$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Calle Dei Fabbri 848, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry from Chicago
Chicago, IL
Jul 28, 2013

Good hotel with great location

This was a good hotel with large rooms. Best of all was the location - just 100 yards or so from the square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Series of Choices
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 15, 2011

Caution!

I LOVED Venice. The hotel was quaint, well situated in regards to walking around & proximity to Piazza San Marco. The breakfast seemed overpriced, but admittedly, I didn't eat the breakfast, so I can't comment on the food quality. The internet was a point of contention our entire stay. Our room seemed to be the ONE place in the hotel where it didn't work. Step out in the hall and there was perfect service. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue - we were on vacation - but my boyfriend did have work obligations and when we pay upwards of 20 + EURO for 24 hours, 9 Euro for an HOUR, it darn well better work in our room. My boyfriend called down to inform the staff that the internet was still not working in our room, after going downstairs to talk this over with them & suggesting that they re-boot the routers, and the front desk staff who answered the phone said to my boyfriend (I heard this, as I was sitting next to him), "You can work down here." [click] This flew all over me, as one of the main reason I booked this hotel, was the positive reviews I read about the hotel & staff. She was much nicer after I addressed the issue, but it left an EXCEPTIONALLY sour taste in my mouth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Seek out the restaurants who's menu items are listed in Italian only. These offer the most authenticity & the best value. And most of the servers speak a LITTLE English.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennaferf
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 6, 2011

Wonderful location for sightseeing

Wonderful room with view of a canal. Only a one to two minute walk to the square. Room was small, but comfortable. Only drawback was very tiny shower and a window in the bathroom overlooking the adjacent building. Quiet stay. Front desk staff were very helpful in giving directions, arranging travel, etc. Breakfast had nice choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2010

Vacation stay in Venice

No

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2010

Vacation stay in Venice

No

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2010

Comfortable, convenient and good value

Convenient to St. Mark's Square, quiet hotel. Room was small but adequate. Very clean, and bathroom had a good shower. Breakfast buffet is included, but the layout of the dining room leads to chaos when it's busy, and it was busy every day. Hard for the staff to keep items stocked, hard to gather what you want. Suggestion: check the flyers of tours and special activities that you can sign up and pay for through the hotel; we did a fun wine tasting evening and a good behind-the-scenes walking tour this way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your best in advance of arriving in Venice to have a detailed map, and CLEAR walking directions to the hotel. Everyone gets lost in Venice, they say, but wandering with the luggage is not fun. Understanding the waterbus system ahead of time would be helpful, too.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2010

This is the place in Venice!

This hotel is perfect for your Venice stay. Quiet, air conditioned, breakfast in the morning, withing walking distance of the San Marco Piazza, restaurants, gondola rides, and the water buss. You can walk from the train to the hotel. staff is knowledgeable and accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the staff for recommendations on everything! they have great insight and speak fluent English!

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Jul 9, 2010

Not exactly a four star stay

Getting to the hotel was a nightmare. There are not many signs to let you know where to go, so arrive knowing exactly where to go. Do not take much luggage with you because you will have to park your vehicle in a parking ramp, walk to the ferry, ride the ferry for about 30 minutes, and then walk for another 10 minutes, hoping to find the hotel. The price for the ferry includes one bag per person, but they weren't to strict about that. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff was nice and we found a nice lobby, but we also found a very small room. The furnishings reminded me of those of my great grandmother. Breakfast was just alright. There were few options and the coffee was hard to swallow. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and to see the same stereotypical options of spaghetti, pizza, and lasagna everywhere. Many places add a cover charge as well as a service charge. But the location was fantastic. It is truly an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the main walkways, you will find many restaurants with lower prices and without the cover charges. Take the time to read the menus posted outside of each before you sit.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newtown Square, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great location, nice hotel!

The hotel was JUST off la Piazza San Marco--an ideal and picturesque location. While the shower was so small water ended up all over the bathroom floor, the room was very nice, the view out the shuttered window gorgeous, and the staff at all times as accomodating and well spoken as they could possibly have been. There is also a first class breakfast included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk to the right from the hotel's front extrance, and you can find any number of both sidwalk and interior pizzerias and trattorias!

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newtown Square, PA
Jul 8, 2010

Great location, nice hotel!

The hotel was JUST off la Piazza San Marco--an ideal and picturesque location. While the shower was so small water ended up all over the bathroom floor, the room was very nice, the view out the shuttered window gorgeous, and the staff at all times as accomodating and well spoken as they could possibly have been. There is also a first class breakfast included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk to the right from the hotel's front extrance, and you can find any number of both sidwalk and interior pizzerias and trattorias!

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 7, 2010

The hotel around the corner.

Venice is such a jumble, streets twist and turn in unpredictable ways and street numbers are creative. We had been looking for the hotel and thought we must have taken yet another wrong turn ( and this is WITH map in hand) when there it was. It is very close to Piazza San Marco, so that once located it is easy to get back too. Our room was clean and had every amenity that we needed, including air conditioning which was much appreciated. I thought the room rate was quite reasonable, although it did not include breakfast. The clerk offered that we could get breakfast in their cafe for 25 euros. That doesn't seem all that reasonable to me. I would certainly recommend the Royal San Marco Hotel to a friend. The staff were helpful and the location is a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top