$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of Calle Dei Fabbri 848, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jennaferf
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 6, 2011

Wonderful location for sightseeing

Wonderful room with view of a canal. Only a one to two minute walk to the square. Room was small, but comfortable. Only drawback was very tiny shower and a window in the bathroom overlooking the adjacent building. Quiet stay. Front desk staff were very helpful in giving directions, arranging travel, etc. Breakfast had nice choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 26, 2010

Comfortable, convenient and good value

Convenient to St. Mark's Square, quiet hotel. Room was small but adequate. Very clean, and bathroom had a good shower. Breakfast buffet is included, but the layout of the dining room leads to chaos when it's busy, and it was busy every day. Hard for the staff to keep items stocked, hard to gather what you want. Suggestion: check the flyers of tours and special activities that you can sign up and pay for through the hotel; we did a fun wine tasting evening and a good behind-the-scenes walking tour this way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your best in advance of arriving in Venice to have a detailed map, and CLEAR walking directions to the hotel. Everyone gets lost in Venice, they say, but wandering with the luggage is not fun. Understanding the waterbus system ahead of time would be helpful, too.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2010

This is the place in Venice!

This hotel is perfect for your Venice stay. Quiet, air conditioned, breakfast in the morning, withing walking distance of the San Marco Piazza, restaurants, gondola rides, and the water buss. You can walk from the train to the hotel. staff is knowledgeable and accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the staff for recommendations on everything! they have great insight and speak fluent English!

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Jul 9, 2010

Not exactly a four star stay

Getting to the hotel was a nightmare. There are not many signs to let you know where to go, so arrive knowing exactly where to go. Do not take much luggage with you because you will have to park your vehicle in a parking ramp, walk to the ferry, ride the ferry for about 30 minutes, and then walk for another 10 minutes, hoping to find the hotel. The price for the ferry includes one bag per person, but they weren't to strict about that. Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff was nice and we found a nice lobby, but we also found a very small room. The furnishings reminded me of those of my great grandmother. Breakfast was just alright. There were few options and the coffee was hard to swallow. Be prepared to pay a lot for food and to see the same stereotypical options of spaghetti, pizza, and lasagna everywhere. Many places add a cover charge as well as a service charge. But the location was fantastic. It is truly an amazing city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you leave the main walkways, you will find many restaurants with lower prices and without the cover charges. Take the time to read the menus posted outside of each before you sit.

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 7, 2010

The hotel around the corner.

Venice is such a jumble, streets twist and turn in unpredictable ways and street numbers are creative. We had been looking for the hotel and thought we must have taken yet another wrong turn ( and this is WITH map in hand) when there it was. It is very close to Piazza San Marco, so that once located it is easy to get back too. Our room was clean and had every amenity that we needed, including air conditioning which was much appreciated. I thought the room rate was quite reasonable, although it did not include breakfast. The clerk offered that we could get breakfast in their cafe for 25 euros. That doesn't seem all that reasonable to me. I would certainly recommend the Royal San Marco Hotel to a friend. The staff were helpful and the location is a real plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
red bank nj
Jul 5, 2010

great location, one of the nicest hotels

The hotel was difficult to find from San Marco because we went under the wrong portico...it is the 2nd from the left...directions s/b included with the information...long walk across the square with luggage to hotel...we were on the 5th floor and elevator only went to 4th floor so had to walk up a flight, but it was quiet and we had a skyline view. We were able to keep our luggage locked with the concierge until our flight later that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to dine at one of the side trattorias or osterias for home made pasta...

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairmont, WV
Jul 5, 2010

Wonderful location

This hotel was in a perfect location in Venice and to visit the San Marco area. The hotel fit perfectly in this location and gave a great feel in order to fully experience the area. Good breakfast provided. Transporting luggage can be an issue in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2010

Royal San Marco

Venice is a bit tough to navigate when you first get there... be ready to walk with your bags for a bit. The RSM is just a hop and a skip from San Marco square. This by far was our smallest room. At 6,2'' 260, the shower was the width of my shoulders, so think of it more as a cruise-ship room. It seems that there were larger rooms, we just had a very small room for the price range. We only needed to spend one night here after adding an extra night for Venice, our next hotel for two nights was just a few $$ more and very beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen, European traveler
Business
Germany
May 23, 2010

Venice Trip

Welcomed at the hotel 2 am and checked into the room quickly. Nice size room, very clean and quiet. The staff was extremely helpful with directions; questions about the bus service; vaparreto service and assisting two of the parites with lost luggage making several calls for us. Highly recommend this hotel for your visit! Cost was high, but maybe in the off season the price would not have been so high. However, it is just about one block from San Marco! Location was superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal San Marco & Suites Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bambola
Business
San Diego, California
May 14, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, perfect location!

The location of this hotel couldn't be any better! You are literally steps from Piazza San Marco! The hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated with wood carved interior and traditional Venetian fabrics. The service was amazing, the staff was professional and they spoke English (a relief to my friends who didn't speak Italian). We originally planned to stay one night but we loved the city and the hotel so much we stayed another night. I miss Venice! A personal thank you to the hotel manager who was very kind and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is STEPS from the best places to eat and Shop not to mention steps from the Piazza San Marco.

Back to menu Return to top