$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Rialto Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco, 5149, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rialto Hotel Venice

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany NY US
Jan 1, 2010

rialto hotel, venice

I toured historic Venice, Architecture especially. The location couldn't be better, right on the canal, at a historic and scenic spot next to the Rialto Bridge on the Grand Canal. While my room was a bit small, it was clean and had been recently modernized. [and the price was good]The staff was great at helping me find my way around-all friendly, all the desk staff spoke very good english. Breakfast was good, but the hotel restaurant was closed, I think for the winter -I was there the week of Christmas, and we had some flooding at night. [Acqua Alta.]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time European travelers
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 30, 2009

Great location, Good staff, but $$$$!

The hotel is in the best location possible with regards to the famous bridge, and we had a room overlooking it! The bill for a two night stay with grand canal view was almost $1000! But "when in Rome," or Venice in this case. The room was clean, but worn down. I didn't feel the price was worth the view, as we were never there! Venice is terribly over populated with tourist, and sometimes it was difficult to get around. Overall, the room was OK, but we would pick something else next time. Atleast breakfast was thrown in! We basically paid the price to have a beautiful view that we never really took advantage of. I would reccommend this hotel if you have the means, and like to stare out the window of your hotel. If not, look for something else. In Venice, everything was safe, and we never felt uncomfortable walking around at night. Make sure you get a map, as it's not whether you'll get lost, but rather how many times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go off the beaten path, and stay away from the canal restaurants, unless you want avergage food, great view, and expensive pricing! There are many restaurants deeper in the city (10-15 minute walk) that have much better food, and much better prices. Not to mention after all day of walking around elbow to elbow with tourists, it's nice to be in a quiet area of town, where you can have a good Venice style meal (fresh fish, prawns, etc.) The canal restaurants had pasta, pizza, etc., but no authentic Venetial food. Take a chance...explore, and you'll find something good off of the beaten path. This was our first time, and we felt very safe walking around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheresaB
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 27, 2009

Great location!

What a fantastic location! We were tired and disoriented from our overnight flight, but I had chosen this hotel based primarily on location. I was so glad I had! The vaperetto took us within a couple of yards and only one bridge of the hotel. We could easily see the hotel and knew where to go. Since the bridges are all steps and it was very hot, we were glad to so easily find our air conditioned lobby. Our room was not ready, but we didn't expect it to be. The Staff showed us to a large restroom where we could change and then stored our luggage. For the rest of our stay, everytime we saw tourists stuggling with maps, luggage and bridges asking for directions to their hotels, we rejoiced at our choice! It's not like you can always take a taxi to your door like in a real city! Being near a large landmark like the Rialto bridge made finding our way back always convienent. Our rooms were large and our bathrooms very large. We were in the back building up a long flight of stairs which was fine for us, but would have been impossible for anyone who wasn't fit. Breakfast was outside, overlooking the canal and the bridge. The food was plentiful and the staff gracious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Sep 9, 2009

Hotel Rialto - Venice Italy

Fantastic location at the base of Rialto Bridge. Walking distance to St. Mark's and all major sites. Nice terrace overlooking the canal. Great staff. Easy water taxi or waterbus ride from venice airport. Quaint, comfortable rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get off the tourist path. Take a good map, explore and enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelCouple09
Business
US
Sep 8, 2009

GREAT LOCATION - ROOMS NOT GREAT

We had a great view from our room, but the room had some leakage problems where you could tell there was moisture in the walls which were fabric covered. Other than that it was perfect. The staff is friendly, accomodating, gives great reccomendations, books tours for you and is overall delightful. The location can't be beat if you want to be in the center of things. This hotel is right on the Grand Canal and at stop #2 on the water taxi... FABULOUS. There are gondola rides and water taxi's outside the front door. The hotel food is overpriced, but there it is decent. The free breakfast is very basic. The hotel is not one building as it shows in the picture, but rather 4 buildings together - the red one in the picture is the main, but the others are older and not as nice as the main building. Ask to stay in the main one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Florida Restaurant across the river right on the water - the food and bellini's are reasonable and they seat you right on the water - relax and enjoy - they're in no rush so you shouldn't be either. The mussles are fabulous and so is the spaghetti with meat sauce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 8, 2009

Hotel Rialto

We have never been to Venice before, but we had a wonderful time and hope to come back. Prior reviews were helpful, and we selected the Rialto for its location right at the end of the Rialto bridge. We were there for a weekend in June, and we didn't find noise (mentioned in some other reviews) to be a problem. We got the junior suite and felt it was totally worth it to have the tiny balcony with the fantastic view of the Grand Canal ad the Rialto bridge. The free breakfast offered a good variety of options. Beware of the expensive Diet Cokes in the restaurant! We ate in the restaurant once aside from the free breakfast, and it was quite expensive. Restaurant on the opposite bank of the canal is cheaper. The front desk staff members were very helpful when we checked in early - stored our bags and provided us with a detailed map so we could go out and explore Venice for several hours on our own. They were also helpful with getting us online with the free internet on our laptops. It was a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark the Lion
Business
Raleigh NC
Jun 30, 2009

Rialto Hotel Review

Great location next to the Rialto bridge and less than 10 minute walk to St. Marks. Nice small room (to be expected in Venice). Great location for catching the water bus transportation. Hotel looks old on the outside ( as does most of Venice) but nicely appointed on the inside. Very friendly service. This is the second time I have stayed in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I hint to the first time traveler: Venice can be expensive for dining (after all everything has to be transported by boat or manually. Look around the Rialto Hotel for a few Italian cafes that serve the local Italian people. These cafes are not fancy but have good simple food but cater to the local Italians. You can have a good meal rather reasonably.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leonardtown, MD
Jun 2, 2009

Hotel Rialto Venice, False advertisting

Location was good but we asked about the transfers to the airport which are suppose to be included in the high cost of the dirty rooms ie. walls and ceilings. This cost us an additional $135.00 and we had to make arrangements. When we started to discuss the worker at the hotel just said that is just a mistake in the web page site. Well that is one big mistake. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The worker behind the counter became very rude! Don't know his name but he was the bald guy. Everyone else was nice at the hotel and at the breakfast which was very good and included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leonardtown, MD
Jun 2, 2009

Hotel Rialto Venice, False advertisting

Location was good but we asked about the transfers to the airport which are suppose to be included in the high cost of the dirty rooms ie. walls and ceilings. This cost us an additional $135.00 and we had to make arrangements. When we started to discuss the worker at the hotel just said that is just a mistake in the web page site. Well that is one big mistake. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The worker behind the counter became very rude! Don't know his name but he was the bald guy. Everyone else was nice at the hotel and at the breakfast which was very good and included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rialto Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
May 31, 2009

Rialto Hotel, Venice

Fantastic location. Can't beat the Rialto Bridge in Venice. The price - well, it's Venice so $400/night is standard. The breakfast was very nice and we could eat outside viewing the canal. My only problem is that the elevator went to the second floor only. We had to go up 64 stairs - I counted. our room was at the top with the pigeons (literally). The room did look like the pictures - which is uncommon these days. It had a reasonable mini-bar fridge. It had a small tv and bathroom - standard size for Europe. Our room was larger than most we've stayed in in Europe. The hotel had internet for a fee but when we asked they didn't charge us. Easy, easy, easy to get to - just take the cheap valparetto (water bus) and stop at Rialto Bridge. Not having to search for the hotel in Venice was a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top