$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

San Zulian Hotel Venice

3 stars
San Marco 535, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
38 reviews
Nice hotel and brilliant location.

Near Sam Marco means late nights at the largest square, easy access to water bus and other boat... See full review

  • keentraveller123
  • Apr 21, 2014
Great location

Pretty good value small hotel right in between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. Breakfast... See full review

  • Mark 987
  • Feb 24, 2014
Venice hotel with convenient location offers classic Venetian style
The San Zulian Hotel Venice offers its guests historic elegance about a block from St. Mark's Square, the center of Venice culture and dining. The Ducal Palace, Correr Museum and the Mercerie shopping district on and around the Rialto Bridge are all within walking distance. Built in 1800 and recently renovated, the hotel's rooms are decorated in classic Venetian style mixed with international accents. The hotel's Cavatappi Wine Bar serves traditional Venetian cuisine and features a large wine cellar.

 

Highlights
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Near Rialto Bridge, Fenice Theater, Correr Museum and many other popular Venice attractions
  • On-site restaurant serves traditional Venetian and Italian cuisine
  • Extensive wine cellar
Location
The San Zulian Hotel Venice is about one block north of St. Mark's Square in the midst of Venice's most popular landmarks. The Rialto Bridge and the shopping district of the Mercerie are just a short walk to the north and the Fenice Theater is a short walk to the west.

 

Rooms
The 22 rooms of the San Zulian Hotel Venice have been recently renovated and are furnished with valuable antiques and Venetian artwork. All rooms are air conditioned and include satellite TV, Wi-Fi, mini-bar and safe. The hotel offers two accessible rooms on the ground floor.
Features
The San Zulian Hotel Venice's Cavatappi Wine Bar serves traditional Venetian and Italian dishes, wines from an extensive wine cellar and cocktails. Guests receive a coupon for free entry to the Venice Casino and have access to free excursions to Murano Island, home to some of Venice's most prestigious glass-making workshops.

 

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.4 mi/18.5 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Attractions
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Rialto Bridge (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.6 mi/0.4 km)
Policies and fees

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4359 12.3388
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Venice International Airport.
Area description
Hotel San Zulian is located in the heart of Venice, about 3 minutes from Piazza San Marco. It is easily reached from the car terminal in Piazzale Roma or from the Tronchetto parking facilities, from the Railway station, and from Marco Polo Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Zulian Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

San Zulian Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room
Room with one twin bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathrobe, and bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disable facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer, heating internet access, mini bar, modem/date port connection, non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Double/Twin Room
Room with one twin bed or one double bed includes, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disable facilities, Ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, modem / date port connection, Non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, telephone, satellite TV, bathroom with shower, hair dryer and free wi-fi internet connection.The rooms are furnished with valuable antique furniture and venetian artworks.
Triple Room
Room with one twin bed and one double bed includes, alarm clock, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disable facilities, Ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, Internet access, mini bar, modem / date port connection, Non-smoking rooms, refrigerator, room service, safe in room, telephone , satellite TV, bathroom with shower, hair dryer and free wi-fi internet connection.The rooms are furnished with valuable antique furniture and venetian artworks.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.2 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • San Moise: 0.2 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for San Zulian Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Gus
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 21, 2013

San Zulian in Venice

Great location in proximity to San Marcos and easy to walk to from where the vaporeto leaves you. The hotel is clean and up to par from what you would expect from a North American comfort level. Great breakfast, much better than the French continental breakfast. Staff was very attentive and nice. Would definately consider this as an option in a future trip. Pleased that what I booked over the Internet was actually better than advertised. Not cheap but very reasonable in comparison to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Since you are in proximity to San Marcos you should go there very early in the morning to view and take photos. Then go back to breakfast at hotel which is served starting 7:30am. Incredible the crowds you will avoid.

Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
keentraveller123
London, UK
Apr 21, 2014

Nice hotel and brilliant location.

Near Sam Marco means late nights at the largest square, easy access to water bus and other boat services. My children stayed at the square playing both nights we stayed there. We got the feeling the floor wasn't getting cleaned too well, other than that, it was a clean and great place to stay. If you make phone call, like all hotels, avoid here too - they don't tell you the price even at the reception and we got bitten badly :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pleasure
Hertfordshire, UK
Feb 24, 2014

San Zulian Hotel

We only stayed in the hotel for one night with our two children. Staff was very friendly, room was clean with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was good, not cooked English but better than continental. Very well situated, near St Marks square. Can recommended this hotel. Only missed coffee making facility in bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark 987
London
Feb 24, 2014

Great location

Pretty good value small hotel right in between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. Breakfast was basic but good enough for the price (this is Venice!) and the room was also good if quite small (this is Venice!). Would definitely recommend. Nothing else in the way of amenities - there isn't any space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
On The Road Dee
Swannanoa, NC
Oct 31, 2013

The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

The Good: Fantastic location, a few minutes from St. Marks Square. Nice sheets & towels and clean. The Bad: they stuck us in some kind of overflow annex with the lumpiest bed I've seen in years. The Ugly: management who acted like we were idiots when we discovered that we were not in the actual hotel (when we arrived we were taken from the ugly lobby outside & around the corner & up some steps to a strange 3 room area. We had no idea that farther back behind reception was the actual hotel. Hey, it's Venice, everything is chopped up and around little alley ways.) When we complained the next morning they turned on us. Were incredibly rude and obnoxious. We were moved to a lovely room in the main hotel but the TV didn't work & couldn't be fixed because the person went home. Oh well, plenty to do in Venice but would have like to have had a working TV. The "buffet" breakfast was tiny & they ran out of coffee. I had to track down someone to get some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Che Vampyro
Texas
Oct 5, 2013

Great location, but it is simply okay

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The staff was helpful and professional, the location is superb, but the rooms need to be updated/modernized. The bed felt old and the sheets were a little uncomfortable. The staff and location definitely make up for the outdated feel of the room. This hotel might not be our first choice next time we are in Venice, but I would consider it and would somewhat recommend it. I feel that a Venice stay is highly overpriced. The hotel is very close the tourist attractions of Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The public transportation system might seem like a hassle to use but it is a better option than the expensive taxis. Venice is too overpriced, the taxi ride from the train station to the hotel took about 15 minutes and cost us 45 euros (too much for someone with a humbling budget).

Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyful Grandma
Pennsylvania
Mar 16, 2013

Everything that we needed!

The staff answered all of our needs. Small, but very good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the show, Vencenzia. It told the history of Venice that we did not know.

Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Venice Nutter
UK
Jul 11, 2012

Fantastic location

Excellent location for St.Marks and all the sites. Our room was fine. Air con. a bit noisy but nothing to worry too much about. Shower fantastic and much needed. Breakfast was also good . Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We arrived an hour or so early and they kindly prepared the room asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a bar next door which you can sit outside and watch the people go by.

Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amartine
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Good Hotel for price.

Amenties were good including the breakfast. The Room was large and very close the San Marco's. My only problem was the staff. One was member was essentially rude and unwelcoming. The others were not that much better. Reading the other reviews, it sounds like i am the only one?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Zulian Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
reallifehouse
Cambridge, MA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

God Value for the Money

Clean, decent hotel, friendly staff, and proximity to the Piazza San Marco make this hotel worth consideration. The bathroom is clean but basic. The breakfast is included. It's good and filling for a day of walking the canals. My room looked out onto a wall (making for a dark room), and the hot water is erratic (an inherent problem in this city). The staff and location make this hotel worth considering a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search