$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Iris Hotel Venice

2 stars
San Polo 2910/A, Venice, 30125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
13 reviews
Great hotel

Hotel was great. Frinedly staff, helpful. Difficult to find, but great location in quiet area. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 28, 2009
Great hotel

Hotel was great. Frinedly staff, helpful. Difficult to find, but great location in quiet area. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 28, 2009
The Iris directly managed by Flora's family since 1930, is a 2 stars hotel located in a central and quiet typical venetian area, between the Ca' Foscari University and the Frari's Church.Iris Hotel is situated on the Rio della Frescada, a small canal, very closed to the boat stop n. 10 San Tom, which is between the Rialto and the Accademia bridges, on the Gran Canal.It has 25 decorated rooms in Venetian classical style. Breakfast is not included but can be booked on spot at about 5 euro per day per person.

Hotel Map

45.4358 12.3267
Area served
San Polo and Rialto Bridge
Nearby airports
Marco Polo Airport located at 30 km
Area description
FROM TRAIN STATION: 20 MINUTES- VAPORETTO n. 1 / 82 / N - ( 24 H ) STOP boat : SAN TOMA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Iris Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Iris Hotel Venice Rooms

ECONOMY DOUBLE SHARED BATHROOM
Small rooms with shared bathroom.
STANDARD - ROOM
Rooms offer air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.4 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.1 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.1 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.1 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.3 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.4 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.4 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.4 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.5 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • San Moise: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.5 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.6 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.6 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.6 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.6 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.6 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.6 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.7 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.7 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.7 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.1 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.3 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.6 mi
  • Burano: 5.5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Iris Hotel Venice

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.4

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adrian
Not Provided
Aug 21, 2010

The hotel is very simple, adequate

The hotel is very simple, adequate for a couple of days, and centrally located (if a little hard to find). Overall the stay was suitable for my needs which was just a short break to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSDM
Rome
Apr 11, 2014

Night in Venice

The staff was welcoming and fun. The location is great, right near the Grand Canal, with fun cichetti restaurants all around. It was easy to walk to all the sights in San Polo from the hotel. The room was a bit rundown and the whole building smelled of sewage the second day we were there. The breakfast was in another hotel, a short walk away. It was awful, with instant cappuccino and a couple of dry rolls--not worth the bother. We ate again after we checked out. The price was right, though, for a Saturday night in Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The happy camper.
Florida
Sep 21, 2013

Average but in the center!

The best part of the Hotel is the location. As any other person who has visited Venice, it is kind of difficult to get arround with a regular map since many of the streets do not have names and do not even apppear on the map. Be aware when you are doing the booking to this hotel beacuse the first choice does not include a bathroom in the room, you are paying for a room with a shared bathroom. In addition, there is no TV at all and the WIFI only works at the loby. The manager (Geonatan) very nice and he will guide you on how to get arround Venice if you ask him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dblondie84
Naples, Italy
Oct 3, 2012

Not worth the money!!

This was by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had ... the staff at the front desk was average (nothing special) however the rooms were disgusting. The location was OK, yet still difficult to find. It's about a 10-minute walk from Piazzale Roma and approx 20 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. The first room we checked into had black mold growing on the shower curtain, not just a few spots ... it was covered. Also, the room itself was very outdated and did not look or feel clean at all. The beds were uncomfortable and there was no AC, fan, or TV. When we asked to switch rooms, the receptionist was courteous enough to let us but the new room we received was much smaller and barely had enough room for our 2 regular-size suitcases. The bathroom was clean enough (no mold in this one) but there were mosquitos everywhere, even with the windows shut and NO AC or FAN. Considering we paid just over $200/night for this room we thought we would at least have gotten a clean, somewhat comfortable room but that was definitely not the case ... if you're looking for a cheaper hotel to stay at near the heart of Venice I suggest looking elsewhere even if you have to spend a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mohammed
Business
brighton ,england
Aug 16, 2012

iris hotel

unfortunately the hotel was not as good as I saw It On the website, Firstly, there was a big noise due to a pup which is located in the same Building Of the hotel. Secondly, the room has a very old furniture and What made it worst, the weather was too hot and when I asked a bout the aircondition; They said it does not work, the mantinance worker will come in two days and that's mean he would come after our leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trotter
Venice
Jun 10, 2012

Mum and daughter weekend birthday break

Don't be put off by the star rating here. Hotel IRis is situated within the most beautiful part of San polo. The windy streets lead you to this small alley with the sign swinging above. Once you're inside you are welcomed into a warm reception the staff are friendly and informative. We stayed at the economy, end sharing a toilet and shower. It brought memories of my travelling days but both mum and me didn't mind a bit.. In fact we never bumped into a single person! (there were other people staying believe me). We only had a weekend so we hardly spent any time in the hotel. There was loud music playing on Friday nights at the local restaurant but it finished deadon midnight. We were at the back where it was peaceful so if you like just request a different room. It definitely made the holiday fun and stress free! We really enjoyed staying in the area and finding our way around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much to see and do in Venice. Best way to enjoy this is to just walk everywhere and find these exhibits/churches

Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Venice travelers
USA
Jun 7, 2012

Hostel

Iris Hotel is definitely a hostel. It is listed that way in all the literature in the hotel lobby. The staff is helpful and will answer any questions concerning the area and getting around Venice. The hotel is centrally located. The rooms are small, but clean. Rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels supplied. The air conditioning and the tv did not work. We were onthe third floor of the hotel, which has a steep staircase. If you are traveling with heavy bags, it is difficult to get them up and down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cody S.
Chicago, IL, USA
May 25, 2012

Nothing is accurate about this place.

Hotel location is wrong on google maps. It's near San toma, but still hard to find. Calle del Christo. The hotel has one shared toilet on the first floor and three showers. All shared for the whole floor. There is lots of noise from a club behind the hotel. The description sounds nice, but that may only be accurate for a few of the rooms. There was no AC, no fans either. We had to keep the windows closed to keep out so many Mosquitos and club noise. It's a tomb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best

The airconditioner didn't work and no matter how many times you reported it nothing was done about it. VERY noisy. I not the noise from inside the hotel it was the resturant nextdoor....when the family closed the resturant at 2 am they always had their own party til very early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best

The airconditioner didn't work and no matter how many times you reported it nothing was done about it. VERY noisy. I not the noise from inside the hotel it was the resturant nextdoor....when the family closed the resturant at 2 am they always had their own party til very early in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Iris Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
murrieta, CA
Sep 28, 2009

Great hotel

Hotel was great. Frinedly staff, helpful. Difficult to find, but great location in quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top