$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,290 reviews
Excellent Vacationing Place

The hotel was excellent. It exceeded my expectations. Th staff was very cordial and professional at... See full review

  • Adj Traveling Sister
  • Jun 24, 2014
Beautiful

Had a great week kids had a blast lots of things to to excellent value this place far out did my... See full review

  • wesNpikwik
  • Jun 14, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1290)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
1290 out of 1290
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAMAICIAN G
BUFFALO,NY
Nov 6, 2012

FRIENDLIEST RESORT

THE STAFF IS GREAT! ANYTHING YOU NEED THEY ARE RIGHT THERE FOR YOU! GREAT JAMAICAN FOOD. SNORKLING, BOATING, AND A LTTLE ISLAND RIGHT ON THE RESORT ALL INCLUDED. 5 STAR FOR A GREAT PRICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET AND 2 BEAUTIFUL SHOPS ON SITE. THEY ALSO BRING IN VENDORS 3 TO 4 TIMES A WEEK WITH GREAT STUFF.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockford, IL USA
Nov 21, 2010

Worst vacation ever!

November 20th, 2010. This was the worst vacation we've ever taken. I've never wanted to get home so fast in my life. From the hour wait at the airport for our transfer to the last hour we prepared to leave, at every turn...my wife was almost in tears. Our plane arrived at around 12:00 noon and we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 2:45 and that was with the transport supplied by the hotel. By the time we got into our room, it was after 4:00. At which time, we immediately asked to be moved. The rooms are outdated and dirty (the room hadn't been dusted in weeks and my wife came home with a rash from something there). Even AFTER being moved, the second room was only barely tolerable. The female staff seemed as if they would rather get us out of their country than help us in any way. The males were slightly better, but only if you asked for help. We lost power 4 of the 8 days we were there which also takes down the internet, A/C etc. One day we had no water and after that...the water pressure was the equivalent of being spit on. I can say with 100% honesty..this place was terrible. We travel often and based on the pictures and other reviews..we thought the price was fair. It should be half of what they ask. As for service..it would need to be rated "not applicable". There IS no service. If you go up to one of the bars or sit at a restaurant...yes, you are waited on (barely). Other than that...ZERO!! And I mean ZERO service. Not a person in sight. I read the reviews and don't understand why ANYONE would go back to this place. It's outdated, dirty, the A/C worked partially in the room, the staff was awful, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. If you consider yourself a redneck (and I don't mean that to sound like a snob...we are laid back people that enjoy our vacations and our drinks) that doesn't care about anything but sitting around the bar with a stained tank top...than this is your place. If you value your money and hard work to go on vacation...look elsewhere. If you don't...you'll regret every minute there. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE. No problem 'mon? Yeah...there's a problem there 'mon. You'd be better served at a Howard Johnson's. We were told they had updated it...yeah right. Unless some new sand washed up on the beach...I saw nothing that resembled updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
Jul 4, 2009

Worst!

I think that hotel was one of the worst. I would not recommend any one staying at that resort. The staff was very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjekje42
Orlando, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Never Again to Jamaica

It was a terrible dirty looking room. The door had a big gap at the top of it so you heard EVERYTHING that was happening outside, and also did not get any privacy inside. The staff wasn't very friendly and when we requested a blanket (one is not already in the room when you arrive)no blanket ever came. Also, asked the staff for toilet paper, but again that also never came. The taxi rides from the hotel for even just 6 miles away were anywhere from $50 to $200. It was outrageous. Now this is to do with Jamaica, but they do not work on weekends and no tours were going on the weekends. My husband and I were only in Jamaica for a weekend trip and did not get to do anything. We were stuck behind the wall of the hotel (literally walled off, from the rest of the bad streets I'm guessing) and did not get to see any of Jamaica. I could have rented a local hotel if I just wanted to sit in a pool or in my room my whole trip. Also, the people in Jamaica were late for EVERYthing. From our flight to the taxi's to the dinner reservations, to the shuttle buses coming in to just anything, they were all late. Now we did a renewal of our vows, and I have to give it to the wedding dept. They took care of everything and was even on time for everything. That was the best part of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Busy Body Mama
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Jun 2, 2012

If only the service could have mirrored the location

Its unfortunate that such a beautiful place could be lowered in value in regards to customer service and satisfaction. After two hours of being third in line for check in, I was highly discouraged by the disregard for personal attention and overall immediacy of my room upon my arrival. Nothing could have been worse than traveling all night only to arrive to a beautiful location where my needs and expectations were not met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is nothing in walking distance in the surrounding areas.

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lindisapointed
PA
May 31, 2012

vacation

had trouble getting coffee for my room everyday maids didn't want to give it to me said too expensive, food was horrible same thing everyday, hard to get into restaurants unless you got there at 7 am everyday, and you weren't aware of dress codes until last min. and the bed was hard as a rock!!!!!!!!!!!!! i don't think as highly of holiday inn as i used to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

don't go to margaritaville on free night shuttle it's a little scary there and no food after 10 pm

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bob marler
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2009

It's terrible

If you would like to see the beach but not to swim in it, it would be great. 1 foot water high. Bad service, drunk people everywhere. The entertainment? What is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

No tourists allowed in the city alone!! ??????

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 19, 2010

Riu next time!!!

There seemed to be plenty to do once we discovered them. However it took us about two to four days to realize everything the hotel had to offer and then we had to squeeze as much in as possible before check our check out date. There are restorante by reservation that were above the standards of the other food served in the buffet style, but no one said anything that was also discovered on our own. There are seven buildings within the resort and my family and I were all the way in the back; building seven. It was a hike back and to the main lobby of the hotel. Everytime we went out on the balconey to enjoy the ocean front view the bonus was the smell of "drugs". I'm not judging, howerver I requested non-smoking because both of my kids have asthma. The hotel phone was not working, the electric had gone out for a period of time, and the t.v. cable had service interuption a few times. The wedding we attended at the hotel was more disasterous than my stay. The bride and grooms resorvations did not match their itenorary. The hotel requested they check out a day early regardless. Moments after they had checked out while they waited for there shuttle they were asked to put a drink down they had gotten from the bar because they were no longer guests of the "Holiday Inn Sun Spree! This hotel is substandard to almost every hotel I have had experienced, even some motels have friendier more accomidating staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 7, 2009

Do not stay at this resort

We would not recommend staying at this resort. Althought the staff was friendly, this was not enough to make the stay enjoyable. We chose this result because it was a Holiday Inn and were extremely disappointed. The rooms were outdated and not very clean. There were insects including roaches. Also, the cable was not operational for three days. The food was horrible and often times cold. The only decent meal was breakfast. If you choose to stay at this resort, bring your own ketchup. The "beach" was small and not very clean. The best part of our trip was the ATV tour in jungle. The guides were awesome and will satify any need for speed you might have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV tour

Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 19, 2010

FOR MY FIRST RESORT THEY WERE NOT GOOD

I arrived there on a Thursday and had to wait two and a half hours for a room because house keeping was not finish. They do not inform you of what time is check out time, you have to ask. They do not always clean the floors and the sheets never get changed if you do not use the sign to let them know to change the sheets. A lot of the staff is very rude. The lighter your complextion the better they treat you. I went their to be with friends for their wedding and found out that the staff are not helpful in resolving issues there. The couple had paid for their rooms for one more night and had the itenary to show this and the had them to leave a day early saying the mix up is with the couples travel agent. Their remark was they don't go by whats on the couples paper. When the couple ask to speak to the manager they never got the manager. One staff member put her hand up and walked off instead of trying to help nor did she listen and make sure she understood what was happening. All they want is to keep the place filled and you are not important to them. I got into a verbal altercation with one of the staff serving the cake and drinks. I ask for something to drink since I did not want alcohol and my water had to be removed because trash was floating in the glass. Needless to say, I never got anything to drink until we were inside for dinner.[...], was very kind and helpful. He always smiled and ask were things ok. He is a part of the front desk staff. There are others at the front desk staff who are nice also. [...] was rude and not a nice nor helpful in anyway.The wedding corrdinator did not have anything planed from the way things went. I feel that she needs to learn how to make things flow smoothly for the customers. Remember we are paying money to go there. This money also helps to pay staff and keep the place open. If not treated nice people should let it be known and hopefully they will learn to do better.It was good being their with friends but the worst tip I have ever had when staying some place for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budnterry4
Proctorville, Ohio
Jun 23, 2013

Do not waste your money here

Rude staff at the check in desk started our bad experience. 2 rooms booked that were supposed to be connnecting because we travel with teens. They were not even in the same hallway and we were told to check back each day at 3 to see if any connecting rooms available but there never were. We did not feel safe at this resort and there was no entertainment for teenagers. It is not an all inclusive resort. 2 different restaurants out of the 5 available charged $20 per person-the hibachi grill had no dishes that were included and the Seabreeze seafood restaurant charges $20 per person if you want shrimp dishes! You are also limited on the number of steaks you can order from another restaurant. The pool and ocean closes at 5 pm. The adult pool is still open but they are very strict on no one under 18 allowed so the teens are unable to get in the water after 5. Entertainment at night was mediocre and drinks are very poor quality. Overall we lost weight this trip and were ready to return home after 3 days here. Some other guests we talked with complained about service to the manager and they were told that they would refund their money and they could go elsewhere-almost impossible with the reservations-management does not care if you enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top