$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Iris Hotel Venice

2 stars
View map of San Polo 2910/A, Venice, 30125

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
14 reviews
Short stay in Venice

Contrary to some of the reviews, this hotel was located in a great location and there was AC in the... See full review

  • Shannon S.
  • Jul 26, 2015
nice trip

nice trip we liked evry thing there. amaezing time, we will go agen See full review

  • j.f
  • Sep 1, 2015
The Iris directly managed by Flora's family since 1930, is a 2 stars hotel located in a central and quiet typical venetian area, between the Ca' Foscari University and the Frari's Church.Iris Hotel is situated on the Rio della Frescada, a small canal, very closed to the boat stop n. 10 San Tom, which is between the Rialto and the Accademia bridges, on the Gran Canal.It has 25 decorated rooms in Venetian classical style.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Iris Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

★★
$71
2.6 / 5 8 reviews
★★★
$117
4.1 / 5 12 reviews
★★★
$123
3.0 / 5 7 reviews
★★★
$162
3.2 / 5 29 reviews
★★★
$101
2.8 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$116
3.8 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$121
3.6 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$171
4.3 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.0 / 5 59 reviews

Iris Hotel Venice Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Rooms offer air conditioning.
ECONOMY DOUBLE SHARED BATHROOM
Small rooms with shared bathroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.4 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.4 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • San Moise: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.6 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.6 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.6 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.6 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.7 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.7 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.3 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.6 mi
  • Burano: 5.5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Iris Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.7

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ns
Not Provided
Sep 21, 2010

It is hard to imagine that one

It is hard to imagine that one could get a better location and than Hotel Iris in Venice. Staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Ns

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j.f
Couples
North miami
Sep 1, 2015

nice trip

nice trip we liked evry thing there. amaezing time, we will go agen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon S.
Couples
Sunrise
Jul 26, 2015

Short stay in Venice

Contrary to some of the reviews, this hotel was located in a great location and there was AC in the room along with a fan. The staff was very friendly and our room was very clean. The Internet was only available in the lobby, but when in the lobby it actually worked better then most of the other places I have stayed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on a budget, but needs AC and wants a good location,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anuroopa S.
Couples
jersey city
Jan 9, 2015

Bad location in Venice in Nov (during aqua alta)

Since our trip overlapped with Venice's aqua alta season and with some bad rain storm days + high tides, the location near canal was unfortunate. Going out for breakfast in the morning required wading in 3 foot waters which came into the ground (first) floor of the hotel too. So we couldn't go out to other (hopefully drier) parts of Venice until the tide went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NayJay
Family
New York
Jul 17, 2014

Perfect location...beautiful view

Rooms are basic no frills, but very clean and comfortable for a great nights sleep. The view from our bedroom was beautiful right over a canal with a bridge. Staff is fine, wifi only works in lobby. Location is awesome. Equidistant from train station and Piazza San Marco. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to Bottega del Caffè Dersut...Amazing chocolate croissants(and other baked goodies) and espresso..open really early and just around the corner from hotel. Also a good little restaurant right downstairs from hotel has tables right on canal.

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSDM
Friends
Rome
Apr 11, 2014

Night in Venice

The staff was welcoming and fun. The location is great, right near the Grand Canal, with fun cichetti restaurants all around. It was easy to walk to all the sights in San Polo from the hotel. The room was a bit rundown and the whole building smelled of sewage the second day we were there. The breakfast was in another hotel, a short walk away. It was awful, with instant cappuccino and a couple of dry rolls--not worth the bother. We ate again after we checked out. The price was right, though, for a Saturday night in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The happy camper.
Couples
Florida
Sep 21, 2013

Average but in the center!

The best part of the Hotel is the location. As any other person who has visited Venice, it is kind of difficult to get arround with a regular map since many of the streets do not have names and do not even apppear on the map. Be aware when you are doing the booking to this hotel beacuse the first choice does not include a bathroom in the room, you are paying for a room with a shared bathroom. In addition, there is no TV at all and the WIFI only works at the loby. The manager (Geonatan) very nice and he will guide you on how to get arround Venice if you ask him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dblondie84
Couples
Naples, Italy
Oct 3, 2012

Not worth the money!!

This was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had ... the staff at the front desk was average (nothing special) however the rooms were disgusting. The location was OK, yet still difficult to find. It's about a 10-minute walk from Piazzale Roma and approx 20 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. The first room we checked into had black mold growing on the shower curtain, not just a few spots ... it was covered. Also, the room itself was very outdated and did not look or feel clean at all. The beds were uncomfortable and there was no AC, fan, or TV. When we asked to switch rooms, the receptionist was courteous enough to let us but the new room we received was much smaller and barely had enough room for our 2 regular-size suitcases. The bathroom was clean enough (no mold in this one) but there were mosquitos everywhere, even with the windows shut and NO AC or FAN. Considering we paid just over $200/night for this room we thought we would at least have gotten a clean, somewhat comfortable room but that was definitely not the case ... if you're looking for a cheaper hotel to stay at near the heart of Venice I suggest looking elsewhere even if you have to spend a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mohammed
Business
brighton ,england
Aug 16, 2012

iris hotel

unfortunately the hotel was not as good as I saw It On the website, Firstly, there was a big noise due to a pup which is located in the same Building Of the hotel. Secondly, the room has a very old furniture and What made it worst, the weather was too hot and when I asked a bout the aircondition; They said it does not work, the mantinance worker will come in two days and that's mean he would come after our leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trotter
Family
Venice
Jun 10, 2012

Mum and daughter weekend birthday break

Don't be put off by the star rating here. Hotel IRis is situated within the most beautiful part of San polo. The windy streets lead you to this small alley with the sign swinging above. Once you're inside you are welcomed into a warm reception the staff are friendly and informative. We stayed at the economy, end sharing a toilet and shower. It brought memories of my travelling days but both mum and me didn't mind a bit.. In fact we never bumped into a single person! (there were other people staying believe me). We only had a weekend so we hardly spent any time in the hotel. There was loud music playing on Friday nights at the local restaurant but it finished deadon midnight. We were at the back where it was peaceful so if you like just request a different room. It definitely made the holiday fun and stress free! We really enjoyed staying in the area and finding our way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much to see and do in Venice. Best way to enjoy this is to just walk everywhere and find these exhibits/churches

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Venice travelers
Family
USA
Jun 7, 2012

Hostel

Iris Hotel is definitely a hostel. It is listed that way in all the literature in the hotel lobby. The staff is helpful and will answer any questions concerning the area and getting around Venice. The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are small, but clean. Rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels supplied. The air conditioning and the tv did not work. We were onthe third floor of the hotel, which has a steep staircase. If you are traveling with heavy bags, it is difficult to get them up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top