$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

4 stars
View map of Santa Croce 245, Giardini Papadopoli, VENEZIA, 30135

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPMH
Los Angeles, California
Oct 16, 2012

Fantastic hotel with great views of canal

Had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Paid extra for a canal view room and boy was it worth it! They said they could not guarantee a balcony, but I got a room on the top floor (5th) on a corner with a balcony extending all the way around the corner and passed. Amazing! The service was also terrific - very helpful people at the front desk and, while pricey at 20 Euros, the breakfast was worthwhile. Just have a good meal and skip lunch. Also, literally one short bridge from the bus terminal and a short walk from the train station. Super easy location, which was perfect for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olde Gnome
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Comfortable, and conveniently located.

We have stayed at this hotel before, so we knew what we could expect. The Papadopoli hotel has very comfortable beds. The deluxe rooms were nicely furnished, and have good bathrooms. The hotel dining room serves a good breakfast (25 Euros), and the bar is a great place to relax after a big day of sightseeing. The Papadopoli is on a small canal, and is next to the Papadopoli Gardens. It is also close to Piazzale Roma where there is a taxi stand on the Papadopoli Gardens side. A regular taxi from Piazzale Roma took us across the causeway, and right to the new airport terminal entrance. The water taxi, and vaporetto docks are a long, long walk from the airport terminal. We took a water taxi to the hotel, and although it is a romantic way to reach the hotel, the regular cab from Piazzale Roma was easier on the feet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to take more than one trip on a vaporetto each day, be sure to buy a one day, two day, three day, or weekly pass. A single ticket on the vaporetto is 6.50 Euros, while a three day pass was only 33 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelcruiser
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 28, 2011

Location, location, location!

We were going on a cruise and wanted a convenient hotel. I read the reviews and felt this would be a good place to stay. I was so right! Here are some tips that weren't on the website. When you arrive at the airport, take the EXPRESS bus to Piazzelle Roma for 5 euros. The hotel is one small bridge away. We took a water taxi to the ship but later learned we could have gone much cheaper on the people mover-(it's like a train). The water taxi was 20 euros EACH and the people mover was 6.50. The people mover is right by the bus station and very convenient to the hotel. We stayed at the beginning and end of the cruise. The first night they weren't busy and we were upgraded to a beautiful, spacious room. When we returned after the cruise, we got the room we initially paid for which still was very nice. There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby but the hotel has a gorgeous, expensive restaurant. We did not eat there. We talked to someone on the cruise that was staying nearby and had a much smaller room and they wished they had booked here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

read the review about the transportation to the airport and cruise ship.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Susan
Business
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great place to stay in Venice

Being in Venice for the first time, this was an excellent place to stay. Beautiful, Italian stlye charming place. It had all the amenities you'd want. Centrally located near all transportation yet quiet and away from all the hussle and bussle. The area for dining was equisite. Breakfast was amazing and you thought you were eating in a garden every day. The staff were very helpful and professional. We were very happy here. I would return to this hotel if I were staying in Venice again. We also stayed in Rome at a hotel that was similar in price but it wasn't half as nice as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant across the way from Hotel Papadopoli! Unforttunately, I can't remember the name but it's directly across from the hotel and you have to walk over the bridge to get there. Wonderful authentic Venice, Italian food. Chef Susan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aug 2011
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Close and Convenient!

If you do not stay here be prepared to walk long distances to and from the Bus or Water Taxi drop off. This hotel could not be any closer to the Plazza Roma. 5 Min. walk! Over 1 bridge! Great hotel also very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The money you will save going to another Hotel will cost you big bucks in transportation to that hotel. 100 Euro is common for a water taxi, from the Airport! The ATVO has a express Coach to and from the Plazza Roma for 5 Euro each way non stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raton Laveur
Business
Beckenham Kent
Jun 20, 2011

The good and The bad

Travelled to Venice early June for four days and stayed at The Papadopoli. This is my 3rd visit in 3 years in Venice but 1st time in this hotel. We arrived by bus from airport (ATVO 5 EUROS per person, takes 20minutes to Piazzale Roma, runs at 20 past each hour and 10 to, i.e.10.20 - 10.50. From P.le Roma, it takes about 5mn walk to the hotel via only one bridge(Ponte del Prefetto) The hotel is very comfortable. We stayed in room 435. We have two majors complaints though. When we arrived and checked in, we were told that there will be some noises for a couple of hours "ONLY" above us as they were apparently about to finish repairing a leak. That wasn't so. It never stopped the entire 3 days we were at the hotel. Every morning we complained about the drilling and banging starting some days before 8am. Every day we were told it was the workmen last day. Clearly it was a big lie and they have done nothing to help us. Our second big disappointment was breakfast. We booked in February with [...] and we are sure that breakfast was included in the deal but by the time I realized, after reading similar reviews, that our tickets did not mention B&B I rang [...] before leaving UK but sadly they denied and blamed me for not checking earlier. After exchanging emails with them, we realized we didn't have any choice and decided we will not book with them again. We chose to have breakfast somewhere else as breakfast cost 25 euros per person! Overall it is a beautiful hotel but as we had paid our bill before hand, NO ONE CARE to help with our two complaints. Great pity as we are coming back soonand we would have suggested the hotel to friends and family who are looking for accommodations for a wedding in the autumn. Not because of the accommodation but for the total careless attitude for customers who have paid in advance. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favourite area to dine was in Dorsoduro where you will have better value and service for your money and some really good restaurants away from the crowed popular spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raton Laveur
Business
Beckenham Kent
Jun 20, 2011

The good and The bad

Travelled to Venice early June for four days and stayed at The Papadopoli. This is my 3rd visit in 3 years in Venice but 1st time in this hotel. We arrived by bus from airport (ATVO 5 EUROS per person, takes 20minutes to Piazzale Roma, runs at 20 past each hour and 10 to, i.e.10.20 - 10.50. From P.le Roma, it takes about 5mn walk to the hotel via only one bridge(Ponte del Prefetto) The hotel is very comfortable. We stayed in room 435. We have two majors complaints though. When we arrived and checked in, we were told that there will be some noises for a couple of hours "ONLY" above us as they were apparently about to finish repairing a leak. That wasn't so. It never stopped the entire 3 days we were at the hotel. Every morning we complained about the drilling and banging starting some days before 8am. Every day we were told it was the workmen last day. Clearly it was a big lie and they have done nothing to help us. Our second big disappointment was breakfast. We booked in February with [...] and we are sure that breakfast was included in the deal but by the time I realized, after reading similar reviews, that our tickets did not mention B&B I rang [...] before leaving UK but sadly they denied and blamed me for not checking earlier. After exchanging emails with them, we realized we didn't have any choice and decided we will not book with them again. We chose to have breakfast somewhere else as breakfast cost 25 euros per person! Overall it is a beautiful hotel but as we had paid our bill before hand, NO ONE CARE to help with our two complaints. Great pity as we are coming back soonand we would have suggested the hotel to friends and family who are looking for accommodations for a wedding in the autumn. Not because of the accommodation but for the total careless attitude for customers who have paid in advance. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favourite area to dine was in Dorsoduro where you will have better value and service for your money and some really good restaurants away from the crowed popular spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docreese
Business
Las Vegas,Nevada
May 23, 2011

Great location,clean room

The room was clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Our room had a view of the canal behind the hotel which was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant just over the small bridge by the front entrance was spectacular. We ate there 3 times in 3 days and yhroughout the rest of our trip to london, paris, rome and venice, I was adament about trying different places!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvsvenice
Business
Wi
May 21, 2011

Papadopoli very nice

Good except for lack of sundries store and a $17 per day charge for WiFi. At $335 a night, you'd think they could afford to comp that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sr. single traveler
Business
Boston, Ma
Nov 16, 2010

Old Venezia

Wonderful location, size, service & food. Buffet breakfast is excellant! Room was elegant & clean with nice extras for nil(huge bath robe, slippers & personalize welcoming note with biscuits for coffee). Very close to the train station, grand canal & private water taxi service as it is on a small canal. Easy 40 minute walk to St. Marks square but allow extra time for wrong turns. Loved every moment I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Must walk to hotel so find location of "bus terminal" and walk over a small canal to the "garden" and there it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Cruisers
Business
Fair Oaks, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Sofitel (AKA Papadopoli)

Great location! This was our first trip to Venice. We took a free bus from the cruise terminal that dropped us off at the Piazzale Roma. The Hotel Sofitel was literally within walking distance and only ONE bridge away! This was a huge relief since we had 3 large and two small suit cases. The locals knew the hotel as Sofitel. The building still says Sofitel also. The staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. They held our luggage until our room was ready (we arrived prior to check-in time) and had our luggage placed in our room prior to our return. The room was lovely with a terrance overlooking a canal. The only small problem encountered was that I could only plug the converter in at an awkward location for my wife's curling iron and NO WIFI. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. This was a great location and hotel for those flying in OR cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top