$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda N.
Business
Metamora MI
Mar 27, 2014

Great Value Getaway

Don't except much from the rooms, out dated and plain but very clean. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food was OK, drinks were weak but refreshing. Not much Ocean swimming area (to shallow) . Pools where beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Barefoot Bar is very busy. The best place to get good food and drink is the Jerk Hut great people and very relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah D.
Business
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Mar 27, 2014

Great Vacation Stay

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Sunspree from March 20, 2014 to March 26, 2014. The staff was exceptional in their service. Everyone was extremely polite and helpful. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with four people. Our room had a king size bed, and we had a pull-out sofa. We also were able to have a roll-away bed in the living area. The view was great from our room. We paid for an ocean-front room. The snorkeling was good by the island and the docks. We went early in the morning. My husband and daughter paid for the snorkeling trip from the hotel and did not feel it was worth the money. You mostly only saw coral, not many fish. We had no issues with getting sick from anything we ate or drank. We went to the Italian, the seafood, and the Terrace restaurants. We liked the Italian the best. There is a non-denominational church service on Sunday at 9:00 right at the hotel. We were very happy to be able to attend a church service right at the hotel. We also used the free shuttle to Rose Hall Shopping Center and spent an hour there for gifts. There is also shopping right across the street for shops. Taxi rides anywhere are expensive. Make sure to take taxis with red plates if you go anywhere. The personal trainer Terry is excellent and offers great classes at the gym. There is also a tennis instructor, Germaine, who is excellent. He gave my daughter lessons six days on our trip to Holiday Inn Sunspree last year, and he does an excellent job. She was a high school varsity player, and they had many great games. He was well above her tennis level, but he played at a challenging level for her. He is a great asset to the resort. The Barefoot Bar & Grille is great for grilled cheese sandwiches and cheeseburgers. There was always plenty of food. My daughters are rather picky eaters, and they always had cheese pizza at every meal and often had pasta also. One thing I would suggest is bringing 50 SPF Sports sunscreen. We had 30 SPF which was waterproof, but we were still getting burned. The sun is much more intense than in January when we usually go. Also, we used JCAL Tours for our private airport transfer. jcal@cwjamaica.com. Roundtrip we paid $50 for four people. They were waiting with a sign with our name when we arrived at the airport and picked us up promptly when they said they would for our return transfer. The only reason I rated the location a four is because the beach is private, and although there is a nice quiet beach area by the volleyball court, it is not real long for walks on the beach. However, we knew that going there, and that is the only downfall I can find with the location. The hotel is ten minutes from the airport, which is a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationer family of 5
Business
Iowa
Mar 20, 2014

Great relaxation!

We stayed in a jr suite. The bathroom was a little small and could use an update. Otherwise it was comfortable. The entertainment was pretty good. Sunscreen there is expensive so bring plenty. Take an insulated cup for your drinks. We didn't but slit of people did. Do NOT take the shopping tour. If you do be ready to have vendors coming at you from everywhere. And don't let them pull you away from the rest of your family. There is shopping across the street from the hotel and they also have people come into the resort selling stuff. They aren't as pushy. The kids club is best for five and under. My kids didn't want to stay there. The food was good. They have some traditional stuff and american stuff. There is also an island which was very cool. The water is only knee deep to the island. The guy who ran the glass bottom boat was awesome. Several members of the staff would chat and remember our names. This hotel is not high end so if you are used to the best food and best accommodations then this is not the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Take plenty of sunscreen as it is very expensive there. Shop at the vendors who come to the hotel and/or walk across the street to the shops. Do not do the shopping tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamaica Lovers
Business
Windsor Ontario
Mar 16, 2014

Great Place to Stay with the Kids

3 star resort with a 5 star staff. Excellent service by friendly staff everywhere on the resort. Kids were entertained all day by games and shows run by one of the friendliest MCs we have ever met. Food was good at the buffet and the Seabreeze restaurant offered surf and turf for $20 that was well worth the extra cost. Definitely would return to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Margaritaville is overpriced on their drinks, waterslide is closed after 5pm and not many people there until after midnight. Stay on your resort and save the money on the drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Green Canuck
Business
Windsor ON
Mar 16, 2014

We will return.

Overall it was a very good experience. We were there far a well put together family wedding which went very smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

book the various specialty restaurants once you arrive as the buffet can get tedious sometimes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLB2
Business
Florida
Mar 11, 2014

Great long weekend

This is a great place to get away for a long weekend. The staff is very friendly and the room was clean. Everyone was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andrea aaa
Business
new york
Mar 9, 2014

amazing family time

everyone was helpful amazing ambiance, the food was good and the entertainment was great for adults and kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3 grandsons
Business
cape cod
Mar 1, 2014

very relaxing

all the employees were extremely friendly. could not do enough for us. wanted to make sure we were always comfortable and wanted for nothing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

the activities that were put on bay chukka were well put together. the employees were extremely friendly and made everyone comfortable. the experience was eye opening, being able to see how the jamicans live in their world. would recommend

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cybersam
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 18, 2014

It's all in the name

Montego Bay, JA Holiday Inn Sun Spree Hotel All Inclusive Packages Our all-inclusive package included some unexpected surprises. Three room changes before we were satisfied and far enough away from the late night din of entertainment music that kept us awake until the wee hours of the morning and room maintenance problems occurred with every move. Meals included mediocre menus of institutional type food and local Jamaican dishes that were bland and sometimes tasteless. Various free food and drink huts are logistically situated along the lengthy beach. Since our hotel was located some distance from most attractions, only expensive taxi rides or costly tour buses were the only way to get to where we wanted to go. Tipping although optional with this package, is expected and flagrantly advertised. The staff was always friendly and available. Some restaurants on property require at least a 24 hour reservation for seating. A few have casual dress code requirements (collared shirts,pants and shoes for men, no beachwear). The hotel is very family friendly but there are also areas for adults only. Smoking is only allowed in one centrally located spot with a few seating benches. Shopping on site is the best bargain for souvenirs. Many off-site dining facilities will provide “free” transportation. Taxi drivers will try to steer you to places with which they have “special relationships”. Snorkeling is poor in this part of the bay. There are additional fees to use many of the water sports equipment. In all -- an okay, economical place to relax but don’t expect a lot of luxuries at this Holiday Inn. Be sure to bring some mosquito spay. You won’t regret it. If value is your focus, this place will meet your needs. Anything above and beyond is going to cost you. This island economy operates on tourism. As with most service industries, pay is low. Tipping is the only way to make a living wage here. So expect to tip a lot! Most off site attractions are not free and require a fee for use. Inclusive tours are an alternative option, with tipping of course!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Transportation available at the hotel is strictly restricted to parties who have an affiliation with the property. Service fees are flat rated. Better rates can be negotiated with providers who work off site. But be careful that you have a crystal clear understanding of what services you are purchasing and the price that you are paying for them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
doug the sugar daddy
Business
minneapolis,minnesota
Feb 10, 2014

REALLY?- IN JAMAICA

we booked trip in oct. of 2013 to insure ocean view and a smoking room. Upon arrival sat. feb. 1st 2014 we were told no ocean view and the whole resort was non- smoking. I have a disability and was forced to walk to a small designated area to smoke or the 300 yards to the adult beach where they finally put out ash trays after all the complaints they were getting.they had these security guards walking everywhere all hours it felt like we were in a prison camp. i won a 30 second staring contest with one gal. and another refused to reply to my "good morning" We had no fan in the bath room and the ac ,rummpled all the time. food at buffet and restaurants was basic all inclusive- average- the jerk chicken and pork were good but is also any you go on the island, had a great time on the cool runnings excursion we book thru the front desk, worth the money highly recommend, lots of STRONG rum. if you are non-smoker with kids this is best value and you ll have fun, if your young , smoke, and want to party stay away. from what i heard this is the only non smoking resort on the island. I travel every year, always all inclusive and in caribean, mexico, dominican where ever! this was my worst vacation in last 20 years!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

margaritta vill, big $$ great food and your away from the reort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top