$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 9, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
835 reviews
Awesome hotel! Would definately go back.

I loved everything about this hotel. This was my first time visiting Jamaica and the experience was... See full review

  • Nicki28
  • Sep 4, 2014
Great!

Staff was friendly and nice. I wanted a certain dish and the chef prepared it for me the next day... See full review

  • Jazzie Jazz
  • Aug 2, 2014
Located right on the beachfront, The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort at Montego Bay sports vibrantly colorful tropical gardens and bright white sands, making this Jamaican hotel a hit with every member of the family. The 520 rooms at the Holiday Inn all offer a private balcony or patio, great for grabbing a personal slice of that Caribbean sunshine. The Rose Hall Ballroom can squeeze in between 300 and 1,000 attendees, so the property welcomes business travelers in addition to those on holiday.
Key facts
  • 520 guestrooms
  • 27 suites
  • Business center
  • 3 complimentary meals and snacks each day
  • One-and-a-half miles of private beach access and a private island
  • Casino
  • Children's diner
  • 4 restaurants: Kenko Japanese Restaurant, Sea Breeze Restaurant, Portside Buffet Restaurant, The Barefoot Bar and Grill
Neighborhood
The Holiday Inn is located just six miles from Sangster International Airport (MJB) and guests can reach central Montego Bay after a mere ten-minute drive.  There is little to distract visitors from the sunshine and surf here, since the design and ambience are reminiscent of an uninhabited desert island. Montego Bay itself offers many essential Jamaican experiences, like hanging out on Doctors Cave Beach and horse-riding through the surf.  The Blue Diamond Shopping Mall in Coral Gardens is perfect for last-minute souvenir shopping.
Hints and tips
If you're over 60, or traveling with someone that is, let the hotel know and they'll arrange for you to be a privileged 'Golden Spree' guest, with exclusive perks such as complimentary dance classes and other activities. KidSuites are a new and exclusive room-within-a-room feature, giving children their own private space and parents a bit more quiet time in turn.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.5231 -77.8515
Area served
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Approximately 7 minutes from Sangster International (MBJ), 6 miles - Norman Manley Airport (KIN), 95 miles.
Area description
Only six miles from Montego Bay Airport, our seaside resort is nestled amidst luxuriant tropical gardens and our own one-half mile of silky, white sand beach with a private island. The Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort in Montego Bay is a full-service resort offering All-inclusive Packages for unlimited fun. Bask in the comfort of our tastefully detailed accommodations, with 524 spacious guest rooms and suites.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Standard Room
Garden or Courtyard View with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
Superior Room
Oceanview - Side view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. All rooms have a balcony or terrace. King rooms have a sofa bed. Rooms have tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, flat screen TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom Suite
Oceanfront - Direct frontal view of the Caribbean sea with 1 king or 2 double beds. Room has a separate living room area separated by french doors with curtains, and a balcony or terrace. Living room has a sofa bed, fridge and table and chair. Room has tiled floors, electronic safety deposit box, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, clock radio, TV, air conditioning, party table with two chairs and FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
KidSuites(R)
The KidSuites(R) feature a unique room within a room, where kids get their own private space, and parents get some breathing room. Each imaginatively decorated KidSuites room features a partially separated in-room sleep & play area for kids, with one set of bunk beds, color cable television with kid friendly channels, play table or kid's desk. The main sleeping area is equipped with direct dial phone with voice mail, coffee maker, in-room safe, flat screen cable television with premium movie channels, AM/FM clock radio, hair dryer, refrigerator, iron and ironing board. The main sleeping area has a king bed. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available. **KidSuites(R) is a registered trademark of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resorts.
Junior Suites
These spacious suites located on the top floor offer additional comfort, furnished with traditional Caribbean elegance featuring two double beds or a King bed. Equipped with direct dial telephones with voice mail, flat screen TV with premium movie and sports channels, work desk, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, AM/FM clock radio, coffee maker, refrigerator and in-room safe. Jr. Suites are ideal for couples and/or families with a partially separated living room area with standard sleeper sofa. Junior Suites also feature upgraded amenities and dcor with balconies giving a view of the gardens or a partial view of the ocean. FREE in-room Wi-Fi now available.
One Bedroom
with a separate living area and can accommodate a party of five. All suites are oceanfront and include a private Whirlpool. Free In-Room Wi-Fi. Two children 12 and under stay, play and eat free. Children 13-17 pay adult fee.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 5.7 mi

Dining

Paella Restaurant
Delicious paellas, tapas and other Spanish specialties set in a non-smoking outdoor terrace with a panoramic view of the ocean. Piped Flamenco music enhances the ambiance. Limited menu. Dress Code: resort casual, no bathing suits. Open daily for dinner from 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Reservations required. Closed on Wednesdays
Trattoria
Outdoor terrace with panoramic view of the ocean featuring Italian Cuisine in a casual setting.
Theme Nights
Feature live entertainment, music and dancing, seven days a week.
Portside Buffet Restaurant
A variety of International foods and tasty island delicacies.
Port Royal Pub
Unlimited, relaxed fun, Caribbean style!
Sorrento Italian Restaurant
Air-conditioned fine dining overlooking the ocean, offering exciting Italian dishes.
Big Smaddy Bar
Adult only pool.
Jus Kiddin for Kids
Catering to the younger set.
De Lobby Bar
The perfect place to share a refreshing tropical cocktail with friends and family.
Sea Breeze
Gazebo style restaurant serving a la carte, grilled specialties at the Beach.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting planners take note, our tropical location and newly renovated meeting rooms are perfect for executive meetings, seminars, conventions, family reunions, parties and more. The Rose Hall Ballroom has 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 300 people banquet style and 1,550 for receptions. Our 780 square foot Oasis Boardroom is ideal for executive meetings, small groups and conferences.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (835)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
835 out of 835
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pharmer V
Boston, MA
Apr 13, 2010

STAY AWAY, Staff Members Tried to ROB US

So basically, we went out to the beach late night to come back at 3 am to FIND night STAFF MEMBERS IN OUR ROOM TRYING TO ROB US. Thats right, ROB US!!!!! Luckily for us, we caught them in the act so they got nothing. So they made friends with us earlier in the week, just to later on betray our trust and try to exploit and rob us. After filing the report and dealing with the [*] for the past few weeks, it turns out that the resort is siding with their staff saying that they are denying any criminal activity and that they were in our room to check that no one else had invaded our room. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!!! What complete and utter [*] So basically the hotel is denying us any real compensation and hotel staff is maintaining their innocence. I wont bother you with the details, just understand that in general people are always trying to make a buck off you, whether it be honest or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Broncos Fan2
Decatur, GA
Dec 27, 2009

One of the worst hotels/

We stayed there 1 night before our 3-night stay at the Iberostar Suites Resorts. We wanted a quiet, private day alone together before gathering with all of our family & friends...and mistakenly thought the Holiday Inn Sunspree was a great idea! Wrong. Check-in will deceive you...very nice staff and drinks upon arrival...decor semi-nice. Then you walk to your room and YUCK! We were initially in Building 3, room was small and smelled of mildew. Bed sheets had blood stains (not mine, ewwww!) so we were moved....Moved to Building 6, given a key to our new room, 6116, attempted to walk in...and encountered a family of 4 THAT WAS ALREADY OCCUPYING THE ROOM,ummmm....embarrassing and needless to say, I was beyond annoyed. So, now I walked BACK to the front desk and DEMANDED a new room that did not have blood stains, was not occupied with another family and way better looking that the original. We were moved to Building 4, room 4352, which was their version of a suite...I guess it was the best they could do, which after staying at other "resorts", was pitiful. Anyway, the best part of the stay was when morning came, we dropped off the key and took Clive's taxi to the Iberostar. We will NEVER stay again. Not worth the $199 p/night. I don't care what ANYONE SAYS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad sad mommy
New york
Dec 1, 2013

Disappointing

Our trip started on a bad note when the hotel didn't have our 2 rooms next to each other. I traveled with my husband and 3 children. When i called the hotel directly the week before our trip I said that it was absolutely necessary for our room to be next door to each other. I got the Jamaican "No Problem" Upon my arrival I was told that not only were our rooms not next door to each other , they were in completely different buildings! I had to argue for 4 hours until the only other options was for them to upgrade me to a suite a double room next to each other. Sounds good right? WRONG!!!! The suite was filthy, the door didn't even lock so I did not feel safe, and the room had a horrible odor. The double room was no better. The floor was stained, the bathroom was run down, the toilet was not working and again the room was filthy. Housekeeping was still cleaning it when we got there despite arriving at the hotel at 9:45 and finally getting our rooms at 5:30. While we waited for our rooms we were told to go eat something. when were sat down at the restaurant i was pleased with the selection of foods they had, but when i sat down at my table, again i was disappointing! the tables were not the cleanest and both my son and i found hair in our food. This is not surprising as the hair nets the staff where are a joke and nobody wheres gloves on hands when handling food. Disgusting!!! We saved for 2 years for this trip only to have it ruined by "The Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort' we did not receive any apologizes and were stuck there. I will never stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Dunns River Falls was the only highlight of this trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Rat Pack
London Ontario Canada
Jan 10, 2010

Holiday Inn Sunspree (Dec 26-Jan2)

Where do we begin? This was the in the top three of our worst trips ever! We arrived at 8:30 p.m. so I took every precaution to ensure we were getting the ocean FRONT room we booked and paid extra for.[...] I called the hotel - they confirmed by email that all was fine. I took the email to the front desk when we arrived and they said "No problem" - we had an ocean front room. The porter took us to our room - garden view overlooking the pool where the band was blaring. After getting the run around (they were of course overbooked and no rooms were available until the next day) we slept our first night with earplugs. After getting the run around again in the morning (we were asked to bring our luggage to storage for the day so they could clean our current room though they couldn't guarantee we were actually going to get our ocean front that day!!) After 3:00 we were moved to our ocean front room. It was wonderful - quiet and clean. No music and noise from the pool area. Slept beautifully. Day 3 - woke up to an 8 inch rat sitting on our bathroom floor! It apparently came in through a hole in the wall. The maintenance man they called was wonderfully helpful. He beat the rat to death while my husband held the louvers doors closed. My children listened to this whole event and will probably never recover emotionally. For some reason, overwhelmed with emotion, I gave him a large tip for solving the rat issue to the best of his ability. I told management. I wrote it on our "return customer" survey and absolutely not another word was ever mentioned. No apology, no compensation - notta!! I asked that they send someone up to clean up the rat fur, etc with bleach before we returned to the room. Don't want to know if this was done or not. We didn't step on the bare floor after that day. This is our second trip to this resort and definitely our last. Christmas was overcrowded (and overbooked).Stood in line for everything including the one line for the New Year's Buffet. Lobster was overcooked and tough. Couldn't cut the prime rib with a cerated knife let alone chew it.We paid a fair price (including the flight)for the four of us in one room for a week so it wasn't overly expensive (1/2 price on the hotel room). We're going to the Cayman's again in March for $1,300 less (without meals and alcohol.) We'll be able to eat much better for the difference in price of $1,300. Lastly, best advise I could ever give - MAKE DINNER RESERVATIONS BY EMAIL BEFORE YOU GO!!!! We did and we were able to eat in the a la carte restaurants every night. This made the trip bearable since the buffet was just gut-fitter. No one else we talked to was even able to get a reservation for even one night in an a la carte. For about a minute I almost felt guilty ..... not!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nay1922
New York City
Jul 31, 2014

Rooms Need upgrading

I was very disappointed on this stay because all 3 rooms had several issues. Obviously these rooms were not serviced to be occupied by quests. Rattling air conditioners, safes all broken with the doors off the hinges, missing tv remotes, irons, and hair dryers, and broken terrace door. Only a few of the reported issues were resolved upon my leave. Spa booking needs to be computerized to save time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

free shuttle and entrance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Feb 17, 2011

OK Accmomdations

Hotel was OK at best, rooms were mostly clean, somewhat loud and hallways were loud. Beach was crowded many days, had to get up at 2am each night to reserve a set of chairs with some shade for that upcoming day. Buffet restaurant was often very crowded and had little variety with mostly poor service. Several soccer teams stayed at hotel packing the buffet. Minimal fruit options for a tropical location. Food available was OK, the fish options were good. Nightly restaurants were mostly very good but can only go to each one once per week. Lots of smokers everywhere but not allowed in buffet or restaurants but anywhere else you could get smoked out, including beach and beach bars/huts. Next time will look for a smoke free environment. Marginal to weak entertainment. Staff was mostly very friendly, not lots of rules. Would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Local shops across road from hotel have much better prices than hotel but have to put up with very pushy locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhapy
Cicago Illinois
Aug 3, 2014

huge mistake

Big mistake, HUGE!!! Nothing was what was supposed to be. We had to fight for the room we paid for. Above us, was a full construction in progress with people banging and scraping all day. After complaining, we had to wait another day and a half to be relocated. The half mile beach looked better in the picture and the ocean was off limit because the rocks and aquatic plants were all way to the shore. The swimming pool will close at 5 p.m. The food was horrible, plain horrible. The so called entertaiment was so boring, you can call it entertaiment at all. This was the worst vacation ever. This was not a 3.8 resort, maybe a 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mom not satisfied!
Menifee, CA
Jul 11, 2009

Disappointed vacation

Reservations were wrong when we arrived, booked 2 rooms, one with 2 double beds, only had rooms with king bed available, had to have 1 child sleep on roll away bed and another child sleep with my husband and I for the first night until there was a room with 2 double beds available on our 2nd night. Also booked adjoining rooms to be next to my older son. This was not available until the 2nd night of stay also. It states on the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort website that the rooms were newly renovated, I do not believe that they were. The bathroom faucet was loose, the bathroom mirror was chipped all around the edges, the bathroom door had to be forced open and closed because it stuck, the paint throughtout the whole room was chipped everywhere, the air conditioning was not only noisy, but we had to turn it all the way down to 60 degrees just to keep the room temperature from being too hot. The sliding door to the patio, we could not even open it up to be able to enjoy the balcony. On our 4th day there, the housekeeper ran out of towels stating that she would bring some back later, well she never did. We had to call for towels to be able to take a shower. The door to our room had to be forced open and shut. One morning my husband killed a cockroach in the bathroom. I guess you can see by now, that we were not satisfied with the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort and would not recommend it to any family or friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fl.
Jun 19, 2009

Vacation 2009 Disaster

This vacation was a disaster. There were too many flies around the food and in the dining room. Our room did not get cleaned before 4p.m. The entertainment each night was just poor and catered to one set of the audience. There was no designated area for smoking, so people were smoking all over the place. This is no place for a family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
for every travelers
NJ, USA
Nov 29, 2010

the bigest garbadge hotel ever

nothing to do.. water is not deep enough for swimming not in the pool or in the ocean only 2.5 feet... No one was friendly there.. people are using bad language.. smoking everywhere... Boring and Stupid shows.. No enterteinment there at all... NO ONE SHOULD EVER EVER GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search