Santa Marina Hotel Venice ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$82
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 20, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
86%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Classic Double
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Annex Double Room Annex
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Santa Marina Hotel Venice is in two adjoining buildings that once served as a convent. Guests appreciate the hotel as a quiet retreat from the more crowded tourist areas, in a central neighborhood between the Rialto Bridge and the Church of Saints John and Paul, easy walking distance from most popular Venice landmarks. Red and white marble flooring, Murano glass and dark wood panels create a warm, classical atmosphere. In the summer, enjoy breakfast on the hotel's terrace with a view of Santa Marina Square.

Location

The Santa Marina Hotel Venice is in a quiet neighborhood on Santa Marina Square, convenient to but removed from the crowds surrounding St. Mark’s Square. While offering easy access to the better known attractions of Venice, the neighborhood has its own cultural treasures, including the Church of Saints John and Paul, the Church of Santa Maria dei Miracoli, the Church of Santa Maria Formosa and the Teatro Malibran. Marco Polo once lived a two-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Decorated in warm, classical Venetian style, the rooms at the Santa Marina Hotel Venice are all air conditioned in the summer, have private bathrooms, satellite TV, Wi-Fi access and other modern comforts. Standard rooms are cozy. Larger rooms and junior suites are available. Canal views and non-smoking rooms are available.

Property features

Housed in a former convent, the Santa Marina Hotel is decorated in classical 18th century Venetian style. In the summer, breakfast is served on the hotel’s terrace, with a view of Santa Marina Square.

Highlights

  • Quiet retreat from the bustle of Venice in a former convent, walking distance from most major attractions
  • Hidden treasures of Venetian history and art in the immediate neighborhood
  • Warm, classical Venetian elegance

Nearby attractions

  • Santa Marina Square (immediately adjoining)
  • Church of Santa Maria dei Miracoli (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Teatro Maliban (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Church of Santa Maria Formosa (0.1 m/0.2 km)
  • Church of Saints John and Paul (0.2 m/0.3 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.2 m/0.4 km)
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.4 m/0.6 km)

Transportation

  • Marco Polo Airport (12.7 m/20.5 km)
  • Water taxi (pulls right up to the hotel)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.4 m/0.7 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.2 m/1.9 km)

Policies

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.7 / 5
$81
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$50
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$143
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$92
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$101
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$95

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi

General

  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly

Internet

  • WiFi

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

86% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.9/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.4/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Bad location and bad experience

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 22, 2014
This hotel was terrible. When we checked in they took u s another small building didn't even look alike the hotel we saw from the ad. This room had safa bed not even regular bed which was so uncomfortable.. hotel staff was rude except 1 person. We'll never use this hotel at all and very disappointed for the price we paid.

| Seattle wa Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Venice Vacation

Would recommend Tue, Oct 9, 2012
We stayed in the annex and had a wonderful room which was much larger than we expected. We took the water taxi directly to the hotel (a little expensive, but worth not having to lug your luggage around the streets of Venice). Breakfast was included and was very nice. The hotel was centrally located and we were able to walk to St. Mark''s Square and the Rialto bridge with no trouble.

Dining

A restaurant with a name that ends in Canton was excellent. It is a very short walk from the hotel and has great pizza and carbonara.

| Georgia Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good value

Would recommend Sat, Aug 18, 2012
Plenty of decent places to eat around here. The piazza in which it is situated is small and quiet, but only a few minutes walk from the Rialto San Marco thoroughfare. Staff were helpful, spoke good English and were hassle free when it came to leaving our luggage after we checked out until the flight home. We took a private water taxi - the perfect way to arrive. We were warned the canal might be too narrow, but it was fine and we were dropped only 20 yards from the rear of the hotel. Go for it.

Dining

Barbicana

| Cornwall Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

"GREAT STAY"

Would recommend Wed, Mar 2, 2011
"GREAT STAY"

Entertainment hint

IT WAS A GREAT STAY.

| MADRID Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Cute boutique hotel

Would recommend Wed, Jan 19, 2011
This hotel is super cute. The room is small but clean. Free wifi in lobby and breakfast! It's near a delicious restaurant called, Marco Polo!

| Los Angeles, CA Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

One of the nicest in Venice

Would recommend Tue, Oct 12, 2010
Very nice breakfast and close to St Mark's Square and Rialto bridge and shopping and everything. Free internet in the common area and internet in the rooms for an additional fee. Has a dock just behind the hotel so you are not dragging your luggage all over Venice.

| California Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A LITTLE SHANTY IN THE ALLEY

Would not recommend Thu, Oct 7, 2010
THIS WAS THE WORSE VACATION IN 20 YEARS.NO RESTAURANT, ONLY ONE RESTAURANT NEAR HOTEL AND IT WAS NOT GREAT AND CLOSED EARLY, THIS WAS NOT WHAT [...] DESCRIBED,LOCATION SERVICES, I WOULD HAVE AND THE PRICE WAS VERY HIGH FOR THIS TERRIBLE ACCOMMODATION EVER, NEXT YEAR I AM CONSIDERING ON CONTACTING AN OTHER AGENCY FOR MY TRAVEL PLANS.

| HERRIN,IL Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

clean but small

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 4, 2010
Being in the annex of the hotel was fine & quiet. The room was so small that there was no place to put our suit cases, so they stayed on the floor and we stepped over them. The shower was smaller than on our last cruise, there was no soap dish and the shower curtain did not cover the opening so the floor got wet. The breakfast and patio were lovely. The hotel was very clean. The location was great for getting to San Marco and Rialto. The hotel had a posted price sheet for the water taxi to the airport and made the reservation for us. When we arrived at the airport the water taxi demanded more money than the set price and since they had our luggage we had to pay up.

| Austin, TX Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

wonderful hotel

Would recommend Sat, Oct 24, 2009
This was a delightful hotel in great location, would definitely stay again

| North Port,Florida Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Hotel Review

Would recommend Tue, Oct 13, 2009
Staff is friendly. Hotel is fairly close, but not in the middle of, most places tourists would want to see. Sights and transportation are all 5 to 10 minutes walk.

| Boston, MA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Colleoni Monument 0.1 mi
Rialto Bridge 0.2 mi
San Zulian 0.2 mi
Rialto Food Market 0.2 mi
Clocktower in Piazza San Marco 0.3 mi
Basilica di San Marco 0.3 mi
Biennale Gardens 0.3 mi
St Marks Square 0.3 mi
Campanile di San Marco 0.3 mi
Palazzo Ducale 0.3 mi
Archeological museum 0.3 mi
Museo Correr 0.3 mi
Bridge of Sighs 0.3 mi
National Library of St Mark's 0.4 mi
San Moise 0.4 mi
Art Gallery Bugno 0.4 mi
Ca'Pesaro 0.4 mi
La Fenice Theatre 0.4 mi
San Francesco della Vigna 0.4 mi
Chiesa di Santo Stefano 0.5 mi
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute 0.6 mi
Madonna dell'Orto 0.6 mi
Basilica dei Frari 0.6 mi
Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari 0.6 mi
Palazzo Grassi 0.7 mi
Arsenale 0.7 mi
Peggy Guggenheim Collection 0.7 mi
Murano Glass Museum 0.7 mi
Guggenheim Museum 0.7 mi
Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco 0.7 mi
Gallerie dell'Accademia 0.7 mi
San Giorgio Maggiore 0.8 mi
Ghetto 0.8 mi
Santa Lucia Station 0.9 mi
Port of Venice 1 mi
San Pietro di Castello 1 mi
Burano 4.9 mi
Lace Museum 5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$82
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 20, 2016