$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

4 stars
Calle Dei Fabbri 848, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
22 reviews
Great place to stay.

Everything was fine. The staff, location, breakfast, and most all the bartender....neat guy. See full review

  • swamp man
  • Sep 20, 2014
Good hotel with great location

This was a good hotel with large rooms. Best of all was the location - just 100 yards or so from... See full review

  • Terry from Chicago
  • Jul 28, 2013
A magnificently restored Venice palazzo steps from St. Mark’s Square
Live like an aristocrat in exquisite splendor right by St. Mark's Square in this beautifully restored palazzo right in the heart of Venice's most famous landmarks, museums, shopping and dining experiences. The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is one of the city's more elegant hotels, from its marble floors to its leather sofas, up its paneled walls to its stunning mezzanine chandelier.

Highlights
  • Steps from St. Mark’s Square
  • Masterfully restored Venice palazzo is one of the city’s most elegant
  • Courteous, professional hotel staff
  • Private courtyard
Location
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is located less than a block north of the entrance to St. Mark's Square. It is a very short walk to the Ducal Palace, the Correr Museum, the Bridge of Sighs and the Fenice Theater. This Venice hotel also is a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni, where waterbuses and water taxis take visitors to all of Venice.

Rooms
The 51 rooms of the Royal San Marco Hotel Venice are luxuriously furnished in bright, rich, dramatic Venetian style. Rooms have views of St. Mark's Bell Tower or the hotel's private courtyard. Rooms are air-conditioned and have flat-screen TVs and mini-bars. Non-smoking and accessible rooms are available.

Features
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is itself an important stop on any tour of Venice architecture. Guests start their day in the inviting breakfast room and after a day of sightseeing, relax in the reading room or the hotel bar. The hotel also has a private courtyard. The professional staff provides a host of services, including concierge, excursion booking, limousine and laundry services. Wi-Fi, faxing and safe deposit boxes are available.

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Business
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice’s three meeting rooms have a view of the canal and can be joined to host up to 80 people in a sophisticated setting. Banquet catering and coffee breaks are available, and Wi-Fi is included.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4346 12.3377
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport.
Area description
Venice.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Single Room offers a twin bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double/Twin Room offers two twin beds or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Triple Room offers a twin bed and a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennaferf
Seattle, WA
Jan 6, 2011

Wonderful location for sightseeing

Wonderful room with view of a canal. Only a one to two minute walk to the square. Room was small, but comfortable. Only drawback was very tiny shower and a window in the bathroom overlooking the adjacent building. Quiet stay. Front desk staff were very helpful in giving directions, arranging travel, etc. Breakfast had nice choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Dirty Hotel, Great part of Venice

The staff was fairly friendly and could speak English. There are virtually no amenities and despite some claims for free internet, there is no such thing. The hotel is very close to the main tourist attractions and very convenient to everything; however, be prepared--it is SOOOOO dirty. I mean uncomfortably dirty. I really didn't feel right even sleeping in the bed (which is visibly drooping when you enter the room). Try not to touch the shower walls. As an adult, you can handle it for a night but I do not recommend taking children because of cleanliness concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is one cafe called Caffe India that actually stays open later and the locals go to drink (along with tourists). Inishark is also another pub open late. Nightlife offerings are slim pickings but I thought these two were reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Series of Choices
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

Caution!

I LOVED Venice. The hotel was quaint, well situated in regards to walking around & proximity to Piazza San Marco. The breakfast seemed overpriced, but admittedly, I didn't eat the breakfast, so I can't comment on the food quality. The internet was a point of contention our entire stay. Our room seemed to be the ONE place in the hotel where it didn't work. Step out in the hall and there was perfect service. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue - we were on vacation - but my boyfriend did have work obligations and when we pay upwards of 20 + EURO for 24 hours, 9 Euro for an HOUR, it darn well better work in our room. My boyfriend called down to inform the staff that the internet was still not working in our room, after going downstairs to talk this over with them & suggesting that they re-boot the routers, and the front desk staff who answered the phone said to my boyfriend (I heard this, as I was sitting next to him), "You can work down here." [click] This flew all over me, as one of the main reason I booked this hotel, was the positive reviews I read about the hotel & staff. She was much nicer after I addressed the issue, but it left an EXCEPTIONALLY sour taste in my mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Seek out the restaurants who's menu items are listed in Italian only. These offer the most authenticity & the best value. And most of the servers speak a LITTLE English.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
imtheblacksheep
Business
Seattle
Aug 21, 2012

Not Bad, Not Good

The lobby is incredible with fancy wood work and marble everywhere but our room was plain and felt a little worn out. There was scuffs on the walls, a dirty shower curtain, and a wiggly door handle. Having just came from Rome and a much more modern hotel, I was bummed to be spending the same rate per night for an old room without a view and a the minor frustrations of having to pay for wifi access and a 15 euro per personal breakfast buffet. The location however is great as it is less that 30 seconds from the hotel to the Piazza San Marco. And, for my in the summer heat, the AC was awesome and worked great. Lastly the majority of the staff we spoke with was helpful and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Venice may seem to be way more expensive (as it pretty much is) but if you are patient, do a little research, you can find cheap good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H1 ALV
Business
Venice
Apr 20, 2013

4 DAY Mid Week Break

A great location, just behind St. Marks Sq. The Hotel staff were first class. Self service breakfast 3/4 Star level. The room no 303 was very small. The double bed filled the room and there was no room to swing a cat! The TV had just two English speaking channels, BBC World and CNN. Both were full the happenings in Boston USA. For a 4star rated Hotel I expected a higher overall standing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2010

Royal San Marco

Venice is a bit tough to navigate when you first get there... be ready to walk with your bags for a bit. The RSM is just a hop and a skip from San Marco square. This by far was our smallest room. At 6,2'' 260, the shower was the width of my shoulders, so think of it more as a cruise-ship room. It seems that there were larger rooms, we just had a very small room for the price range. We only needed to spend one night here after adding an extra night for Venice, our next hotel for two nights was just a few $$ more and very beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcos Super Dad
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Aug 8, 2011

Great location, mediocre room.

This hotel had a great location, only a block from Piazza San Marco, which is the heart of Venice. The room was very mediocre... Did not look anything like the picture on the website... We were only there for one night and only really went to the hotel to sleep, but the room was tight and had that old place smell, although the sheets and towels were clean... At least the a/c was working well. The staff was also pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Jul 9, 2010

Not exactly a four star stay

Getting to the hotel was a nightmare. There are not many signs to let you know where to go, so arrive knowing exactly where to go. Do not take much luggage with you because you will have to park your vehicle in a parking ramp, walk to the ferry, ride the ferry for about 30 minutes, and then walk for another 10 minutes, hoping to find the hotel. The price for the ferry includes one bag per person, but they weren't to strict about that. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff was nice and we found a nice lobby, but we also found a very small room. The furnishings reminded me of those of my great grandmother. Breakfast was just alright. There were few options and the coffee was hard to swallow. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and to see the same stereotypical options of spaghetti, pizza, and lasagna everywhere. Many places add a cover charge as well as a service charge. But the location was fantastic. It is truly an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the main walkways, you will find many restaurants with lower prices and without the cover charges. Take the time to read the menus posted outside of each before you sit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPA traveler
Business
Lexington, KY
Oct 5, 2011

Location is what you are paying for

Fantastic location. The room made me think of a musty cheap backroads motel. The mattress was concave so I kept rolling to the center of the bed. I picked it for its location which delivered. However, I wasn't prepared for the kind of room for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newtown Square, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great location, nice hotel!

The hotel was JUST off la Piazza San Marco--an ideal and picturesque location. While the shower was so small water ended up all over the bathroom floor, the room was very nice, the view out the shuttered window gorgeous, and the staff at all times as accomodating and well spoken as they could possibly have been. There is also a first class breakfast included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk to the right from the hotel's front extrance, and you can find any number of both sidwalk and interior pizzerias and trattorias!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2010

Vacation stay in Venice

No

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top