Starhotels Splendid Venice ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$128
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016
4.4 /5
Overall score
95%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Superior Double Room
  • Size: 161 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Double Canal View
  • Size: 161 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Triple Room
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Deluxe Double Room
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Double Room Canal View
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

Nestled in the heart of historic Venice between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge, the Starhotels Splendid Venice's building has hosted guests since the 16th century. Fully renovated in 2007, the hotel offers modern comforts and service in the midst of traditional canal life. Float up to the hotel's private landing via gondola or water taxi and enjoy dramatic views year-round from the rooftop terrace lounge's solarium.

Location

The Starhotels Splendid Venice is roughly midway between St. Mark’s Square and the Rialto Bridge, and between the Church of Santa Maria Formosa and the Fenice Theater, in a historic Venetian canal neighborhood. It is a short walk from many of Venice’s most famous landmarks.

Rooms

The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s 165 rooms were fully renovated in 2007, blending traditional Venetian style and modern aesthetics. Some rooms offer views of the St. Mark’s bell tower and Venetian rooftops. Others look out over the central courtyard or canal. Rooms are air conditioned and include many modern conveniences, such as Wi-Fi, cable/satellite TV, safes, private bathrooms, premium pillows and mattresses.

Property features

From the rooftop solarium to the canal-side bar and restaurant, the Starhotels Splendid Venice has exceptional common areas. Enjoy traditional Venetian social life year-round in the glass-covered courtyard. The hotel also has a media room, music room and a library.

Highlights

  • Traditional canal neighborhood near St. Mark’s Square and other popular landmarks
  • Rooftop terrace lounge with solarium for year-round dramatic views of Venice
  • Traditional Venetian dining at bar and restaurant overlooking the canal
  • Renovated 16th century inn blends historic architecture with modern comforts

Nearby attractions

  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Church of Santa Maria Formosa (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bridge of Sighs (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Business

The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s “La Fenice” meeting room accommodates up to 40 people in an elegant setting overlooking the canals. The hotel staff arranges space for larger meetings in nearby buildings.

Transportation

  • Marco Polo Airport (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Water taxi or gondola (arrive at hotel's private landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Policies

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant, discovering unique and creative fish and vegetable dishes, as well as meat and legumes, offers Venetian traditional specialities every day, with a penchant for sea food though with solid roots in the mainland. Desserts are only home-made - simple and genuine. Here are some dishes which have contributed to the Starhotels Splendid Venice restaurant's renown: Triptych of raw fish; tuna tartare (yellow fin quality), knife-cut with chives and local raw shrimps and sword fish carpaccio.Shrimps "in saor" : an old Venetian recipe, reinterpreted by the chef; shrimps are peeled and dipped in flour, then fried. They are then left in oil and boiled onion for 24 hours.The wine list is very good. The setting and atmosphere are unique; in fact, the restaurant is located in the campiello, the heart of typical Venetian buildings.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.8 / 5
$46
Guest score 4.7 / 5
$75
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$76
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$85
Guest score 4.5 / 5
$189
Guest score 4.6 / 5
$75

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet in room

General

  • Concierge

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Internet

  • Free internet in room

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.4 /5 Overall score

95% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.7/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 4.4/5
  • Location: 4.9/5
  • Value: 4/5

Awesome family trip

Would recommend Sat, Aug 15, 2015
Great location. We were able to walk to every place, we wanted to see.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Lovely Experience

Would recommend Thu, Jul 30, 2015
The hotel was located conveniently between Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark's Square! The hotel was easily accessible by water taxi. (Note: Water taxis are pricey in Venice.) The hotel has a covered atrium for breakfast buffet which was included with the room price. There are traditional Venice Styled rooms or the modern (also more recently renovated) rooms at this hotel. We booked two rooms and we were first given one traditional and one modern. As soon as we new that we could have a modern room option, we opted for that. The two rooms we had were 274 and 266. Room 274 was a canal view and 266 was not, but was very quaint and comfortable. However, Room 266 had poor WIFI connection, only by the door. Overall, highly recommended and I couldn't believe my luck for choosing such a cute hotel in a city that might seem a bit overwhelming for a first time visitor!

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent location, good for shoppers

Would recommend Sun, Jul 5, 2015
I went there with my wife and we had a second room for my brother's family. Initially one of the rooms wa too small and when asked to change it, the receptionist was keen to upgrade it with extra money. After some haggling she agreed to move both rooms. Best thing about this hotel is the location. It was right in the middle of shopping area and there were plenty of restaurants around. Breakfast is included but it is more or less continental breakfast with option of extra items at additional charge. Water taxis can drop you off at the doorsteps of hotel. Wifi is slow.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Family trip

Would recommend Mon, May 4, 2015
Had a brief stay while visiting multiple destinations in Italy. We were traveling with myself, my husband and 5 month old. Upon arrival we realized we forgot certain documentation and even booked the incorrect date (all our own errors). The hotel staff was wonderful at taking care of everything quickly and we were checked in very quickly. Very thankful for their help. Good location, easy to pop in and out for a quick break/nap/bathroom break while seeing sights. Clean, safe, and everything we needed. Would stay here again.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

romantic location in venice for a n older couple

Would recommend Mon, Apr 20, 2015
Excellent location-good food. No wifi to speak of only problem

| Utica Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great stay

Would recommend Sun, Mar 22, 2015
Very good hotel - 5 stars in my opinion - within 2 blocks of San Marco or Rialto Bridge. Breakfast is plentiful but boring. Rooms are spacious.

| Chicago Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Tip with 23 yr old nephew

Would recommend Wed, Feb 25, 2015
The hotel was awesome. The location couldn't be better. Just steps from everything to see in central Venice. You know you're staying in a great location when the traditional guided walking tour takes you past your hotel!! The staff were very accommodating and quick with email responses to my special requests for transfers etc. Breakfast is extensive and in a lovely setting. Really can't say enough about he hotel. Highly recommended for adults.

| South Londonderry Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great family trip

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
Great location with many restaurants and shops. Hotel is quaint and in the center.

Dining

Plenty of dining and shopping

| The Woodlands Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Perfect location. Excellent overall experience..

Would recommend Mon, Nov 17, 2014
We stayed for 5 days and had enjoyed every minute we spent at the hotel. The only thing we didn't like was the wifi connection, they offered a free option, which had slow connection and limited data. I had to get the business option for 8 euros per day.

| Houston, TX Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location

Would recommend Tue, Nov 4, 2014
The hotel was in great location with all the shops on your doorstep, easy to find alighting from San Marco vaporatto stop. The staffs are friendly. The room is clean, towels and bed linens are change everyday. Room is in good sized, bed and pillows are comfortable. Even if it's in the middle of the action, it is pretty quiet. Breakfast has a good selection and fresh breads. After a long day, it's just nice to end the day with a quiet drink in the lounge. The restaurant served great food too. I enjoyed my seabass gril and my husband had a tuna fillet. Must try chocolate cake.

| Manila, Philippines Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

San Zulian 0 mi
Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0.1 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.1 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0.1 mi
St Marks Square 0.1 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.1 mi
Archeological museum 0.2 mi
Museo Correr 0.2 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.2 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.2 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.2 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.2 mi
Bridge of Sighs 0.2 mi
San Moise 0.2 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.3 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.3 mi
Colleoni Monument 0.3 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.4 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.4 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.5 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.5 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.5 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 0.5 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.5 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.5 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.6 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.6 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.6 mi
Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.6 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 0.6 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.6 mi
Arsenale 0.7 mi
Port of Venice 0.8 mi
Ghetto 0.9 mi
Santa Lucia Station 0.9 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1 mi
Burano 5.1 mi
Lace Museum 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$128
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016