$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Rialto Hotel Venice

4 stars
San Marco, 5149, Venice, 30124
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
46 reviews
Very Nice Venice Hotel

The Rialto was everything we expected and more. Their service and location were absolutely great. See full review

  • FSMark
  • Sep 24, 2013
A great hotel choice in Venice

Beautiful hotel, staff was very helpful the breakfast buffet was very good. See full review

  • BULENT
  • Dec 2, 2011
Elegant Venice hotel offers dramatic view of the Rialto Bridge
The Rialto Hotel Venice sits on the Grand Canal, right beside the 16th century Rialto Bridge, one of Venice’s most famous landmarks and one of the best places to shop for Italian jewelry, linens, Murano glass and other finely-crafted goods. In the heart of Venice’s shopping district, this elegant hotel is a short walk from St. Mark’s Square and many of Venice’s more popular attractions. The Grand Canal provides easy access to transportation via waterbus, water taxi or gondola.
Highlights
  • Located on the Grand Canal adjacent to Rialto Bridge, a dramatic architectural landmark and shopping destination
  • Dramatic views and elegant Venetian style with modern comforts and conveniences
  • Readily accessible via water transportation and walking distance from more popular Venice destinations

Location
The Rialto Hotel Venice is next to the famous Rialto Bridge, an architectural landmark since its construction in the 16th century, and is still a center of commerce where guests find Murano glass and fine Italian linens and jewelry. A short walk to St. Mark's Square may take a bit longer as guests pass through the Mercerie, the upscale shopping district home to shops such as Gucci, Prada, Cartier and Louis Vuitton.

Rooms
The Rialto Hotel Venice’s 79 rooms are decorated in an elegant blend of modern and classic Venetian style. Some rooms overlook the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Accommodations are air conditioned and include Internet access, cable/satellite TV and mini-bar. Non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
The Rialto Hotel Venice's terrace restaurant and bar (open April through October) sit beside the Grand Canal overlooking the Rialto Bridge and offer a dramatic view of Venice life. The hotel's staff provides tour booking, laundry and dry cleaning service, secretarial services and limited room service. Breakfast is included. The hotel has accessible facilities for those with disabilities.

Transportation
  • Marco Polo Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Rialto vaporetto (waterbus) docks (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Venice Santa Lucia railway station (1.0 mi/1.6 km)

Attractions
  • Rialto Bridge (just a few steps away)
  • St. Mark’s Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Correr Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fenice Theater (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Ducal Palace (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
Policies and fees
A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Rialto Hotel Venice Rooms

Single Room (Double Single Use)
The room offers one double bed with air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access by payment, mini bar, room service and telephone.
Double Room
The room offers one double bed or one single beds with air conditioning, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access by payment, mini bar, room service and telephone.
Junior Suite
Flamboyant and romantic, decorated in the most classical 18th century Venetian style, with great care put into every detail to achieve elegance and comfort, the Junior Suites of Hotel Rialto are enchanting spaces in which to relax after spending a day visiting the city and where to enjoy the charm and unique atmosphere of Venice all from the balconies of the suite which overlook the most beautiful corner of the Grand Canal, just across from the Rialto Bridge . Picture yourself sitting at your Junior Suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, one of the most famous landmarks of Venice. Below the bridge's arch, a steady steam of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few steps from the Hotel placing all of Venice at your disposal.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rialto Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4379 12.3361
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport. G. Nicelli National Airport.
Area description
Hotel Rialto is in a unique and enviable position overlooking the Grand Canal, just across from Rialto Bridge, one of the most beautiful and suggestive spots of the city. Hotel Rialto takes its name from Rialto (high river), the area of Venice slightly more elevated compared to the other ones, which has always been the commercial heart of Venice. It is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel to wonderful Saint Mark's Square with a stroll along the Mercerie, the shopping streets where charming artisan shops (Murano glass, Burano embroidery, etc.) alternate with trendy stores of renowned international houses such as Gucci, Prada, Cartier, Louis Vuitton, etc

Nearby points of interest

  • Rialto Bridge: 0 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.5 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.5 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.6 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.8 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.8 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.8 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.2 mi
  • Burano: 5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Rialto Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time European travelers
Raleigh, NC
Sep 30, 2009

Great location, Good staff, but $$$$!

The hotel is in the best location possible with regards to the famous bridge, and we had a room overlooking it! The bill for a two night stay with grand canal view was almost $1000! But "when in Rome," or Venice in this case. The room was clean, but worn down. I didn't feel the price was worth the view, as we were never there! Venice is terribly over populated with tourist, and sometimes it was difficult to get around. Overall, the room was OK, but we would pick something else next time. Atleast breakfast was thrown in! We basically paid the price to have a beautiful view that we never really took advantage of. I would reccommend this hotel if you have the means, and like to stare out the window of your hotel. If not, look for something else. In Venice, everything was safe, and we never felt uncomfortable walking around at night. Make sure you get a map, as it's not whether you'll get lost, but rather how many times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go off the beaten path, and stay away from the canal restaurants, unless you want avergage food, great view, and expensive pricing! There are many restaurants deeper in the city (10-15 minute walk) that have much better food, and much better prices. Not to mention after all day of walking around elbow to elbow with tourists, it's nice to be in a quiet area of town, where you can have a good Venice style meal (fresh fish, prawns, etc.) The canal restaurants had pasta, pizza, etc., but no authentic Venetial food. Take a chance...explore, and you'll find something good off of the beaten path. This was our first time, and we felt very safe walking around.

Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheresaB
Boston, MA
Sep 27, 2009

Great location!

What a fantastic location! We were tired and disoriented from our overnight flight, but I had chosen this hotel based primarily on location. I was so glad I had! The vaperetto took us within a couple of yards and only one bridge of the hotel. We could easily see the hotel and knew where to go. Since the bridges are all steps and it was very hot, we were glad to so easily find our air conditioned lobby. Our room was not ready, but we didn't expect it to be. The Staff showed us to a large restroom where we could change and then stored our luggage. For the rest of our stay, everytime we saw tourists stuggling with maps, luggage and bridges asking for directions to their hotels, we rejoiced at our choice! It's not like you can always take a taxi to your door like in a real city! Being near a large landmark like the Rialto bridge made finding our way back always convienent. Our rooms were large and our bathrooms very large. We were in the back building up a long flight of stairs which was fine for us, but would have been impossible for anyone who wasn't fit. Breakfast was outside, overlooking the canal and the bridge. The food was plentiful and the staff gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheresaB
Boston, MA
Sep 27, 2009

Great location!

What a fantastic location! We were tired and disoriented from our overnight flight, but I had chosen this hotel based primarily on location. I was so glad I had! The vaperetto took us within a couple of yards and only one bridge of the hotel. We could easily see the hotel and knew where to go. Since the bridges are all steps and it was very hot, we were glad to so easily find our air conditioned lobby. Our room was not ready, but we didn't expect it to be. The Staff showed us to a large restroom where we could change and then stored our luggage. For the rest of our stay, everytime we saw tourists stuggling with maps, luggage and bridges asking for directions to their hotels, we rejoiced at our choice! It's not like you can always take a taxi to your door like in a real city! Being near a large landmark like the Rialto bridge made finding our way back always convienent. Our rooms were large and our bathrooms very large. We were in the back building up a long flight of stairs which was fine for us, but would have been impossible for anyone who wasn't fit. Breakfast was outside, overlooking the canal and the bridge. The food was plentiful and the staff gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Rialto - Venice Italy

Fantastic location at the base of Rialto Bridge. Walking distance to St. Mark's and all major sites. Nice terrace overlooking the canal. Great staff. Easy water taxi or waterbus ride from venice airport. Quaint, comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get off the tourist path. Take a good map, explore and enjoy!

Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Rialto - Venice Italy

Fantastic location at the base of Rialto Bridge. Walking distance to St. Mark's and all major sites. Nice terrace overlooking the canal. Great staff. Easy water taxi or waterbus ride from venice airport. Quaint, comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get off the tourist path. Take a good map, explore and enjoy!

Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelCouple09
US
Sep 8, 2009

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS NOT GREAT

We had a great view from our room, but the room had some leakage problems where you could tell there was moisture in the walls which were fabric covered. Other than that it was perfect. The staff is friendly, accomodating, gives great reccomendations, books tours for you and is overall delightful. The location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of things. This hotel is right on the Grand Canal and at stop #2 on the water taxi... FABULOUS. There are gondola rides and water taxi's outside the front door. The hotel food is overpriced, but there it is decent. The free breakfast is very basic. The hotel is not one building as it shows in the picture, but rather 4 buildings together - the red one in the picture is the main, but the others are older and not as nice as the main building. Ask to stay in the main one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Florida Restaurant across the river right on the water - the food and bellini's are reasonable and they seat you right on the water - relax and enjoy - they're in no rush so you shouldn't be either. The mussles are fabulous and so is the spaghetti with meat sauce.

Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelCouple09
US
Sep 8, 2009

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS NOT GREAT

We had a great view from our room, but the room had some leakage problems where you could tell there was moisture in the walls which were fabric covered. Other than that it was perfect. The staff is friendly, accomodating, gives great reccomendations, books tours for you and is overall delightful. The location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of things. This hotel is right on the Grand Canal and at stop #2 on the water taxi... FABULOUS. There are gondola rides and water taxi's outside the front door. The hotel food is overpriced, but there it is decent. The free breakfast is very basic. The hotel is not one building as it shows in the picture, but rather 4 buildings together - the red one in the picture is the main, but the others are older and not as nice as the main building. Ask to stay in the main one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Florida Restaurant across the river right on the water - the food and bellini's are reasonable and they seat you right on the water - relax and enjoy - they're in no rush so you shouldn't be either. The mussles are fabulous and so is the spaghetti with meat sauce.

Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Hotel Rialto

We have never been to Venice before, but we had a wonderful time and hope to come back. Prior reviews were helpful, and we selected the Rialto for its location right at the end of the Rialto bridge. We were there for a weekend in June, and we didn't find noise (mentioned in some other reviews) to be a problem. We got the junior suite and felt it was totally worth it to have the tiny balcony with the fantastic view of the Grand Canal ad the Rialto bridge. The free breakfast offered a good variety of options. Beware of the expensive Diet Cokes in the restaurant! We ate in the restaurant once aside from the free breakfast, and it was quite expensive. Restaurant on the opposite bank of the canal is cheaper. The front desk staff members were very helpful when we checked in early - stored our bags and provided us with a detailed map so we could go out and explore Venice for several hours on our own. They were also helpful with getting us online with the free internet on our laptops. It was a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Hotel Rialto

We have never been to Venice before, but we had a wonderful time and hope to come back. Prior reviews were helpful, and we selected the Rialto for its location right at the end of the Rialto bridge. We were there for a weekend in June, and we didn't find noise (mentioned in some other reviews) to be a problem. We got the junior suite and felt it was totally worth it to have the tiny balcony with the fantastic view of the Grand Canal ad the Rialto bridge. The free breakfast offered a good variety of options. Beware of the expensive Diet Cokes in the restaurant! We ate in the restaurant once aside from the free breakfast, and it was quite expensive. Restaurant on the opposite bank of the canal is cheaper. The front desk staff members were very helpful when we checked in early - stored our bags and provided us with a detailed map so we could go out and explore Venice for several hours on our own. They were also helpful with getting us online with the free internet on our laptops. It was a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the Lion
Raleigh NC
Jun 30, 2009

Rialto Hotel Review

Great location next to the Rialto bridge and less than 10 minute walk to St. Marks. Nice small room (to be expected in Venice). Great location for catching the water bus transportation. Hotel looks old on the outside ( as does most of Venice) but nicely appointed on the inside. Very friendly service. This is the second time I have stayed in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

I hint to the first time traveler: Venice can be expensive for dining (after all everything has to be transported by boat or manually. Look around the Rialto Hotel for a few Italian cafes that serve the local Italian people. These cafes are not fancy but have good simple food but cater to the local Italians. You can have a good meal rather reasonably.

Back to menu Return to top