$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of PO Box 480, Rosehall, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 25, 2011

It was just OK!

What little entertainment they had at the hotel was not the greatest. There was a talent show for the kids and while I think the kids really enjoyed the entire process the dance routine were a little to risque for children. No night light at the hotel. Biggest attractions were Jamaican singers that just OK. Sang all types of music but all seemed to sound like Jamaican. Hotel was not the most modern. Only 3 restaurants (advertised 4); only allowed to make one reservation per week at each and had to be done 1 day in advance; so that meant if your stay was more 4 nights you had to eat from the buffet. Buffet food was terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

None!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

I felt like like we got a decent as far as the cost, and i realize you get what you pay for. I think next time we would rather pay more and stay at a nicer resort. The staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, at times we waited so long for a drink that we gave up, which seemed was the intention of the bartenders. Mostly I was annoyed and getting upset because we were being completely ignored. I have 2 jobs and both are in customer service. I dont know exactly what is customary in Jamaica, but I would never ignore a guest or customer for 10-20 minutes without so much as an acknowledgement. That was very disapointing. The food and the drinks were cheap and not appealing. The entire place was dirty, I didn't even want to lean on the wall in the elevator, which didn't have an exhaust system at all. We jokingly called it our sauna because it was like an oven and you couldn't breathe. We were on the third floor so we had to use the elevator quite frequently. We tried the stairs but they smelled awful. I wish I had some positive feed back about the sunspree, I wasn't exspecting five star, but the place was not takin care of. The best part of our trip was spent outside the resort. I loved Jamaica, and I cant wait to go back, but the sunspree wont get our business again, I bet they dont have a lot of repeat customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there are souivenir shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Mar 23, 2010

The Good and The Bad

The biggest issue at the beginning was the noise level coming from the pool, particularly at night. We had a room in building 2, which was directly facing the pool. The nightly concert started at about 8pm and ended around 11, but then there was karaoke until 2am, and then screaming and laughing until 4ish. The music was so loud that it rattled the windows and we couldn't hear each other talk without screaming. We eventually moved our room to building 6, which was much quieter and very nice. The buffet at the hotel was basically the same thing every day, and was incredibly boring. We also ate at Sorrento, which had a very limited selection and really was not anything too great. The beach was nice, although you had to get there early to get a chair, and the swimming area needed to be raked out badly, as it was very over grown with seaweed. The room was alright, but it wasn't really very clean and the TV reception went in and out. The areas outside the room, however were very nice and well kept. The lobby was nice and provided many sitting areas. Also, the gift shop had a lot of items and was fairly reasonably priced, but the Shops at Rose Hall had a huge selection and were often a little bit cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Student with greater resort expectations
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2011

No idea what customer service is

While food and drinks were abundant, the quality was quite poor. The specialty restaurants were better quality, but at 2 out of three of them, the services was absolutely horrible. Courses were left out and the attitude of the heads of the restaurants were appalling. It was ashame because the restaurants were absolutely gorgeous, and if the food and service matched they could be five star restaurants. The front desk was not helpful at all. Their aim is not to please, but to just satisfactory service. Plan on not leaving the resort. It is not a town to walk around in. As for the positive, the grill by the pool was a lifesaver. Lounge chairs were abundant and the beach was absolutely gorgeous as was the pool. I did not travel with kids, but it is definitely a great place to take them. The rooms were spacious and the maid service was great. It was a great deal, but you certainly get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
n2009
Business
Virginia
Jun 28, 2009

Great beach, not so good hotel rooms

Great beach for snorkeling and diving. However the hotel rooms need a lot of improvement. There was hot water problem even after complaining to the hotel staff and the air-conditioning did not work well which was a problem especially at nights when you try to sleep and it is very hot. Hotel staff was not very friendly while checking-in. Some guests receive drinks upon arrival some don't.(I did not) Almost everyone staying in the hotel was smoking (they have non-smoking rooms but open areas such as beach and pool areas were filled with people that smoke) so it would be a problem if you don't smoke. The most disturbing experience was to see a cigarette floating in the pool. Food was average buffet quality food. Despite of all these negative experinces in the hotel, their beach is wonderful if you are into snorkeling and diving. Sandals Hotel's dive boats bring their guests right in front of Holiday Inn Beach as there are great reefs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 17, 2009

The good, the bad, and the ugly......

Customer service was great room need to be redone, bathroom and rooms needed a makeover. Food was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylva, NC
Mar 3, 2009

Winter Getaway

Check-in was painless, though it does take a little time when checking in with other tourists. After waiting a few minutes, we received rum punch. The room was what we expected, the only problems were with the shower. The control kept coming off which made it difficult to turn the water on or off. We tightened the screw which had been stripped for a few days and finally had to call maintenance to fix it more permanently. We used humor to get past the inconvenience. The water for the building was turned off one day because of a break in the waterline. Again, just a minor inconvenience as we didn't stay in the room that much, though we were getting a little nervous around 6pm. The sliding glass door was difficult to open and close and rattled with the wind. We found the food fine with enough choices. Our last trip was to a smaller resort, so it was different with so many people. I really hadn't paid much attention to the size, so that was my fault. I enjoyed the smaller resort, but even so, you could find spots on the beaches with a little privacy at Holiday Inn. We took the sunset catamaran tour "Dreamer". I would not recommend this if you truly want to sail. The sails are unfurled, but you stay under noisy power. Made me wonder if the guys could sail at all. The sunset tour on our last trip was awesome with very few people on the catamaran. This is a very family oriented resort, which is fine as long as you know beforehand. There were no children at the adult pool and the beach area in front of that, so that's where we mostly stayed. There are quite a few shops across the street from the resort. As anywhere touristy, I felt they were a rip-off, but we spent some money anyway. I made the HUGE mistake of getting my hair cut at the salon. The last resort gave me a fabulous cut, but this one made me look like a 5 year-old had cut my hair. A bad decision on my part. And it does rain in Jamaica, but only one day for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I checked I would not recommend to my friends because I know they would not enjoy this place. Other people, particularly with children, probably would. Just my preference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tommy100
Business
overland park kansas
Dec 26, 2010

not bad for first time

crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 6, 2011

Too busy to meet guests' needs

Not the best... Locked out of room for 2 hours. No hot water for half of the day. [one very good thing: Tech department was very nice. They helped me out with a laptop issue and gave me a discount on internet usage.] Asked for a king bed, got two singles. They were just too busy to help my wife and I on our honeymoon. We only stayed for one night and then went somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arizona
Jan 18, 2011

Bad experience, wouldn't recommend

I have been to a lot of all-inclusive resorts. By far this was the worse. Food was horrible, the buffet is bad; not a lot of variety. Everything tasted bland and stale. The only tolerable restaurant was Sorrento, Italian food. The only really good food was the Jerk chicken. We had this every day. When we first check in at 2pm there was no towel in the room. After 6 hours of calling five times we finally got towels. The room needed to be updated. The four keys to our room do not work, and the lock needed to be fixed. I also had another two friends that came and meet us at this resort. They too, also had problem with their room. The six of us left the hotel on Monday with A LOT OF BED BUG BITES! WE ARE VERY CONCERN NOW. Check-in was an unpleasant experience. I booked this package for three people staying at the Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort. I needed to added a fourth person into the room, because this fourth person was coming from a different destination, I had called the hotel and it reservation line more than three times asking how much more would it cost to add a fourth person into the room. And each time the representative told me, it would only cost a total of $75 more to add the fourth person. Each time I called the hotel, I told all the representatives on the phone to please make a note of the additional price on my reservation. When we check in and was ready to pay for the fourth person, the check in clerk said, it cost $75 per night. I told them, that I had called many times prior to arriving at the hotel to confirm the price. But this representative doesn't care. After 15 minutes, he gave us a discount of $15 off per night. This gesture still makes it more than what we were promised. I was very disappointed with this hotel operation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top