$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Ducale Hotel Venice

3 stars
View map of Via Triestina 5 Favaro Veneto, Mestre Venice, Venice, 30030

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
31 reviews
Stop over

Pleasant !! Staff was good !! Bus line in good place.... See full review

  • Dinad
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perfect reasonable off island location

We have a rental car and were looking for accommodations that offered parking and easy access to... See full review

  • PualSF
  • Oct 18, 2013
Known for its ambience and elegance, Ducale Hotel is an ideal accommodation spot in Venice for all types of travellers.Situated in the centre of Venice's mainland, the Ducale Hotel Venice is just 3 kilometres from Venice's Marco Polo Airport and 6 kilometres from Venice's Roma Square.Ducale Hotel Venice offers 40 guestrooms that are tastefully decorated and facilitated with modern amenities to ensure you a comfortable stay.

A tax has been imposed by the city for stays beginning 1 October 2012, and will be collected directly at the property. The tax ranges from EUR 1 to EUR 5 per person, per night. The amount has been determined by the local administration, depends on the star rating of hotel and the season of travel. This tax does not apply from the 6th consecutive night of stay onwards, to residents of Venice City and children under 10 years of age. Please note that further exemptions may apply. For additional details on this tax please check with the hotel property at check-in.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ducale Hotel Venice also booked these hotels.

★★★
$61
3.1 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$63
3.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$87
3.9 / 5 72 reviews
★★★★
$79
3.9 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$91
4.3 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$69
3.6 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$114
3.4 / 5 44 reviews
★★★★
$88
4.0 / 5 6 reviews

Ducale Hotel Venice Rooms

double room
All rooms have bathrooms with showers (some with tubs), LCD satellite television with SKY Channels, safes, telephone, air conditioning, hairdryers, wooden parquet floors, Venetian stucco, Murano light fixtures, fire alarm system and fireproof accessories.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
Dining
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Ghetto: 4.6 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 4.8 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 5.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 5.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 5.1 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 5.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 5.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 5.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 5.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 5.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 5.4 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 5.5 mi
  • San Zulian: 5.5 mi
  • Ghetto: 4.6 mi
  • Santa Lucia Station: 4.8 mi
  • Ca'Pesaro: 5 mi
  • Scuola Grande Arciconfraternita di San Rocco: 5.1 mi
  • Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari: 5.1 mi
  • Basilica dei Frari: 5.1 mi
  • Madonna dell'Orto: 5.2 mi
  • Rialto Bridge: 5.3 mi
  • Rialto Food Market: 5.3 mi
  • Murano Glass Museum: 5.3 mi
  • Colleoni Monument: 5.3 mi
  • Palazzo Grassi: 5.4 mi
  • Chiesa di Santo Stefano: 5.4 mi
  • Art Gallery Bugno: 5.5 mi
  • San Zulian: 5.5 mi
  • La Fenice Theatre: 5.5 mi
  • Port of Venice: 5.5 mi
  • Gallerie dell'Accademia: 5.5 mi
  • Clocktower in Piazza San Marco: 5.6 mi
  • Biennale Gardens: 5.6 mi
  • Basilica di San Marco: 5.6 mi
  • St Marks Square: 5.6 mi
  • San Moise: 5.6 mi
  • Campanile di San Marco: 5.6 mi
  • Museo Correr: 5.6 mi
  • San Francesco della Vigna: 5.6 mi
  • Archeological museum: 5.6 mi
  • National Library of St Mark's: 5.6 mi
  • Palazzo Ducale: 5.6 mi
  • Peggy Guggenheim Collection: 5.6 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Bridge of Sighs: 5.7 mi
  • Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: 5.7 mi
  • Arsenale: 5.9 mi
  • San Giorgio Maggiore: 6.1 mi
  • San Pietro di Castello: 6.1 mi
  • Burano: 6.5 mi
  • Lace Museum: 6.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ducale Hotel Venice

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
ohio
Sep 10, 2010

ok at best

This hotel looked promising at first and the front desk lady was nice when we walked in. But English was definitely NOT something they practiced. The lift was the smallest Id ever seen with it being a tight squeeze for my husband and myself and two bags. When we got into the room it was a decent size bed but the restroom was awful. The shower barely fit me in it and if the shower head was pointing straight you were walking out to a puddle. Breakfast was provided and the servers were really nice but it was the SAME EXACT THING everyday and we stayed 3 days. They had no restaurant in the hotel nor was there a decent one within walking distance. Wi-fi connection was terrible and kept knocking me off. When I tried to explain to the front desk what the issue was he gave me an attitude and started talking in Italian to another co-worker. Very rude. The good thing was that the bus 4 stop was a hop away from the hotel and it took you right into the center of Venice. It took, on a good day, 30 minutes to get there. On bad days up to an hour and 15 minutes. The hotel said they were very close to the city center when I was looking up the hotels for Venice....they were close to the city center but it wasnt for Venice. It was for Mestre. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to stay then choose Ducale but if you dont mind spending money get one a little nicer and one that is actually located in Venice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimmyFiji
Couples
Vancouver BC
Sep 17, 2014

Very Dissappointed

We stayed here one night after a cruise because of the free shuttle to the airport in the morning. When I called the hotel for a shuttle to their hotel, they stated that these arrangements need to made a couple of weeks in advance. Seriously!!!! I cost me 40 euros each way via taxi to get to the airport. I would've spent the extra money on a different hotel if I had known. The hotel was blunt in saying it was my responsibility, zero customer service. Nowhere on their website does it say to book a shuttle in advance. I do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
number 12
Couples
Sacramento, ca
Nov 11, 2011

Adequate hotel close to bus stop

Hotel was adequate. It was not updated, at least in the last 20 years, and the walls were quite thin. We didn't need to watch adult entertainment as we could hear it all through the walls! : ) Close to the bus which takes about 25-30 minutes to reach Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy in KL
Single
Canada
Jun 27, 2012

Price not bad.

Tiny room, tiny bed, tiny elevator. Tram and Bus right out side door. 20 min. ride to Venice. 10 min. ride to Mestre Station. Breakfast was ok, typical Euopean breakfast buffet. I was better than paying 200 euro for a place in Venice, which might not have been any better. No other restaurants close by. Ducale reastaurant is adequate but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BAiresAdventure
Single
Atlanta, GA
Aug 16, 2012

Close to Venice

I booked this hotel with the impression that it is close to Venice. It isn't. It is 20 - 35 mins. depending in which route you take. I wasn't satisfied. By the time you pay for hotel and transportatn you might as well stay CLOSER to Venice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Casino Cruiser
Couples
Miami, FL
Oct 8, 2012

No Air Conditioning

The room was uncomfortable and in order to not waste money, the hotel turns of the ENTIRE air conditioning through out the hotel. What you get is a little window to open in 90 degree weather. If you want to die of heat feel free to go anytime during the fall or winter time. They give edible breakfast and the staff is good. Everything else not recommendable is, and NO AIR CONDITIONING because of the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Braveheartmum
Single
White Rock, BC
Nov 25, 2012

Misleading

Very bad. Check-in was fine. Second staff comes on and it was so bad we slept at airport and did not use this hotel. This hotel is far away from everything, shuttle to airport was mis-leading as price was not fixed and they wanted up to 30 euros per person. Bus line 5 to Airport one must go back to Plaza Roma, so in fact this hotel is not user friendly for aiport. Buses stop running at 18k and one must go back to Rail, Ship and plaza roma which makes this hotel a very poor choice to stay at. Staff swore at me when I mentioned that morning staff quoted lower shuttle price than her. BAD!BAD!BAD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay near Plaza Roma as this has accesibility to everything, ie. train,bus, cruise port all within walking distance Venice airport is closed from 1230am to 430am so getting there is non existant almost Do not stay near airport as they get you with an expensive shuttle price and you are not near anything

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vista ca
Apr 4, 2010

Don't stay here

The day time desk clerk was rude and does not like tourist. Tiny rooms and only 1 resturant. I had to pay 10 eros for the van to the airport everyone else was free. Be very carefull with this place. If your trying to stay close to the airport, do yourself a favor and stay at the Marriot courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Out the front door. Turn left go down about 100 yards on the right there is a nice pizza place with great food and a menue in english.

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san diego ca
Nov 2, 2009

Hotel Ducale Mestre

This was supposed to be just a one night stay close to the airport. Staff was accommodating re wake-up call and booking taxi. Room was cramped and smelled like fungus. We just checked in in the evening and out before dawn. It was too early for the breakfast they offered. Ditto for the shuttle to the airport. Although 5 min from the airport the taxi fare was 25 euros. The money would have been better spent on a hotel at the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ducale Hotel Venice

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Nov 27, 2009

Friendly, Helpful Staff

Elevator barely fit one person with 2 suitcases. Rooms were very small. Bathroom was adequate except for the shower, which was the smallest I have even seen. But the staff who were excellent, extremely helpful and friendly, made up for the small accommodations. However, if we had stayed longer, I believe it would have become more of an inconvenience. The breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top