$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

4 stars
View map of San Marco 1936, Venice, 30124

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
17 reviews
Quiet but close to San Marcos

Hidden away in a quiet square but nice restaurants around the coner. Few minutes walk to San Marcos... See full review

  • Mark stanley
  • Jul 13, 2014
Great Location

Quirky, but very clean. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast much better than I expected. All... See full review

  • Venetian Virgin
  • Jun 14, 2014
The Hotel La Fenice et des Artistes, close to the well-known "Teatro La Fenice", has been for more than a century the preferred hotel of artists and people looking for the typical atmosphere characterizing the "hotels de charme". The extremely bright entrance is in the form of a triangle connecting the original building on the left with the newly-built wing on the right. All guest rooms are different from one another, each with its own specific charm, but all in a typical Venetian style. They all have private bathroom, with either a tub or a shower, hairdryer, direct dial phone line, Sat TV and safe. The restaurant "La Taverna", which Gabriele D'Annunzio first called after this name, is one of the most elegant Citys restaurants and is part of the hotel building. This allows our guests to take advantage of the restaurant and benefit from special prices. The position of the Hotel La Fenice et des Artistes is extremely privileged: it is a real house in the middle of the city which is nevertheless located away from mass tourist circuits; it represents a unique chance for a pleasant and relaxing stay. Visit the Web Site of the restaurant Taverna La Fenice: www.ristorantelafenice.it Our guests can also take advantage of the courtyard garden and of beautiful common halls to relax. Our staff is available 24 hours a day to meet all your needs.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Top hotels

La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The room offers 1 single bed. It includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Mini bar, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
DELUXE - ROOM
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 single beds. It includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Mini bar, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
The room offers 1 double bed + single bed or 3 single beds. It includes Air conditioning, Heating, Alarm clock, Room service, Safe in room, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Laundry service, Telephone, Mini bar, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer and Radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0 mi
  • San Moise: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.2 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.2 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.2 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.2 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.3 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.8 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.9 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.3 mi
  • Burano: 5.3 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPNYC
NYC, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Hotel location is perfect

Very pleasant hotel stay! Location is excellent, just minutes walking to our locations you need to see here...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mg phd
Business
New York
May 29, 2012

A Terrific Place

I have stayed here seven or eight times. I was welcomed by everyone and was given the home number of a concierge who retired this year to call and say Hi! The location is perfect for the opera house and San Marco and all the transportation (vaporettos). The gardens are lovely. Wifi is 2€ for 24 hours (just sign in and out). Breakfast is simple and good. Lots of restaurants nearby. A few grocery shops for inexpensive meals are nearby. Lots of stand-up food shops. Most of all the hotel is about the wonderful people. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always buy the 4-day or 7-day pass for vaporettos in Venice (ACTV).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francesca and James
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 19, 2013

Great Hotel - Exceeded Expectations

We arrived after midnight and were greeted at the hotel and shown to our room in the "Piccola Fenice" down the block. Though we didn't expect to being staying off-site, the room was a very pleasant surprise, and included a kitchenette and a living room with a couch and table, in addition to the bedroom. We were pleased with the size of the suite and the location of the hotel, which is on a very central, yet quiet street not far from San Marco, Rialto, or Accademia. The breakfast was quite simple but had enough variety for different tastes. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would certainly return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2010

FANTASTIC VALUE AND HOTEL

Great quiet location very close to San Marco. Highly recommend. Delicious but simple breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Sid
Business
Yorkshire UK
May 21, 2012

Great location- Poor breakfast

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2012. It's very well located being 5 mins from St Marks Square and 5 mins from the vaporetto stop of St Angelo. The hotel is clean and rooms nice with good bathrooms. Bed was a bit hard. Staff very helpful except on the last day when we asked for morning coffee prior to a 6.30 am departure. It never materialised!. The breakfast was pretty poor with no hot food or even a toaster and no fruit. It wouldn't take much to make it a lot better. Overall a nice hotel in an excellent location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There a show caller Concert and Opera which is heavily touted on the streets and held in a large hall near rialto. i would suggest spend a tiny bit more and see real opera at la Fenice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moshe
Business
Israel
Aug 23, 2012

couple

Besides the breakfast it is very good hotel to stay while visiting Venice. Staff is grate. Regarding the breakfast: no eggs, of any kind, no vegetables at all. Nothing warm besides the coffee. The coffee excellent. It is defiantly not 4 stars hotel, 3 will be more suitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take ground bus from the air port to piazza de Roma. It is much chipper and much faster then A boat. (DEPAND ON ARIVAL TIME, not after midnight) From piazza de Roma take public boat to San Marco. It is the closest place you can reach not by walk. Then you walk and cross only one bridge if you not miss the way .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPNYC
Business
NYC, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Hotel location is perfect

Very pleasant hotel stay! Location is excellent, just minutes walking to our locations you need to see here...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Busy executive
Business
Upstate New York
Mar 4, 2013

business trip to Venice, but what a pleasure

I am a single female traveler and have stayed at La Fenice many times over the years, primarily because of its location in San Marco, but adjacent to the Academia. The double rooms are large and comfortable, as are the bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful and I have never been unhappy there. I would only ask that they expand their breakfast buffet to include a bit more - eggs are extra, but perhaps some granola to go along with the yogurt? The restaurant next door is very good and I usually dine there my first night in when I'm too tired to walk elsewhere. Good wine list!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Fiore, hidden in the northeast corner of Campo San Stefano, is unpretentious and delicious. I always enjoy the fish there. Its small, so reserve ahead!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola FL
Aug 18, 2010

Loved this hotel

La Fenice was lovely and the staff most pleasant and helpful. Loved sitting in the courtyard in the morning before going out to see the sights. Breakfast was very pleasant and always ample. Room AC worked great! The beds were not so comfortable but we were so tired from walking each day that it didn't matter. The hotel was hard to find when we arrived but a great central location. Just find the La Fenice Teatro as your reference point. You can easily walk to the sights, shopping, dining, etc. A water taxi is a little expensive but the best way to go from hotel to airport to save time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Jul 28, 2011

great location and good for the value!

Hotel is old but in good condition, great location just few blocks from Piazza san Marco, and staff is very friendly! outdoors restaurant is very nice and excellent food! If you are staying for a few days go to Burano Island is very nice and there's a fantastic restaurant called "A la Romana" try the risotto with fish, spectacular!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fenice et Des Artistes Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 12, 2009

Sweet deal

I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel given how little I paid for the room versus other hotels in the San Marco area. Breakfast was average, service was good, room was okay-I've seen better and I've seen worse. Great location close to everything, but just beyond the mass of tourists. Don't expect to be wowed by the rooms, but I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top