$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

4 stars
Santa Croce 245, Giardini Papadopoli, VENEZIA, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
23 reviews
Great Trip

We stayed at the Hotel Papadopoli Venezia the last few days during a tour of Italy, we certainly... See full review

  • Touristy Traveler
  • Jan 22, 2014
Great end to our trip

Venice was our last stop on a Grand Med Cruise and we stayed an extra day at the Hotel Papadopoli.... See full review

  • Dillandjan
  • Aug 3, 2013
The Hotel Papadopoli Venezia, a member of the MGallery collection, is located in the historic city center, close to the Grand Canal and Constitution Bridge, which leads to Piazzale Roma and the train station. 96 rooms and suites with furnishings reflecting the elegance and splendor of the 18th century, and views of the Tolentini Canal and Papadopoli Gardens. There is a restaurant at the heart of our enchanting winter garden

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection Rooms

1 Sg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Single bed. Classic room with 18th century Venetian-style decor, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite TV with Sky channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer and CO Bigelow welcome gifts.
1 Kg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 king-size bed. Romantic room with 18th century Venetian-style decor, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite/cable TV with Sky channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer and CO Bigelow welcome gifts.
2 Sg beds Classic
CLASSIC ROOM - 2 single beds. Elegant room with 18th century Venetian-style decor, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite/cable TV, pay-per-view channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer and CO Bigelow welcome gifts
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room - 1 king-size bed, overlooking Tole ntini Canal. Romantic room with 18th century Venetian-style decor, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite TV with Sky channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer and CO
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Junior Suite - 1 king-size bed, overlooking Tol entini Canal. Elegant 355 sq. ft. (33 m²) room with Venetian-style decor, lounge, canal view, air conditioning, minibar, satellite TV with Sky channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrob

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Golf
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.6 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.6 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.8 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.9 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

PAPADOPOLI
Our restaurant is famous for its inspirational dishes in the grand Venetian tradition. It is not only the ideal setting for banquets, working lunches and wedding receptions, but is also perfect for a romantic dinner.
CAFEBAR SALOTTO VENEZIANO
With a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the Salotto Veneziano Café-Bar is the setting for the most exciting cultural meetings in the city. It offers a travel-inspired library and a space dedicated to comic book character Corto Maltese, with cocktail tribute.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 23
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anniversary Steve
Business
Ohio
May 22, 2014

Romantic evening in Venice

The room was very clean, but had limited space and electrical access. It was significantly more expensive than other hotels we used in Italy, and We didn't think the experience warranted the premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outside cafe's along the canal near piazza Roma were fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raton Laveur
Business
Beckenham Kent
Jun 20, 2011

The good and The bad

Travelled to Venice early June for four days and stayed at The Papadopoli. This is my 3rd visit in 3 years in Venice but 1st time in this hotel. We arrived by bus from airport (ATVO 5 EUROS per person, takes 20minutes to Piazzale Roma, runs at 20 past each hour and 10 to, i.e.10.20 - 10.50. From P.le Roma, it takes about 5mn walk to the hotel via only one bridge(Ponte del Prefetto) The hotel is very comfortable. We stayed in room 435. We have two majors complaints though. When we arrived and checked in, we were told that there will be some noises for a couple of hours "ONLY" above us as they were apparently about to finish repairing a leak. That wasn't so. It never stopped the entire 3 days we were at the hotel. Every morning we complained about the drilling and banging starting some days before 8am. Every day we were told it was the workmen last day. Clearly it was a big lie and they have done nothing to help us. Our second big disappointment was breakfast. We booked in February with [...] and we are sure that breakfast was included in the deal but by the time I realized, after reading similar reviews, that our tickets did not mention B&B I rang [...] before leaving UK but sadly they denied and blamed me for not checking earlier. After exchanging emails with them, we realized we didn't have any choice and decided we will not book with them again. We chose to have breakfast somewhere else as breakfast cost 25 euros per person! Overall it is a beautiful hotel but as we had paid our bill before hand, NO ONE CARE to help with our two complaints. Great pity as we are coming back soonand we would have suggested the hotel to friends and family who are looking for accommodations for a wedding in the autumn. Not because of the accommodation but for the total careless attitude for customers who have paid in advance. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favourite area to dine was in Dorsoduro where you will have better value and service for your money and some really good restaurants away from the crowed popular spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olde Gnome
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Comfortable, and conveniently located.

We have stayed at this hotel before, so we knew what we could expect. The Papadopoli hotel has very comfortable beds. The deluxe rooms were nicely furnished, and have good bathrooms. The hotel dining room serves a good breakfast (25 Euros), and the bar is a great place to relax after a big day of sightseeing. The Papadopoli is on a small canal, and is next to the Papadopoli Gardens. It is also close to Piazzale Roma where there is a taxi stand on the Papadopoli Gardens side. A regular taxi from Piazzale Roma took us across the causeway, and right to the new airport terminal entrance. The water taxi, and vaporetto docks are a long, long walk from the airport terminal. We took a water taxi to the hotel, and although it is a romantic way to reach the hotel, the regular cab from Piazzale Roma was easier on the feet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to take more than one trip on a vaporetto each day, be sure to buy a one day, two day, three day, or weekly pass. A single ticket on the vaporetto is 6.50 Euros, while a three day pass was only 33 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Banker Ash
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Jun 22, 2013

Vacation

The staff was very friendly and easy to talk with. The hotel was within walking distance from the train Santa Lucia Train Station which was very convenient for us. The room was small, but as expected in Venice. Much to our surprise they had an actual king size bed, not the 2 double beds pushed together as most other hotels in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 4, 2010

Nice Stay

Was a nice stay. We got a cute room with a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docreese
Business
Las Vegas,Nevada
May 23, 2011

Great location,clean room

The room was clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Our room had a view of the canal behind the hotel which was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant just over the small bridge by the front entrance was spectacular. We ate there 3 times in 3 days and yhroughout the rest of our trip to london, paris, rome and venice, I was adament about trying different places!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvsvenice
Business
Wi
May 21, 2011

Papadopoli very nice

Good except for lack of sundries store and a $17 per day charge for WiFi. At $335 a night, you'd think they could afford to comp that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Cruisers
Business
Fair Oaks, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Sofitel (AKA Papadopoli)

Great location! This was our first trip to Venice. We took a free bus from the cruise terminal that dropped us off at the Piazzale Roma. The Hotel Sofitel was literally within walking distance and only ONE bridge away! This was a huge relief since we had 3 large and two small suit cases. The locals knew the hotel as Sofitel. The building still says Sofitel also. The staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. They held our luggage until our room was ready (we arrived prior to check-in time) and had our luggage placed in our room prior to our return. The room was lovely with a terrance overlooking a canal. The only small problem encountered was that I could only plug the converter in at an awkward location for my wife's curling iron and NO WIFI. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. This was a great location and hotel for those flying in OR cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GLASGOW BHOY
Business
GLASGOW
Apr 12, 2012

Weekend away

1st time in Venice & was unsure about hotel location in relation to getting about the city so booked a hotel with easy access from the airport which the Papadopoli was. After a 15min bus transfer from the airport to the bus terminal the hotel is a 2 min walk away in a typical Venetian setting. Although further away from St Mark's Square than other places, there are plenty of bars, shops & restaurants nearby. The walk to the Rialto Bridge & St.Mark's does not take long with plenty to see along the way. Having a drink in the hotel can be expensive, however, I would imagine this is the same wherever you stay 4 or 5 star, would recommend having a drink in their bar of an evening to enjoy the surroundings. Having looked at the other hotels near St.Mark's on my return I would stay in this particular hotel again !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining can be expensive in Venice so would recommend eating on the go during the day & saving your dining treat for the evening. A lot of the small bars are fairly inexpensive for drinks & food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Touristy Traveler
Business
NYC
Jan 22, 2014

Great Trip

We stayed at the Hotel Papadopoli Venezia the last few days during a tour of Italy, we certainly saved the best for last! We picked the hotel because we had heard the stories of friends getting lost in Venice and thought it would be easy to find from the train we were arriving on, and we were right. We were at the hotel within 10 minutes and didn't have any trouble getting there even with 3 rolling luggage bags a bookbag and a duffel bag between the two of us. The hotel check in was fast and friendly, they even gave us a free upgrade due to availability. The room was spacious and quiet - a rarity from what we found on our trip. It was raining during our stay but the hotel offered us an umbrella to use The hotel breakfast was included in our rate and was absolutely amazing! They served eggs, bacon, croissants, a cured meats board (prosciutto, salami, etc.), a cheese board, fruit platter, assorted pastries, pies, yogurt, cereal, assorted nuts and dried fruits, various jams, honey, nutella, and even offered delicious freshly made cappuccino and espresso drinks. Breakfast is served in a green room of sorts with vines growing up the bark-covered walls and covering the ceiling with green leaves -- super fun! I thought the bar was great, there are various art pieces displayed around the hotel including the bar, which had a happy hour every night at 7 when we were there, it was never crowded which was great for us. The hotel is located only a 2-3 minutes walking distance from everything we wanted to see - the downtown area, San Marco's Square, Santa Margherita's square - and the city boats to Murano We went in January which was a great time to go to avoid tourists and long lines but we did find that a number of the shops and restaurants were closed, didn't seem to limit us at all as there was still plenty of great shopping and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top