$257 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Road Lucea, Montego Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
503 out of 503
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
destin girl
Couples
Destin, Fl
Feb 25, 2014

Horrible experience

I have traveled to many all inclusive resorts. This was our WORST vacation ever- the bed was like sleeping on box springs, there is only one beer (Red Stripe) and you are only given TWO a day in your so called stocked bar in your room. If you want more, you are charged 2.00 for every beer until the next day when you receive 2 more. The restaurants close form 2-5, so unless you want bar food, nachos, hot dog or processed meat, you are just out of luck. All the pools, including the largest outdoor pool close at 6pm. The outdoor bars close at 6pm-if you want a room with a view, you are charged extra from the moment of check in per day. If you're looking for a walk on the beach... forget it!! It may take 10 minutes to walk from one end to the other. You will arrive with only 2 towels in your room and they feel like sandpaper. Oh, and if you want towels for the pool or beach, you better arrive very early, we did not receive one on any day we were there...on the way, but never showed up. Bring your own glass unless you want to drink out of cups provided for a daycare. I would NOT EVER recommend this resort to even my worst enemy. It's pretty sad when you want to go back home after being in this resort for one day!!! The portions of food is tiny- make sure you order five or six entrees if you really want to be fed. The only good experience that came from this trip was the spa-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MC from NYC Metro
Family
NY Metro Area
Feb 23, 2014

Not a 4-star by ANY stretch

First impression: luggage stacked on middle of grand entry way. The visual was not good. The check-in process went smooth, but when we got to our room, there were no bathing towels, robes, or slippers. The refrigerator was not stocked. The screen to the balcony was ripped. There were no balcony chairs. The sconce lamp shade was crooked and rusting from room humidity. When we tried the whirlpool tub, black and brown particles came out, i.e. bacteria, contaminated water. Very disgusting. The shower floor was not level and water ran out to the smooth stone floor which made it dangerously slippery. The staff was pitifully slow at responding to the issues with our room. We had to actually pay to go to another room, where the condition was not much better. Returned to the room from the pool on Thursday to find a cricket in the sink. Didn't bother using the whirlpool tub in the new room because it was evident that this resort was not properly maintaining the equipment. The grounds in general: the walkways were not clean, had spilled paint and stains throughout; the covered walkways going to the lobby were mildewed. We were told the resort was only 5 years old. It looked at least 10. The outside of the buildings had a fresh coat of paint, but sloppily done. Now to the restaurants: extremely poor seating service. Wait times of up to 1.5 hours. Could not make a reservation UNLESS you were a member of the Palladium Travel Club. Members have seating preference over regular guests. The restaurant staffs were good but they needed more help. The resort actually alternates the days the restaurants are open. Our waiters were friendly and courteous, but because of understaffing, you had to wait an abnormally long time for the food. On Friday night, we waited 1.5 hours at the steak house for our food once we ordered. This does not count the 1.5 hours wait time to get seated. Yes, there were other places to eat on the property, but the wait times were equally long. We tried to eat at the sea food restaurant twice. The resort transported us there only to find out the restaurant was being used for a private event. The management gets an "F" on staffing. The only exception was the entertainment, which was above average, although not age appropriate given the large number of families with kids. The infinity bar bands were generally entertaining. The pools: pretty good, although the giant pool always had some debris in it, difficult to keep clean. On the positive side, we took side trips to the interior of the country and experienced going to schools, plantations, and squatter villages. The people were friendly and always had a sense of humor, which made our trip enjoyable and worthwhile, in spite of the less than satisfactory experience at the resort. The Palladium has a lot of potential to be great resort, but unfortunately, right now, it is not there. The management needs to get its act together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Croyden Plantation, Woodland Interior

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeffrey from Connecticut
Family
Waterbury, CT
Feb 20, 2014

Family fun in paradise

Let's just say, my family will be back. And I will bring others. Perfect for fleeing February in the Northeastern US or Canada.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Chris322
Couples
New York
Feb 17, 2014

Valentines

Loved it so much. Planning a return trip with my kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Money saver trip

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mhdrw
Couples
Michigan
Feb 17, 2014

Nice resort

This is a nice resort for the $$$. The staff is very attentive to your needs even though its at cost (soft pillow costs $3 a day - resort store prices for common goods very expensive). Food was very good with lots of choices. Mini fridge never really kept things cold (old fridge?). Many attractions off-site to choose from - even if everyone has their hand out for tips. Would do this again - learned many things for the next time. Weather was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you bring anything you might need because prices at store are very expensive (nesporin cost $20 for small tube). Take something to drink out of - cups/glasses very small - constant need for ice. Food away from buffet is scarce and food in store is very $$$$.

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveler58
Single
Bethlehem, PA
Jan 17, 2014

The best ever!

This was my first time to Jamaica and it was my 28th island. The resort was absolutely huge and this seemed to be the one frequent complaint that I read on reviews. I was in a room near the end of the Grand Palladium Jamaica side and it was probably 3/8 mile walk each way to the main area. There were golf carts that would take you back and forth if requested. The food was great in every restaurant. It was hard to count the number of bars. Maybe 13-15? The main pool was gigantic and would make an Olympic pool look like a bathtub. The beaches were very well groomed and although sometimes only 50 feet to the ocean they stretched on for over a mile. Sunset Cove was were the water sports were including kayaking, wind surfing, catamarans, snorkeling, and scuba. Must have the jerk chicken at the jerk hut on Sunset Cove. Live music every night at the main bar which probably would seat in lounge chairs about 500. Rick's Café in Negril is a must see, especially from a catamaran. The rooms were spotless, bed a little hard, two person Jacuzzi, two person shower, and the refrigerator refilled everyday with beer and soft drinks. The Lady Hamilton side is more expensive than the Jamaica side because they are small bungalows all ocean front. All amenities are available for both sides of the resort. I guess I got lucky because this was one of the nicest and most hopping resorts I've seen. There was also plenty of room to be secluded if desired. Sports bar was open until 7 AM. I'm definitely going back. Oh yes, while there are many couples, there are also many singles. I would say 60% was 20 -40 years old and 40% was over 40.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Several of the restaurants require long pants and a collared shirt. The main bar at night was more dressy than most resorts I've been to. Many women wore long dresses. Shorts and a tee shirt might limit the places you can partake in.

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler with a toddler
Family
Toronto
Jan 5, 2014

Overall good

Loved the facilities and the spacious bedroom. The food was not at the 4 stars level. It was recicled from the day before, the taste was very poor and my husband and I got sick. I have been in several Riu resorts in Mexico and I can tell there is a hughe difference in the food and the customer service. The facilities were incredible, and it never felt crowded. The beach was smaller than in the pics. But That did not bother me. Would I go back to the same resort or chain in different location? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikkix3
Couples
New York
Jan 3, 2014

Great Getaway!

Honestly, ignore all the bad reviews. This place is great. The villas are located in a convenient place and very close to the beach/swimming pool. If you're hungry, there's always a place you can head to and eat as much as you desire. The staff is great; they're all very helpful and sweet. When we arrived, we were upgraded complimentary to the Lady Hamilton side, where our villa had a beautiful ocean view. The food, I will say, can be a little better, but not bad. Overall, great place for vacation and I would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ya Mom
Family
Arlington, MA
Jan 1, 2014

lack of linens

The resort is overall good. Beautiful pool and beach, good food, but major linen challenges. We checked in at 5:00 and asked for the pullout sofa to be made up since there were three of us and they could not give us a room with two full beds. After several times of asking, by 10:30 pm, I went to the reception desk to ask for linens so I could make up the sofa bed myself. Waited about 20 minutes to get them and then took them to the room to make up the sofa bed. Beach towels were sometimes hard to come by as well and so were room towels. So ... if they fixed their linen problem, it would be a good thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aneta G
Couples
New York
Dec 31, 2013

First and Last visit to Jamaica

We've visited several all-inclusive resorts and traveled to many beaches. We are used to staying at nice places unfortunately I booked this one at the last minute (perhaps I should have research more about this resort). The experience was just horrible, therefore it’s needless to say we will not be back nor would we recommend this resort to anyone. So many issues: -They did not provide WiFi except in the Lobby with a weak signal -Front desk staff were more then rude, the dining staff would not provide prompt service unless tipped and even then you are treated unwelcomed – perhaps training is more then necessary. -Restaurants were very poor and whoever came up with an idea of “no reservation” should rethink it. They were hardly able to accommodate a party of two (we have to wait only 30 min to be seated) but we witness families of four to wait more then an hour-simply unbelievable. -Our room was ok not the cleanest but tolerable (we had our own Lysol) the only problem was that our clothes were damp and smelled moldy. -On the last day we called for a bell boy to help us with luggage we waited 36 minutes and that after his confirmation that he is on his way HE NEVER SHOWED UP. Lastly, as a advise to all staff and management you want to have a job and be tipped - do your job and do it well, make sure your clients are satisfy. Otherwise people will not visit your resort and you will be out of work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top