getting coffee for my room everyday maids didn't want to give it to me said too expensive, food was horrible same thing everyday, hard to get into restaurants unless you got there at 7 am everyday, and you weren't aware of dress codes until last min. and the bed was hard as a rock!!!!!!!!!!!!! i don't think as highly of holiday inn as i used to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

don't go to margaritaville on free night shuttle it's a little scary there and no food after 10 pm

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jo Ann angry customer
Business
New York
Jul 12, 2012

Lacking Customer Service

We were given a room with a broken air conditioner and after trying to fix it several times it finally worked, for one night. The next night I called maintenance at one something in the morning and the issue wasn't resolved until 6:30am. We ended up having to change rooms at 4:30am. I informed them I had a tour to go on at 8am and it would have to be canceled. I received a call at 7:30am (after sleeping only 1 hour in 27 hour period) and I was told that because I booked through an outside agency I could not cancel my tour and I would need to go on it, but that I could nap on the leisurely ride. I asked if it was a joke and told them the reason I am not able to go to the tour is because of them taking all night to fix the air conditioner. The next day I went to meet with Mrs. Hooper the Guest Services Manager regarding not being able to go on the tour. I explained the events of the night and she stated that she had inconsistencies between my story and the maintenance managers. I explained the events again and she let it be known that she did not believe what I was telling her. I told her I like the room a little cool and it wasn't working on 63 (what the hotel set it as) so I put it on 60 (which made the room about 70). She became agitated with me saying this isn't New York, this is Jamaica and I need to listen to maintenance if they set it at 63 not to touch it. I have never been treated so poorly in all my years of traveling. What happened to caring about peoples comfort? If I need the room set at 68 to sleep, then thats what it should be set at. The air was definitley controlled to be set at 70-72. In the end I missed a tour that I had waited 5 years to go on and didn't even receive an apology from the Manager. I will never reccommend this hotel, nor stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at 8am for the next night to eat in the restaurants on the premises. It took us 5 days to finally get a reservation.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very active mom
Michigan
Dec 26, 2012

Feels like I was trapped in cage - activities for small children only

Room and food was OK; entertainment was good; GYM was small and crowded, but you can find everything you need. Volleyball was terrible – basically there is no volleyball, court is concrete with something like gravel on top, very dangerous! And I usually not afraid to fall, I play volleyball at least several times a week and usually looking forward for any vacations to play beach volleyball, not at Holliday Inn. Swimming was by far the worst I ever experienced!!! You can’t pass the rope, which is not even up to my chest! There is absolutely no swimming in the ocean! You cannot walk along the beach like everywhere else. There are guards on both ends and you can’t pass them! You really are incarcerated! And hotel does not have enough territory for all the people trapped in there; it’s overcrowded all the time. Water activities is the same way – you are trapped inside tied area which is just a few steps, if you like kayaks and paddle boats, you will not enjoy it there; maybe OK if you have never done it before. Also hotel is too close to city, you can't walk. Maybe good only if you have very small children, my daughter is 14 and was bored to death, and small children were everywhere! Way too much for me. I will absolutely never ever go back there!!!!!! Or any other Holliday Inn hotels outside USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top