$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

4 stars
Fondamenta dei Furlani 3288 Castello, Venice, 30122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
16 reviews
Spotlessly clean.

We were given an apartment which was spotlessly clean and as it included a kitchen could buy food... See full review

  • Scot
  • May 23, 2014
Wonderful stay in Venice!

We had the loveliest experience staying at the Palazzo Shiavoni. We were upgraded to an apartment... See full review

  • Juna
  • Apr 16, 2014
Palazzo Schiavoni is an exclusive historical residence in Venice, next to the famous San Giorgio degli Schiavoni School, one of the city's most characteristic quarters, off the beaten track but not far from St. Mark's Square. Overlooking a typical Venetian canal, Palazzo Schiavoni stands out for its splendid interiors, furnished with period furniture that will transport you back in time. The hotel also provide amenities like baby sitting service, concierge, doctor on call, dry cleaning, internet access-high-speed, internet access-wireless, laundry service, lift/elevator, non-smoking rooms, pets allowed, reception, room service, safe deposited box and secretarial service. Breakfast is included.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in. IMPORTANT NOTE- Check in available from 0800 to 2100 - Later check in is to be notified to Hotel prior to arrival and is subject to an extra charge to be paid locally.

Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice Rooms

Double Room For Single Use
Room with one King size bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, LCD satellite TV, shower, courtesy kit, cable/satellite YV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini-bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Double/ Twin room
Room with one King size bed or one twin bed includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, LCD satellite TV, shower, courtesy kit, cable/satellite YV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini-bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.
Triple Room
Room with one king size bed and one twin bed or two twin beds includes air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, LCD satellite TV, shower, courtesy kit, cable/satellite YV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini-bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4361 12.346
Area served
Venice.
Nearby airports
Marco Polo International Airport.
Area description
Palazzo Schiavoni is the best place to start discovering the secrets of Venice: a short 5 minute walk takes you to glorious St. Mark's Square. Crossing the small "calli" that open onto the Riva degli Schiavoni, you'll find yourself facing this large square, paved with Istria stones, surrounded by the Procuratie porticos and dominated by the high bell tower and extraordinary domes of St. Mark's Basilica. The Doge's Palace is next to the basilica. The original seat of the Republic of Venice government, the astounding Sala del Maggior Consiglio has been kept intact in this building, unrivaled for the size and quality of its frescoes. Spectacular.

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.4 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.4 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.2 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.4 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.4 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.4 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.4 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.4 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.5 mi
  • San Moise: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.7 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 0.7 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.7 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.9 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.9 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.9 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.9 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 1 mi
  • Ghetto: 1.1 mi
  • Port of Venice: 1.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 1.3 mi
  • Burano: 4.8 mi
  • Lace Museum: 4.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0800
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Aug 3, 2011

We thought we were at Palazzo Schiavoni

I am giving Palazzo Schiavoni 3 stars since we never got a room there! Even though we prebooked[...] when we had made our way from Allilaguna to the hotel (quite a challenge, although the hotel way description was decent), a friendly guy at the reception told us that we would actually be staying in another hotel by the same owner. Well, the other hotel was closer to San Marco, but not what we had booked (and the hotel had some issues), and were we mad to grab all our things and walk through town again! We got some inconsistent explanations about the move (no beds free, water issues), and even worse explanations about why we weren't contacted before (they didn't have our contact info ... please!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyvale, CA
Aug 3, 2011

We thought we were at Palazzo Schiavoni

I am giving Palazzo Schiavoni 3 stars since we never got a room there! Even though we prebooked[...] when we had made our way from Allilaguna to the hotel (quite a challenge, although the hotel way description was decent), a friendly guy at the reception told us that we would actually be staying in another hotel by the same owner. Well, the other hotel was closer to San Marco, but not what we had booked (and the hotel had some issues), and were we mad to grab all our things and walk through town again! We got some inconsistent explanations about the move (no beds free, water issues), and even worse explanations about why we weren't contacted before (they didn't have our contact info ... please!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobinMaryke
San jose, CA
Jul 13, 2014

Venice

The room at the top, called the Venice room, has terrific views through small windows on three sides. One is rooftops to the campanile at San Marco, another is of the local canal. The bathroom is small and tight, but has a good shower. The room is private and you can leave the windows uncovered. The A/C works well. Breakfast is continental but with more choices than basic continental. Service is friendly and helpful. You can access the river boats or water taxi easily, and you can walk to major locations because they are close by. Overall we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JustMe
Cheltenham, Glos
Aug 29, 2012

Short stay Venice

Very pleased with every aspect. Hotel staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Location was great as only 10 mins walk from San Marco and rooms were well equipped and very clean. We booked a few trips before we arrived which was as we had to make the most of a couple of days. Entrance tickets for Doges Palace also included entry into various other museums which proved invaluable to escape the intense heat or rain for an hour or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el chabo
mex
Aug 15, 2012

great location and size

if i go back to venice, i'll definitely consider staying here again. it's close enough to san marco plaza and the staff was very nice. only downside i can think of is that there wasnt a minifridge for me to keep my drinks cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

when you exit the hotel, walk to the left and turn left on the first street - walk for 20 or 30 seconds or so and you'll hit a supermarket where you can buy sodas, chips, fruit, water etc to keep in your room. there's also a cheap, clean pizza joint next to the supermarket. if you're into saving money and NOT into breaking the bank eating out, then these 2 spots will help you save money.

Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 26, 2010

Beautiful first time in venice

Wonderful friendly service.... Accomodating and personalized service I enjoyed the off the beaten path location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best places to eat are usually the most low key looking on the outside with not slot of touristic signs... Eat where the locals eat ;)

Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard W
Cardiff, UK
Nov 23, 2011

Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice a hidden gem

This a great little hotel. The staff are friendly, courteous and really helpful. The rooms were lovely and maintained to a high standard. A self service buffet style breakfast was included in the room rate. This was delicious, plentiful and freshly prepared each day. I found the location of the hotel to be most satisfactory for access to the main sites of Venice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be using it again without any qualms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Apr 23, 2010

Wonderful Experience!

My wife and I were in Venice for vacation after I attended a work conference in Austria. We had a great experience staying at Palazzo Schiavoni. We arrived early in Venice on an overnight train from Vienna and [...] made us feel quite welcome. Even though it was before check-in he invited us in for coffee and breakfast while he dealt with some other customers. After breakfast, we explored a bit while they prepared our room and when we returned we were delighted to rest in a clean, comfortable, and charming room overlooking the canal. We really felt at home and the service was excellent throughout our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a sure bet in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Ai Barbacani!

Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 26, 2010

Beautiful first time in venice

Wonderful friendly service.... Accomodating and personalized service I enjoyed the off the beaten path location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best places to eat are usually the most low key looking on the outside with not slot of touristic signs... Eat where the locals eat ;)

Review of Palazzo Schiavoni Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eleanor
Cambridge
Oct 6, 2010

Room with a view

Somehow our booking hadn't made it onto the hotel system, and it was only because someone had left early that we got a room at all. We had to wait while the night concierge made the room up for us, even though that's not normally his job, but he was very helpful and it was all sorted out in the morning so we didn't have to move rooms. As a result we had the room called Venezia at the very top of the building with views on 3 sides including a large panoramic window looking towards St Mark's Square. The lift only goes to the fourth floor, but it was definitely worth a flight of stairs to have such a view. Breakfast was a simple continental buffet - the bread rolls could have been fresher but it was done well overall and the coffee was made to order and the best I had all holiday - provided you like it strong! Nicely laid tables with linen napkins were a lovely touch, which makes a great difference to the breakfast experience. Rooms were clean and simple, facilities fairly basic though, and the wifi reception didn't really reach to the top floor. Air-conditioning was useful - it's still very warm in September and the mosquitoes mean you can't sleep with the windows open. In terms of location it was perfect for us, fairly quiet but only a short walk from St Mark's Square, and with plenty of places nearby to eat and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do get the water bus from the airport rather than a water taxi. The San Zaccaria stop is only a very short walk from the hotel. Make sure you check a good map in advance in order to be able to find it though.

Back to menu Return to top