$459 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Half Moon, a RockResort

5 stars
Half Moon Post Office, Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Montego Bay,
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Another wonderful stay

As ever, the amenities, service, restaurants, bars and beaches were exceptional See full review

  • Ian F.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Amazing Vacation - We'll Be Back!!!

Our experience exceeded our expectations by far. The resort was beautiful and the staff was... See full review

  • Island Lover Tessa
  • Sep 28, 2014
Luxury hotel with views of tropical gardens and the sea

The Half Moon Hotel is a luxury establishment with stunning views overlooking the beach that has a wide range of amenities and facilities available to guests. These include; a top quality spa, a fitness center, 51 swimming pools, 13 tennis courts and four squash courts. There are other activities to take advantage of nearby, including scuba diving, horse riding, water sports and more. The six high quality but comfortable restaurants on-site will satisfy any appetite, and the attentive staff provides a high standard of service. This hotel has won four green awards for being environmentally friendly.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Situated in 400 acres of stunning Caribbean beachside land

  • A wide range of activities on offer, including swimming pools, squash courts, tennis courts and a spa

  • Some rooms at the Half Moon Hotel have their own private swimming pool, for an added sense of luxury

Half Moon, a RockResort Rooms
Half Moon Hotel has a selection of rooms from which to choose, all with privacy, comfort and luxury, that combined, ensures a perfect stay. Both vintage and modern flavors are portrayed in the style and décor of the Half Moon Hotel, providing guests with the best of both worlds. Much of the interior design of the Half Moon Hotel has a black and white design theme and features design elements taken from the tropical Caribbean jungle. Views of the beautiful Jamaican tropical gardens and sandy beaches are seen from many of the suites and are enjoyed even more from the rooms with balconies. The 197 rooms and suites within the Half Moon Hotel offer a variety of accommodations choices. There are also 33 Royal villa luxury properties on-site that have their own private pool and staff. These have between four and seven bedrooms, so that larger parties of guests can be accommodated. The rooms offer a great deal of space for extra comfort and practicality; they also have large bathrooms. The high level of service and the outstanding accommodations facilities truly make this a luxury establishment at which to stay.
Things To Do:
  • Historic Rose Hall – a short drive away.

  • Greenwood Hall – a short drive away.

  • Historic town of Falmouth – half an hour by car.

  • Blue Diamond Shopping Center at Ironshore


Policies and fees

A standard resort fee of $30USD per room per night will be charged to bills for guests staying in rooms and suites. The fee is taxable and is payable at checkout. The fee includes: Wireless Internet service in every guest room as well as in public areas across the resort; use of the computer lounge and business centre services; in-room bottled water utilizing RockResorts' sustainable Water on the Rocks program; use of water sports equipment (single and double kayaks, paddle boats, water lilos); use of resort bicycles; nightly Happy Hour snacks at the Cedar Bar; and other services and amenities to enhance guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Half Moon, a RockResort also booked these hotels.

Half Moon, a RockResort Rooms

Deluxe Room
Comfortable rooms charmingly decorated with vibrant hues and stately furnishings. King and 2 twin beds available. Croquet, putting green and sunrise beach nearby. Sleeps - Maximum 2 persons. These rooms are not handicapped accessible. Garden Views.
Hibiscus Suite
Spacious, magnificent beachfront suites that offer the ultimate in relaxed tropical living. Rest in four-poster king-sized beds, air-conditioned rooms with large balcony for those upstairs and large terraces for suites located on the ground floor, large bathrooms. Living and sleeping areas are furnished in a tropical Caribbean Plantation style. A number of rooms equipped for the physically challenged. Sleeps: Maximum 4 people.
Junior Suite
Spacious and comfortably elegant, complete with an inviting living area, these charming suites offer twin or king beds. Located on the beach and on the ground floor, these suites are ideal for small families or indivituals looking for a bit more room. Pools, tennis and spa nearby. Sleeps - maximum 4 persons.
Royal Suite
Ideal for romantic honeymoons or for anyone who wants a more private setting. These one-bedroom suites with king or 2 twin beds are outfitted with beautiful blend of colonial furnishing and colourful Jamaican influences. Each suite is equipped with large living room, elegantly appointed bedrooms, large bathrooms and is centrally located to many Half Moon's services and pools. Sleeps - maximum 4 persons.
2 Bedroom Hibiscus Suite
Elegantly furnished with handcrafted rattan and majestic four-poster beds. Our Two-bedroom Hibiscus Suites offer luxurious surroundings, a spacious living area, connecting bedrooms that can close for privacy along with spacious bathrooms shower and bathtub. Sleeps - maximum 6 persons
Ocean View Deluxe Room
Comfortable rooms charmingly decorated with vibrant hues and stately furnishings. King and 2 twin beds available. Croquet, putting green and sunrise beach nearby. Sleeps - Maximum 2 persons. These rooms are not handicapped accessible. Ocean Views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Jarrett Park: 6.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's gala affair for a few hundred person, a casual beach barbecue or a delightful customised theme party. Half Moon's team of event coordinators and meeting planners will transform the ordinary into the extraordinary to ensure a truly successful event. Over 26,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space featuring: T1-enabled venues / State-of-the-art audio/visual quipment / Technical support team / Rear-screen projections / Sound and lighting / High-speed Internet access / Outdoor events / Wireless Internet access / Business centre with printing services. Meeting space: Cornwall Room - 12,000 sq. ft, 1500 maximum capacity / Conference Centre - 4,600 sq. ft, 670 maximum capacity / Royal Pavilion - 4,300 sq. ft, 250 maximum capacity.

Dining

Pepperpot Restaurant
Located at the Oleander Terrace, this dining outlet serves only authentic Jamaican delights. Enjoy favourites such as jerk pork, chicken and sausage, curried goat, braised oxtail with broad beans, fish and bammy and much more! Open for lunch 11:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Dress code is casual
Prakash Indian and Thai Restaurant
In the finest Indian tradition, we bring you the treasures of Prakashs kitchen located in the Shopping Village. Sit down and savour authentic Tandoori and Indian cuisine prepared by genuine Mughlai chefs. Every measure is taken to ensure each meal will be a unique experience in gourmet dining. Open daily for lunch and dinner. Reservations required for dinner.
Robbie's Kitchen
Robbie's Kitchen serves International Cuisine with a Caribbean twist. Located in the Shopping Village, the restaurant's menu features an eclectic mix of Middle Eastern dishes, traditional Jamaican favourites, punctuated by a bit of Indian zest and encompasses other global tastes.Open for lunch and dinner from 10:00 a.m. until late. Dress code is casual.
The Sugar Mill
Taking a cue from the diverse cultures that season the Caribbean kitchen, Sugar Mill's chefs have fused the many influences of the region to create a mlange of tastes that is truly Caribbean fusion cuisine. Recipes and methods from Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas are joined together in a "melting pot" to create new exotic flavours to tempt the appetite and awaken the palate. The Sugar Mill menu offers a wide variety of selections that will satisfy the palates of even the most discerning diners. Seasonal opening Open for dinner only 6-10 pm. Reservations are required. Dress code is casual elegant; no denim, shorts, sneakers or flip flops permitted for dinner.
Seagrape Terrace
Named after the prickly Seagrape tree found throughout the resort, the Seagrape Terrace is shaded by fragrant almond trees and overlooks Sunset Beach. Beckoning guests throughout the day, the Seagrape Terrace offers tasty lunches, delightful snacks and gourmet dining after sunset. Seagrape Terrace serves breakfast, lunch, dinner. Reservations are required for dinner. Dress code: Resort casual. Collared shirts and dress shorts permitted for dinner for males 12 and over No cut-off jeans, t-shirts, swim suit/trunks, beach attire, slippers/sandals and sneakers permitted for dinner.
Il Giardino
Step into the elegantly frescoed Il Giardino and be instantly transported to a wonderfully romantic restaurant on the coast of Italy. The mouth-watering menu was created by our internationally-trained chefs and offers a variety of beautifully presented authentic Italian dishes. Open for dinner only 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Reservations are required. Dress code is casual elegant; no denim, shorts, sneakers or flip flops permitted for dinner.
Beach Barbecue
Looking for a fun, casual and relaxed venue? The weekly Beach Barbecue on Sunrise Beach is a fun evening for all to enjoy. An expansive, mouth-watering buffet with grill stations, hot pots and savory Jamaican treats will tempt your appetite while engaging local performers will have you dancing barefoot in the sand. Friday 6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. Dress code is casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Half Moon, a RockResort

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
youdontknowmyname
Business
UK
Aug 12, 2012

Luxurious: beautiful location and a Jamaican welcome

If you can afford it, go for it; you won't be disappointed. The private beach is breathtaking, the grounds are well kept, the rooms are extremely comfortable and... well, you probably won't want to go home at the end of your stay. If you're like me and enjoy cycling, they have bike hire so grab one to get between main dining area and the shops/living quarters to the east. If you don't want to be jumping in the shower every other hour then hire a golf buggy instead. The hotel's eco credentials seemed to live up to expectations: they encourage recycling and the housemaid actually left my towel on the hanger as I requested, which has never happened in any hotel before! The golf buggies are battery powered so guests who hire them can leave charging outside their rooms; and most of the time when you need a bellman to take you somewhere you get a ride on one of these (tips are accepted). I did dine at the main restaurant a couple of times. It was a bit expensive by my budget but still tasty. They have local fare (fish, lobster) and veg from their own garden. If you have fancy dining tastes you'll be in your element here. The in-complex shopping area is large and well styled. It was reasonably quiet (I went out of peak season) but there was still a friendly welcome at the bar (refreshing pint of Guinness), supermarket (bananas, home made muffins, locally made peanut bars) and adjoining coffee house (cappuccino and freshly made double turkey sandwich). Due to work (and jet-lag) I didn't have time to explore the area or take advantage of any trips during the day but they have a tour agency rep next to reception if you need inspiration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're an early bird, grab the continental breakfast buffet which is available from 7am-8am and won't break the bank (as much as the $30 buffet that follows). If you're feeling rich, knock yourself out; the buffet isn't the biggest but has just enough great local fare to satiate the biggest appetite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajvaca
Business
new york city
Dec 26, 2012

Beautiful Beaches, Beautoful People...

Half Moon is a lovely hotel/resort. My husband and I just got back from a quick 3 day trip to get some sunshine and it was the perfect spot. 10 minutes from the airport in Montego Bay, a phenomenal staff that goes out of their way to accommodate, and beautiful beaches to relax and enjoy. I would recommend requesting a room in one of the beachfront cottages which we did not do when booking initially. We were scheduled at the Oleander cottages which were a bit away from the beach. Luckily the front desk switched us upon checking in and we wound up right on the beach. Also - the resort is HUGE with tons of tennis courts, a golf course and much more. I guess this is why it is so expensive. My husband and I were only going for the beach so didnt use any of the amenities. The food was decent but again, meals are extremely expensive. Expect to spend $80-$100 on breakfast and lunches. And $200 plus on dinners. Maybe a meal plan would have been the smarter route. But all in all, a great escape from the cold and noise of NYC! I'd recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
youdontknowmyname
Business
UK
Aug 12, 2012

Luxurious: beautiful location and a Jamaican welcome

If you can afford it, go for it; you won't be disappointed. The private beach is breathtaking, the grounds are well kept, the rooms are extremely comfortable and... well, you probably won't want to go home at the end of your stay. If you're like me and enjoy cycling, they have bike hire so grab one to get between main dining area and the shops/living quarters to the east. If you don't want to be jumping in the shower every other hour then hire a golf buggy instead. The hotel's eco credentials seemed to live up to expectations: they encourage recycling and the housemaid actually left my towel on the hanger as I requested, which has never happened in any hotel before! The golf buggies are battery powered so guests who hire them can leave charging outside their rooms; and most of the time when you need a bellman to take you somewhere you get a ride on one of these (tips are accepted). I did dine at the main restaurant a couple of times. It was a bit expensive by my budget but still tasty. They have local fare (fish, lobster) and veg from their own garden. If you have fancy dining tastes you'll be in your element here. The in-complex shopping area is large and well styled. It was reasonably quiet (I went out of peak season) but there was still a friendly welcome at the bar (refreshing pint of Guinness), supermarket (bananas, home made muffins, locally made peanut bars) and adjoining coffee house (cappuccino and freshly made double turkey sandwich). Due to work (and jet-lag) I didn't have time to explore the area or take advantage of any trips during the day but they have a tour agency rep next to reception if you need inspiration.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're an early bird, grab the continental breakfast buffet which is available from 7am-8am and won't break the bank (as much as the $30 buffet that follows). If you're feeling rich, knock yourself out; the buffet isn't the biggest but has just enough great local fare to satiate the biggest appetite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laurav
Business
Indiana, USA
Dec 22, 2011

beautiful jamaica

the staff at the half moon are exceptional.they go out of their way to make your stay feel like home.they are some of the friendliest people ive ever encountered great resort to visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

center of alot of fun things to do bring lots of money when you go jamaica is very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 16, 2011

Quiet & Laidback

The hotel was very welcoming when we arrived! They even upgraded our room since it was our honeymoon. They greated us with jamaican rum while we waited for a new room assignment. The bellhop gave us a tour of the grounds and some insite history on when celebrity stay as guest in the resort. The only thing missing was it was so quiet. It is more for a quiet laid back experience. The food is pricey if it is not all-inclusive. We bought our own drinks with us since our stay could not include all-inclusive. The room (junior suite) was nice that we were upgraded to. We stayed at Sandals Ocho Rios before coming here and I like Sandals better due to the vibe of the sandals. I would not recommend the hotel for those looking to have fun, but more for those who want a quiet vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We preferred to eat off the property due to cost of the food and portions were small. They have dining on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 3, 2010

Great service, beautiful resort,[...]

Golf, swimming, tennis, spa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tova
Business
FL
Oct 17, 2009

Half Moon

Wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
England
Sep 21, 2009

Top of the range

A very short stay indeed- under 12 hours as a result of a delayed flight and a shame we couldn't be there a bit longer to enjoy the facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
Aug 21, 2009

Average

Overall, very nice. But not five-stars. The beach is great. The location is great with a relaxing beach, long stretch of coast, lovely golf course, and very tradiational but pleasant villas and suites. My two peeves are: 1) The food was very average - deli-quality at New York prices - and there is nowhere else to go that is simple to get to! 2) I hate having gratuity added to everything (spa, food, etc, etc) and then a space is left for you to add on a tip - it just makes me mad - I would have tipped more than 15% if they hadn't already included it, but I don't like the implication of an expensive meal, plus tax, plus 15% gratuity, PLUS a line to tip...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TriniSunshine
Business
Pembroke Pines, FL
Aug 5, 2009

Half Moon - off Season

I have been to Jamaica several times, but this was the 1st staying in a hotel. I was impressed with the hotel just based upon the pictures. But then arriving, the pictures did not do it justice! The suite that I stayed was amazing with its own balcony, view and entry to the ocean. I tried 3 of the restaurants that were available and they all had great customer service and food. I also tried the spa services. I did a facial, body scrub and massage. It was very relaxing and everyone was accommodating since I explained this was my 1st time having this type of service. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay with excellent customer service. This was their off-peak season and had quite a few families there. It is a location that will fit everyone. The fitness facility had better accommodations than the gym I belong to. It provided towels and the cardio machines had individual TV screens for your enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

It has many activities, shopping and dining opportunities at the location. They have shuttle service to get you from place to place. You do not have to leave the grounds to get to most of the activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Half Moon, a RockResort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 9, 2009

Fantastic resort!

The Half Moon is an absolutely beautiful mega resort - 2 miles of coastline, 400 acres of lush grounds. When we checked in we were upgraded to a full ocean view suite just steps from the beach. The staff is incredibly friendly and the service was exceptional throughout the resort. No matter what you ask them, they always respond "No problem". The food in all of the restaurants is excellent. There are numerous on-site activities, including golf, water sports, horseback riding, bike riding, a beautiful spa, dolphin lagoon, tennis, weekly beach BBQ, etc. The fitness center needs to be updated and expanded as does the main pool, and there is not a lot of nightlife at the resort or in Montego Bay, other than than that the resort is close to perfect. My tips for fellow travelers are to avoid the town of Montego Bay, it's very seedy and you're accosted by street vendors; be forewarned that taxi's are extremely expensive, plan to pay a minimum of $50 roundtrip to go anywhere off the resort; if you are traveling with a family, check out the villas which are staffed with a cook, butler and housekeeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Consider paying for a meal plan. The Half Moon offers packages that include breakfast only, meals only, and all-inclusive plans that include meals and activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top