$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Starhotels Splendid Venice

4 stars
San Marco Mercerie, 760, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
28 reviews
Perfect location. Excellent overall experience..

We stayed for 5 days and had enjoyed every minute we spent at the hotel. The only thing we didn't... See full review

  • Avid globe traveler
  • Nov 17, 2014
Perfect stay before our cruise

The location was perfect and the service excellent! See full review

  • Seabourn Cruise
  • Aug 7, 2014
Float up to contemporary comfort in a 16th century Venice inn
Nestled in the heart of historic Venice between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge, the Starhotels Splendid Venice's building has hosted guests since the 16th century. Fully renovated in 2007, the hotel offers modern comforts and service in the midst of traditional canal life. Float up to the hotel's private landing via gondola or water taxi and enjoy dramatic views year-round from the rooftop terrace lounge's solarium.

Highlights
  • Traditional canal neighborhood near St. Mark’s Square and other popular landmarks
  • Rooftop terrace lounge with solarium for year-round dramatic views of Venice
  • Traditional Venetian dining at bar and restaurant overlooking the canal
  • Renovated 16th century inn blends historic architecture with modern comforts
Location
The Starhotels Splendid Venice is roughly midway between St. Mark’s Square and the Rialto Bridge, and between the Church of Santa Maria Formosa and the Fenice Theater, in a historic Venetian canal neighborhood. It is a short walk from many of Venice’s most famous landmarks.
Rooms
The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s 165 rooms were fully renovated in 2007, blending traditional Venetian style and modern aesthetics. Some rooms offer views of the St. Mark’s bell tower and Venetian rooftops. Others look out over the central courtyard or canal. Rooms are air conditioned and include many modern conveniences, such as Wi-Fi, cable/satellite TV, safes, private bathrooms, premium pillows and mattresses.
Features
From the rooftop solarium to the canal-side bar and restaurant, the Starhotels Splendid Venice has exceptional common areas. Enjoy traditional Venetian social life year-round in the glass-covered courtyard. The hotel also has a media room, music room and a library.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Water taxi or gondola (arrive at hotel's private landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Church of Santa Maria Formosa (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bridge of Sighs (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Business
The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s “La Fenice” meeting room accommodates up to 40 people in an elegant setting overlooking the canals. The hotel staff arranges space for larger meetings in nearby buildings.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Starhotels Splendid Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Starhotels Splendid Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Triple Bedroom offers 3 single beds or 1 double and 1 single bed with Air conditioning , Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Single Room offers a Twin Bed with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room offers 1 double room or 2 single beds with Air conditioning , Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant, discovering unique and creative fish and vegetable dishes, as well as meat and legumes, offers Venetian traditional specialities every day, with a penchant for sea food though with solid roots in the mainland. Desserts are only home-made - simple and genuine. Here are some dishes which have contributed to the Starhotels Splendid Venice restaurant's renown: Triptych of raw fish; tuna tartare (yellow fin quality), knife-cut with chives and local raw shrimps and sword fish carpaccio.Shrimps "in saor" : an old Venetian recipe, reinterpreted by the chef; shrimps are peeled and dipped in flour, then fried. They are then left in oil and boiled onion for 24 hours.The wine list is very good. The setting and atmosphere are unique; in fact, the restaurant is located in the campiello, the heart of typical Venetian buildings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (28)

Ratings and reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AsadBen
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Room water source was muddy

We just selected deluxe room for bath tub and it had some problems with blocking water and had mud in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lilbunny
Business
Chicago
Jul 19, 2014

4 hr wait to get a room

After being awake for about 24 hrs, this hotel manage to make it worse. We got at the hotel about 10 am and was ask to wait till 2 pm since the room was not ready and an " early check in was not allowed". We sat at the lobby while other guest got checked in quickly. I felt like passing out at the hotel lobby while their staff simply just pass by. Horrible experience at this hotel. The location was decent but there are other hotels that are also close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth02
Business
Maryland, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Nice rooms, but noisy

Hotel was very nice, recently renovated so rooms were beautiful. Only complaint was the walls were paper thin, so you could hear everything from the room next door or in the hall way. Other than that the hotel is in a great location and very nice. But for the price we received, it was a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romad21
Business
Germany
Feb 16, 2012

Not worth the price

Had a canal view not the same as te grand canal. :-( very noisy could hear everything outside and upstairs and down stair was very upsetting if your trying to sleep. Bed was rock solid. The only good part was the food was good and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romeros
Business
mexico city
Aug 31, 2012

Venece 4 Family

Very Good location, good breakfast. It worked very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Marco addict
Business
İstanbul
Apr 29, 2013

Perfectly located up beat hotel

The hotel is perfectly located, an easy walk from San Marco and Rialto bridge. The rooms are very pleasant, clean and cheerful. We exchanged our pillows for ergonomic ones which were very comfortable. Overall very pleasant experience. The price was a little on the high side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C Bailey
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 8, 2013

Exciting trip with my husband

The hotel was really nice and they even gave us a complimentary upgrade because the trip was to celebrate our anniversary. It was kind of a pain to get there from the train station and then to the airport when we left since we didn't want to spend $120 Euro each way for a water taxi. Minimize the amount of luggage you take and it will make it easier. Make sure you email the hotel ahead of time to get instructions/directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tel Aviv
Oct 26, 2010

Nice hotel but tiny room

We stayed at the Starhotel Splendid Venice while we were in Venice for a long weekend from Oct 21-25 [...].Although the hotel was lovely and very well situated, the room itself was tiny. i don't think that i have ever stayed in such a small room. I don't know if this was a standard size room or a particularly small room that we were given due to the rate that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 26, 2010

excellent location, good value

short walk to St Mark square, helpful staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 13, 2010

A perfect villa for the single traveler

My dream trip of a lifetime was to visit Venice, Italy. Starhotel Splendid assisted me in making that dream come true. Being a single woman, safety was a priority! The hotel could not have been in a better location! It is approximately ten minutes to the Rialto Bridge and ten minutes in the opposite direction to St. Mark's Square. It is off a busy traveled alley with many shops surrounding it. The staff were very friendly amidst the front counter being very busy. My luggage was lost for three days and they did whatever they could to locate it which they did. They even checked my flight status prior to leaving. The room itself was a little smaller than your average room in the states, but it was very nice and clean! I had a good view, although I had to really outstretch my neck to see my "canal view". Every morning I heard the church bells ringing which I loved. If you are a big TV watcher, which I am not, I would recommend bringing a DVD player for movies as the TV only gets approvimately three English stations. I would also recommend having an itinerary before you arrive because there booklet they give out of "things to do" is in Italian. There is a great continental breakfast every morning from 0700 to 1030 which allows you to sleep in, yet still be able to eat. This hotel also has internet access which is easily accessible on the main level. Prior to leaving, if you do not want to take a taxi to the airport, the front desk called and arranged that my luggage be picked up and wheeled to the vaporetto stop at St. Mark's Square for $25 vs $100 for the taxi. All in all, I would highly recommend Starsplendid Hotel to anyone especially if location and cleanliness is your top priority! Caio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommendations for an evening meal or drinks-Bacaro Jazz Restaurant Cocktail Bar...as long as the bras hanging from the ceiling with clothes pins does not offend you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top