$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Villa Igea Hotel Venice

3 stars
Campo San Zaccaria 4684, Venice, 30122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
27 reviews
Excellent!

This was my second time in Venice in 6 months and our last hotel was really awful. I was worried... See full review

  • On The Road Dee
  • Apr 22, 2014
Fantastic location and well priced Venice hotel

We stayed at The Igea for 3 nights in July. The location is fantastic, right next to the Vaccaria... See full review

  • Fi and G
  • Jul 17, 2013
19th century Venice hotel near San Zaccaria Church, St. Mark’s Square
Built in 1875, the Villa Igea Hotel Venice is on Campo San Zaccaria, one of Venice’s loveliest squares and home to the San Zaccaria Church, a Renaissance masterpiece. Half of the hotel’s rooms, decorated in elegant Venetian style, look out on the square. The hotel is just steps from St. Mark’s Square and walking distance from many of Venice’s most popular attractions. Also just steps away, the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni provide easy access to water transportation to Marco Polo Airport and all of Venice.
Highlights
  • Located on the Campo San Zaccaria, facing Renaissance masterpiece San Zaccaria Church
  • Elegant 19th century Venetian hotel
  • Steps from St. Mark's and the docks of Riva degli Schiavoni, and walking distance from Venice's more famous attractions

Location
The Villa Igea Hotel Venice is on the Campo San Zaccaria, across the square from the San Zaccaria Church. It is just north of the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni. St. Mark's Square, the Ducal Palace, the Bridge of Sighs and the Correr Museum are a very short walk to the west. Most of Venice's most popular attractions are within walking distance.

Rooms
The 17 rooms of the Villa Igea Hotel Venice are spacious and decorated in elegant Venetian style. About half of the rooms look out over the Campo San Zaccaria and the edifice of the San Zaccaria Church. Rooms are air-conditioned and have cable/satellite TV, Internet access, mini-bars and safes. Non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
A buffet breakfast is included in the hotel's breakfast room, and guests receive a discount at the hotel's Principessa Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.7 mi/20.5 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Bridge of Sighs (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.6 m/i0.9 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Palazzo Grassi (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Igea Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Villa Igea Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
The room offers 1 Single bed along with A/C, cable / satellite TV, color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Double/Twin Room
The room offers 1 Double or 2 singel beds along with A/C, cable / satellite TV, color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 Double bed and 1 Single bed or 3 single beds along with A/C, cable / satellite TV, color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access, laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.4 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.4 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.4 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.7 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.8 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 0.8 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Venice: 1 mi
  • Ghetto: 1.1 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 1.2 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Timoteo
Texas
Oct 2, 2012

Location, location, location

This hotel was located in a quiet piazza with the San Zaccaria church across from the front door. It was one bridge away from the St. Mark's Piazza. The vaparetto stop was in front of the hotel. The hotel is operated by its sister hotels (Savoia and Jolanda), so you had to check in at their front desk, then a bell hop took you around the corner to the hotel. The rooms were elegantly decorated and the bathroom was very spacious by European standards. The free breakfast was great. Scrambled eggs, prosciutto, cheese, breads, yogurts, coffee, cakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
arbitter529
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Jun 17, 2010

Villa Igea Venice

First off...I am a novice traveler. Venice was the last leg of a trip from Rome, Cinque Terra, Florence and Venice. The hotel was in a quaint little square in Campo San Zaccaria. The room and bath were small, but a lot of the hotels seemed to be that way during my Italy trip. The staff was courteous and the location was great. It was a short walk to the San Marco Square and to the water buses. The square in front of the hotel did get a little noisy with some partying pedestrians walkIng by in the middle of the night. We were on the third floor facing the square. The breakfast was average based on the three other hotels I stayed at in Italy... salami, cheese, croisant, fruit, yogurt... Overall I had a nice experience at Villa Igea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are planning to do a lot of walking through the narrow streets of Venice and are planning to visit the other islands, I recommend getting a water bus pass for the time period you need. They were available at a little office at the train terminal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twothdoc
Business
Vancouver, B.C. , Canada
Oct 2, 2014

Cute Boutique Hotel-Worst Room in the Building

At our recent stay at Villa Igea (Sept. 5 & 6th, 2014), to our disappointment, we were given the smallest room facing a back alley. Considering we booked the room back on February 21st and paid in full at that time, we should have been given a better room. When asked for an upgrade we were told there were no other rooms available. We found this hard to believe as we saw very few other guests in the morning or early evening in the hotel. As it was our 25th wedding anniversary we were most dissatisfied with the room. Curtains were missing and the ones that were there were coming off the hooks. The air conditioner above the entrance door was leaking water onto the carpet and had stained the wall paper around it. At check out, the hotel manager attempted to correct the situation by offering us free boat transportation to Murano, but we declined as we had to board our cruise ship. The hotel itself is across from the most beautiful St. Zaccaria church. Very close to St. Mark's square and vaporetto stop. Breakfast in the neighbouring Savoy hotel was lovely located on the Grand Canal. It left us wondering if online booking sites are given blocks of rooms that aren't otherwise booked because of their small size and location at the back of the building??? Because rooms are paid in full in advance of your stay, very difficult to get your money back if you are disatisfied. We would have happily paid more for a room of decent size and view of the St. Zaccaria church as shown in the advertisement. Misleading advertising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

When in Venice an absolute must do is to simply get lost in Venice. By wandering through the many small back streets of Venice one really gets a sense of life in this magical gem of a city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 1, 2009

Good hotel

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Its just that simple. and its in an awesome location just a stones throw from St. Mark's sq.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are a few decent pizza places nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotties
Business
Edinburgh
Oct 17, 2010

Excellent location

We have been in Venice before so we did not do all the usual tourist things but went rather to more out of the way districts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

keep away from tourist restaurants in San Marco district. we took the vapoetta to 2 we know in Cannaregio where the food is proper Italian. We found drink prices high.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harleyrider
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great Hotel!

For a reasonably priced hotel, this place was spectacular. The room we had was quite large by European hotel standards, very pretty, and quite comfortable. The location is superb, right near St. Marks and directly across from the San Zaccaria vaporetto (water bus) stop. The view from our room was spectacular, looking directly at the church of San Zaccaria and the small square in front of it. The concierge, Tomas, was helpful beyond words, and the rest of the staff were all excellent. We'd stay there again any time we are in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

In Italy, look at the menu and the bill carefully to see whether a service charge is already included (and it usually is), before figuring out whether and how much to tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dianned
Business
Cardiff, UK
Nov 12, 2011

quick trip

The hotel is situated at the valperato stop so is very easy to find about 30 mtrs up the alley. Our room overlooked the square and was nicely decorated with comfy beds. We visited in Nov and the hotel was warm. Breakfast is taken in the sister hotel near the water which suited us. Staff are happy and very helpful.If you turn left and left again when leaving the hotel, you pass shops and restaurants and get to St Marks square entering at the side of the Bailica, which you must make time to visit. I will be going back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can safely drink from the many water fountains in Venice. No need to buy bottled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solarjon
Business
Nevada City, CA
Jun 11, 2012

Good location, good value

We spent 5 days in Venice at the Villa Igea. It is 5 minutes from St. Marks Square and the water bus. Room was very quiet and the free breakfast was the best we've had on the entire trip. We extended our stay by 2 days and thy gave us a better al than our original one! I'd recommend it to anyone coming to Venice and will stay there again if we return to Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Timoteo
Business
Texas
Oct 2, 2012

Location, location, location

This hotel was located in a quiet piazza with the San Zaccaria church across from the front door. It was one bridge away from the St. Mark's Piazza. The vaparetto stop was in front of the hotel. The hotel is operated by its sister hotels (Savoia and Jolanda), so you had to check in at their front desk, then a bell hop took you around the corner to the hotel. The rooms were elegantly decorated and the bathroom was very spacious by European standards. The free breakfast was great. Scrambled eggs, prosciutto, cheese, breads, yogurts, coffee, cakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SwissFamilyF
Business
Switzerland
Feb 25, 2013

6 night winter stay in venice

best location possible - a direct allilaguna waterbus ride from the airport to nearly outside the hotel front door! we walked almost everywhere, which was good as venice transport isn't cheap. hotel lived up to the rave reviews - lovely rooms, nicely decorated & fully kitted out with all you'd expect from a superior 3* hotel. we arrived on a cool/cold early evening and the room was already warm. there was no manned reception during our stay so we had check in/out at the savoia jolande about 30 metres' away, so not a problem at all. there was also not bath, but a spacious shower for up to 2 pple. the only downsides/negatives about the room were the lack of bathroom shelving/cupboards for our toiletries (3 of us in a triple room) so things kept falling into the sink or we had to put things back into our toilet bags after each use. also the last 2 nights we quite cold and despite complaining to front desk and adjusting the thermostat we had to sleep with jumpers, socks & extra blankets. the posiitives however outweigh these negativives. great filling breakfast, wide choice including fresh fruit salad, though you need to get there at least 30 mins before end for a chance of the full spread. staff very friendly, lots of places to eat round the corner at the back of the hotel - in fact almost everything was round the corner or a couple of minutes walk away including the must-visit st. mark's square and various gondola departure points. a highly recommended hotel if you can get it for the right price, so try to book well in advance for the best deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the further you are from the waterfront or st. mark's square the cheaper everything is - i.e. about 5-7 mins walk inland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Igea Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yves G.
Business
Canada
Mar 12, 2013

Very pleasant stay

Very nice hotel located in a perfect neighbourhood : near Piazza San Marco, close to the San Zaccaria vaporetti stop; very good restaurants around. Friendly staff ; multilingual (very good French, for instance). Small rooms. Administrated by Hotel Savoia & Jolanda (just nearby), a 4-star hotel where you will have your breakfast. The rooms were quite cheap, but we were there in March (probably significantly more expensive during summertime).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Inland" restaurants are much cheaper than those on the Gran Canal. When you wlak out of the hotel, just turn left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top