$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
839 reviews
Very comfortable

When we arrived our room wasn't ready,so we waited about an hr. when we got our room they upgraded... See full review

  • Sun spree smile
  • Oct 9, 2014
Awesome hotel! Would definately go back.

I loved everything about this hotel. This was my first time visiting Jamaica and the experience was... See full review

  • Nicki28
  • Sep 4, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (839)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
839 out of 839
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 4, 2009

Worst!

I think that hotel was one of the worst. I would not recommend any one staying at that resort. The staff was very unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cranbury
Jun 26, 2008

Not worth your time or money

The staff was rude, and treated their friends who came into the hotel before paying guests. The food was not good, and we were hungry the whole time. We did not feel safe, and people offered us drugs. Do not go to a Holiday Inn; I will never go to Jamacia again because of this experience. We did not have fun, and the pool felt dirty. The room did not feel clean either, and we could not really swin in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Poughkeepsie NY
Jan 1, 2010

SunSpree was ok but would not go back...

I expected food to be better. We went to main restaurant three times and each time the same items on menu they were out of. We had very poor service from wait staff in main restaurant. Room was near road and we heard cars racing by all night. Toilet was leaking and repaired quickly. We did not receive new towels for the entire stay of 7 days. Other we traveled with were hiding towels in rood to in order to get clean towels.S

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chesterfield twp., mi., u.s.a.
Nov 11, 2010

so so vacation

the hotel itself had issues - we had a sewage stoppage issue for 2 days before it was resolved - late night tv viewing was problematic (kept losing cable reception) - one day we lost all electrical for nearly half of the day - we had dinner reservations (grand daughters birthday) and were denied entry due to unacceptable foot wear by grand daughter (even though diner ahead of us had same foot wear as grand daughter). only after changing foot wear were we allowed entry.....the staff was friendly and the food was good (not great).....the beach was littered with sea weed and the water was thick with the stuff, making swimming virtually impossible....purchasing items at the various stores was a challenge - one clerk actually told me that she did not want to accept jamaican currency - u.s. currency only!! yet, when making change, gave me jamaican in return even though i argued that that was wrong (she made another profit on the exchange rate which in my opinion was highly unethical).....lots and lots of negatives about this trip but, will not overlook the friendly (honest and ethical) people we encountered and the warm weather....one last thing - i was informed by several store owners that taxes were not to be applied to tourist purchases yet, most stores routinely charge you the local tax and if you catch them AFTER you've made your purchase, they WILL NOT refund you the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

avoid cash transactions if possible!!! use your credit card in order to get correct valuation on your currency (your bank/card company provides this service)....before signing for purchase make certain you're not paying tax that tourist aren't responsible for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
igi
Business
Boston
May 29, 2010

May 2010 stay

The hotel needs serious updatea to the rooms. The sliding doors leaked really bad. Beds were not comfortble, need to pgrade the mattresses. The food choices at the buffets were very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bob marler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2009

It's terrible

If you would like to see the beach but not to swim in it, it would be great. 1 foot water high. Bad service, drunk people everywhere. The entertainment? What is that?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

No tourists allowed in the city alone!! ??????

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kjekje42
Business
Orlando, FL
Aug 18, 2009

Never Again to Jamaica

It was a terrible dirty looking room. The door had a big gap at the top of it so you heard EVERYTHING that was happening outside, and also did not get any privacy inside. The staff wasn't very friendly and when we requested a blanket (one is not already in the room when you arrive)no blanket ever came. Also, asked the staff for toilet paper, but again that also never came. The taxi rides from the hotel for even just 6 miles away were anywhere from $50 to $200. It was outrageous. Now this is to do with Jamaica, but they do not work on weekends and no tours were going on the weekends. My husband and I were only in Jamaica for a weekend trip and did not get to do anything. We were stuck behind the wall of the hotel (literally walled off, from the rest of the bad streets I'm guessing) and did not get to see any of Jamaica. I could have rented a local hotel if I just wanted to sit in a pool or in my room my whole trip. Also, the people in Jamaica were late for EVERYthing. From our flight to the taxi's to the dinner reservations, to the shuttle buses coming in to just anything, they were all late. Now we did a renewal of our vows, and I have to give it to the wedding dept. They took care of everything and was even on time for everything. That was the best part of our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 19, 2010

Riu next time!!!

There seemed to be plenty to do once we discovered them. However it took us about two to four days to realize everything the hotel had to offer and then we had to squeeze as much in as possible before check our check out date. There are restorante by reservation that were above the standards of the other food served in the buffet style, but no one said anything that was also discovered on our own. There are seven buildings within the resort and my family and I were all the way in the back; building seven. It was a hike back and to the main lobby of the hotel. Everytime we went out on the balconey to enjoy the ocean front view the bonus was the smell of "drugs". I'm not judging, howerver I requested non-smoking because both of my kids have asthma. The hotel phone was not working, the electric had gone out for a period of time, and the t.v. cable had service interuption a few times. The wedding we attended at the hotel was more disasterous than my stay. The bride and grooms resorvations did not match their itenorary. The hotel requested they check out a day early regardless. Moments after they had checked out while they waited for there shuttle they were asked to put a drink down they had gotten from the bar because they were no longer guests of the "Holiday Inn Sun Spree! This hotel is substandard to almost every hotel I have had experienced, even some motels have friendier more accomidating staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2010

FOR MY FIRST RESORT THEY WERE NOT GOOD

I arrived there on a Thursday and had to wait two and a half hours for a room because house keeping was not finish. They do not inform you of what time is check out time, you have to ask. They do not always clean the floors and the sheets never get changed if you do not use the sign to let them know to change the sheets. A lot of the staff is very rude. The lighter your complextion the better they treat you. I went their to be with friends for their wedding and found out that the staff are not helpful in resolving issues there. The couple had paid for their rooms for one more night and had the itenary to show this and the had them to leave a day early saying the mix up is with the couples travel agent. Their remark was they don't go by whats on the couples paper. When the couple ask to speak to the manager they never got the manager. One staff member put her hand up and walked off instead of trying to help nor did she listen and make sure she understood what was happening. All they want is to keep the place filled and you are not important to them. I got into a verbal altercation with one of the staff serving the cake and drinks. I ask for something to drink since I did not want alcohol and my water had to be removed because trash was floating in the glass. Needless to say, I never got anything to drink until we were inside for dinner.[...], was very kind and helpful. He always smiled and ask were things ok. He is a part of the front desk staff. There are others at the front desk staff who are nice also. [...] was rude and not a nice nor helpful in anyway.The wedding corrdinator did not have anything planed from the way things went. I feel that she needs to learn how to make things flow smoothly for the customers. Remember we are paying money to go there. This money also helps to pay staff and keep the place open. If not treated nice people should let it be known and hopefully they will learn to do better.It was good being their with friends but the worst tip I have ever had when staying some place for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Rat Pack
Business
London Ontario Canada
Jan 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Sunspree (Dec 26-Jan2)

Where do we begin? This was the in the top three of our worst trips ever! We arrived at 8:30 p.m. so I took every precaution to ensure we were getting the ocean FRONT room we booked and paid extra for.[...] I called the hotel - they confirmed by email that all was fine. I took the email to the front desk when we arrived and they said "No problem" - we had an ocean front room. The porter took us to our room - garden view overlooking the pool where the band was blaring. After getting the run around (they were of course overbooked and no rooms were available until the next day) we slept our first night with earplugs. After getting the run around again in the morning (we were asked to bring our luggage to storage for the day so they could clean our current room though they couldn't guarantee we were actually going to get our ocean front that day!!) After 3:00 we were moved to our ocean front room. It was wonderful - quiet and clean. No music and noise from the pool area. Slept beautifully. Day 3 - woke up to an 8 inch rat sitting on our bathroom floor! It apparently came in through a hole in the wall. The maintenance man they called was wonderfully helpful. He beat the rat to death while my husband held the louvers doors closed. My children listened to this whole event and will probably never recover emotionally. For some reason, overwhelmed with emotion, I gave him a large tip for solving the rat issue to the best of his ability. I told management. I wrote it on our "return customer" survey and absolutely not another word was ever mentioned. No apology, no compensation - notta!! I asked that they send someone up to clean up the rat fur, etc with bleach before we returned to the room. Don't want to know if this was done or not. We didn't step on the bare floor after that day. This is our second trip to this resort and definitely our last. Christmas was overcrowded (and overbooked).Stood in line for everything including the one line for the New Year's Buffet. Lobster was overcooked and tough. Couldn't cut the prime rib with a cerated knife let alone chew it.We paid a fair price (including the flight)for the four of us in one room for a week so it wasn't overly expensive (1/2 price on the hotel room). We're going to the Cayman's again in March for $1,300 less (without meals and alcohol.) We'll be able to eat much better for the difference in price of $1,300. Lastly, best advise I could ever give - MAKE DINNER RESERVATIONS BY EMAIL BEFORE YOU GO!!!! We did and we were able to eat in the a la carte restaurants every night. This made the trip bearable since the buffet was just gut-fitter. No one else we talked to was even able to get a reservation for even one night in an a la carte. For about a minute I almost felt guilty ..... not!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top