$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

4 stars
Calle Dei Fabbri 848, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
34 reviews
Good hotel with great location

This was a good hotel with large rooms. Best of all was the location - just 100 yards or so from... See full review

  • Terry from Chicago
  • Jul 28, 2013
royal san marco hotel stay

The staff were friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but it was a good location off San... See full review

  • telemom
  • Jun 20, 2013
A magnificently restored Venice palazzo steps from St. Mark’s Square
Live like an aristocrat in exquisite splendor right by St. Mark's Square in this beautifully restored palazzo right in the heart of Venice's most famous landmarks, museums, shopping and dining experiences. The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is one of the city's more elegant hotels, from its marble floors to its leather sofas, up its paneled walls to its stunning mezzanine chandelier.

Highlights
  • Steps from St. Mark’s Square
  • Masterfully restored Venice palazzo is one of the city’s most elegant
  • Courteous, professional hotel staff
  • Private courtyard
Location
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is located less than a block north of the entrance to St. Mark's Square. It is a very short walk to the Ducal Palace, the Correr Museum, the Bridge of Sighs and the Fenice Theater. This Venice hotel also is a short walk from the docks of the Riva degli Schiavoni, where waterbuses and water taxis take visitors to all of Venice.

Rooms
The 51 rooms of the Royal San Marco Hotel Venice are luxuriously furnished in bright, rich, dramatic Venetian style. Rooms have views of St. Mark's Bell Tower or the hotel's private courtyard. Rooms are air-conditioned and have flat-screen TVs and mini-bars. Non-smoking and accessible rooms are available.

Features
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice is itself an important stop on any tour of Venice architecture. Guests start their day in the inviting breakfast room and after a day of sightseeing, relax in the reading room or the hotel bar. The hotel also has a private courtyard. The professional staff provides a host of services, including concierge, excursion booking, limousine and laundry services. Wi-Fi, faxing and safe deposit boxes are available.

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Riva degli Schiavoni vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Attractions
  • St. Mark's Square (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.2 mi/0.4 km)

Business
The Royal San Marco Hotel Venice’s three meeting rooms have a view of the canal and can be joined to host up to 80 people in a sophisticated setting. Banquet catering and coffee breaks are available, and Wi-Fi is included.
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Single Room offers a twin bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Double/Twin Room offers two twin beds or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.
STANDARD - ROOM
Triple Room offers a twin bed and a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities on request, hairdryer, mini bar, non smoking rooms, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4346 12.3377
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport.
Area description
Venice.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.1 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.1 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.1 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.1 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.1 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.6 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.7 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.1 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cybercheco
Toronto, ON
May 28, 2012

Great location and value for the price

We only spent a night and the only issue with the location is that the nigh life is pretty much dead in the San Marco area. However, during the day, it just doesn't get any better. It's only about a 50 feet walk to San Marco's square. The room was basic, old venetian style and the bathroom quite clean and pretty modern. We got a room with a balcony overlooking one of the canals which was really cool. The staff was helpful and quick on check-in check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Steps to San Marco's Square

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Dirty Hotel, Great part of Venice

The staff was fairly friendly and could speak English. There are virtually no amenities and despite some claims for free internet, there is no such thing. The hotel is very close to the main tourist attractions and very convenient to everything; however, be prepared--it is SOOOOO dirty. I mean uncomfortably dirty. I really didn't feel right even sleeping in the bed (which is visibly drooping when you enter the room). Try not to touch the shower walls. As an adult, you can handle it for a night but I do not recommend taking children because of cleanliness concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is one cafe called Caffe India that actually stays open later and the locals go to drink (along with tourists). Inishark is also another pub open late. Nightlife offerings are slim pickings but I thought these two were reasonable.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Dirty Hotel, Great part of Venice

The staff was fairly friendly and could speak English. There are virtually no amenities and despite some claims for free internet, there is no such thing. The hotel is very close to the main tourist attractions and very convenient to everything; however, be prepared--it is SOOOOO dirty. I mean uncomfortably dirty. I really didn't feel right even sleeping in the bed (which is visibly drooping when you enter the room). Try not to touch the shower walls. As an adult, you can handle it for a night but I do not recommend taking children because of cleanliness concerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is one cafe called Caffe India that actually stays open later and the locals go to drink (along with tourists). Inishark is also another pub open late. Nightlife offerings are slim pickings but I thought these two were reasonable.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kissimmee, FL
Jul 9, 2010

Not exactly a four star stay

Getting to the hotel was a nightmare. There are not many signs to let you know where to go, so arrive knowing exactly where to go. Do not take much luggage with you because you will have to park your vehicle in a parking ramp, walk to the ferry, ride the ferry for about 30 minutes, and then walk for another 10 minutes, hoping to find the hotel. The price for the ferry includes one bag per person, but they weren't to strict about that. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff was nice and we found a nice lobby, but we also found a very small room. The furnishings reminded me of those of my great grandmother. Breakfast was just alright. There were few options and the coffee was hard to swallow. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and to see the same stereotypical options of spaghetti, pizza, and lasagna everywhere. Many places add a cover charge as well as a service charge. But the location was fantastic. It is truly an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the main walkways, you will find many restaurants with lower prices and without the cover charges. Take the time to read the menus posted outside of each before you sit.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2010

Royal San Marco

Venice is a bit tough to navigate when you first get there... be ready to walk with your bags for a bit. The RSM is just a hop and a skip from San Marco square. This by far was our smallest room. At 6,2'' 260, the shower was the width of my shoulders, so think of it more as a cruise-ship room. It seems that there were larger rooms, we just had a very small room for the price range. We only needed to spend one night here after adding an extra night for Venice, our next hotel for two nights was just a few $$ more and very beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kissimmee, FL
Jul 9, 2010

Not exactly a four star stay

Getting to the hotel was a nightmare. There are not many signs to let you know where to go, so arrive knowing exactly where to go. Do not take much luggage with you because you will have to park your vehicle in a parking ramp, walk to the ferry, ride the ferry for about 30 minutes, and then walk for another 10 minutes, hoping to find the hotel. The price for the ferry includes one bag per person, but they weren't to strict about that. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff was nice and we found a nice lobby, but we also found a very small room. The furnishings reminded me of those of my great grandmother. Breakfast was just alright. There were few options and the coffee was hard to swallow. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and to see the same stereotypical options of spaghetti, pizza, and lasagna everywhere. Many places add a cover charge as well as a service charge. But the location was fantastic. It is truly an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the main walkways, you will find many restaurants with lower prices and without the cover charges. Take the time to read the menus posted outside of each before you sit.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPA traveler
Lexington, KY
Oct 5, 2011

Location is what you are paying for

Fantastic location. The room made me think of a musty cheap backroads motel. The mattress was concave so I kept rolling to the center of the bed. I picked it for its location which delivered. However, I wasn't prepared for the kind of room for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcos Super Dad
Miami Beach, FL
Aug 8, 2011

Great location, mediocre room.

This hotel had a great location, only a block from Piazza San Marco, which is the heart of Venice. The room was very mediocre... Did not look anything like the picture on the website... We were only there for one night and only really went to the hotel to sleep, but the room was tight and had that old place smell, although the sheets and towels were clean... At least the a/c was working well. The staff was also pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
imtheblacksheep
Seattle
Aug 21, 2012

Not Bad, Not Good

The lobby is incredible with fancy wood work and marble everywhere but our room was plain and felt a little worn out. There was scuffs on the walls, a dirty shower curtain, and a wiggly door handle. Having just came from Rome and a much more modern hotel, I was bummed to be spending the same rate per night for an old room without a view and a the minor frustrations of having to pay for wifi access and a 15 euro per personal breakfast buffet. The location however is great as it is less that 30 seconds from the hotel to the Piazza San Marco. And, for my in the summer heat, the AC was awesome and worked great. Lastly the majority of the staff we spoke with was helpful and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything in Venice may seem to be way more expensive (as it pretty much is) but if you are patient, do a little research, you can find cheap good food.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marcos Super Dad
Miami Beach, FL
Aug 8, 2011

Great location, mediocre room.

This hotel had a great location, only a block from Piazza San Marco, which is the heart of Venice. The room was very mediocre... Did not look anything like the picture on the website... We were only there for one night and only really went to the hotel to sleep, but the room was tight and had that old place smell, although the sheets and towels were clean... At least the a/c was working well. The staff was also pretty nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CPA traveler
Lexington, KY
Oct 5, 2011

Location is what you are paying for

Fantastic location. The room made me think of a musty cheap backroads motel. The mattress was concave so I kept rolling to the center of the bed. I picked it for its location which delivered. However, I wasn't prepared for the kind of room for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top