$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Spagna Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Cannaregio 184, Saint Lucia Station Venice, Venice, 30121

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
26 reviews
Almost Perfect 3 Star Hotel

For my first (6 day) visit to Venice I chose Hotel Spagna because of the location and the great... See full review

  • BryMcGregor
  • Nov 19, 2014
Perfect location

The hotel from the outside looks old and not well taken care of, but dont let that fool you when... See full review

  • Pfong
  • May 24, 2014
Number Of rooms: 19 Conveniently placed in the midst of the marvelous city, the Spagna Hotel in Venice serves both the business and leisure travellers alike and is an ideal accommodation base for an amusing stay.

Location
Situated in the heart of Venice's historical centre, the Spagna Hotel is just 100 metres from the Santa Lucia railway station and a mere 500 metres from Piazzale Roma.

Rooms
This hotel plays host to 19 capacious guest rooms equipped with every

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Spagna Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Spagna Hotel Venice Rooms

Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed with room service, air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, safety deposit box and direct-dial telephone.
Triple Room
The room offers 1 double bed and twin bed with room service, air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV, safety deposit box and direct-dial telephone.

Amenities

General
Pet friendly
Services
Conference facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.2 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.6 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.7 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.9 mi
  • San Moise: 0.9 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1.1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.2 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.4 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.5 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.8 mi
  • Burano: 5.3 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Spagna Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 26
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zac C.
Business
CA
Jan 21, 2015

First trip to Venice

Small hotel, nice free breakfast with my room. Room was small but very clean and nice. The staff was helpful and the location is pretty darn good. The price was exceptional!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dixieann
Business
Maine
Dec 5, 2014

Location is everything

Very pleasant staff, and helpful. Breakfast was yucky but room , although tiny, was entirely adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuzanneRose
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 25, 2014

Good value for Venice!

Venice can be a very expensive place to stay! Hotel Spangna offers a good value for Venice. I think I paid right around $100 US dollars a night. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was small, but I was by myself, so I didn't need a large room. The bed was a single bed. I'm not used to sleeping on single beds, so that was a bit of an adjustment for me, but it was comfortable. The free breakfasts each morning were very nice. I chose fresh pastries with some nice apricot filling inside, hot chocolate and cereal with milk. I would stay here again, although I'd also be willing to splurge for a nicer hotel, closer to the Grand Canal too. All-in-all, you can't go wrong staying in Venice. It's such a beautiful city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BryMcGregor
Business
London, England
Nov 19, 2014

Almost Perfect 3 Star Hotel

For my first (6 day) visit to Venice I chose Hotel Spagna because of the location and the great rate I got by booking around 4 months before travel. Location is perfect....close to transport hubs in Venice, making transfers to and from Marco Polo just perfect. Venice is relatively small and nowhere is any great distance from wherever you are. I had a single room (202) which is situated at the back of the hotel and was extremely quiet during my stay. Perfect size for one person, with single bed, huge amount of storage and a decent sized bathroom with (small-ish) shower. Hot water always available and towels changed daily. Room was kept spotlessly clean by terrific staff who were always cheerful, kind and helpful, as was everyone involved with the hotel. Breakfast was basic but plentiful, served by lovely Italian ladies who, although not speaking English, managed to communicate perfectly well with someone who, in the end, didn't make the effort to learn the language, (my bad). The very tiny issue with breakfast aside, my stay at Hotel Spagna was perfect and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a fantastic value, well located 3 star hotel in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

GPS is not fantastic in Venice, so don't rely on your mobile for directions. (You'll be looking at a screen rather than what's around you.) Use a decent guide book and your brain to plan a journey - it's just a better experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
swatch
Business
New York
Jul 23, 2014

Great location, good value

Location is perfect - 2 minutes from the train station, you do not need to lift your luggage over the canal bridges - A GRAT RELIEF! downisde: the hotel has no lift

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dutchtreat
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 2, 2013

Location, location

Hotel Spagna is 5 minutes walking from the train station and near most Vaporette stops as well as the Allilaguna ferry to San Marco airport. It is on a busy street that has tons of souvenir type shops and a few restaurants. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Breakfast was served on the first floor near the reception and is OK in quality while the lady serving it is outstanding. Reception staff was good and helpful. Stayed in a small room in the back without much of a view which had a nice, clean bathroom with good amenities. For a few days in Venice this is a nice low key place in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
imdbnicole
Business
atlanta, ga
Sep 1, 2012

nice stay for budget minded

this hotel is right in the middle of everything and a short walk if you arrive by train - especially late at night when you have no idea where you're going. the room is spacious with air conditioning, but the beds are very uncomfortable. the bathroom was nice and spacious. the staff was very friendly. breakfast was sub-par. overall, this hotel is nice for 1 or 2 nights, beyond that, i would stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vantaa, Finland
Jul 29, 2010

Great hotel, great personnel

I found an inexpensive room through Ebookers for visiting Venice (alone) and booked hotel Spagna for 5 nights. The hotel was very near the Piazzale Roma and the railway station and was very easy to reach. Also in walking distance from San Marco (the island isn't that big after all). I preferred staying a little bit further from the "center" of Venice, Piazza San Marco, but never needed the vaporetto to go anywhere on the island. The main thing about Venice is to wander around the beautiful paths and piazzas. There were lots of restaurants and everything I needed nearby the hotel. The staff was VERY helpful and I had enjoyable conversations with the receptionists. Some of them spoke better English than the others, but they understood me well. You may rehearse your Italian with them, as I tried to do. Only the breakfast was just a little bit disappointment, as they usually are in Italy, because it contained only couple of white buns, croissant and some cereals. Though, Italians aren't used to eating heavy and healthy breakfasts as we in Finland. The Hotel Spagna was perfectly clean and rooms cozy. Didn't miss anything really. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to meet local young people in the evening, go to Campo Santa Margherita's... It's a 15 minute walk, but it's quite easy when you get used to it. Venice's nightlife isn't that great otherwise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Spagna Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vantaa, Finland
Jul 29, 2010

Great hotel, great personnel

I found an inexpensive room through Ebookers for visiting Venice (alone) and booked hotel Spagna for 5 nights. The hotel was very near the Piazzale Roma and the railway station and was very easy to reach. Also in walking distance from San Marco (the island isn't that big after all). I preferred staying a little bit further from the "center" of Venice, Piazza San Marco, but never needed the vaporetto to go anywhere on the island. The main thing about Venice is to wander around the beautiful paths and piazzas. There were lots of restaurants and everything I needed nearby the hotel. The staff was VERY helpful and I had enjoyable conversations with the receptionists. Some of them spoke better English than the others, but they understood me well. You may rehearse your Italian with them, as I tried to do. Only the breakfast was just a little bit disappointment, as they usually are in Italy, because it contained only couple of white buns, croissant and some cereals. Though, Italians aren't used to eating heavy and healthy breakfasts as we in Finland. The Hotel Spagna was perfectly clean and rooms cozy. Didn't miss anything really. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to meet local young people in the evening, go to Campo Santa Margherita's... It's a 15 minute walk, but it's quite easy when you get used to it. Venice's nightlife isn't that great otherwise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top