$339 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Starhotels Splendid Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco Mercerie, 760, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
35 reviews
Awesome family trip

Great location. We were able to walk to every place, we wanted to see. See full review

  • Helga M.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Family trip

Had a brief stay while visiting multiple destinations in Italy. We were traveling with myself, my... See full review

  • Carly N.
  • May 4, 2015
Nestled in the heart of historic Venice between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge, the Starhotels Splendid Venice's building has hosted guests since the 16th century. Fully renovated in 2007, the hotel offers modern comforts and service in the midst of traditional canal life. Float up to the hotel's private landing via gondola or water taxi and enjoy dramatic views year-round from the rooftop terrace lounge's solarium.

Location
The Starhotels Splendid Venice is roughly midway between St. Mark’s Square and the Rialto Bridge, and between the Church of Santa Maria Formosa and the Fenice Theater, in a historic Venetian canal neighborhood. It is a short walk from many of Venice’s most famous landmarks.
Rooms
The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s 165 rooms were fully renovated in 2007, blending traditional Venetian style and modern aesthetics. Some rooms offer views of the St. Mark’s bell tower and Venetian rooftops. Others look out over the central courtyard or canal. Rooms are air conditioned and include many modern conveniences, such as Wi-Fi, cable/satellite TV, safes, private bathrooms, premium pillows and mattresses.
Property features
From the rooftop solarium to the canal-side bar and restaurant, the Starhotels Splendid Venice has exceptional common areas. Enjoy traditional Venetian social life year-round in the glass-covered courtyard. The hotel also has a media room, music room and a library.
Highlights
  • Traditional canal neighborhood near St. Mark’s Square and other popular landmarks
  • Rooftop terrace lounge with solarium for year-round dramatic views of Venice
  • Traditional Venetian dining at bar and restaurant overlooking the canal
  • Renovated 16th century inn blends historic architecture with modern comforts
Nearby attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Church of Santa Maria Formosa (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bridge of Sighs (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

Business
The Starhotels Splendid Venice’s “La Fenice” meeting room accommodates up to 40 people in an elegant setting overlooking the canals. The hotel staff arranges space for larger meetings in nearby buildings.
Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.7 mi/20.4 km)
  • Water taxi or gondola (arrive at hotel's private landing)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)

Policies
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Starhotels Splendid Venice also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$126
3.8 / 5 56 reviews
★★★★
$136
4.6 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$137
4.2 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$170
3.6 / 5 8 reviews
★★★★
$293
4.3 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$110
4.7 / 5 6 reviews
★★★
$145
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$155
3.6 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$188
4.4 / 5 14 reviews

Starhotels Splendid Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Triple Bedroom offers 3 single beds or 1 double and 1 single bed with Air conditioning , Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Single Room offers a Twin Bed with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double Room offers 1 double room or 2 single beds with Air conditioning , Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Radio, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant, discovering unique and creative fish and vegetable dishes, as well as meat and legumes, offers Venetian traditional specialities every day, with a penchant for sea food though with solid roots in the mainland. Desserts are only home-made - simple and genuine. Here are some dishes which have contributed to the Starhotels Splendid Venice restaurant's renown: Triptych of raw fish; tuna tartare (yellow fin quality), knife-cut with chives and local raw shrimps and sword fish carpaccio.Shrimps "in saor" : an old Venetian recipe, reinterpreted by the chef; shrimps are peeled and dipped in flour, then fried. They are then left in oil and boiled onion for 24 hours.The wine list is very good. The setting and atmosphere are unique; in fact, the restaurant is located in the campiello, the heart of typical Venetian buildings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Starhotels Splendid Venice

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosele
Family
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great Place for Vacation

The hotels is loacated in SanMarco Square. It closes to all the shops & restaurants. Very beautiful & clean room. This hotel is worth the money. Real 4-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Helga M.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Awesome family trip

Great location. We were able to walk to every place, we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCMOM
Family
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Lovely Experience

The hotel was located conveniently between Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark's Square! The hotel was easily accessible by water taxi. (Note: Water taxis are pricey in Venice.) The hotel has a covered atrium for breakfast buffet which was included with the room price. There are traditional Venice Styled rooms or the modern (also more recently renovated) rooms at this hotel. We booked two rooms and we were first given one traditional and one modern. As soon as we new that we could have a modern room option, we opted for that. The two rooms we had were 274 and 266. Room 274 was a canal view and 266 was not, but was very quaint and comfortable. However, Room 266 had poor WIFI connection, only by the door. Overall, highly recommended and I couldn't believe my luck for choosing such a cute hotel in a city that might seem a bit overwhelming for a first time visitor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mehar S.
Couples
N/A
Jul 5, 2015

Excellent location, good for shoppers

I went there with my wife and we had a second room for my brother's family. Initially one of the rooms wa too small and when asked to change it, the receptionist was keen to upgrade it with extra money. After some haggling she agreed to move both rooms. Best thing about this hotel is the location. It was right in the middle of shopping area and there were plenty of restaurants around. Breakfast is included but it is more or less continental breakfast with option of extra items at additional charge. Water taxis can drop you off at the doorsteps of hotel. Wifi is slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carly N.
Family
N/A
May 4, 2015

Family trip

Had a brief stay while visiting multiple destinations in Italy. We were traveling with myself, my husband and 5 month old. Upon arrival we realized we forgot certain documentation and even booked the incorrect date (all our own errors). The hotel staff was wonderful at taking care of everything quickly and we were checked in very quickly. Very thankful for their help. Good location, easy to pop in and out for a quick break/nap/bathroom break while seeing sights. Clean, safe, and everything we needed. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca E.
Couples
Utica
Apr 20, 2015

romantic location in venice for a n older couple

Excellent location-good food. No wifi to speak of only problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJDP
Family
Chicago
Mar 22, 2015

Great stay

Very good hotel - 5 stars in my opinion - within 2 blocks of San Marco or Rialto Bridge. Breakfast is plentiful but boring. Rooms are spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ali K.
Couples
South Londonderry
Feb 25, 2015

Tip with 23 yr old nephew

The hotel was awesome. The location couldn't be better. Just steps from everything to see in central Venice. You know you're staying in a great location when the traditional guided walking tour takes you past your hotel!! The staff were very accommodating and quick with email responses to my special requests for transfers etc. Breakfast is extensive and in a lovely setting. Really can't say enough about he hotel. Highly recommended for adults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leed
Family
The Woodlands
Dec 29, 2014

Great family trip

Great location with many restaurants and shops. Hotel is quaint and in the center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of dining and shopping

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avid globe traveler
Couples
Houston, TX
Nov 17, 2014

Perfect location. Excellent overall experience..

We stayed for 5 days and had enjoyed every minute we spent at the hotel. The only thing we didn't like was the wifi connection, they offered a free option, which had slow connection and limited data. I had to get the business option for 8 euros per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenzza
Couples
Manila, Philippines
Nov 4, 2014

Great location

The hotel was in great location with all the shops on your doorstep, easy to find alighting from San Marco vaporatto stop. The staffs are friendly. The room is clean, towels and bed linens are change everyday. Room is in good sized, bed and pillows are comfortable. Even if it's in the middle of the action, it is pretty quiet. Breakfast has a good selection and fresh breads. After a long day, it's just nice to end the day with a quiet drink in the lounge. The restaurant served great food too. I enjoyed my seabass gril and my husband had a tuna fillet. Must try chocolate cake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top