$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

3 stars
San Polo 677 A, San Polo Venice, Venice, 30125
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
9 reviews
In the heart of it

Location was great, just steps from the Rialto Bridge and easy transport from a vaporetto stop.... See full review

  • retiree explorer
  • Sep 29, 2014
Expect a budget hotel and you won't be disappointed

We stayed here 4th-7th August 2014. Reading the other reviews we knew it wasn't a *** hotel, so... See full review

  • Holly Hounslow
  • Aug 9, 2014
The Hotel Locanda Ovidius is renowned for the careful and accurate service offered its guests, who can enjoy the right balance between Venice elegance and modern comfort. All rooms, distributed on two floors, may be reached through a large staircase or a lift. Every floor includes an impressive living room wit old paintings, mirrors, original Murano chandeliers and large windows offering stunning views of typical Venice buildings. Every living room has a wonderful terrace with a view onto the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge, where you can spend your time enjoying a long drink, looking at the sunset or the moonrise, in a magic atmosphere who reveals the secrets of a vibrant city. The Hotel Locanda Ovidius is strategically located in the San Polo district, at easy reach from the greatest cultural and fashionable attractions of the city. Amenity - Free Breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice also booked these hotels.

Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room with double or two twin beds includes 18th century Venetian style, and equipped with ensuite bathroom with shower or jacuzzi, hair-dryer, individually controlled Air Conditioning, minibar, free safe box, telephone with internal and external line, Satellite television. The Hotel Locanda Ovidius, in a comfortable and lovely atmosphere, offers to its guests a selection of room types. Guests can choose between junior suite rooms, standard rooms or cheaper rooms, overlooking the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge or looking at a "calle", a typical venetian street.

Amenities

No amenity information is available for this hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rialto Food Market: 0 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 0 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • San Zulian: 0.2 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 0.2 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 0.3 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Totem Il Canale: 0.3 mi
  • St Marks Square: 0.3 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 0.3 mi
  • San Moise: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Museo Correr: 0.3 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 0.3 mi
  • Archeological museum: 0.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 0.4 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 0.4 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 0.4 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 0.4 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 0.5 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 0.5 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 0.5 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 0.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 0.7 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 0.7 mi
  • Port of Venice: 0.7 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 0.8 mi
  • Arsenale: 0.9 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 1.2 mi
  • Burano: 5.1 mi
  • Lace Museum: 5.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1430
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
retiree explorer
Business
Ohio
Sep 29, 2014

In the heart of it

Location was great, just steps from the Rialto Bridge and easy transport from a vaporetto stop. Directions on the hotel site were very helpful. Breakfast was fine, although no fresh fruit was available during our stay. Staff went out of their way to help us, but unfortunately there were things that needed fixing. The AC barely worked at all (in September heat), the seat to the toilet was half broken, and the TV didn't function at all the first day. They worked on it our second day, and we got one channel. We were in an adjoining building, with no elevator, so had stairs up one floor. Still, the room was a good size for Europe. I'd recommend it for the location most of all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly Hounslow
Business
London, UK
Aug 9, 2014

Expect a budget hotel and you won't be disappointed

We stayed here 4th-7th August 2014. Reading the other reviews we knew it wasn't a *** hotel, so were not disappointed upon arrival. From the outside it looks a little rundown (then so do most buildings in Venice - it's part of the charm) and the entrance is down a side alley. (Apparently for some of the rooms you have to go out of Reception and into the building right next door). Once inside, the Reception is small, as is the lift. Our room was on the small side, the furniture and decoration were ornate venician in style, but tired. The ensuite was fine, but again tired, with a small shower cubicle and a shower that did the job, but was certainly not powerful. Toiletories and towels provided were OK, but on the rough side. The view from our room was zero, as we looked out onto a wall and couldn't see anything else. Our room had a security box. However, what made the room acceptable was the cleanliness and the air conditioning which was certainly welcome. Our room was on the side towards the back and was very quiet as night - no problems sleeping at all (although we would have liked a second pillow each). The continental breakfast was extremely minimal in choice, but you could go back for as much as you wanted. From the breakfast room window you get a great view of the Grand Canal and if you step onto the balcony, the Rialto Bridge as well. It's a pity the balcony isn't wide as it would have been lovely to sit and watch the coming and goings on the water. It's just wide enought to stand on. The hotel is in a perfect location. Right by the Rialto Bridge. Everything is within 10-20 mins walking distance and the water bus stop is opposite the hotel. We found all the staff friendly and polite. This is a budget hotel that is value for money, ideally located and very clean. Should we be looking for a budget hotel again, we would definitely return. To make this stay even more enjoyable we would have liked more choice at breakfast. Also as the security box key and your room key are on the same key-ring which they like you to hand in everytime you go out, we would have liked more security in checking who we were before handing the key over each time. At least 3 of the Receptionists hadn't seen us before but happily handed us the key we asked for - we could have been anyone really. In summary, it is great value for money, very clean and in an ideal location. We would return and recommend this budget hotel. We would not recommend this hotel for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Although it's lovely to sit by the Grand Canal and eat, walk into the side alleys and further away from the major attractions for better value for money. Also when you walk from the hotel to the Rialto Bridge you walk past 3 or 4 restaurants who all ask you if you want to eat. In fact this happened outside many restaurants. It did get rather bothersome but a polite 'no thank you' and they left you alone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bellissima
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect location, nice & quite

Perfect view! Very simpatico! Beautiful style! Great location to get everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike the gypsy
Business
staten island, new york
Dec 26, 2013

a no-frills place, and that's ok

with rooms in the exuberant range in this unique city, the locanda is a place for those who are willing to forfeit certain creature comforts. located near the rialto bridge and market, it is a good 15-minute walk from the station, and about 8 minutes from st. mark's. breakfast is fair, with no variety or fruit. (i don't think i've ever seen a buffet in italy without fruit of some kind). coffee is mediocre , at best, but you can get an excellent cup at the market across the street (or for that matter, at the breakfast buffet) for the same price of one euro. most accommodating staff. my only reservation, or perhaps an idiocnycrasy, is that to get heat in the room, you must go through the front desk. mind you, you can tell them any temperature you want up to 25 C, but you can't regulate it yourself from the room, as the thermostat is non-functional. the other minus is that heat is turned off in the late evening, and does not come back on until 8 a.m., either in the room or bath. staff goes out of its way to please. if you're spending more than a couple of nights in venice, you may want to opt for something more upscale, with , of course, a higher tab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat from the local take-out shops. you'll pay six times the price if you order the same on the canal. on the other hand, you're in the city where atmosphere is important. i couldn't see the purpose in eating in the freezing cold, even though heat is on when you can get just the same if not better at local take-outs. to each his/ her own.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moppy hop
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Jul 4, 2013

Great location!

Perfect location right near Rialto bridge, and even has a balcony to hang out on that overlooks the bridge and canal. Staff was very polite and helpful, and the double room we got was a great size. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Wonderful balcony overlooking the canal and bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zienda
Business
Kent, England
Jun 21, 2013

good value for money. Central location

The staff were very friendly and helpful with information. The room was neat, tidy and cosy with enough toiletries all the time. I found the mini bar ready with various types of drinks to choose from with the price list provided as well. The view from the balcony is fantastic. Guests can enjoy watching the gondolas, water buses and taxis going by. To get transport to other parts of Venice is walking distance from the hotel including that to the Airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are shops in all directions close to the hotel. You can walk to most of the shops. There are good quality shops around. You can shop till you drop. Also plenty of places to eat around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cristy
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Jun 2, 2013

Great location

Staff was very helpful and kind, Hotel has great location, room was clean, very small and specially the shower, very small old t.v, blower very difficult to work with, Hotel needs some upgrades to make it perfect it is a bit expensive as is but overall it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Country
Business
NZ
May 24, 2013

Charming billet

Pleasant and charming wee family operated hotel,met all our simple short stay needs in this memorable city. Thank you Ovidius!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Locanda Ovidius Venice

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlanL
Business
Oxford
Apr 16, 2013

Great base camp

Being right by the Rialto is perfect for getting to anywhere in the city, either by foot or vaporetto. The staff are very welcoming and all speak good English. So there's a bit of peeling paintwork and not all the lights work but that's true of most places in Venice - shabby chic! One moan: no wifi in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT fall for the sales pitches of the canalfront restaurants right outside the hotel - utterly ordinary. A short walk in any direction opens up a host of far better options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top