$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

4 stars
Santa Croce 245, Giardini Papadopoli, VENEZIA, 30135
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
22 reviews
Great Trip

We stayed at the Hotel Papadopoli Venezia the last few days during a tour of Italy, we certainly... See full review

  • Touristy Traveler
  • Jan 22, 2014
Great end to our trip

Venice was our last stop on a Grand Med Cruise and we stayed an extra day at the Hotel Papadopoli.... See full review

  • Dillandjan
  • Aug 3, 2013
The Hotel Papadopoli Venezia, a member of the MGallery collection, is located in the historic city center, close to the Grand Canal and Constitution Bridge, which leads to Piazzale Roma and the train station. 96 rooms and suites with furnishings reflecting the elegance and splendor of the 18th century, and views of the Tolentini Canal and Papadopoli Gardens. There is a restaurant at the heart of our enchanting winter garden

Hotel Map

45.4377 12.3213
Nearby airports
VCE, (VCE), 15.00, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection Rooms

1 Kg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 King size bed. Romantic room with 18th century Venetian-style decor, air conditioning, minibar, safe, satellite/cable TV with Sky channels, free WIFI, bathroom with bathtub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer and Culti welcome products.
1 Sg bed Clc
CLASSIC ROOM - 1 Single bed. Classic room decorated in 18th Century Venetian style. Air-conditioning, minibar, safty deposit box, satellite TV with Sky channels, Free WiFi internet. Bathroom with tub or shower, bathrobes, hairdryer, Culti amenities.
2 Sg beds Classic
CLASSIC ROOM - 2 single beds. Elegant room decorated in 18th Century Venetian style. Air-conditioning, minibar, safety deposit box, satellite TV with Sky channels, Free WiFi internet. Bathroom with tub and shower, bathrobes, hairdryer, Culti bath amenit
2 Sg beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 Single beds, overlooking Tolent ini Canal. Elegant, decorated in 18th Century Venetian style, overlooking Tolentini Canal. Air-conditioning, minibar, safety deposit box, satellite TV with Sky channels, Free WiFi internet. Bathroom with t
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room - 1 king-size bed, overlooking Tole ntini Canal. Romantic, decorated in 18th Century Venetian style, overlooking Tolentini Canal. Air-conditioning, minibar, safety deposit box, satellite TV with Sky channels, Free WiFi internet. Bathroom wit
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Junior Suite - 1 king-size bed, overlooking Tol entini Canal. 33sqm, 355sqf. Glamorous 18th Century Venetian style, Canal view. Air-conditioning, minibar, satellite/cable TV with Sky channels, Free WiFi internet. Bathroom with tub, shower with jets, bat

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Golf
Boating
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Computer rental
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Bath tub
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.6 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.3 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.5 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.6 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.6 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0.7 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • San Moise: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.8 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.9 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.9 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.9 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.9 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.9 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.9 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.9 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 1 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 1 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 1.3 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 1.3 mi
  • Arsenale: 1.6 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.9 mi
  • Burano: 5.6 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

PAPADOPOLI
Our restaurant is famous for its inspirational dishes in the grand Venetian tradition. It is not only the ideal setting for banquets, working lunches and wedding receptions, but is also perfect for a romantic dinner.
CAFEBAR SALOTTO VENEZIANO
With a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the Salotto Veneziano Café-Bar is the setting for the most exciting cultural meetings in the city. It offers a travel-inspired library and a space dedicated to comic book character Corto Maltese, with cocktail tribute.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
From Walnut Creek
California
Apr 13, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Papadopoli Venezia

Excellent location - was able to take bus from airport, and taxi back. We enjoyed our walks through the narrow streets to Piazza San Marco. Rooms were excellent, clean and luxurious. A comfortable bed is hard to get in Europe! Breakfast was included in our package, excellent food selection. Free trip to a glass gallery in Murano Island on a private water taxi was a plus, and the glass blowing facility was great. Just don't feel pressured to buy unless you really like their stuff. Expensive, but beautiful collector items. Their souvenier shop was more reasonable for smaller items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping opportunities on the way to the Piazza (ranging cheap to expensive depending on you taste) if you plan to get Venetian masks, Venetian jewelry and special fabrics.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Susan
Business
Newport Beach, CA, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Great place to stay in Venice

Being in Venice for the first time, this was an excellent place to stay. Beautiful, Italian stlye charming place. It had all the amenities you'd want. Centrally located near all transportation yet quiet and away from all the hussle and bussle. The area for dining was equisite. Breakfast was amazing and you thought you were eating in a garden every day. The staff were very helpful and professional. We were very happy here. I would return to this hotel if I were staying in Venice again. We also stayed in Rome at a hotel that was similar in price but it wasn't half as nice as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant across the way from Hotel Papadopoli! Unforttunately, I can't remember the name but it's directly across from the hotel and you have to walk over the bridge to get there. Wonderful authentic Venice, Italian food. Chef Susan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aug 2011
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 19, 2011

Close and Convenient!

If you do not stay here be prepared to walk long distances to and from the Bus or Water Taxi drop off. This hotel could not be any closer to the Plazza Roma. 5 Min. walk! Over 1 bridge! Great hotel also very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The money you will save going to another Hotel will cost you big bucks in transportation to that hotel. 100 Euro is common for a water taxi, from the Airport! The ATVO has a express Coach to and from the Plazza Roma for 5 Euro each way non stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raton Laveur
Business
Beckenham Kent
Jun 20, 2011

The good and The bad

Travelled to Venice early June for four days and stayed at The Papadopoli. This is my 3rd visit in 3 years in Venice but 1st time in this hotel. We arrived by bus from airport (ATVO 5 EUROS per person, takes 20minutes to Piazzale Roma, runs at 20 past each hour and 10 to, i.e.10.20 - 10.50. From P.le Roma, it takes about 5mn walk to the hotel via only one bridge(Ponte del Prefetto) The hotel is very comfortable. We stayed in room 435. We have two majors complaints though. When we arrived and checked in, we were told that there will be some noises for a couple of hours "ONLY" above us as they were apparently about to finish repairing a leak. That wasn't so. It never stopped the entire 3 days we were at the hotel. Every morning we complained about the drilling and banging starting some days before 8am. Every day we were told it was the workmen last day. Clearly it was a big lie and they have done nothing to help us. Our second big disappointment was breakfast. We booked in February with [...] and we are sure that breakfast was included in the deal but by the time I realized, after reading similar reviews, that our tickets did not mention B&B I rang [...] before leaving UK but sadly they denied and blamed me for not checking earlier. After exchanging emails with them, we realized we didn't have any choice and decided we will not book with them again. We chose to have breakfast somewhere else as breakfast cost 25 euros per person! Overall it is a beautiful hotel but as we had paid our bill before hand, NO ONE CARE to help with our two complaints. Great pity as we are coming back soonand we would have suggested the hotel to friends and family who are looking for accommodations for a wedding in the autumn. Not because of the accommodation but for the total careless attitude for customers who have paid in advance. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our favourite area to dine was in Dorsoduro where you will have better value and service for your money and some really good restaurants away from the crowed popular spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Docreese
Business
Las Vegas,Nevada
May 23, 2011

Great location,clean room

The room was clean and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Our room had a view of the canal behind the hotel which was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant just over the small bridge by the front entrance was spectacular. We ate there 3 times in 3 days and yhroughout the rest of our trip to london, paris, rome and venice, I was adament about trying different places!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvsvenice
Business
Wi
May 21, 2011

Papadopoli very nice

Good except for lack of sundries store and a $17 per day charge for WiFi. At $335 a night, you'd think they could afford to comp that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sr. single traveler
Business
Boston, Ma
Nov 16, 2010

Old Venezia

Wonderful location, size, service & food. Buffet breakfast is excellant! Room was elegant & clean with nice extras for nil(huge bath robe, slippers & personalize welcoming note with biscuits for coffee). Very close to the train station, grand canal & private water taxi service as it is on a small canal. Easy 40 minute walk to St. Marks square but allow extra time for wrong turns. Loved every moment I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Must walk to hotel so find location of "bus terminal" and walk over a small canal to the "garden" and there it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anniversary Cruisers
Business
Fair Oaks, CA
Nov 14, 2010

Sofitel (AKA Papadopoli)

Great location! This was our first trip to Venice. We took a free bus from the cruise terminal that dropped us off at the Piazzale Roma. The Hotel Sofitel was literally within walking distance and only ONE bridge away! This was a huge relief since we had 3 large and two small suit cases. The locals knew the hotel as Sofitel. The building still says Sofitel also. The staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. They held our luggage until our room was ready (we arrived prior to check-in time) and had our luggage placed in our room prior to our return. The room was lovely with a terrance overlooking a canal. The only small problem encountered was that I could only plug the converter in at an awkward location for my wife's curling iron and NO WIFI. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. This was a great location and hotel for those flying in OR cruising.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Jul 27, 2010

Papadopoli Venezia

Papadopoli Venezia was in a good location if you need to get to trains, buses and cabs. One might bypass the hotel, however, because on one side of the building, the sign says Hotel Sofitel which I understand is the former name. The staff was helpful but don't expect to conduct money exchange there as many hotels do. The room we had was comfortable and clean but the Air-conditioning was terrible and it was hot in Venice this July! We ate in the hotel(stupid) as the rates are high but the food was good. Would stay there again and would recommend it to others. It was advertised that we could get a free shuttle to Murano but at the time we arrived, (2pm), the staff refused to accomodate us and we had to negotiate for a water taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrboy
Business
Dallas TX
Jul 12, 2010

Papadopoli Venezia

Convenient location (once you have found it). Charge $240 Euro for a room and then charge you for in-room Internet Servicew - PLEASE - thaat is WRONG.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Papadopoli Venezia - MGallery Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2010

Venice

Beautiful hotel and rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top