$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
846 reviews
First family vacation

this is a family resort.....alot of kids running around just what we wanted for our 1 year... See full review

  • Eddy Abreu
  • Nov 29, 2014
Cheap and amazing for your holidays!

We have been to Jamaica three times for our winter holiday and every time we stayed at Holiday Inn.... See full review

  • Having a looksee here
  • Nov 25, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (846)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
846 out of 846
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 17, 2011

OK Accmomdations

Hotel was OK at best, rooms were mostly clean, somewhat loud and hallways were loud. Beach was crowded many days, had to get up at 2am each night to reserve a set of chairs with some shade for that upcoming day. Buffet restaurant was often very crowded and had little variety with mostly poor service. Several soccer teams stayed at hotel packing the buffet. Minimal fruit options for a tropical location. Food available was OK, the fish options were good. Nightly restaurants were mostly very good but can only go to each one once per week. Lots of smokers everywhere but not allowed in buffet or restaurants but anywhere else you could get smoked out, including beach and beach bars/huts. Next time will look for a smoke free environment. Marginal to weak entertainment. Staff was mostly very friendly, not lots of rules. Would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Local shops across road from hotel have much better prices than hotel but have to put up with very pushy locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wish i went 2 Dom Rep
Business
kersey, pa
Feb 28, 2010

nice place, bad food

Well, we went on our honeymoon here and were really excited. That lasted until the second day. We paid for an extra package and were told that our chocolate covered strawberries would be delivered to the room at 5...so i drug myself out of the beautiful sun and waited for hour and a half and no strawberries. Many phone calls later, we finally decided to get the next day. And speaking of food...I didnt go to Jamaica to eat beef roast and potatos, mac and cheese, and plenty of other boring foods. The main restaurant had little of a regional choice. the other "nicer" restaurants, we could only get into 1 and it was in a pavillion with plastic chairs and the food was not good at all. Never even were able to make reservations to the Italian restaurant because it was full!!! so we ate almost every meal in the buffet and the food there stunk. And that statement also reminds me of the smell that we had to endure in the evening and in the a.m. It smelled of sewage so bad we couldnt even sit on the beach one night! And the beahes werent very nice, lots of seaweed and quite small. I will say the hotel itself was nice, good place for kids, but i wouldnt go back on a bet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

try, and goodluck, to make reservations as soon as you get there for the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 7, 2009

Do not stay at this resort

We would not recommend staying at this resort. Althought the staff was friendly, this was not enough to make the stay enjoyable. We chose this result because it was a Holiday Inn and were extremely disappointed. The rooms were outdated and not very clean. There were insects including roaches. Also, the cable was not operational for three days. The food was horrible and often times cold. The only decent meal was breakfast. If you choose to stay at this resort, bring your own ketchup. The "beach" was small and not very clean. The best part of our trip was the ATV tour in jungle. The guides were awesome and will satify any need for speed you might have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ATV tour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, Ohio
Jan 4, 2010

Not what I expected!

The staff was very friendly and that was the best part of this resort. The food was mediocre at best...the rooms were just plain gross...the floors in the common areas were filthy...there was NO water preasure in the shower...our balcony was not "private", had to share with another room...need I say more? I loved the weather in Jamaica but would never return to this resort...two thumbs down!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockford, IL USA
Nov 21, 2010

Worst vacation ever!

November 20th, 2010. This was the worst vacation we've ever taken. I've never wanted to get home so fast in my life. From the hour wait at the airport for our transfer to the last hour we prepared to leave, at every turn...my wife was almost in tears. Our plane arrived at around 12:00 noon and we didn't get to the hotel until nearly 2:45 and that was with the transport supplied by the hotel. By the time we got into our room, it was after 4:00. At which time, we immediately asked to be moved. The rooms are outdated and dirty (the room hadn't been dusted in weeks and my wife came home with a rash from something there). Even AFTER being moved, the second room was only barely tolerable. The female staff seemed as if they would rather get us out of their country than help us in any way. The males were slightly better, but only if you asked for help. We lost power 4 of the 8 days we were there which also takes down the internet, A/C etc. One day we had no water and after that...the water pressure was the equivalent of being spit on. I can say with 100% honesty..this place was terrible. We travel often and based on the pictures and other reviews..we thought the price was fair. It should be half of what they ask. As for service..it would need to be rated "not applicable". There IS no service. If you go up to one of the bars or sit at a restaurant...yes, you are waited on (barely). Other than that...ZERO!! And I mean ZERO service. Not a person in sight. I read the reviews and don't understand why ANYONE would go back to this place. It's outdated, dirty, the A/C worked partially in the room, the staff was awful, and we couldn't wait to get out of there. If you consider yourself a redneck (and I don't mean that to sound like a snob...we are laid back people that enjoy our vacations and our drinks) that doesn't care about anything but sitting around the bar with a stained tank top...than this is your place. If you value your money and hard work to go on vacation...look elsewhere. If you don't...you'll regret every minute there. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE. No problem 'mon? Yeah...there's a problem there 'mon. You'd be better served at a Howard Johnson's. We were told they had updated it...yeah right. Unless some new sand washed up on the beach...I saw nothing that resembled updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 22, 2009

The worse vacation of my life!!!!

Booked a room with a king size bed. Told on Saturday morning to check back in the evening, then told to check back on Sunday and then told again to check back the next morning. My girlfriend and I, here on what we hoped to be a romantic week, had to sleep in separate beds. No hot water for the first three days and had only a limited amount late in the evening the next two days. A water leak on the floor below no doubt led to the above problem. It also led to three straight afternoons of jack hammering. Then a fourth day of hammering to set the new tile. We were told it would only be one day, which then led to two and then a third. Then there were the errors in the gift shop. On 5 occasions the change for the purchase I had made was short. Once or twice I could maybe understand, but I felt there was a purposeful attempt to cheat me out of money. The front desk staff was anything but friendly and helpful. They acted as if I was a bother when coming by and checking to see if a room with a king size bed was available. Then they to gave me incorrect change when I need to settle the phone bill at checkout. It was not much but it just supported the pattern. And if you read the information on the phone in the room it implied that calls to cell phones were free. Maybe this was a case of me being stupid. Finally, though it apparently is the norm there, was the unbelievable amount of weed smoked at the adult pool, on the beach and all through out the building with the rooms. Staff thought nothing of it. My point is that if this is what happens in Jamaican resorts then maybe that those booking trips should be forewarned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find another resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 4, 2009

Worst!

I think that hotel was one of the worst. I would not recommend any one staying at that resort. The staff was very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 12, 2008

Most horrible experience EVER

The Holiday Inn sunspree Resort Jamaica Bay was the most horrible experience of my life, minus the person I was with. The front desk was rude and took forever. Worst yet, the maid stole our camera and the list goes on. I will NEVER EVER stay there again. In addition, it is NOT a good place for adults because it is WAY TOO kid friendly. Other than that, I loved Jamaica, just not the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Casino across from Margaritaville was nice. The Dunn's river falls was also nice when you climb the waterfall all the way up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poughkeepsie NY
Jan 1, 2010

SunSpree was ok but would not go back...

I expected food to be better. We went to main restaurant three times and each time the same items on menu they were out of. We had very poor service from wait staff in main restaurant. Room was near road and we heard cars racing by all night. Toilet was leaking and repaired quickly. We did not receive new towels for the entire stay of 7 days. Other we traveled with were hiding towels in rood to in order to get clean towels.S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chesterfield twp., mi., u.s.a.
Nov 11, 2010

so so vacation

the hotel itself had issues - we had a sewage stoppage issue for 2 days before it was resolved - late night tv viewing was problematic (kept losing cable reception) - one day we lost all electrical for nearly half of the day - we had dinner reservations (grand daughters birthday) and were denied entry due to unacceptable foot wear by grand daughter (even though diner ahead of us had same foot wear as grand daughter). only after changing foot wear were we allowed entry.....the staff was friendly and the food was good (not great).....the beach was littered with sea weed and the water was thick with the stuff, making swimming virtually impossible....purchasing items at the various stores was a challenge - one clerk actually told me that she did not want to accept jamaican currency - u.s. currency only!! yet, when making change, gave me jamaican in return even though i argued that that was wrong (she made another profit on the exchange rate which in my opinion was highly unethical).....lots and lots of negatives about this trip but, will not overlook the friendly (honest and ethical) people we encountered and the warm weather....one last thing - i was informed by several store owners that taxes were not to be applied to tourist purchases yet, most stores routinely charge you the local tax and if you catch them AFTER you've made your purchase, they WILL NOT refund you the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

avoid cash transactions if possible!!! use your credit card in order to get correct valuation on your currency (your bank/card company provides this service)....before signing for purchase make certain you're not paying tax that tourist aren't responsible for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top