$295 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
861 reviews
i Was Very Happy !!!!!!

It Was Very Nice and i was Very Happy My family Too water was a Little Cold But In General it was... See full review

  • Albert Y.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Christmas Honeymoon

Overall the resort is great for the price! Food was delicious. Staff was incredibly courteous!... See full review

  • Lisa Waddell
  • Jan 5, 2015
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (861)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
861 out of 861
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nyczz girl
Business
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2013

Poor all-inclusive resort

Hotel overbooks room and then tries to persuade their customers to relocate to sister resort, sunset breeze. VERY long check in time and took 4 hours to obtain room key.. Limited dinner reservations at the table service restaurants. They instruct you to reserve 24 hours in advance however they didn't mention by the time it's around 1pm, there are no availabilities left. Perhaps it's because the hotel is overwhelmed at full capacity. Only two restaurants are available per night if you opt not to eat at the buffet (Italian and jamaican) or (Japanese and Seafood). Japanese is another additional $20 surcharge and parts of the seafood menu is additional surcharge as well. It's an all-inclusive resort, if you decide to add additional cost to dining, DO not call yourself as an all inclusive. They make you wear these hand bands which i'm okay with but the quality of the hand band is thick plastic which easily irritates the skin and I have occasionally cut myself in the shower because it was so sharp. This is the first all inclusive I've been to that does not allow food in the room. It has such a strict policy that if caught they would charge you. Speaking of food - their selection at the buffet is less than 10 dishes, majority is spicy. I enjoyed their breakfast selection more since it was more acceptable to a typical city girl. If you're used to finer dining please do not come here. I've been to cancun twice, dominican republic and aruba and the holiday inn at jamaica was the worst resorts experience i've had. the only plus side is their private mini island and beautiful ocean. if you're used to being pampered by having waitors coming up to you asking for drink orders... then forget it here. You'll need to find your own drink. there were also mini shops outside the resort which offered good amounts of souvenirs at a much lower cost. Definitely book a tour to Ocho Rios and climb the Dunn's River Falls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

go across the street for discounted souvenirs (clothings, carved wood figures, keychains, shot glasses) taxi service cost $15-20 to airport while hotel transport is $30 each way for 1-4 ppl.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zede a
Business
brooklyn ny
May 15, 2013

relax for a few days with friends

the staff was fantastic and accommodating the hotel was ok my trip was short so it did fine i plan to visit next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trish Twins Mom
Business
Oakwood, OK
Jul 27, 2013

Mediocre Family Getaway

Our patio door lock was broken and could have easily been broken into as we were on the first floor. The main door wouldn't latch very well and the deadbolt didn't latch. We were ignored for service a lot since we were white. We tried very hard not to pull the race card. The lifeguards got on to my 4 year olds in the pool every chance they got for us throwing them up in the air and into the pool. The hotel staff seemed very concerned with liability. I am sure this is a product of our society. There was a lot of signs indicating that they were not responsible for theft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pasta station was very good. We did not care for the Italian restaurant that you had to have reservations for at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cat413
Business
New York, NY
Aug 14, 2013

Will be staying elsewhere

We booked this hotel for our family vacation and we just got back last night. The location itself is ideal. They are located right on the beach and have great pools. The adult pool has a swim up bar which is nice. We booked this for a family of 5 and had the "Junior Suite". When I read the description of the room, it seemed like it would be fine for a family of 5. When we actually arrived, the room was the size of a standard room with 2 double beds. There was a pull out sofa bed which was fine but there was just no space! The bathroom was also tiny. You could only literally take 1 step into the bathroom and that was it. The food at the buffet was not good at all. Breakfast every morning was sub par. I never tried the lunch buffet. Instead, I went to the snack bars which were actually decent. Our first night, we had dinner at the buffet since there was no reservations left for dinner at one of their restaurants. The food was awful. The rest of the nights, we made reservations at their restaurants. The seafood restaurant - Seabreeze was very good! I would highly recommend checking it out if you decide to stay at this hotel. The staff at this hotel was also very friendly. Everyone was so nice and always willing to help out. We tried the water sports that were included in the all inclusive and it was ok- nothing special. We were never able to go out on the catarman since it wasn't "windy" enough. There were a lot of kids at this hotel and it is family friendly. If this isn't something you are looking for, I would suggest not staying here. If I come back to Jamaica, I will be booking elsewhere. Although the staff is great and the location is ideal, it would not be enough for me to return here. I'd rather pay a little more and stay at a nicer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely make a reservation at one of the hotel restaurants for dinner. The buffet is not good. We tried Seabreeze and Sorrentos. Both are good! Sorrentos requires that dress up and that men wear long pants and a collared shirt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beck8271
Business
Rossford, Oh
Dec 4, 2013

Not great, but not bad.

Pros: The location of the hotel was good and was just a short drive from the airport. We had a one bedroom suite that was located on the main floor. My son loved the fact he could run out of the room and right onto the beach. The beach was shallow enough he could go almost anywhere and the water was only thigh high (he is 46”tall). The beach itself was very clean and we never had to wait for a chair. The Wi-Fi also worked on the beach. Cons: When we arrived, we had to argue to get the room we reserved. Our reservation stated a one bedroom suite with a king bed and sofa bed. The hotel staff stated it was a guarantee room. The manager found us the room we reserved. We lost power at least 5 times during our stay. There were several light bulbs missing or burned out in our room making the bathroom and living areas dark. The sofa's pull out bed had rust stains on it. The room itself needed a good scrubbing. The tile around the shower was caked with mud. The room had a whirlpool tub, but it did not work. Majority of the staff greeted us with a smile, but others seemed that we were an inconvenience. The food at the nightly buffet was pretty blah and it was the same thing every night. The specialty restaurants were fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
blissful122
Business
Grandview, Missouri
Dec 8, 2013

table for 6 please

Upon arrival approached by cabby to buy weed ( not a good start ) not even checked in yet. It took the front desk nearly 1 hour to check all 6 of us in ( reservations were made 4 months in advance). Nearly every question we asked we were ignored with an occasional rudeness they said I am trying. I would say that about 70% of the staff never smiled, they walked away from you always ignored your questions. The other 30% of staff were totally awesome always happy to be there and help make your vacation pleasurable. Tipping not required but I am here to tell you they ask for it and if you don't they will not make you a drink. This holds true for the whole island to include drivers, tour guides, EVERYONE you come in contact with. The locals HARASS you while trying to shop, this was the most horrifying experience of my life, I was scared to death while running away from them. This hotel really needs to send their staff to some customer service classes or just clean out the bad ones that hate working there. I was never rude to anyone, always smiled and tipped so I just expected to be treated the same in return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Book your dinners they offer cause buffets are bad, but be aware dinners in hotel restaurants last and average of 1 & 1/2 to complete and they want tipped too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ire mon
Business
Maryland
Dec 11, 2013

Not bad for the price.

The hotel is a dated 25 + year old facility. Well maintained, but not upto the more modern hotels of the Carribean. Narrow beaches with no waves coming onto the sand ast there is a reef about 100 yards off shore where the waves break. Some sort of seaweed is growing on the bottom right near the shore were you would normally wade into the ocean. Food is just average and the mixed drinks are very weak. The only beer is Red Stripe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reseervations for the special dining early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
doug the sugar daddy
Business
minneapolis,minnesota
Feb 10, 2014

REALLY?- IN JAMAICA

we booked trip in oct. of 2013 to insure ocean view and a smoking room. Upon arrival sat. feb. 1st 2014 we were told no ocean view and the whole resort was non- smoking. I have a disability and was forced to walk to a small designated area to smoke or the 300 yards to the adult beach where they finally put out ash trays after all the complaints they were getting.they had these security guards walking everywhere all hours it felt like we were in a prison camp. i won a 30 second staring contest with one gal. and another refused to reply to my "good morning" We had no fan in the bath room and the ac ,rummpled all the time. food at buffet and restaurants was basic all inclusive- average- the jerk chicken and pork were good but is also any you go on the island, had a great time on the cool runnings excursion we book thru the front desk, worth the money highly recommend, lots of STRONG rum. if you are non-smoker with kids this is best value and you ll have fun, if your young , smoke, and want to party stay away. from what i heard this is the only non smoking resort on the island. I travel every year, always all inclusive and in caribean, mexico, dominican where ever! this was my worst vacation in last 20 years!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

margaritta vill, big $$ great food and your away from the reort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Apr 22, 2009

Review from California Girl

The beach is nice and snorkeling is good right at the resort. My room was right next to the main pool where there is ALWAYS music playing loud and entertainment. If you want quiet, request a room far from the pool. The inclusive sounds good until you taste the food, it was not very good with the exception on the one evening in a restaurant (book as soon as you get there if you're staying 5 nights or more). Several of the water toys were not available and broken. The help was very good. The room was ok, the bathroom was small and not really clean looking. Definitely dated. Lots of families at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Dunns Rivers Falls and walk up the falls. Lots of fun. We hired a taxi and the driver gave us history on the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SEXYSUGA
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 23, 2010

It was ok. The Jerk Chicken was great.

It was ok. I would never stay again. The staff was nice however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top